Is the worker an employee of Company A or a self-employed contractor?

Information and Disclaimer

This interpretation letter was issued based on the specific circumstances or situation of a taxpayer or vendor and the law and tax policy in effect at the time the ruling was issued. Specific facts relevant to your situation may change the application of the tax. In accordance with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, all confidential and identifying information has been removed from this interpretation letter. Please be aware that any statute or policy referred to in this letter may have been superseded. Where a letter contains links to a publication, the link is to our current publication on that subject, regardless of the date that the ruling was originally issued, and the current publication may not be reflective of the information originally provided. In no event shall the Government of Ontario be liable for any damages whatsoever arising out of, or in connection with, the use of the information contained herein.

Interpretation Letter 09-0043, June 2009

We refer to your correspondence regarding whether a certain worker is considered an employee or a self-employed contractor of Company A for Employer Health Tax (EHT) purposes.

The information provided by you through our discussion and copy of employment contract, is as follows:

  • Company A receives commissions as an exclusive marketing agent for several XXXX selling their products through XXXX.
  • The worker in question was appointed as Marketing Administrator (MA) to fill in for an employee on maternity leave for 55 weeks commencing XXXX.
  • The position was located in Company A's head office in XXXX, and reported to the Communications Director.
  • The predetermined compensation amount was paid every two weeks, plus GST.
  • Either party could terminate the contract with two weeks notice with no further claims against the other party.
  • The worker was not eligible to participate in Company A's benefit program.
  • The worker was reimbursed for all authorized travelling and other out-of-pocket expenses incurred in connection with duties of employment.
  • The worker was required to comply with all policies included in Company A's Employee Handbook.
  • The contract requires the worker not to be employed or engaged in any other capacity without prior permission by Company A.
  • The worker did not work for Company A before or after this contract term.
  • The worker signed binding contracts to participate in XXXX shows on behalf of Company A after receiving approval from her supervisor.
  • The amount paid to the worker was included for EHT purposes.

Your answers to the written questionnaire provided the following additional information:

  • Company A was responsible for planning the work and for deciding how the worker should carry out the work.
  • Company A set standards and objectives to be met by the worker.
  • The worker was subject to supervision.
  • Company A provided training to the worker.
  • No written reports were required from the worker.
  • The worker was included in Company A's liability insurance for all staff.
  • The worker was not required to perform the services personally (this was clarified to mean that she received assistance to set up shows, etc.).
  • The choice of assistants was subject to Company A's consent.
  • The assistants were paid by Company A.
  • The work is carried out at an establishment that is under Company A's supervision.
  • None of the work was carried out at the worker's home.
  • The worker had an office at her disposal at Company A's establishment.
  • Company A set the work schedule, verified the worker's times of arrival and departure and verified the number of hours worked.
  • There was a commitment of exclusivity to Company A by the worker.
  • The worker was not required to seek Company A's consent if the worker wished to work for another principal (although this is contradicted by the employment contract).
  • The worker was not required to pay any expenses while carrying out the work.
  • The worker was not obliged to pay union dues.
  • The worker was remunerated by cheque after submitting an invoice including GST.
  • The worker was not paid overtime.
  • Company A did not provide the worker with equipment, tools or materials.

All employers are required to pay EHT on the total Ontario remuneration paid to their employees.

Although the terms "employer" and "employee" are defined in the EHT Act, the Act does not define the circumstances under which an "employer-employee relationship" exists. The nature of the relationship distinguishes an employee from a self-employed contractor.

A contract of service, or employer-employee relationship, likely exists if the employer:

  • decides where, when, and how the work is to be done
  • establishes the employee's working hours
  • determines the salary amount
  • supervises the employee's activities, and
  • assesses the quality of the employee's work.

Thus, an employer-employee relationship generally exists when a worker agrees to work for an employer on a full-time or part-time basis for a specified or indeterminate time period in return for wages or a salary. The employer has the right to decide where, when and how the work is to be done.

A contract for service, or business relationship, generally exists when a worker agrees to complete specific work for a payer in return for payment. The self-employed worker is not normally required to perform the services personally.

In addition to the above general guidelines, in order to determine whether the MA is an employee or a self-employed contractor, further reference must be made to common law principles based on precedents set by court decisions. The terms and conditions of the worker's employment are examined and analyzed as they relate to the following four factors: (a) control (b) ownership of tools (c) chance of profit/risk of loss and (d) integration. It is important to note that one factor alone is not conclusive in the determination. Analysis of the common law principles as applied to the MA's relationship with Company A is summarized below.


In an employer-employee relationship the employer controls, directly or indirectly, the way the work is done and the work methods used. The degree of control exercised by the employer may vary depending on the type of work to be done and the employee's experience and skill. Generally, the payer exercises control if he has the right to hire or fire, determines the wage or salary to be paid, and decides on the time, place, and manner in which the work is to be done.

According to the employment contract as well as the answers to the questionnaire, Company A controlled how, where and when the MA's work had to be performed, provided training to the worker, and had the right to discontinue the contract with two weeks notice. The MA was required to devote herself exclusively to Company A's business and not be employed or engaged in any other capacity without the prior permission of Company A. However, the MA was not required to file written reports to Company A.

These test results favour an employer-employee relationship.

Ownership of Tools

In an employer-employee relationship, the employer generally supplies the equipment and tools required by the employee. In addition, the employer covers the following costs related to their use: repairs, insurance, transport, rental, and operation.

According to the employment contract, Company A reimbursed the MA for all authorized travelling and other out-of-pocket expenses incurred in connection with her duties of employment. However, per our discussion, there were no tools and equipment required for this position.

This test is inconclusive.

Chance of Profit/Risk of Loss

In an employer-employee relationship, the employer alone assumes the risk of loss. The employer also generally covers operating costs which may include office expenses, employee wages and benefits, insurance premiums, and delivery and shipping costs. The employee does not assume any financial risk and is entitled to her full salary or wages regardless of the financial health of the business.

While the MA did not receive any fringe benefits and was not paid for vacation, she was not required to make any investment or outlay of capital and was paid a set salary amount over the 55-week period.

This test supports an employer-employee relationship.


The integration test examines whether the tasks performed by an individual form an integral part of the business (employer-employee), as opposed to merely being an accessory to the business (independent contractor). The test is applied from the perspective of the employee and the question which is addressed is "Whose business is it?".

The MA did not appear to be operating a business separate and distinct from that of Company A. She performed the tasks related to the day-to-day and long term operation of Company A previously carried out by the employee who was away on maternity leave. During the 55-week period, she worked for Company A on a regular basis and was remunerated accordingly. The temporary position is essentially not different from that of the permanent employment position she was filling in for.

This test supports an employer-employee relationship.

Overall, the application of the common law tests favours an employer-employee relationship.

Based on the information provided, it is our opinion that the MA was an employee of Company A during the term of her assignment. Therefore, Company A was required to include her remuneration for EHT purposes. As you have indicated that her salary was included in the total Ontario remuneration amounts reported for years XXXX and XXXX, no adjustments are required to be made. Please note, we have not reviewed the amounts reported in preparing this interpretation and as such these are subject to normal verification procedures.

This interpretation is based on the information provided by you and is applicable to Company A only. If it should be determined that the information provided is incorrect or incomplete, this interpretation will not be binding.

Page: 2862  |

La travailleuse est-elle une employée de la Société A ou une travailleuse indépendante à contrat?

Information et avis de non-responsabilité

La présente lettre d'interprétation a été émise en fonction d'une situation ou de circonstances spécifiques à un contribuable ou un vendeur, et de la loi et des politiques fiscales en vigueur au moment où la décision a été rendue. Certains faits précis se rapportant à votre situation pourraient modifier l'applicabilité de la taxe. Conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée, toute information confidentielle ou servant à identifier un contribuable/vendeur a été éliminée de chaque lettre d'interprétation inclue dans ces archives. Veuillez prendre note que toute loi ou politique mentionnée dans la présente lettre pourrait avoir été remplacée. Lorsqu'une lettre contient un lien permettant d'accéder à une publication, ce lien s'applique à la publication présentement en vigueur, quelle que soit la date à laquelle la décision initiale a été rendue, et cette publication pourrait ne pas refléter l'information produite à l'origine. En aucun cas le gouvernement de l'Ontario ne pourra être tenu responsable de tout dommage, quels qu'ils soient, découlant de l'utilisation de l'information aux présentes, ni s'y rapportant.

Lettre d'interprétation 09-0043, juin 2009

La présente fait suite à votre correspondance au sujet de la question de savoir si une certaine travailleuse est considérée comme une employée ou une travailleuse indépendante à contrat de la Société A aux fins de l'impôt-santé des employeurs (ISE).

Les informations provenant de nos discussions et d'une copie du contrat d'emploi sont comme suit :

  • La Société A reçoit des commissions en tant qu'agent de commercialisation exclusif depuis plusieurs XXXX en vendant ses produits par l'intermédiaire de XXXX.
  • La travailleuse en question a été nommée administratrice du marketing (AM) pour remplacer une employée en congé de maternité pendant 55 semaines à partir de XXXX.
  • Le poste est situé au siège de la Société A à XXXX et relève de la direction des communications.
  • Le montant de la rémunération prédéterminée était versé toutes les deux semaines, plus TPS.
  • L'une ou l'autre partie pouvait résilier le contrat en donnant un préavis de deux semaines sans autres réclamations contre l'autre partie.
  • La travailleuse n'était pas admissible comme participante au programme d'avantages sociaux de la Société A.
  • La travailleuse a été remboursée pour tous ses frais de déplacement autorisés et autres menues dépenses engagées dans l'exécution de ses fonctions d'emploi.
  • La travailleuse devait se conformer à toutes les politiques incluses dans le manuel de l'employé de la Société A.
  • Le contrat exige que la travailleuse ne soit ni employée ni engagée à tout autre titre sans l'autorisation préalable de la Société A.
  • La travailleuse n'a pas travaillé pour la Société A avant ou après la durée du présent contrat.
  • La travailleuse a signé des contrats ayant force exécutoire pour participer à des expositions XXXX au nom de la Société A après avoir reçu l'approbation de son superviseur.
  • Le montant versé à la travailleuse était inclus aux fins de l'ISE.

Vos réponses au questionnaire écrit ont fourni les informations supplémentaires suivantes :

  • La Société A était responsable de la planification du travail et de la décision concernant la manière dont le travail devait être fait.
  • La Société A établit les normes et objectifs que la travailleuse doit respecter et atteindre.
  • La travailleuse faisait l'objet de supervision.
  • La Société A a fourni de la formation à la travailleuse.
  • Aucun rapport écrit n'était exigé de la travailleuse.
  • La travailleuse était couverte par l'assurance-responsabilité de la Société A pour tout le personnel.
  • La travailleuse n'était pas tenue de fournir les services personnellement (cela a été clarifié et signifiait qu'elle recevait de l'aide pour mettre sur pied les expositions, etc.).
  • Le choix des assistants était assujetti au consentement de la Société A.
  • Les assistants étaient rémunérés par la Société A.
  • Le travail était entrepris dans un établissement qui est sous la supervision de la Société A.
  • Aucune partie du travail n'était entreprise au domicile de la travailleuse.
  • La travailleuse avait un bureau à sa disposition dans l'établissement de la Société A.
  • La Société A établissait l'horaire de travail, vérifiait l'heure d'arrivée et de départ de la travailleuse et vérifiait le nombre d'heures travaillées.
  • La travailleuse s'engageait à être exclusivement au service de la Société A.
  • La travailleuse n'était pas tenue d'obtenir le consentement de la Société A si elle désirait travailler pour un autre principal (bien que cela soit contredit par le contrat d'emploi).
  • La travailleuse n'était pas tenue d'engager des dépenses dans l'exécution de ses fonctions.
  • La travailleuse n'était pas tenue de payer des cotisations syndicales.
  • La travailleuse était rémunérée par chèque après avoir remis une facture comprenant la TPS.
  • La travailleuse n'était pas payée pour ses heures supplémentaires.
  • La Société A ne fournissait à la travailleuse ni équipement, outils ou matériel.

Tous les employeurs doivent acquitter l'ISE sur la rémunération totale en Ontario versée à leurs employés.

Bien que les expressions « employeur » et « employée » soient définies dans la Loi sur l'ISE, la Loi ne définit pas les circonstances dans lesquelles une « relation employeur-employé » existe. La nature de la relation distingue un employé d'un travailleur indépendant à contrat.

Un contrat de travail, ou une relation employeur-employé, existe probablement si l'employeur :

  • décide où, quand et comment le travail doit être fait
  • établit les heures de travail de l'employé
  • détermine le montant de salaire
  • supervise les activités de l'employé, et
  • évalue la qualité du travail de l'employé.

Ainsi, une relation employeur-employé existe généralement lorsqu'un travailleur accepte de travailler pour un employeur à temps plein ou à temps partiel pendant une période déterminée ou indéterminée en contrepartie de traitement ou salaire. L'employeur a le droit de décider où, quand et comment le travail doit être fait.

Un contrat de travail ou une relation d'affaires existe généralement lorsqu'un travailleur accepte d'effectuer un travail particulier pour un payeur en contrepartie d'un paiement. Le travailleur indépendant n'est pas normalement tenu de dispenser les services personnellement.

En plus des lignes directrices générales ci-dessus, pour déterminer si l'AM est une employée ou une travailleuse indépendante à contrat, il est nécessaire de se reporter en outre aux principes de la « common law » fondés sur des précédents établis par des décisions judiciaires. Les conditions d'emploi de la travailleuse sont examinées et analysées compte tenu des quatre facteurs suivants : a) le contrôle, b) la propriété des outils, c) les possibilités de profits ou risques de pertes, et d) l'intégration. Il est important de noter qu'un seul facteur n'est pas concluant dans la détermination. L'analyse des principes de la « common law » tels qu'ils s'appliquent à la relation de l'AM avec la Société A est résumée ci-dessous.

Contrôle

Dans une relation employeur-employé, l'employeur contrôle, directement ou indirectement, la manière dont le travail est fait et les méthodes de travail utilisées. Le degré de contrôle exercé par l'employeur peut varier suivant le type de travail à faire et l'expérience et les compétences de l'employé. D'une manière générale, le payeur exerce le contrôle s'il a le droit d'embaucher ou de licencier, détermine le traitement ou salaire à verser, et décide où, quand et comment le travail doit être fait.

Selon le contrat d'emploi et les réponses au questionnaire, la Société A contrôlait où, quand et comment le travail de l'AM devait être exécuté, a fourni une formation à la travailleuse, et avait le droit de mettre fin au contrat sous réserve de deux semaines de préavis. L'AM devait se consacrer exclusivement aux affaires de la Société A et ne pas être employée ou embauchée à tout autre titre sans l'autorisation préalable de la Société A. Cependant, l'AM n'était pas tenue de déposer de rapports écrits auprès la Société A.

Ces résultats indiquent plutôt une relation employeur-employé.

Propriété des outils

Dans une relation employeur-employé, l'employeur fournit généralement l'équipement et les outils dont a besoin l'employé. En outre, l'employeur couvre les frais suivants liés à leur utilisation : réparation, assurance, transport, location et exploitation.

D'après le contrat de travail, la Société A a remboursé à l'AM tous ses frais de déplacement et autres menues dépenses engagées dans l'exécution de ses fonctions. Cependant, notre discussion a révélé que ce poste n'exigeait ni outils ni équipement.

Ce test n'est pas concluant.

Possibilités de profits/risques de pertes

Dans une relation employeur-employé, l'employeur est le seul à assumer les risques de pertes. L'employeur couvre aussi généralement les frais d'exploitation qui pourraient inclure les frais de bureau, le salaire de l'employé, les primes d'assurance, et les frais de livraison et d'expédition. L'employé n'assume aucun risque financier et a droit à son plein traitement ou salaire, quelle que soit la solidité financière de l'entreprise.

Alors que l'AM n'a pas reçu d'avantages sociaux ni de congés payés, elle n'a eu à faire aucun investissement ou immobilisation commerciale et elle recevait un salaire fixe pendant la période de 55 semaines.

Ce test indique une relation employeur-employé.

Intégration

Le test d'intégration examine si les tâches exécutées par une personne font partie intégrante de l'entreprise (employeur-employé) ou bien n'en sont qu'un accessoire (travailleur indépendant à contrat). Le test est appliqué à partir de la perspective de l'employé et la question qui se pose est de savoir « À qui est l'entreprise ? »

L'AM ne semblait pas exploiter une entreprise indépendante et distincte de celle de la Société A. Elle exécutait les fonctions liées à l'exploitation quotidienne et à long terme de la Société A qui étaient entreprises auparavant par l'employée en congés de maternité. Au cours de la période de 55 semaines, elle a travaillé pour la Société A d'une façon régulière et a été rémunérée en conséquence. Le poste temporaire n'est pas essentiellement différent de celui du poste permanent auquel elle pourvoyait.

Ce test indique une relation employeur-employé.

Dans l'ensemble, l'application des tests de « common law » indique une relation employeur-employé.

Compte tenu de l'information fournie, nous sommes d'avis que l'AM était une employée de la Société A durant la durée de ses fonctions. Par conséquent, la Société A devait inclure sa rémunération aux fins de l'ISE. Comme vous avez indiqué que son salaire était inclus dans les montants de la rémunération totale en Ontario déclarés pour les années XXXX et XXXX, aucun ajustement n'est nécessaire. Veuillez noter que nous n'avons pas passé en revue les montants déclarés lors de la préparation de cette interprétation et que, par conséquent, ils sont assujettis aux procédures de la vérification normale.

La présente interprétation est fondée sur l'information que vous nous avez fournie et elle s'applique uniquement à la Société A. S'il est déterminé que l'information fournie est incorrecte ou incomplète, cette interprétation n'aura pas force exécutoire.

Page : 2862  |