Ministry of Finance Inspectors

Information Notice 2004-2 FT/GT/TT
Published: April 2006
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 1-4249-0837-X (Print)

Staff from the Investigations & Inspections Branch at the Ministry of Finance, monitor compliance with the provisions of the Fuel Tax Act, Gasoline Tax Act and Tobacco Tax Act.

Additional Finance Inspectors to Focus on Retail Tobacco Outlets

Starting late April, 2006, Finance Inspectors will begin focusing on retail tobacco outlets. Finance Inspectors will continue to be in uniform and driving marked enforcement vehicles. The inspections will have enforcement and audit components. Finance Inspectors are empowered to lay charges, assess penalties and seize illicit tobacco, which is subject to forfeiture.

Finance Inspection Program

Finance Inspectors are Provincial Offences Officers, operating in defined geographic areas. Their authority includes assessing penalties and issuing tickets for offences under the relevant tax statutes.

Tobacco Inspections

Finance Inspectors conduct tobacco inspections at tobacco wholesale and retail outlets throughout Ontario, checking for untaxed tobacco products, and educating retailers about their obligations. The Ministry is committed to ensuring compliance through enforcement programs such as these, as tax evasion puts honest business operators at a competitive disadvantage.

Fuel and Gasoline Inspections

Finance Inspectors continue to maintain an inspection program under the Fuel Tax Act and Gasoline Tax Act.

Fuel Sampling

Inspectors sample the fuel tanks of diesel vehicles under the coloured fuel program to identify operators who may be avoiding fuel tax of 14.3 cents per litre by using furnace oil, or similar tax-exempt fuel, to power their vehicle. Tax-exempt fuel is coloured with red dye to aid its detection.

Inspectors conduct regular visits to locations with fuel storage facilities, bulk plants, and service stations to ensure taxes have been paid on products used in licensed vehicles and to detect any misuse of tax exempt product.

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)

Inspectors monitor interjurisdictional commercial vehicle traffic for compliance with registration requirements under IFTA. IFTA provides for the sharing of fuel taxes paid by commercial ventures based on travel reported in Ontario and one or more other jurisdiction.

For More Information:

Ministry of Finance
Investigations & Inspections Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)
Page: 522  |

Inspecteurs du ministère des Finances

Avis d'information 2004-2 FT/GT/TT
Date de publication : avril 2006
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009
ISBN: 1-4249-0840-X (Imprimé)

Le personnel de la section de l'Inspection et des vérifications de l'inspection et des impôts relatifs aux ressources du ministère des Finances, est chargée de vérifier le respect des dispositions de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence et de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Ajout d'inspecteurs du finances affectés aux établissements de vente de tabac au détail

À compter de la fin avril 2006, des inspecteurs du finances porteront principalement leurs efforts sur les établissements de vente de tabac au détail. Ils continueront d'évoluer en uniforme et de circuler à bord de véhicules officiels identifiés. Les inspections comporteront des éléments d'observation fiscale et de vérification. Les inspecteurs du finances sont autorisés à déposer des accusations, émettre des pénalités et saisir des produits de tabac illicites, susceptibles de confiscation.

Programme d'inspection du finances

Les inspecteurs du finances sont des agents des infractions provinciales, affectés à des secteurs géographiques définis. Ils sont autorisés à émettre des pénalités et des contraventions pour des infractions commises à l'égard des lois fiscales pertinentes.

Inspections du tabac

Les inspecteurs du finances procèdent à des inspections liées aux produits de tabac, auprès de commerçants en gros et marchands de détail à l'échelle de l'Ontario, afin de repérer tout produit de tabac illégal, et d'informer aussi les détaillants de leurs obligations. Le ministère s'engage à assurer l'observation des lois par le biais de tels programmes, car l'évasion fiscale place les exploitants honnêtes dans une position concurrentielle désavantageuse.

Inspections du carburant et de l'essence

Les inspecteurs du finances continuent d'appliquer un programme d'inspection en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants et de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence.

Échantillonnage de carburant

En vertu du programme sur le carburant coloré, les inspecteurs prélèvent des échantillons des réservoirs de carburant des véhicules diesels, dans le but de découvrir les opérateurs qui pourraient être tentés d'éviter la taxe sur les carburants, établie à 14,3 cents le litre, en utilisant du mazout de chauffage ou autre carburant similaire exonéré de taxe pour alimenter leur véhicule.  Un colorant rouge est ajouté au carburant exonéré afin d'en faciliter la détection.

Les inspecteurs effectuent des visites régulières sur les lieux d'entreposage de carburant, dans les installations de stockage en vrac et dans les stations-service, afin de s'assurer que les taxes pertinentes ont bien été acquittées sur les produits utilisés dans des véhicules immatriculés et de déceler tout usage impropre d'un produit exonéré.

Accord international relatif aux taxes sur les carburants (IFTA)

Les inspecteurs surveillent également la circulation interterritoriale des véhicules commerciaux afin de veiller au respect des exigences d'enregistrement stipulées en vertu de l'IFTA.  L'IFTA prévoit le partage des taxes sur les carburants payées par les entreprises commerciales en fonction du kilométrage parcouru et déclaré en Ontario ainsi que dans un ou plusieurs états américains ou dans d'autres provinces

Pour plus de précisions :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des enquêtes et des inspections
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON   L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Télécopieur : 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour un appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 522  |