The 2007 Pre-Election Report is Ontario's first. Its purpose is to outline the Province's projected revenues and expenses, and other details of its fiscal planning before the provincial election that will be held on October 10, 2007.

This is the result of the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act (FTTA) that was passed in December 2004. Under the Act, the Ministry of Finance must release a Pre-Election Report on Ontario's finances prior to every provincial election.

The Auditor General of Ontario is required to review the report to determine whether it is reasonable and to release a statement describing the results of his review. The Auditor General's review was released on June 18, 2007.

Le Rapport préélectoral sur les finances de l'Ontario 2007 est le tout premier rapport du genre préparé par la province. Son but est de décrire les revenus et les charges estimatives de la province et d'autres éléments de sa planification financière avant les élections provinciales qui se tiendront le 10 octobre 2007.

Ce rapport a été rédigé conformément à la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières, qui a été adoptée en décembre 2004. En vertu de la Loi, le ministère des Finances doit présenter un rapport préélectoral sur les finances de l'Ontario avant toute élection provinciale.

Le Vérificateur général de l'Ontario doit examiner le rapport afin de déterminer s'il est raisonnable et émettre un communiqué exposant les résultats de son examen. Ceux-ci ont été publiés le 18 juin 2007.