Commission Member Biographies

Don Drummond

Don Drummond, Chair

Don Drummond is currently Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy, Queen's University. Mr. Drummond was born and raised in Victoria, British Columbia, where he graduated from the University of Victoria. He subsequently received his M.A. in Economics from Queen's University. He also holds an honorary doctorate from Queen's University.

Mr. Drummond joined the federal Department of Finance upon completing his studies at Queen's. During almost 23 years at Finance, Mr. Drummond held a series of progressively more senior positions in the areas of economic analysis and forecasting, fiscal policy and tax policy. His last three positions were, respectively, Assistant Deputy Minister of Fiscal Policy and Economic Analysis, Assistant Deputy Minister of Tax Policy and Legislation and, most recently, Associate Deputy Minister. In this latter position Mr. Drummond was responsible for economic analysis, fiscal policy, tax policy, social policy and federal-provincial relations. In particular, Mr. Drummond co-ordinated the planning of the annual federal budgets.

From 2000 to 2010, Mr. Drummond served as Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, TD Bank. Mr. Drummond led TD Economics' work in analyzing and forecasting economic performance in Canada and abroad. TD Economics also analyzes the key policies that influence economic performance, including monetary and fiscal policies.

Dominic Giroux

Dominic Giroux, Commission member

Dominic Giroux is the President and Vice-Chancellor of Laurentian University.

Prior to his appointment at Laurentian, Mr. Giroux was Assistant Deputy Minister with the Ontario Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities, after having served as CFO of two French-language school boards in southern and eastern Ontario.

Mr. Giroux started in education as a school board trustee at age 19 and was elected board chair at 21 in Ottawa. In 2011, he received one of Canada's "Top 40 Under 40" Awards.

Mr. Giroux serves as chair of the board of directors of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, national co-chair of the Consortium national de formation en santé (CNFS), co-chair of the Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer (ONCAT), and board member of the Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation (CEMI), the Greater Sudbury Development Corporation (GSDC) and the Greater Sudbury Food Bank. He also served as co-special advisor on the implementation of the Northern Policy Institute and was appointed to the province’s Ring of Fire Advisory Council.

A member of the Ontario College of Teachers, Mr. Giroux holds bachelor's degrees in social sciences and education from the University of Ottawa, and an MBA from the École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) in Montreal.

Susan Pigott

Susan Pigott, Commission member

Susan Pigott is the Vice President, Communications and Community Engagement at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) in Toronto.

She trained as a nurse at the Wellesley Hospital School of Nursing in Toronto and then worked as a registered nurse for 10 years in Toronto and in Australia and Papua New Guinea.

In 1978, Ms. Pigott earned a master's degree in social work at the University of Toronto. Since then, she has worked in the non-profit human services field for over 25 years. Prior to CAMH, she was Chief Executive Officer of St. Christopher House, a community-based, multi-service agency that operates in the west end of Toronto. Prior to that, she spent seven years at the United Way of Greater Toronto, first as Allocations Director and then as Vice President of Fundraising. In 2006–07, she took a leave of absence from St. Christopher House to serve as the Executive Lead for Citizen Engagement, supporting the Ontario Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Reform.

An active volunteer, Ms. Pigott has served on several boards including the Community Social Planning Council, the Hospital for Sick Children and Soulpepper Theatre Company. Currently, she is a board member of the Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance, the Change Foundation and Workman Arts.

Carol Stephenson

Carol Stephenson, O.C., Commission member

Carol Stephenson is the Dean of the Richard Ivey School of Business at The University of Western Ontario, as well as the Lawrence G. Tapp Chair in Leadership.

Since joining Ivey in 2003, Carol Stephenson has led the drive to reshape the teaching of business education. As a widely respected CEO, she brings more than 30 years of progressive experience in marketing, operations, strategic planning, technology development, and financial management to Canada's premier business school.

Ms. Stephenson currently serves on several boards for top Canadian companies and on important government committees. She is a Director of Intact Financial Services Corporation (formerly ING Canada) and Manitoba Telecom Services Inc. Ms. Stephenson served as a board of directors member for GM Canada, until she was appointed by the governments of Canada and Ontario to serve as a board member for General Motors Company. Ms. Stephenson is Chair of the Ontario Research Fund Advisory Board, and Chair of the federal government’s Advisory Committee on Senior Level Retention and Compensation. In November 2006, she was appointed by the federal government to serve on the board of directors of the Vancouver Olympic Games Organizing Committee (VANOC). She has earned significant recognition for her community work and industry involvement. Notably, in December 2009, Ms. Stephenson was appointed Officer of the Order of Canada.

Biographies des membres de la Commission

photo : Don Drummond Don Drummond, président

M. Don Drummond est actuellement membre de la faculté Matthews de politiques publiques mondiales de l’Université Queen’s. Il est né et a grandi à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, et est diplômé de l’Université de Victoria. Il a ensuite obtenu une maîtrise en économie de l’Université Queen’s. Il possède également un doctorat honorifique de l’Université Queen’s.

M. Drummond est entré au service du ministère fédéral des Finances après ses études à l’Université Queen’s. Pendant près de 23 ans au sein de ce ministère, il a occupé divers postes lui conférant des responsabilités croissantes dans les domaines de l’analyse économique et de la prévision, de la politique budgétaire et de la politique fiscale.  Dans l’exercice de ses trois derniers postes, il a respectivement assumé les fonctions de sous-ministre adjoint, Politique budgétaire et analyse économique, puis de sous-ministre adjoint, Politique et législation fiscale, et en dernier lieu, de sous-ministre associé. À ce poste, M. Drummond chapeautait l’analyse économique, la politique budgétaire, la politique fiscale, la politique sociale et les relations fédérales-provinciales. Il coordonnait aussi la planification des budgets fédéraux annuels.

De 2000 à 2010, M. Drummond a cumulé les fonctions de premier vice-président et économiste en chef à la Banque TD. Il était entre autres responsable des travaux des Services économiques TD en matière d’analyse et de prévision économique pour le Canada et l’étranger. Les Services économiques TD sont également chargés d’analyser les principales politiques qui influent sur la performance économique, notamment les politiques monétaires et budgétaires.


photo : Dominic Giroux Dominic Giroux, membre de la Commission

Dominic Giroux est recteur et vice-chancelier de l’Université Laurentienne.

Avant sa nomination à l’Université Laurentienne, M. Giroux était sous‑ministre adjoint au ministère de l’Éducation et au ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités de l’Ontario, après avoir oeuvré comme cadre supérieur dans deux conseils scolaires de langue française du Sud et de l’Est de l’Ontario.

M. Giroux a débuté en éducation comme conseiller scolaire à 19 ans et a été élu président de conseil scolaire à 21 ans à Ottawa. En 2011, il a reçu le prix national des 40 plus performants âgés de moins de 40 ans.

M. Giroux préside le conseil d’administration de l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario, copréside le Consortium national de formation en santé (CNFS) et le Conseil ontarien pour l’articulation et le transfert, et est membre du conseil d’administration du Centre d’excellence en innovation minière, de la Société de développement du Grand Sudbury, et de la Banque d’aliments de Sudbury. Il a également oeuvré à titre de co-conseiller spécial pour la création d’un Institut des politiques du Nord et fut nommé au Conseil consultatif de développement du Cercle de feu de la province.

Membre de l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario, M. Giroux est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences sociales et d’un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa, ainsi que d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’École des Hautes études commerciales (HEC), à Montréal.


photo : Susan Pigott Susan Pigott, membre de la Commission

Mme Susan Pigott est vice-présidente des Communications et de l’Engagement communautaire au Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CAMH) de Toronto.

Après avoir terminé sa formation d’infirmière à l’école de soins infirmiers de l’hôpital Wellesley de Toronto, elle a travaillé comme infirmière autorisée pendant 10 ans à Toronto ainsi qu’en Australie et en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée.

En 1978, Mme Pigott a obtenu une maîtrise en travail social de l’Université de Toronto. Par la suite, elle a travaillé dans le secteur des services humanitaires sans but lucratif pendant plus de 25 ans. Avant de se joindre à CAMH, elle assumait les fonctions de chef de la direction à la maison St. Christopher, un organisme communautaire multiservices établi dans l’ouest de Toronto. Auparavant, elle a oeuvré pendant sept ans à Centraide du grand Toronto, d’abord à titre de directrice de la répartition des contributions, puis comme vice-présidente du financement.  En 2006-2007, elle a pris un congé autorisé à la maison St. Christopher pour diriger la campagne pour l’engagement des citoyens à l’appui de l’Assemblée des citoyens sur la réforme électorale de l’Ontario.

Bénévole active, Mme Pigott a siégé à de nombreux comités, notamment ceux du Community Social Planning Council, du Hospital for Sick Children et de Soulpepper Theater Company. Elle fait actuellement partie du conseil d’administration de la Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance, de la Change Foundation et de Workman Arts.


photo : Carol Stephenson Carol Stephenson, O.C., membre de la Commission

Mme Carol Stephenson est rectrice de la Richard Ivey School of Business à l’Université Western Ontario, et présidente de la chaire Lawrence G. Tapp en leadership. 

Depuis qu’elle s’est jointe à l’école de commerce Ivey en 2003, Mme Stephenson a entrepris de remodeler l’enseignement des études commerciales. Chef de la direction grandement respectée, elle met au service de l’une des écoles de commerce les plus renommées au Canada plus de 30 années d’expérience progressive acquises dans les domaines du marketing, des activités opérationnelles, de la planification stratégique, du développement technologique et de la gestion financière.

Mme Stephenson siège actuellement à différents conseils d’administration de plusieurs grandes sociétés canadiennes ainsi qu’à divers importants comités gouvernementaux. En outre, elle remplit les fonctions d’administratrice chez Intact Financial Services Corporation (auparavant ING Canada) et chez Manitoba Telecom Services Inc. Par ailleurs, Mme Stephenson a précédemment siégé au conseil d’administration de GM Canada, jusqu’à sa nomination par les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Ontario au conseil d’administration de General Motors Company. Mme Stephenson est présidente du Conseil consultatif du fonds pour la recherche en Ontario, ainsi que du Comité consultatif sur le maintien en poste et la rémunération du personnel de direction, du gouvernement fédéral. En novembre 2006, elle a été nommée par le gouvernement fédéral au conseil d’administration du Comité d’organisation des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Vancouver (COVAN). Son travail communautaire et son engagement au sein de l’industrie lui ont valu une très grande reconnaissance. On soulignera notamment sa nomination, en décembre 2009, à titre d’Officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

Photo : Jovan Matic