Penalties

RST Guide 205
Published: August 2006
Content last reviewed: July 2010
ISBN: 1-4249-1983-5 (Print), 1-4249-1985-1 (PDF), 1-4249-1984-3 (HTML)

On July 1, 2010 the federally administered Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) replaced the Ontario Retail Sales Tax (RST). As a result, RST provisions described on this page and in other publications ended on June 30, 2010. This includes any RST exemptions, temporary exemptions and certain rebates originally intended to end at a later date. Learn more about the HST.

  • This Guide explains the penalties, fines and other sanctions that may be imposed for failure to comply with the Retail Sales Tax Act (Act) and Regulations. Please note that this Guide replaces the previous version dated January 2001.

Ministry Imposed Penalties

Non-collection of Retail Sales Tax (RST)

The penalty for failing to collect Retail Sales Tax (RST) as required is equal to the RST that should have been collected. If the failure to collect RST is due to neglect, carelessness, wilful default or fraud, an additional penalty of 25 per cent (minimum $25) of the RST that should have been collected may also be assessed.

Unfiled or Late-filed Returns

The penalty for failing to file a return or filing a return late is 10 per cent of the Tax Collectable on Sales (Line 2 of the return) plus 5 per cent of the Tax Payable for Own Use (Line 3 of the return), with no maximum. "Own use" means any taxable goods or services consumed by the business. Returns must be filed by the due date, even if there are no sales or RST to report.

Non-remittance of RST

The penalty for failing to remit the total RST owing with a return is 10 per cent of the Tax Collectable on Sales not remitted (Line 2 of the return) plus 5 per cent of the Tax Payable for Own Use not remitted (Line 3 of the return), with no maximum. If the underpayment of the RST is due to neglect, carelessness, wilful default or fraud, an additional penalty of 25 per cent (minimum $100) of the unpaid amount may be assessed, even if the total RST was correctly shown on the return.

Tax Payable on Own Use by Manufacturing Contractors

Manufacturing contractors must file returns and remit RST on any goods manufactured or bought by them for own use in real property contracts. The penalty for failing to file a return or remit any RST owing is 5 per cent of the RST payable for own use (Line 3 of the return), with no maximum.

Note: A manufacturing contractor is a real property contractor who manufactures taxable goods and installs them as part of real property, provided the cost to produce the goods in a fiscal year is more than $50,000. If the cost to manufacture these goods is less than $50,000 (per fiscal year), then the contractor is not considered a manufacturing contractor, and must pay 8 per cent RST on the purchase of all materials and manufacturing equipment. For more information, refer to RST Guide 401 - Manufacturing Contractors.

Directors of Corporations

The ministry may issue an assessment against a corporation for failing to collect RST or failing to remit RST, including any interest and penalties associated with the assessment. When the assessment is levied, the directors of the corporation are jointly and severally liable for payment, even if the corporation has filed a proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (Canada).

Dissolution of Corporations

Effective May 1, 2006, when a corporation is in default of complying with the RST Act, notice may be sent by registered mail or by publication in The Ontario Gazette that an order dissolving the corporation will be issued unless the corporation remedies its default within 90 days after the notice is given.

Corporations may also be dissolved if they are in default of complying with the Corporations Tax Act, the Fuel Tax Act, the Gasoline Tax Act, the Land Transfer Tax Act, the Employer Health Tax Act or the Tobacco Tax Act.

Non-Resident Contractors

A person, dealing with a non-resident contractor who fails to comply with the Act, may be assessed any Retail Sales Tax (RST), or amounts established to the satisfaction of the Minister to be the RST owing, by the non-resident contractor. For more information about non-resident contractors, refer to RST Guide 804 - Non-Resident Contractors.

Purchasers

Purchasers assessed for RST payable may also be assessed a penalty if the non-payment of the RST payable is due to neglect, carelessness, wilful default or fraud. The penalty is equal to the greater of $100 or 25 per cent of the RST assessed. This penalty is in addition to the RST owing.

Non-Negotiable Cheques

The penalty for making a payment with a non-negotiable cheque is 10 per cent of the Tax Collectable on Sales (Line 2 of the return) plus 5 per cent of the Tax Payable for Own Use (Line 3 of the return), with no maximum. Also, a fee of $35 will be charged for every cheque that is returned by a financial institution as non-negotiable.

Understatement of Fair Value

The penalty for understating the fair value of taxable goods in any written statement or document is equal to the amount of RST understated. The minimum penalty is $50 and the maximum is $2,500. This penalty is in addition to the RST owing.

Example: A purchaser buys $1,000 worth of taxable goods for their own use. The purchaser only declares a fair value of $300 for the goods and pays RST of $24. The difference between the fair value ($1,000) and the declared value ($300) is $700. The purchaser may be assessed the RST owing on the goods plus RST on the understated value of $700, resulting in a penalty of $56 for understating the fair value of the goods, plus $56 for the RST owing, for a total assessment of $112.

Court Imposed Fines

In addition to the civil penalties described above, the ministry may lay charges for making false statements in returns, for evading or attempting to evade payment of RST, or for failing to carry out any duty required by the Act and Regulations. Court proceedings for violations are commenced under the Provincial Offences Act (POA) through an Offence Certificate (Part I of the POA) or a Summons (Part III of the POA). Upon conviction, substantial fines or imprisonment may be imposed as described below:

Failure to Obtain a Vendor Permit

A Vendor Permit must be obtained by a person who sells taxable goods, services, insurance or charges admission over $4 to a place of amusement. A Vendor Permit must also be obtained by a person who qualifies as a manufacturing contractor. The fine for failing to obtain a Vendor Permit is $100 or more for each day that a person operates without a permit.

For more details about whether or not a Vendor Permit is required, please contact the nearest Ontario Ministry of Finance Tax Office.

Failure to Collect RST

The fine for failing to collect RST as required is equal to the RST that should have been collected, plus a minimum of $50 up to a maximum of $2,000.

Failure to File Returns

The fine for failing to file a return by the due date is $50 or more for each day the return is late. Returns must be filed by the due date, even if there are no sales or RST to report.

Failure to Keep Records

The fine for failing to keep records of purchases and sales is $50 for each day those records are not kept.

Failure to Produce Records

The fine for failing to produce records or provide information when required by the Ministry is $50 for each day the required information is not produced. Your records must be made available for audit in Ontario.

Failure to Remit RST Collected *

The fine for failing to remit any Retail Sales Tax (RST) collected is:

  • a minimum of $100 or 25 per cent of the RST not remitted, whichever is more; up to
  • a maximum of double the amount of the RST not remitted, if the maximum is more than $100.

Making False Statements, Evading Payment of RST *

The fine for making false or deceptive statements in a return, record, book of account, certificate, statement or answer; or evading or attempting to evade payment of RST; or deliberately failing to comply with any provision of the Act is:

  • a minimum of $1,000 or 50 per cent of any unreported RST, whichever is more; up to
  • a maximum of double the amount of any unreported RST, if the maximum is more than $1,000.

False Refunds or Rebates *

The fine for obtaining or attempting to obtain a refund or rebate of RST by deceit, falsehood or fraud is:

  • a minimum of $500; up to
  • a maximum of double the amount of the RST refund or rebate applied for.

* The RST Act provides for jail terms of up to two years for serious offences. A jail term can be imposed in addition to, or instead of, a fine.

Suspension of Lottery Privileges - Retailers

Effective June 1, 1998, retailers convicted of offences under the Act may have their right to sell Ontario Lottery Corporation products suspended. The duration of the suspensions will vary, depending on the offence, as shown in the following table:

Offence - Failing to Remit RST

1st Conviction - 1 month
2nd Conviction - 6 months
3rd Conviction - Permanent revocation of privileges

Offence - Making false statements in RST returns, destroying or falsifying records, or evading payment of RST

1st Conviction - 3 months
2nd Conviction - 1 year
3rd Conviction - Permanent revocation of privileges

Charges Against Directors of Corporations

If a corporation is guilty of an offence under the Act, any officer, director or agent of the corporation, or any other person, such as a spouse of an officer or director, an employee, an accountant or a solicitor of the corporation, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in, or participated in the commission of an offence by the corporation, may also be charged. If convicted, they are subject to the punishment provided for the corporation's offence, whether or not the corporation has been prosecuted or convicted.

General Penalty

The fine for contravening any section of the Act and Regulations, where no other penalty is provided for the offence, is a minimum of $50 up to a maximum of $5,000 upon conviction.

Interest Charges

Interest will be charged on any penalties and unpaid Retail Sales Tax from the first day of the default to the date the account is settled. All interest charges are compounded daily.

Legislative Reference

Retail Sales Tax Act, Subsections 5(7), 20(3)(4)(6), 13(2), 15.1(3)(4)(5)(6), 19(1), 20(7), 21(1), 32(1)(2)(4)(4.1)(5), 41(1)(2), 43(1), 44(1), and 44(2)(3)(4).

For More Information

The information contained in this publication is only a guideline. For more information, please contact the Ontario Ministry of Finance at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297) or visit our website at: ontario.ca/finance.

Related topics

Page: 646  |

Pénalités

Guide de la TVD 205F
Date de publication : août 2006
Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2010
ISBN: 1-4249-1986-X (Imprimé), 1-4249-1988-6 (PDF), 1-4249-1987-8 (HTML)

Depuis le 1er juillet 2010, la taxe de vente au détail de l'Ontario (TVD) a été remplacée par la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) administrée par le gouvernement fédéral. Suite à ce changement, les dispositions prescrites sur cette page et autres publications ont pris fin le 30 juin 2010 incluant toutes exemptions de la TVD, les exemptions temporaires et autres remboursements dont la date de fin était prévue à une date ultérieure. Apprenez d'advantage sur la TVH.

  • Ce Guide explique les pénalités, les amendes et les autres sanctions pouvant être imposées si vous ne vous conformez pas à la Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail (la Loi) et ses règlements. Veuillez noter que ce Guide remplace la version précédente publiée en janvier 2001.

Penalités imposées par le ministère

Nonperception de la taxe de vente au détail (TVD)

Si vous ne percevez pas la TVD, vous êtes passible d'une pénalité égale au montant de la taxe qui aurait dû être perçue. Si la non-perception de la taxe est attribuable à de la négligence, un manque d'attention, une omission volontaire ou une fraude, vous pouvez être passible d'une pénalité supplémentaire égale à 25 % (minimum de 25 $) de la TVD qui aurait dû être perçue.

Non-production ou production tardive des déclarations

Si vous ne produisez pas de déclaration ou si vous produisez une déclaration tardive, vous êtes passible d'une pénalité égale à 10 % de la Taxe perceptible sur les ventes (Ligne 2 de la déclaration) plus 5 % de la Taxe exigible pour usage personnel (Ligne 3 de la déclaration), sans maximum. Par « usage personnel » on entend tout produit ou service consommé par l'entreprise. Les déclarations doivent être produites pour la date d'échéance, même s'il n'y a aucune vente ou TVD à déclarer.

Non-versement de la TVD

Si vous ne versez pas la totalité de la TVD exigible avec une déclaration, vous êtes passible d'une pénalité égale à 10 % de la taxe perceptible sur les ventes non versée (Ligne 2 de la déclaration) plus 5 % de la Taxe exigible pour usage personnel non versée (Ligne 3 de la déclaration), sans maximum. Si le moins-perçu est attribuable à de la négligence, un manque d'attention, une omission volontaire ou une fraude, vous pouvez être passible d'une pénalité supplémentaire égale à 25 % (minimum de 100 $) du montant impayé, même si le total de la TVD était correctement indiqué dans la déclaration.

Taxe payable sur des articles destinés au propre usage d'entrepreneurs-fabricants

Les entrepreneurs-fabricants doivent produire des déclarations et remettre la TVD sur tous les produits fabriqués ou achetés, destinés à leur propre usage, pour l'exécution de contrats portant sur des biens immeubles. S'ils ne produisent pas de déclaration ou ne remettent pas la TVD exigible, ils sont passibles d'une pénalité égale à 5 % de la TVD exigible pour usage personnel (Ligne 3 de la déclaration), sans maximum.

Remarque : Par entrepreneur-fabricant on entend tout entrepreneur qui fabrique ou produit des articles taxables pour l'exécution de contrats portant sur des biens immeubles, et les installe afin qu'ils soient fixés en permanence au bien immeuble, à la condition que le coût de la fabrication des articles s'élève à plus de 50 000 $ au cours d'un exercice. Si le coût de fabrication de ces articles est inférieur à 50 000 $ (par exercice), l'entrepreneur n'est pas considéré comme un entrepreneur-fabricant et il est tenu de payer la TVD de 8 % sur l'achat de tous les matériaux et l'équipement de fabrication. Consultez le Guide de la TVD 401F intitulé « Entrepreneurs-fabricants ».

Administrateurs de compagnies

Le ministère peut établir une cotisation à l'égard d'une compagnie qui omet de percevoir la TVD ou qui omet de la remettre, y compris l'intérêt et les pénalités se rapportant à une telle cotisation. Quand la cotisation est imposée, les administrateurs de la compagnie sont solidairement responsables du paiement, même si la compagnie a déposé une proposition en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (Canada).

Dissolution d'une société

A compter du 1er mai 2006, lorsqu'une société se trouve en défaut de conformité avec la Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail, un avis peut être envoyé par recommandation postale ou publié dans la Gazette de l'Ontario à l'effet qu'une ordonnance portant sur la dissolution de la société sera émise, à moins que la société ne se conforme à la loi dans les 90 jours suivant l'avis.

Une société peut aussi faire l'objet d'une dissolution si elle n'est pas en conformité avec la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence, la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, la Loi sur l'impôt-santé des employeurs et la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Entrepreneurs non résidents

Une personne faisant affaires avec un entrepreneur non résident qui omet de se conformer à la Loi peut se voir imposer une cotisation à l'égard de la TVD, ou tout montant établi à la satisfaction du ministre comme étant celui de TVD exigible de l'entrepreneur non résident. Pour plus de détails au sujet des entrepreneurs non résidents, consultez le Guide de la TVD 804F intitulé « Entrepreneurs non résidents ».

Acheteurs

Tout acheteur à l'égard duquel un avis de cotisation a été émis pour le paiement de la TVD peut aussi être passible d'une pénalité si le non-paiement de la TVD exigible est attribuable à de la négligence, un manque d'attention, une omission volontaire ou une fraude. La pénalité est égale à 100 $ ou 25 % de la TVD établie, soit le plus élevé des deux montants. Cette pénalité s'ajoute à la TVD exigible.

Chèques non négociables

La pénalité imposée pour un paiement effectué au moyen d'un chèque non négociable est de 10 % de la Taxe perceptible sur les ventes (Ligne 2 de la déclaration) plus 5 % de la Taxe exigible pour usage personnel (Ligne 3 de la déclaration), sans maximum. De plus, des frais de 35 $ seront imputés sur chaque chèque retourné par une institution financière comme étant non négociable.

Sous-évaluation de la juste valeur

Si la juste valeur des produits taxables est sous-évaluée dans toute déclaration ou document écrit vous êtes passible d'une pénalité égale au montant de TVD sous-évalué. La pénalité est de 50 $ minimum et 2 500 $ maximum. Cette pénalité vient s'ajouter à la taxe exigible.

Exemple : Une personne achète des produits taxables pour son propre usage d'une valeur de 1 000 $. L'acheteur ne déclare qu'une juste valeur de 300 $ pour les produits et paie une TVD de 24 $. La différence entre la juste valeur (1 000 $) et la valeur déclarée (300 $) est de 700 $. Dans ce cas l'acheteur est passible d'un montant de TVD exigible de 56 $ sur la différence de 700 $, plus une autre pénalité de 56 $ pour avoir sous-évalué la juste valeur des produits, soit une cotisation totale de 112 $.

Amendes imposées par la cour

Outre les amendes administratives décrites ci-dessus, le ministère peut porter des accusations pour fausses déclarations, pour évasion ou tentative d'évasion de paiement de la TVD ou pour défaut de s'être acquitté de tout devoir exigé par la Loi et ses règlements. Les poursuites judiciaires sont intentées en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales au moyen d'un procèsverbal (Partie I de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales) ou d'une assignation (Partie III de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales). Si vous êtes reconnu coupable, vous pouvez être passible d'amendes substantielles ou d'emprisonnement tel que décrit ci-après :

Défaut d'obtenir un permis de vendeur

Une personne qui désire vendre des produits, des services, de l'assurance ou des billets d'entrée taxables d'une valeur supérieure à 4 $ à un lieu de divertissement doit obtenir un permis de vendeur. Une personne qui agit à titre d'entrepreneur-fabricant doit aussi obtenir un permis de vendeur. Une personne qui exploite sans permis de vendeur s'expose à une amende de 100 $ ou plus pour chaque jour où elle exerce ses activités sans un tel permis.

Pour savoir si vous êtes tenu de posséder un permis de vendeur, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau fiscal du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario le plus proche de votre localité.

Défaut de percevoir la TVD

L'amende pour ne pas percevoir la TVD exigible est égale à la TVD qui aurait dû être perçue, plus une pénalité minimum de 50 $ pouvant aller jusqu'à un maximum de 2 000 $.

Défaut de produire des déclarations

L'amende pour ne pas produire une déclaration à la date d'échéance est de 50 $ ou plus pour chaque jour de retard. Les déclarations doivent être produites pour la date d'échéance, même s'il n'y a aucune vente ou TVD à déclarer.

Défaut de tenir des dossiers

L'amende pour ne pas tenir de dossiers sur les achats et les ventes est de 50 $ pour chaque jour où ces transactions ne sont pas inscrites dans les dossiers.

Défaut de produire des dossiers

L'amende pour ne pas produire de dossiers ou les renseignements requis par le ministère est de 50 $ pour chaque jour où les renseignements requis ne sont pas fournis. Vos dossiers doivent être disponibles aux fins de vérification en Ontario.

Défaut de verser la TVD perçue *

L'amende pour ne pas verser la TVD perçue est :

  • d'un minimum de 100 $ ou 25 % de la TVD non versée, selon le plus élevé des deux montants; jusqu'à concurrence
  • d'un maximum du double du montant de TVD non versée, si le maximum est de plus de 100 $.

Faire de fausses déclarations, se soustraire au paiement de la TVD *

L'amende pour donner de l'information fausse ou mensongère dans les déclarations, les dossiers, les documents comptables, les certificats, les déclarations ou les réponses; ou pour se soustraire ou tenter de se soustraire au paiement de la TVD; ou pour l'inobservation délibérée de toute disposition de la Loi est :

  • d'un minimum de 1 000 $ ou 50 % de tout montant de TVD non déclarée, selon le plus élevé des deux montants; jusqu'à concurrence
  • d'un maximum du double du montant de TVD non déclarée, si le maximum est de plus de 1 000 $.

Remboursements ou rabais frauduleux *

L'amende pour obtenir ou tenter d'obtenir un remboursement ou un rabais de la TVD par tromperie, mensonge ou fraude
est :

  • d'un minimum de 500 $; jusqu'à concurrence
  • d'un maximum du double du montant du remboursement ou du rabais de TVD demandé.

* La Loi sur la TVD prévoit un emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu'à deux ans pour les infractions graves. Un emprisonnement peut être imposé en plus ou au lieu d'une amende.

Suspension des privilèges de vendre des produits de loterie - détaillants

Depuis le 1er juin 1998, les détaillants reconnus coupables d'infractions en vertu de la Loi peuvent voir leur droit de vendre des produits de la Société des loteries de l'Ontario suspendus. La durée des suspensions variera selon l'infraction, tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous :

Infraction - Défaut de verser la TVD

1re condamnation - 1 mois
2e condamnation - 6 mois
3e condamnation - Révocation des privilèges en permanence

Infraction - Fausses informations dans les déclarations de TVD, destruction ou falsification des dossiers, ou évasion de paiement de la TVD

1re condamnation - 3 mois
2e condamnation - 1 année
3e condamnation - Révocation des privilèges en permanence

Imputabilité aux administrateurs de compagnies

Si une compagnie est reconnue coupable d'une infraction en vertu de la Loi, tout dirigeant, administrateur ou mandataire de la compagnie, ou toute autre personne comme le conjoint d'un dirigeant ou d'un administrateur, un employé, un comptable ou un conseiller juridique de la compagnie ayant ordonné, autorisé ou approuvé la perpétration de l'infraction pour le compte de la compagnie, ou ayant donné toute autorisation, consentement ou acquiescement à cet effet, ou y ayant participé, peut aussi être accusée. Si la personne est reconnue coupable, elle est passible de la peine prévue pour l'infraction de la compagnie, que cette dernière ait été ou non poursuivie en justice ou condamnée.

Pénalité générale

L'amende pour infraction à l'une ou l'autre des dispositions de la Loi et de ses règlements, lorsqu'aucune autre pénalité n'est prévue pour l'infraction, est un minimum de 50 $, jusqu'à un maximum de 5 000 $, si vous êtes reconnu coupable.

Frais d'intérêts

Un intérêt sera imputé aux pénalités et à la TVD impayée à compter du premier jour du non-paiement jusqu'à la date du règlement du compte. L'intérêt est composé quotidiennement.

Références législatives

La loi sur la taxe de vente au détail, paragraphes 5(7), 20(3)(4)(6), 13(2), 15.1(3)(4)(5)(6), 19(1), 20(7), 21(1), 32(1)(2)(4)(4,1)(5), 41(1)(2), 43(1), 44(1), et 44(2)(3)(4).

Pour plus de renseignements

Les informations contenues dans cette publication ne sont données qu'à titre d'indication. Pour plus de renseignements, adressez-vous au ministère des Finances de l'Ontario en composant le 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297) ou visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances.

Sujets connexes

Page : 646  |