Corporate Income Tax

Generally, corporations carrying on business through a permanent establishment in Ontario are subject to both federal and Ontario corporate income taxes. The tax rates apply to taxable income allocated to Ontario.

2015 Budget Change for Resource Corporations

Ontario Resource Tax Credit and the Additional Tax on Crown Royalties

The province is harmonizing with the federal government and other provinces by eliminating the Ontario Resource Tax Credit and the Additional Tax on Crown Royalties. Effective April 23, 2015, Ontario will provide a deduction for royalties and mining taxes paid.

Accrued but unused Ontario Resource Tax Credit amounts will be eligible for carry-forward to offset Ontario income tax payable in the first five taxation years beginning after April 23, 2015.

General rate

The Ontario General corporate income tax rate is:

  • 14 per cent before July 1, 2010
  • 12 per cent after June 30, 2010 and before July 1, 2011
  • 11.5 per cent after June 30, 2011.

The tax is prorated based on the number of days in the year when the tax year straddles these dates.

Lower rates

Small Business Deduction

The Ontario small business deduction (SBD) reduces the corporate income tax rate on the first $500,000 of active business income of Canadian-controlled private corporations (CCPCs), to 4.5 per cent.

For years ending before May 1, 2014, the SBD is available to all CCPCs. As announced in the 2014 Ontario Budget, effective for taxation years ending after May 1, 2014 the province will parallel the federal SBD phase-out where a CCPC’s (and associated groups of CCPCs) taxable capital is between $10 million and $15 million. CCPCs (and associated groups of CCPCs) with taxable capital of $15 million or more will no longer be eligible for the preferential corporate income tax rate of 4.5 per cent on the first $500,000 of active business income. The changes will be pro-rated for taxation years straddling May 1, 2014.

More about the Ontario small business deduction

Manufacturing and Processing Tax Credit

Corporations involved in manufacturing and processing, fishing, farming, mining and logging may qualify for a tax credit that reduces the corporate income tax rate to 10 per cent. Before July 1, 2010, the manufacturing and processing tax credit reduced the corporate income tax rate to 12 per cent.

More about the Ontario tax credit for manufacturing and processing

Contact the Canada Revenue Agency

The Canada Revenue Agency administers Ontario's corporate income tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers. Contact the agency with your questions at 1 800 959-5525 or 1 800 665-0354 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Canada Revenue Agency - Ontario - Provincial corporation tax

Page: 61  |

Impôt sur le revenu des sociétés

De manière générale, les sociétés qui exploitent une entreprise par l'entremise d'un établissement stable en Ontario sont assujetties à la fois à l'impôt fédéral et provincial sur le revenu des sociétés. Les taux d'impôt s'appliquent aux revenus imposables attribués à l'Ontario.

Changement annoncé dans le budget de l'Ontario de 2015 à l'égard des sociétés du secteur des ressources

Crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour ressources et impôt supplémentaire visant les redevances de la Couronne

La province harmonise ses pratiques avec celles du gouvernement fédéral et des autres provinces en éliminant le crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour ressources et l'impôt supplémentaire visant les redevances de la Couronne. À compter du 23 avril 2015, l'Ontario appliquera une déduction au titre des redevances et de l'impôt sur l'exploitation minière.

Les montants accumulés mais non utilisés au titre du crédit de l'Ontario pour ressources pourraient être reportés afin de contrebalancer l'impôt sur le revenu ontarien exigible durant les cinq premières années d'imposition commençant après le 23 avril 2015.

Taux général

Le taux général de l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés en Ontario est de :

  • 14 pour cent avant le 1er juillet 2010
  • 12 pour cent après le 30 juin 2010 et avant le 1er juillet 2011
  • 11,5 pour cent après le 30 juin 2011.

Le taux d'impôt est calculé au prorata selon le nombre de jours pour l'année d'imposition qui chevauche ces dates.

Taux inférieurs

Déduction accordée aux petites entreprises

La déduction accordée aux petites entreprises en Ontario permet un taux d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés inférieur sur la première tranche de 500 000 $ du revenu tiré d'une société privée sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) exploitée activement, soit un taux de 4,5 pour cent.

Pour les années d'imposition se terminant avant le 1er mai 2014, la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises est offerte à toutes les SPCC. Tel qu'annoncé dans le budget de l'Ontario 2014, à compter des années d'imposition se terminant après le 1er mai 2014, la province s'accordera sur le gouvernement fédéral et elle éliminera graduellement la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises dans les cas où le capital imposable d'une SPCC (et les groupes de SPCC associées) se situe entre 10 millions de dollars et 15 millions de dollars. Les SPCC (et les groupes de SPCC associées) ayant un capital imposable de 15 millions de dollars ou plus ne seront plus admissibles au taux préférentiel d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés de 4,5 pour cent sur la première tranche de 500 000 de dollars du revenu tiré d'une société exploitée activement. Les changements seront calculés au prorata pour les années d'imposition chevauchant le 1er mai 2014.

En savoir plus sur la déduction ontarienne accordée aux petites entreprises

Crédit d'impôt pour les secteurs de la fabrication et de la transformation

Les sociétés exploitant dans les secteurs de la fabrication et de la transformation, de la pêche, de l'agriculture, des mines et de l'exploitation forestière, peuvent être admissibles au crédit d'impôt qui permet un taux inférieur d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés de 10 pour cent. Avant le 1er juillet 2010, le crédit d'impôt pour la fabrication et la transformation permettait un taux inférieur d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés de 12 pour cent.

En savoir plus sur le crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour la fabrication et la transformation

Communiquer avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada

L'Agence du revenu du Canada administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt minimum des sociétés et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario. Pour des questions, communiquez avec l'agence au 1 800 959-5525 ou au 1 800 665-0354 pour téléimprimeur (ATS).

Agence du revenu du Canada - Ontario - Impôt provincial des sociétés

Page : 61  |