PUBLIC SECTOR SALARY DISCLOSURE: Ontario's Public Sector Salary Disclosure

Each year since the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act (PSSDA) was passed in 1996, the Ontario Government has published a compendium on public sector employees who were paid a salary of $100,000 or more. Organizations that receive public funding from the Province of Ontario are required to disclose the names, positions, salaries and taxable benefits of these employees.

PURPOSE OF THE ACT

The purpose of this law is to provide a more open and accountable system of government. It lets taxpayers compare the performance of an organization with the compensation given to the people running it. It also provides taxpayers with more details on how their tax dollars are spent.

PUBLIC ORGANIZATIONS COVERED

The act covers the Government of Ontario, crown agencies, municipalities, hospitals, boards of public health, school boards, universities, colleges, Hydro One, Ontario Power Generation, and other public sector employers who receive a significant level of funding from the Province.  To determine if an organization is covered by the act, contact the organization or the ministry that funds it.

THE FUNDING CONDITION

Some non-profit organizations are required to disclose if they received significant funding from the Government of Ontario in that year. Generally, "funding" means transfer payments. It does not mean payments for goods and services used by the government, or loans that will be repaid.

Non-profit organizations receiving $1 million in funding or more are covered.

Organizations receiving between $120,000 and $1 million are included if the funding they receive is 10 per cent or more of their gross revenues.

Organizations receiving less than $120,000 are not required to disclose, unless they are one of the types explicitly covered by the act. This funding level is the same as the reporting level for transfer payments in Volume 3 of the Public Accounts of Ontario - Detailed Schedules of Payments.

REGULATION 85/96

Regulation 85/96 of the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act requires:

  • all employers subject to the PSSDA to submit their disclosure records to their funding ministries by the fifth business day of March each year;
  • employers subject to the PSSDA, other than the Crown, with an employee seconded to a ministry to provide by the fifth business day of March each year, the disclosure record in respect of that employee to the ministry where the employee is seconded;
  • the ministry the employee is seconded to, to disclose the employee’s name, position title at the ministry, name of the employer, and the salary and taxable benefits the employer is reporting.

Employers will continue to report these employees on their own disclosure records.

THE PUBLIC SECTOR SALARY DISCLOSURE AMENDMENT ACT, 2004

The Public Sector Salary Disclosure Amendment Act, 2004 received Royal Assent on April 15, 2004.

SALARY DISCLOSURE IN ANNUAL REPORTS

Employers that normally issue an annual report are required to include the salary disclosure with their annual report unless that disclosure is made available on a public website (a corporate website or on the Ministry of Finance website as part of the PSSD Compendium).

HYDRO ONE AND ONTARIO POWER GENERATION SALARY DISCLOSURE

This legislation specifies that Hydro One Inc., Ontario Power Generation Inc. and each of their subsidiaries are part of the public sector and designates them as public sector "employers" for the purposes of the act.

Hydro One Inc., Ontario Power Generation Inc. and each of their subsidiaries are required to provide salary disclosure to the Ministry of Energy. This applies for 2004 and future years.

WHY CAN'T I FIND SPECIFIC ORGANIZATIONS?

Many reasons can explain why you cannot find an organization. After ensuring that the organization is not in any of the categories, verify if the organization is included in the "No Employee Salaries to Disclose."

Some organizations do not disclose because the funding received is under the threshold set by the funding condition explained above.

Ultimately, the employer is responsible for making the disclosure or the statement of No Employee Salaries to Disclose available to the public.

WHAT'S INCLUDED IN $100,000 SALARY?

The $100,000 figure means salary before taxes, and does not include taxable benefits. However, for those who are paid $100,000 or more, the total value of these taxable benefits must be disclosed. Beginning with 2012 salaries, the definition of salary now also includes per diems and/or retainers paid to employees, in addition to amounts reported as employment income on the Canada Revenue Agency T4 slip.  The act does not authorize employers to disclose what the specific benefits are.

I HAVE FOUND MISTAKES, HOW CAN THEY BE CORRECTED?

If the information included in the Compendium has been reported incorrectly, it can be corrected in the Addendum. If you think some information has been reported incorrectly, contact the organization. This will allow the organization to verify the information and provide their ministry's Public Sector Salary Disclosure contact with accurate information for the Addendum.

COMPLIANCE

All organizations that are covered by this act must prepare a list each year of the employees who were paid $100,000 or more the year before, with their names, positions, salaries and the value of their taxable benefits. Each organization must make the list available for inspection without charge between March 31 and December 31 of the year it is disclosed.

NON-COMPLIANCE

The Government of Ontario can withhold part or all of the transfer payment to an employer who did not disclose.  The funds would be paid, however, once the employer complies. Employers who do not comply within one year are no longer entitled to the payment that was withheld.

The act allows a minister of the Crown to appoint a public accountant to audit the records of an employer for the purpose of determining the salary and benefits paid to its employees required under the act.  The minister will disclose either the salary disclosure records or a statement confirming that no employee was paid at least $100,000 within 30 days of receiving the audit results.

LIMITS ON LIABILITY

An employer cannot be held liable for making a disclosure in accordance with the act, or if the employer reasonably believed it was required to make the disclosure. A non-disclosure clause in an employment contract can't be used to avoid disclosure. The act authorizes the employer to release only specific information.

GETTING COPIES OF THE LIST

The organization must provide a copy, even after the period discussed above. There may be a charge of 20 cents per page. A compendium of the lists of all organizations disclosing salaries, as well as organizations stating they have no employee salaries at $100,000 or more, is also available on the Ministry of Finance web site. The complete report, or sections thereof, can be easily printed from the web site. The address is:

English - http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/publications/salarydisclosure
French - http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/publications/salarydisclosure

DIVULGATION DES TRAITEMENTS ET SALAIRES: La divulgation des traitements et salaires

Chaque année, depuis l'adoption de la Loi de 1996 sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public, le gouvernement de l'Ontario publie des listes des employés du secteur public qui ont touché un traitement de 100 000 $ ou plus. Les organismes qui reçoivent des fonds publics de la province de l'Ontario sont tenus de divulguer le nom, le poste, le traitement et les avantages imposables de ces employés.

OBJET DE LA LOI

L'objet de la Loi est d'assurer un mode d'administration publique plus transparent et davantage responsable. La divulgation des traitements permet au public de comparer le rendement d'un organisme à la façon dont il rémunère les employés qui le dirigent.  Les contribuables ont ainsi une meilleure idée de l'utilisation qui est faite de leurs impôts.

ORGANISMES PUBLICS VISÉS

La Loi touche le gouvernement de l’Ontario, les organismes de la Couronne, les municipalités, les hôpitaux, les conseils de santé, les conseils scolaires, les universités, les collèges, Hydro One Inc., Ontario Power Generation Inc. et les autres employeurs du secteur public qui reçoivent une aide financière considérable de la province. Pour savoir si un organisme est visé par la Loi, vous pouvez vous renseigner auprès de l'organisme en question ou du ministère qui le finance.

LA CONDITION RELATIVE À L’AIDE FINANCIÈRE

Certains organismes doivent se conformer à l'exigence relative à la divulgation s’ils touchent une aide financière considérable du gouvernement de l'Ontario au cours d'une année donnée. En règle générale, les termes « financement » ou « aide financière » s'entendent des paiements de transfert. Ils n'incluent pas les paiements pour des biens et services utilisés directement par le gouvernement ni les prêts qui seront remboursés à une date ultérieure.

La Loi vise les organismes à but non lucratif qui reçoivent des fonds de 1 000 000 $ ou plus. Les organismes qui reçoivent entre 120 000 $ et 1 000 000 $ sont inclus si les fonds qui leur sont versés représentent 10 pour 100 ou plus de leurs revenus bruts.

Les organismes qui reçoivent moins de 120 000 $ ne sont pas tenus de divulguer le traitement de leurs employés, à moins qu'ils ne fassent partie des types d'organismes expressément mentionnés dans la Loi. Ce montant de financement est le même que celui établi pour la déclaration des paiements de transfert dans le volume 3 des Comptes publics de l'Ontario - Détails des paiements.

LE RÈGLEMENT 85/96

Le Règlement 85/96 de la Loi de 1996 sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public (LDTSP) exige que :

  • tous les employeurs assujettis à la LDTSP divulguent leurs registres aux ministères qui leur ont fourni une aide financière au plus tard le cinquième jour ouvrable du mois de mars de chaque année;
  • les employeurs assujettis à la LDTSP, à l’exception de la Couronne, qui comptent un employé en détachement auprès d’un ministère divulguent, au plus tard le cinquième jour ouvrable du mois de mars de chaque année, un registre à l’égard de cet employé au ministère auprès duquel l’employé est en détachement;
  • le ministère auprès duquel l’employé est en détachement divulgue le nom de l’employé et son titre au ministère, le nom de l’employeur, et le traitement et les avantages imposables que l’employeur déclare.

L’employeur continue d’inclure ces employés dans ses propres registres.

LOI DE 2004 MODIFIANT LA LOI SUR LA DIVULGATION DES TRAITEMENTS DANS LE SECTEUR PUBLIC

La Loi de 2004 modifiant la Loi sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public a reçu la sanction royale le 15 avril 2004.

DIVULGATION DES TRAITEMENTS DANS LES RAPPORTS ANNUELS

Les employeurs qui publient habituellement un rapport annuel sont tenus d’intégrer la divulgation des traitements dans leur rapport annuel, à moins que tels traitements soient divulgués sur un site Web public (site d’une société ou site du ministère des Finances dans le cadre du recueil des traitements dans le secteur public).

DIVULGATION DES TRAITEMENTS VERSÉS PAR HYDRO ONE ET ONTARIO POWER GENERATION

La nouvelle loi précise que Hydro One Inc., Ontario Power Generation Inc. et chacune de leurs filiales font partie du secteur public et les désigne comme employeurs pour l'application de la loi.

Hydro One Inc., Ontario Power Generation Inc. et chacune de leurs filiales doivent divulguer les traitements au ministère de l'Énergie à compter de 2004.

JE N'ARRIVE PAS À TROUVER CERTAINS ORGANISMES

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi vous ne trouvez pas un organisme en question. Après vous être assuré que l'organisme ne se trouve dans aucune des catégories, vérifiez s'il ne se trouve pas dans " Organismes n'ayant versés aucun traitement devant être divulgué ".

Certains organismes ne divulguent pas les traitements versés à leurs employés parce que le financement qu'ils reçoivent se trouve sous le seuil limite déterminé par les conditions mentionnées ci-haut.

Finalement, l'employeur est responsable de divulguer ou d'émettre une déclaration au public selon laquelle « il n'y a pas de traitement d'employés à divulguer ».

CE QUE COMPREND LA DIVULGATION DE 100 000 $

Le traitement de 100 000 $ comprend le traitement avant impôt à l'exclusion des avantages imposables. Cependant, lorsqu'une personne touche 100 000 $ ou plus, la valeur totale des avantages imposables doit être divulguée. À compter de 2012,  le terme « traitement » comprend maintenant la rémunération journalière et les avances sur traitement versées aux employés, en plus des montants qui sont déclarés à titre de revenu d'emploi sur le feuillet T4 de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. La Loi n'autorise pas les employeurs à divulguer le détail des avantages.

J'AI TROUVÉ DES ERREURS, QUE FAIRE POUR LES CORRIGER

Si les renseignements contenus dans la liste initiale sont inexacts, ils seront corrigés dans l'addenda. Si vous croyez que des renseignements inexacts ont été publiés, contactez directement l'organisme en question. Cet organisme pourra vérifier ses renseignements et fournir à la personne-ressource du ministère responsable les renseignements corrigés à inclure dans l'addenda.

OBSERVER LA LOI

Tous les organismes touchés par la Loi doivent, chaque année, dresser une liste indiquant le nom, le poste, le traitement et la valeur des avantages imposables des employés qui touchent au moins 100 000 $.

Chaque organisme doit présenter la liste aux fins d’inspection sans frais entre le 31 mars et le 31 décembre de l’année de divulgation.

EN CAS D'INOBSERVATION

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario peut retenir une partie ou la totalité du paiement de transfert destiné à un employeur. La somme retenue sera versée lorsque l'organisme se sera conformé à la Loi. Faute de se conformer dans un délai d'un an, l'employeur cesse d'avoir droit au paiement qui a été retenu.

La Loi permet à un ministre de la Couronne de nommer un expert-comptable pour vérifier les dossiers d'un employeur afin de déterminer le traitement et les avantages versés aux employés en vertu de la Loi. Le ministre divulguera soit les dossiers de divulgation des traitements ou une déclaration confirmant qu'aucun employé n’a reçu de traitement d'au moins 100 000 $ dans les 30 jours suivant la réception des résultats de la vérification.

LIMITES EN MATIÈRE DE RESPONSABILITÉ

Nul ne peut tenir un employeur responsable d'avoir divulgué des renseignements conformément à la Loi, ou si l'employeur avait des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'il devait les divulguer. Une clause de non-divulgation dans un contrat de travail ne peut être utilisée pour empêcher la divulgation. La Loi autorise l'employeur à divulguer uniquement des renseignements qui y sont précisés.

POUR OBTENIR UNE COPIE DE LA LISTE

L'organisme concerné doit fournir une copie de la liste, même après la période indiquée précédemment. Des frais de 20 cents par page pourront s'appliquer. Un recueil des listes de tous les organismes qui ont déclaré des traitements ainsi qu'une liste des organismes ayant déclaré ne pas avoir d'employés qui reçoivent un traitement de 100 000 $ ou plus sont également accessibles sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. Il est facile d'imprimer le rapport en entier ou en partie en accédant au site Web, à l'une ou l'autre des adresses suivantes :

en français - http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/publications/salarydisclosure
en anglais - http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/publications/salarydisclosure