Information Bulletin: Professional Corporations

November 2001

Background

In the 2000 Ontario Budget, the government announced its intention to allow regulated professionals to incorporate their practices.

Professional incorporation would confer many of the same tax and non-tax advantages enjoyed by other incorporated self-employed individuals. However, professional liability will not be limited through incorporation and shareholders of professional corporations are restricted to members of the same profession.

Provisions allowing regulated professionals to incorporate were included in Bill 152, Balanced Budgets for Brighter Futures Act, which received Royal Assent on December 21, 2000. Technical amendments to these provisions were made through Bill 45, Responsible Choices for Growth and Accountability Act, which received Royal Assent on June 29, 2001.

Proclamation of the relevant provisions of both Bills on November 1, 2001, combined with the necessary regulations or by-laws under the governing Acts of affected professions once finalized, will enable regulated professionals to incorporate their practices.

Key Features of Professional Corporations

Ensuring professional liability is not limited by incorporation:

In general, the corporate form insulates shareholders in their personal capacity from corporate liability. The professional corporation provisions ensure that personal professional liability of those professionals who choose to operate their practices through a professional corporation will not be limited.

Role of professional governing bodies:

The governing bodies of regulated professions will be responsible for the certification or licensing of professional corporations that fall under their jurisdiction. In addition, the governing bodies will be able to "look through" professional corporations and hold the professional shareholders accountable for their actions.

Naming a professional corporation:

The name of the professional corporation must include the words "Professional Corporation" or "Société Professionnelle" and cannot be a number name.

Ownership restrictions for professional corporations:

The professional incorporation legislation allows one or more members of the same profession to be shareholders in a professional corporation. All officers and directors of the professional corporation are required to be shareholders of the corporation.

Business activities which can be undertaken:

The professional corporation may not carry on a business other than the practice of the profession; however, this shall not be construed to prevent the corporation from carrying on activities that are related to, or ancillary to, the practice of the profession, including the temporary investment of surplus funds earned by the corporation.

Professions Affected by Professional Corporation Provisions

Members of the following professions would be eligible to operate a professional corporation:

  • Chartered accountants under the Chartered Accountants Act; certified general accountants under the Certified General Accountants Association of Ontario Act; and lawyers under the Law Society Act (responsibility of the Ministry of the Attorney General).
  • Audiologists, chiropodists including podiatrists, chiropractors, dental hygienists, dental surgeons, dental technologists, denturists, dieticians, massage therapists, medical laboratory technologists, medical radiation technologists, midwives, nurses, occupational therapists, opticians, optometrists, pharmacists, physicians and surgeons, physiotherapists, psychologists, speech language pathologists, and respiratory therapists under the Regulated Health Professions Act (responsibility of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care).
  • Social workers and social service workers under the Social Work and Social Service Work Act (responsibility of the Ministry of Community and Social Services).
  • Veterinarians under the Veterinarians Act (responsibility of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs).

Prior to the enactment of this legislation, professionals were prohibited from incorporating their practices except as specifically permitted by the statute regulating the particular profession.

The status of corporations that were in compliance with the law before the coming in force of the professional corporation amendments would, therefore, be unchanged.

Establishing a Professional Corporation

Regulated professionals who wish to incorporate their practices should consult the Companies Branch of the Ministry of Consumer and Business Services for Ontario incorporation requirements, and their governing body for conditions of incorporation specific to their profession.

Government of Ontario Ministry Contacts

The implementation of the provisions allowing regulated professionals to incorporate their practices has involved many Government of Ontario ministries. The contacts listed below will assist interested parties in obtaining information on topics that fall under the jurisdiction of specific ministries.

Ministry and Contact Information
The Ministry of Consumer and Business Services is responsible for the Business Corporations Act, Ontario, and can respond to enquiries about changes made to this Act and the process for incorporating a professional practice. Mailing address:
Ministry of Consumer and Business Services Companies Branch
393 University Ave., 2nd Fl. Toronto ON M5G 2M2

Telephone:
1-800-361-3223
(416) 314-8880

Internet address: http://www.cbs.gov.on.ca

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is responsible for the Regulated Health Professions Act and can respond to enquiries that relate to the professions governed by this Act. Mailing address:
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Program Policy Branch
Hepburn Block, 8th Floor
80 Grosvenor St.
Toronto, ON M7A 1S2

Telephone:
1-800-268-1153
(416) 327-8894

Internet address: http://www.gov.on.ca/health/

The Ministry of the Attorney General is responsible for the Chartered Accountants Act, the Certified General Accountants Association of Ontario Act, and the Law Society Act and can respond to enquiries that relate to the professions governed by these Acts. Mailing address:
Ministry of the Attorney General
Policy Branch
720 Bay St., 7nd Fl.
Toronto ON M5G 2K1

Telephone:
(416) 326-2500

E-mail: susan.dizon@jus.gov.on.ca

The Ministry of Community and Social Services is responsible for the Social Work and Social Service Work Act and can respond to enquiries that relate to the professions governed by this Act. Mailing address:
Ministry of Community and Social Services
Community Services Branch 56 Wellesley St. W., 12th Fl.
Toronto ON M7A 1E9

Telephone:
(416) 327-4971

Internet address: http://www.gov.on.ca/CSS/

The Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs is responsible for the Veterinarians Act and can respond to enquiries that relate to the professions governed by this Act. Mailing address:
Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Dr. David Alves, Manager
Veterinary Science and Provincial Veterinarian for Ontario
1 Stone Road West, 3rd Fl.
Guelph ON N1G 4Y2

Telephone:
(519) 826-3127

E-mail: david.alves@omafra.gov.on.ca

The Ministry of Finance was responsible for the coordination and implementation of the professional corporations initiative. Mailing address:
Ministry of Finance
Personal Income Taxation & Fiscal Arrangements Branch
Frost South Bldg., 5th Fl.
7 Queen's Park Crescent
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Telephone:
(416) 327-0230

Internet address: http://www.gov.on.ca/

 

Contact:

Agnes Geller
Communications Branch
416 325-0463

 

Disponible en français

For more information visit www.fin.gov.on.ca

Page: 1305  |

Bulletin d'information : Sociétés professionnelle

Généralités

Dans le budget de l'Ontario 2000, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de permettre aux membres d'une profession réglementée de constituer leur cabinet en société.

La constitution en société des membres d'une profession réglementée conférerait les mêmes avantages fiscaux et non fiscaux dont bénéficient d'autres travailleurs autonomes constitués. Toutefois, la responsabilité professionnelle ne sera pas restreinte par l'existence de la société, et les actionnaires d'une société professionnelle se limiteront aux membres de la même profession.

Les dispositions permettant aux membres d'une profession réglementée de constituer une société sont couvertes par le projet de loi 152, Loi de 2000 sur des budgets équilibrés pour un avenir meilleur, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 21 décembre 2000. Les modifications de forme apportées à ces dispositions ont été sanctionnées par le projet de loi 45, Loi de 2001 sur des choix réfléchis favorisant la croissance et la responsabilisation, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 29 juin 2001.

Une fois proclamées, le 1er novembre 2001, les dispositions pertinentes des deux lois ainsi que les règlements nécessaires en vertu des lois régissant les professions touchées permettront aux sociétés professionnelles de constituer leur cabinet en société.

Principales caractéristiques des sociétés professionnelles

Veiller à ce que la responsabilité professionnelle ne soit pas limitée par l'existence de la société :

En général, le mode d'organisation en société isole les actionnaires, sur le plan personnel, des responsabilités inhérentes à la société. Les dispositions de la société professionnelle veillent à ce que la responsabilité professionnelle personnelle des membres d'une profession qui choisissent d'exploiter leur cabinet sous forme de société professionnelle ne soit pas limitée.

Rôle des organismes de réglementation professionnels :

Les organismes de réglementation régissant les professions réglementées seront chargés de l'accréditation des sociétés professionnelles ou de la délivrance des permis aux sociétés qui relèvent de leur juridiction. Par ailleurs, les organismes de réglementation seront en mesure d'examiner l'exploitation des sociétés professionnelles et de tenir les actionnaires de telles sociétés responsables de leurs actions.

Appellation d'une société professionnelle :

L'appellation d'une société professionnelle doit comporter les mots « Société professionnelle » ou « Professional Corporation » et ne peut se limiter à un numéro.

Restrictions quant à la propriété des sociétés professionnelles :

La loi régissant la constitution des sociétés professionnelles exige qu'un ou plusieurs membres d'une même profession en soient actionnaires. Tous les dirigeants et administrateurs de la société professionnelle doivent en être actionnaires.

Activités commerciales pouvant être entreprises :

La société professionnelle ne peut exploiter d'autres activités que celles inhérentes à sa profession; toutefois, cette restriction ne doit pas être interprétée comme empêchant la société d'exercer des activités liées, ou auxiliaires, à la pratique de sa profession, y compris d'effectuer des investissements temporaires de fonds excédentaires gagnés par la société.

Professions touchées par les dispositions relatives aux sociétés professionnelles

Les membres des professions suivantes seraient admissibles à constituer une société professionnelle :

  • Les comptables agréés en vertu de la Loi sur les comptables agréés; les comptables généraux licenciés en vertu de la Certified General Accountants Association of Ontario Act; et les avocats en vertu de la Loi sur la Société du barreau (relevant du ministère du Solliciteur général).
  • Les audiologistes, podologues, y compris les podiatres, les chiropraticien(ne)s, hygiénistes dentaires, dentistes, technicien(ne)s dentaires, denturologistes, diététicien(ne)s, massothérapeutes, technologistes de laboratoire médical, technologues en radiation médicale, sage-femmes, infirmiers et infirmières, ergothérapeutes, opticien(ne)s, optométristes, pharmacien(ne)s, médecins et chirurgien(ne)s, physiothérapeutes, psychologues, orthophonistes et inhalothérapeutes en vertu de la Loi de 1991 sur les professions de la santé réglementées (relevant du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée).
  • Les travailleurs sociaux et techniciens en travail social en vertu de la Loi de 1998 sur le travail social et les techniques de travail social (relève du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires).
  • Les vétérinaires en vertu de la Loi sur les vétérinaires (relève du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales).

Avant la promulgation de cette loi, les professionnels n'étaient pas autorisés à constituer leur cabinet en société, sauf dans les cas spécialement prescrits par la loi régissant leur profession particulière.

Par conséquent, les statuts constitutifs qui étaient établis en conformité avec la loi avant l'entrée en vigueur des modifications relatives aux sociétés professionnelles demeureraient inchangés.

Constitution d'une société professionnelle

Les membres d'une profession réglementée qui désirent constituer leur cabinet en société doivent s'adresser à la Direction des compagnies du ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises pour connaître les exigences de constitution d'une société en Ontario, et communiquer avec leur organisme de réglementation afin de connaître les conditions de constitution en société spécifiques à leur profession.

Renseignements - Ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario

La mise en oeuvre des dispositions autorisant les membres d'une profession réglementée à constituer leur cabinet en société touche de nombreux ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario. La liste ci-dessous aidera les parties intéressées à obtenir des renseignements sur des sujets qui relèvent d'un ministère en particulier.

Ministère - Renseignements
Le ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (Ontario) et est en mesure de répondre aux questions relatives aux modifications apportées à cette loi ainsi qu'au processus de constitution d'une société professionnelle. Adresse postale :
Ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises
Direction des compagnies
3393, av. University, 2e étage
Toronto ON M5G 2M2

Téléphone :
1 800 361-3223
416 314-8880

Adresse Internet : http://www.cbs.gov.on.ca/mcbs/francais/bienvenue.htm

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée est responsable de l'administration de la Loi de 1991 sur les professions de la santé réglementées et est en mesure de répondre aux questions relatives aux professions régies par cette loi. Adresse postale :
Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée
Direction des politiques relatives aux programmes
Direction des politiques relatives aux programmes
Édifice Hepburn, 8e étage
80, rue Grosvenor
Toronto, ON M7A 1S2

Téléphone :
1 800 268-1153
416 327-8894

Adresse Internet : http://www.gov.on.ca/health/

Le ministère du Procureur général est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur les comptables agréés, la Certified General Accountants Association of Ontario Act, et la Loi sur la Société du barreau, et est en mesure de répondre aux questions relatives aux professions régies par cette loi.

Adresse postale :
Ministère du Procureur général
Direction des politiques
720, rue Bay, 7e étage
Toronto ON M5G 2K1

Téléphone :
416 326-2500

Courriel : susan.dizon@jus.gov.on.ca

Le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur le travail social et les techniques de travail social, et est en mesure de répondre aux questions relatives aux professions régies par cette loi. Adresse postale :
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires
Direction des services communautaires
56, rue Wellesley Ouest, 12e étage
Toronto ON M7A 1E9

Téléphone :
416 327-4971

Adresse Internet : http://www.gov.on.ca/CSS/indexf.html

Le ministère des l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur les vétérinaires et est en mesure de répondre aux questions relatives aux professions régies par cette loi. Adresse postale :
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
Dr David Alves,
chef de la médecine vétérinaire et vétérinaire provincial de l'Ontario
1, Stone Road Ouest, 3e étage.
Guelph ON N1G 4Y2

Téléphone :
519 826-3127

Courriel : david.alves@omafra.gov.on.ca

Le ministère des Finances était responsable de la coordination et de la mise en oeuvre de l'initiative relative aux sociétés professionnelles. Adresse postale :
Ministère des Finances
Direction de l'imposition des particuliers et des accords fiscaux
Édifice Frost Sud, 5e étage
7, Queen's Park Crescent
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Téléphone :
416 327-0230

Adresse Internet : http://www.gov.on.ca/

Pour plus de précisions, visitez le site www.fin.gov.on.ca

Page : 1305  |