Guide to the Requirements to Evidence NIL Value of Consideration for Conveyances Involving Trusts - Land Transfer Tax Act

Published: April 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2009

In order to evidence "NIL" value of consideration for land transfer tax purposes the facts and circumstances should substantiate that the conveyance is a transfer between a trustee and a beneficial owner, or between two trustees for the same beneficial owner.  The beneficial owner must be the same beneficial owner during the entire period the lands have been or will be registered in the name of the trustee(s). In order for the conveyance to be registered without payment of the tax the following are required:

  1. An affidavit (supplemental to the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit) which will set out a brief legal description of the lands involved together with a statement of the facts and circumstances of the trust (including in detail the reasons for the transfer taking place).  This affidavit may be expanded as determined by the type of transaction and may be made by the transferor, transferee or the solicitor for either.

    The affidavit must also contain the following statements:

    1. that all the monies and other consideration utilized in the acquisition of the land relating to the conveyance were beneficially owned by the beneficial owner (set out name) and the source of the funds was (set out name) (If the consideration was advanced or emanated from other than the beneficial owner, explain circumstances);
    2. that (set out name) is the beneficial owner of the said land and always has been since (set out date) when the beneficial ownership was acquired either by way of an unregistered disposition or the registration of instrument no. (blank) and the applicable land transfer tax was paid in the amount of $ (blank) ;
    3. that no value of consideration in any form whatsoever passed between the parties, directly or indirectly, for this transfer;
    4. that all obligations, including any mortgage obligations, responsibilities, acts or omissions pertaining to the land during the period of time it was or will be vested in the trustee(s) (set out name(s)) were and/or will be performed by the beneficial owner (set out name);
    5. that the trustee(s) (set out name(s)) was and/or will be indemnified and saved harmless by the beneficial owner (set out name) from all claims, charges, encumbrances, obligations, responsibilities, acts or omissions during the entire period of time that the land was/and or will be vested in the said trustee(s) (set out name(s));
    6. that attached hereto as an exhibit is a photocopy of the document or writing setting out the terms of the trust (if there is no document or writing and the trust is oral, set out reasons why the terms and conditions of the trust were not reduced to writing and the date the trust was duly authorized);
    7. if the trustee(s) is a firm, corporation, partnership, association or syndicate: that the books and records of the trustee(s) have never recorded and/or will not record the property as an asset;
    8. if the beneficial owner is a corporation:
      1. that either the corporation existed, or application for incorporation or reservation of a name was filed prior to or at the time the property was transferred to the trustee for the company;
      2. that the books and records of the beneficial owner have recorded the property as an asset since (date); and
      3. for each of the transferor, the transferee or the beneficial owner whether they are or are not the subject of an application for deferral pursuant to subsection 3(9) of the Land Transfer Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990 as amended, with respect to these lands. If an application for deferral is pending or has been granted, provide details.

In cases where the transferor is a trustee, the affidavit must also contain the following statements:

  1. that the trustee (set out name) obtained registered title to the property on (set out date) pursuant to an agreement of purchase and sale or pursuant to a transfer from either the beneficial owner (set out name) or a trustee (set out name). Attached as exhibits, are a photocopy of the agreement of purchase and sale by which the trustee took title (where appropriate) and a copy of the conveyance to the trustee.

    If after April 9, 1974 and before May 7, 1997, insert the following:

    1. that at the time the trustee-transferor obtained registered title to the property, the beneficial owner was (was not) a non resident person or a non resident corporation as defined in subsection 1(1) of the Land Transfer Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990. c.L.6. 
    2. that the trustee-transferor has read over and considered the definitions of non-resident corporation and non-resident person set out in subsection 1(1) of the Land Transfer Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.L.6;
  1. The Land Transfer Tax Affidavit should be completed showing consideration "NIL" and one of the following explanations must be set out in section 5 of the said affidavit:

    "Trustee to beneficial owner: The transferee has been the sole beneficial owner during the entire period the lands have been registered in the name of the transferor."

    "Trustee to trustee: The lands have been beneficially owned by the same beneficial owner during the entire period the trustee-transferor has been the registered owner thereof. The trustee-transferee is a new trustee for the same beneficial owner."

    "Beneficial owner to trustee: The transfer is from the beneficial owner to the trustee for the same beneficial owner."

Note: The Land and Resource Taxes section of the Ministry of Finance may require further evidence of the trust and the circumstances surrounding the conveyance.

The personal information in the affidavit is collected under the authority of the Land Transfer Tax Act R.S.O. 1990, c.L.6 as amended, and will be used to determine tax payable under the Act. Questions about the collection of this information should be directed to: Manager, Land and Resource Taxes, 33 King Street West, PO Box 625, Oshawa ON LIH 8H9, 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Enquiries

  • Toll free: 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Teletypewriter (TTY): 1 800 263-7776
  • ministry's website ontario.ca/finance

Eng. 0693P (2004-04)

Related topics

Page: 660  |

guide relatif aux exigences visant à corroborer une valeur de la contrepartie nulle dans le cas de cessions engageant des fiducies - Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière

Date de publication : avril 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

Pour corroborer une valeur de la contrepartie « NULLE » dans le cadre des droits de cession immobilière, les faits et circonstances doivent confirmer qu'il s'agit effectivement d'une cession entre un fiduciaire et un propriétaire bénéficiaire, ou entre deux fiduciaires pour le même propriétaire bénéficiaire. Ce dernier doit être le même propriétaire bénéficiaire pendant toute la période au cours de laquelle le bien-fonds était ou sera enregistré au nom du(des) fiduciaire(s). Les documents suivants sont requis pour que la cession puisse être enregistrée sans acquitter les droits de cession immobilière :

  1. Un affidavit (complémentaire à l'affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière) comportant une brève description légale du bien-fonds en question, accompagné d'une déclaration des faits et circonstances relatifs à la fiducie (y compris les raisons détaillées justifiant la cession).  Cet affidavit peut être étendu au besoin en fonction du type de transaction, et peut être préparé par le cédant, le cessionnaire ou leur avocat.

    L'affidavit doit également comporter les énoncés suivants, attestant :

    1. que toute somme et autre contrepartie engagées dans l'acquisition du bien-fonds se rapportant à la cession étaient détenues en propriété bénéficiaire par le propriétaire bénéficiaire (préciser le nom) et que les fonds provenaient de (préciser le nom) (si la contrepartie avait été avancée ou produite par une autre source que le propriétaire bénéficiaire, expliquer les circonstances);
    2. que (préciser le nom) est le propriétaire bénéficiaire dudit bienfonds et l'a toujours été depuis (préciser la date), lorsque la propriété bénéficiaire a été acquise par le biais d'une aliénation non enregistrée ou de l'enregistrement du titre nº et que les droits de cession immobilière applicables ont été acquittés, au montant de $ ;
    3. qu'aucune valeur de la contrepartie, sous quelque forme que ce soit n'a été cédée entre les parties concernées, directement ou indirectement, à l'égard de ladite cession;
    4. que toutes les obligations, y compris les hypothèques, responsabilités, actes ou omissions relatifs au bien-fonds durant la période où il était ou sera dévolu aux fiduciaire(s) (préciser le nom), ont été et(ou) seront exécutées par le propriétaire bénéficiaire (préciser le nom);
    5. que le(s) fiduciaire(s) (préciser le nom) a été et(ou) sera indemnisé par le propriétaire bénéficiaire (préciser le nom) à l'égard de tous droits, réclamations, charges, obligations, responsabilités, actes ou omissions pendant toute la période durant laquelle le bien-fonds a été ou sera dévolu audit(auxdits) fiduciaire(s) (préciser le nom);
    6. que le document annexé aux présentes en guise de preuve est une photocopie du document ou écrit précisant les conditions de la fiducie (s'il n'existe aucun document ni écrit et que la fiducie a été constituée oralement, indiquer pourquoi les modalités et conditions de la fiducie n'ont pas été consignées par écrit ainsi que la date à laquelle la fiducie a été dûment autorisée);
    7. si le(s) fiduciaire(s) est(sont) une entreprise, une personne morale, une société en nom collectif, une association ou un consortium financier : que les livres et registres dudit(desdits) fiduciaire(s) n'ont jamais inclus et(ou) n'incluront jamais le bien-fonds comme un élément d'actif;
    8. si le propriétaire bénéficiaire est une personne morale :
      1. que la personne morale était déjà constituée, ou que la demande ou la réservation du nom avait déjà été produite avant la cession du bien-fonds au fiduciaire de la compagnie, ou au moment de ladite cession;
      2. que les livres et registres du propriétaire bénéficiaire fassent état du bien-fonds comme un élément d'actif depuis le (date); et
      3. pour le cédant, le cessionnaire ou le propriété bénéficiaire, qu'ils ont fait ou non l'objet d'une demande d'acquittement reporté aux termes du paragraphe 3 (9) de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, L.R.O. 1990, telle que modifiée, relativement auxdits biens-fonds.

    Si une demande de report est en instance ou a été accordée, fournir des détails.  Dans le cas où le cédant est une fiducie, l'affidavit doit également inclure les énoncés suivants :

    1. que le fiduciaire (préciser le nom) a obtenu le titre de propriété enregistré le (préciser la date) conformément à un contrat de vente, ou à une cession par le propriétaire bénéficiaire (préciser le nom) ou un fiduciaire (préciser le nom). Joindre en guise de preuve une photocopie du contrat de vente conférant le droit de propriété au fiduciaire (le cas échéant), ainsi qu'une copie de l'acte de cession au fiduciaire.

      Si la cession est survenue après le 9 avril 1974 et avant le 7 mai 1997, insérer ce qui suit :

      1. qu'au moment où le fiduciaire-cédant a obtenu le titre de propriété enregistré, le propriétaire bénéficiaire était (n'était pas) une « personne non résidente » ou une « personne morale non résidente », telle que définie au paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, L.R.O. 1990, ch. L.6.
      2. que le fiduciaire-cédant a bien lu et examiné les définitions de « personne morale non résidente » et « personne non résidente » énoncées  au paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, L.R.O. 1990, ch. L. 6.
  1. L'affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière doit être rempli, indiquer une valeur de la contrepartie « NULLE » et comporter l'explication suivante à la section 5 :

    « Entre fiduciaire et propriétaire bénéficiaire : Le cessionnaire était le seul propriétaire bénéficiaire durant toute la période pendant laquelle le bien-fonds était enregistré au nom du cédant. »

    « Entre fiduciaire et fiduciaire : Le bien-fonds appartenait au même propriétaire bénéficiaire durant toute la période pendant laquelle le fiduciaire-cédant était le propriétaire enregistré dudit bien-fonds. Le fiduciaire-cédant est un nouveau fiduciaire de ce même propriétaire bénéficiaire. »

    « Entre propriétaire bénéficiaire et fiduciaire : La cession est effectuée entre le propriétaire bénéficiaire et le fiduciaire de ce même propriétaire bénéficiaire. »

Nota : La section des impôts fonciers du ministère des Finances peut exiger d'autres preuves de la fiducie et des circonstances entourant la cession.

Les renseignements personnels contenus dans l'affidavit sont recueillis en vertu la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, L.R.O. 1990, chap. L6, telle que modifiée, et serviront à établir les droits à payer en vertu de ladite Loi. Toute question concernant la collecte de ces renseignements doit être adressée au Chef de service, Section des impôts relatifs aux biens
fonciers et aux ressources, 33 rue King Ouest, CP 625, Oshawa ON L1H 8H9,

Demandes de renseignements

  • Sans frais : 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) : 1 800 263-7776
  • Site Web du ministère ontario.ca/finances

Fre. 0693P (2004-04)

Page : 660  |