Corporations Tax Act Regulation for Corporate Minimum Tax

Information Notice 6023
Published: August 2007
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4249-5076-8 (PDF), 978-1-4249-5075-1 (HTML)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

About this Notice

The purpose of this notice is to inform corporations about Regulation 509/07 of the Corporations Tax Act (CTA) which was filed August 27, 2007. The regulation impacts the calculation of Corporate Minimum Tax (CMT).

Background

As announced in the 2007 Ontario Budget, the regulation amends the CMT rules to remove the impact of reporting certain unrealized gains and losses for accounting purposes. The Budget provided that these measures would be effective for taxation years ending after March 22, 2007. However, the regulation will also apply to taxation years beginning after June 30, 2004 and ending before March 23, 2007, where the corporation files an election within 180 days of the filing date of the regulation.

Unrealized Gains and Losses Excluded from CMT Income

Mark-To-Market Changes in Asset Values

Changes to Canadian accounting standards require corporations to report certain assets at fair market value rather than historical cost. These standards require any gain or loss accruing on an asset held at the end of a fiscal period to be recognized in net income for that period.

The regulation amends the CMT rules to remove the impact of these gains and losses. Income for CMT purposes will be calculated without reference to unrealized gains and losses that are not required to be included in computing income for income tax purposes.

The CMT rules do not apply to:

  • assets that are "permanently impaired" and are subject to a one-time write-down, or
  • unrealized mark-to-market gains and losses of a "financial institution" (for purposes of Part II of the CTA) which are included in income for income tax purposes.

Unrealized Foreign Currency Gains and Losses

Accounting rules also require assets denominated in a foreign currency to be adjusted to reflect the exchange rate in effect at the balance sheet date. In certain circumstances the change in value is also reported as a foreign currency gain or loss and is included in computing income for the period.

The CMT rules are amended to exclude unrealized foreign exchange gains and losses which are related to assets and which are not required to be included in income for income tax purposes for the taxation year.

Election for Earlier Years

A corporation may make an election in writing to the minister within 180 days of the filing date of the regulation to have the above measures apply. Where a corporation makes an election, it will apply to all of the corporation’s taxation years beginning after June 30, 2004 and ending before March 23, 2007. The corporation cannot make an election to have the rules apply only to a specific taxation year(s) during this period.

Adjustment to Total Assets for CMT

The 2007 Ontario Budget proposed similar adjustments in calculating a corporation's total assets to determine whether the corporation qualifies for the CMT exemption for small corporations. Such adjustments cannot be implemented by regulation and will require an amendment to the CTA.

 
Page: 2488  |

Règlement de la Loi sur l'imposition de sociétés pour l'impôt minimum des sociétés

Avis d'information 6023
Date de publication : août 2007
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4249-5078-2 (PDF), 978-1-4249-5077-5 (HTML)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

À propos du présent avis

Le présent avis vise à informer les sociétés du règlement 509/07 de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (LIS), qui a été déposé le 27 août 2007. Le règlement affecte le calcul de l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés (IMS).

Contexte

Tel qu'annoncé dans le Budget de l'Ontario 2007, le règlement modifie les règles relatives à l'IMS pour éliminer les répercussions lors du calcul de certains gains et pertes latents pour des fins comptables. Le budget prévoyait que ces mesures s'appliqueraient pour les années d'imposition se terminant après le 22 mars 2007. Il est à noter que le règlement s'applique maintenant aux années d'imposition commençant après le 30 juin 2004 et se terminant avant le 23 mars 2007, lorsque les sociétés soumettent leur choix dans les 180 jours de la date de dépôt du règlement.

Gains et pertes latents seront exemptés du calcul du revenu aux fins de l'IMS

Actifs inscrits à la juste valeur marchande

En raison des changements apportés aux normes comptables canadiennes, les sociétés devront déclarer certains actifs à la juste valeur marchande plutôt qu'au coût d'origine. Selon ces normes, tout gain ou perte afférent à un élément d'actif à la fin d'une période comptable doit être reconnu dans le bénéfice net de cette période.

Le règlement modifie les règles relatives à l'IMS pour éliminer les répercussions de ces gains et pertes latents. Le revenu aux fins de l'IMS sera calculé sans tenir compte des gains et des pertes latents afin de les exclure lors du calcul du revenu aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Les règles relatives à l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés ne s'appliquent pas aux éléments suivant :

  • les actifs dont la valeur est« réduite de façon durable » et qui ont été dévalués;
  • les gains et pertes latents d'une « institution financière » inscrits à la juste valeur marchande qui sont inclus dans le calcul du revenu aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu (selon la partie II de la LIS).

Gains et pertes latents en devises étrangères

En raison des règles comptables, les actifs déclarés dans une devise étrangère doivent être ajustés afin de refléter le taux de change en vigueur en date du bilan. Dans certaines circonstances, le changement de valeur est également déclaré comme un gain ou une perte dans la devise étrangère et fait partie du calcul du revenu pour l'année d'imposition.

Les règles relatives à l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés(IMS) ont été modifiées de façon à exclure les gains et pertes de change latents liés aux actifs vu qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de les inclure aux fins du calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu pour l'année d'imposition.

Choix pour les années antérieures

Une société peut faire connaître par écrit son choix au ministre dans les 180 jours suivant la date de dépôt du règlement afin que les mesures susmentionnées s'appliquent. Lorsqu'une société fait part de son choix, ce dernier s'applique à toutes les années d'imposition de la société débutant après le 30 juin 2004 et se terminant avant le 23 mars 2007. La société ne peut pas choisir d'appliquer ces règles à une ou à plusieurs année(s) spécifiques pendant cette période.

 
Page : 2488  |