Land Transfer Tax

The Ministry of Finance is reviewing the land transfer tax (LTT) applicable on unregistered dispositions of a beneficial interest in land in order to improve administrative effectiveness and enforcement, and to ensure the integrity and equity of the LTT system. At this time, the Ministry has posted a consultation document on the Regulatory Registry, which sets out a proposed approach to facilitate the payment and administration of the LTT under section 3 of the Land Transfer Tax Act in certain circumstances. The Ministry is requesting your feedback on or before August 28, 2017.


Effective April 21, 2017, a 15% tax is imposed on the purchase or acquisition of an interest in residential property located in the Greater Golden Horseshoe Region by individuals who are not citizens or permanent residents of Canada or by foreign corporations (foreign entities) or taxable trustees. The Non-Resident Speculation Tax applies in addition to Ontario's current Land Transfer Tax.


Effective April 24, 2017, persons who purchase or acquire at least one and not more than six single family residences, and persons who purchase or acquire agricultural land, are required to provide additional information. Learn more: Prescribed Information for the Purposes of Section 5.0.1 Form.


Ontario Regulation 70/91 made under the Land Transfer Tax Act has been amended to clarify how the 'de minimis' partnership exemption applies to certain dispositions of a beneficial interest in land, including those occurring in respect of complex real estate structures involving real estate investment trusts and/or layer(s) of limited partnership(s). Information on the amendments may be found in the Regulatory Registry.

Information may also be found on our web page entitled, Land Transfer Tax De Minimis Partnership Exemption: Clarifying Amendments for Certain Dispositions. NOTE: This web page was revised on June 20, 2017 to extend the Special Voluntary Disclosure Policy (SVDP) to August 31, 2017. The SVDP applies only to dispositions that occurred on or before February 17, 2016. For dispositions on or after February 18, 2016, the SVDP is not applicable, and returns and remittances continue to be due the later of the 30th day after the date of the disposition and January 1, 2017.

When you buy land or an interest in land in Ontario, you pay Ontario's land transfer tax. Land includes, but is not limited to, any buildings, buildings to be constructed, and fixtures (such as light fixtures, built‑in appliances and cabinetry).

Who pays land transfer tax?

When you acquire land or a beneficial interest in land, you pay land transfer tax to the province when the transaction closes.

Land transfer tax is normally based on the amount paid for the land, in addition to the amount remaining on any mortgage or debt assumed as part of the arrangement to buy the land.

In some cases, land transfer tax is based on the fair market value of the land, such as in the following examples:

  • the transfer of a lease with a remaining term that can exceed 50 years
  • the transfer of land from a corporation to one of its shareholders, or
  • the transfer of land to a corporation, if shares of the corporation are issued.

Calculating the tax amount

Read on: Calculating Land Transfer Tax

Providing additional information

The Minister of Finance has been granted the authority to make a regulation regarding the collection of additional information about the transferee and the transfer of land from everyone who is required to make land transfer tax statements, file a land transfer tax affidavit, or file a Return on the Acquisition of a Beneficial Interest in Land.

The minister may use the information for the administration and enforcement of the Land Transfer Tax Act. In addition, the minister may use the information, without personal identifiers, for the purposes of compiling statistical information and for developing and evaluating economic, tax and fiscal policy.

The requirement to provide additional information will not be in effect until the minister files such a regulation, and the requirements in the regulation take effect.

First‑time homebuyers

If you are a first‑time homebuyer, you may be eligible for a refund of all or part of the land transfer tax.

Read on: Land transfer tax refund for first‑time homebuyers

Other land taxes

Local municipalities charge a tax on the residential or business property you own. If you have questions about municipal property tax, contact your local municipality. If your property is located in an unorganized territory (an area without municipal organization) of Ontario, property tax is collected through the provincial land tax program administered by the Provincial Land Tax Office in Thunder Bay.

More about provincial land tax

If you buy property in the City of Toronto, you may also pay the City of Toronto's own municipal land transfer tax.

Read on: City of Toronto municipal land transfer tax

Harmonized sales tax

The harmonized sales tax (HST) applies to newly constructed homes or substantially renovated homes, but does not apply to resale homes. Buyers of new homes may receive a rebate of up to $24,000 of the provincial portion (8%) of the HST. If you have any questions about the HST rebate please contact the Canada Revenue Agency at 1‑800‑959‑1953.

Read: GST/HST New Housing Rebate

Paying the tax

Ontario's land transfer tax is payable when the transfer is registered.

If the transfer is not registered within 30 days of closing, you must submit a Return on the Acquisition of a Beneficial Interest in Land form to the Ministry of Finance, along with the payment of tax within 30 days after the closing date.

Download: Return on the Acquisition of a Beneficial Interest in Land

Some person(s) do not pay land transfer tax on certain transfers of land. The exemptions include, but are not limited to:

  • certain transfers between spouses
  • certain transfers from an individual to his or her family business corporation
  • certain transfers of farmed land between family members
  • certain transfers of a life lease from a non‑profit organization or a charity.

A deferral of land transfer tax may be available when land is transferred between affiliated corporations, and notice of the transfer is not registered on title.

General anti‑avoidance rule (GAAR)

Bill 14 Building Opportunity and Securing Our Future Act amended the Land Transfer Tax Act to set out a general anti‑voidance rule. This rule applies to transactions that are completed after May 1, 2014. It also applies to transactions that occurred on or before May 1, 2014 if they are part of a series of transactions that is completed after May 1, 2014.

Overpayment and refunds

If you overpaid land transfer tax, you can ask the Ministry of Finance for a refund. To request a refund, follow the steps below:

  1. Write a letter explaining the reason for your refund request and include:
    • a copy of the registered conveyance
    • evidence of the amount of tax paid on registration
    • a copy of the agreement of purchase and sale (including all schedules and amendments), and
    • a copy of the statement of adjustments.
  2. Mail your letter to:

    Ministry of Finance
    Land Taxes Section
    33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
    Oshawa ON L1H 8H9

Read on: Refunds of Land Transfer Tax

Time limits

There is no time restriction where a refund is requested for land transfer tax paid on registration of a notice or caution where the transfer contemplated in the agreement referred to in the notice or caution did not take place.

First-time homebuyer refund requests must be made within 18 months after the date of the transfer.

All other refund requests must be made within 4 years after the date of payment of the tax.

If you have trouble accessing one of these documents in your browser:

  • Save it to your computer by right clicking on the link and selecting “Save Link As…”
  • Save the file on the desktop (default selection) or browse to save the file in the directory of choice
  • Once the file is saved, open the saved file using Adobe Reader
Page: 50  |

Droits de cession immobilière

Le Règlement de l'Ontario 70/91 pris en application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière a été modifié afin de préciser la façon dont l'exemption au titre d'une participation minimale dans une société de personnes s'applique à certaines aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds, y compris celles qui se rapportent à des structures immobilières complexes comprenant des fiducies de placement immobilier et (ou) des niveaux de sociétés en commandite. Les renseignements relatifs aux modifications figurent au registre de la réglementation.

Des renseignements figurent également sur notre page Web intitulée Exemption au titre d'une participation minimale dans une société de personnes découlant des droits de cession immobilière : modifications visant à préciser certaines dispositions. NOTA: La présente page Web a été mise à jour le 15 novembre 2016 afin de prolonger la Politique concernant la divulgation volontaire spéciale (PDVS) jusqu'au 30 juin 2017. La PDVS s'applique qu'aux aliénations survenues le 17 février 2016 ou avant. La PDVS ne s'applique pas aux aliénations qui sont survenues le 18 février 2016 ou après, et les déclarations et remises demeurent exigibles le trentième jour suivant la date de l'aliénation ou, si cette date est plus éloignée, le 1er janvier 2017.

Lorsque vous faites l'acquisition d'un bien‑fonds ou d'un intérêt dans un bien‑fonds en Ontario, vous devez payer des droits de cession immobilière en Ontario. Par bien‑fonds, il faut entendre, sans toutefois s'y limiter, tout bâtiment, bâtiment à construire, ou accessoire (tel que des luminaires, appareils encastrés et armoires de cuisine).

Qui paie les droits de cession immobilière

Lorsque vous achetez un bien‑fonds ou un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds, vous devez verser des droits de cession immobilière dans la province à la conclusion de la transaction.

Les droits de cession immobilière sont habituellement fondés sur le montant payé pour le bien‑fonds, en plus du solde de toute hypothèque ou dette engagée dans le cadre de l'entente d'acquisition dudit bien‑fonds.

Cependant, les droits de cession immobilière sont parfois fondés sur la juste valeur marchande du bien‑fonds, par exemple, dans les cas où :

  • la durée restante de la cession d'un bail peut dépasser 50 ans
  • un bien‑fonds a été cédé par une société à l'un de ses actionnaires, ou
  • un bien‑fonds a été cédé par une société, moyennant l'émission d'actions de la société.

Calcul des droits de cession immobilière

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez : Calcul des droits de cession immobilière

Fournir de l'information supplémentaires

Le ministre des Finances s'est vu conférer le pouvoir d'établir un règlement à propos de la collecte de données supplémentaires à propos du cessionnaire et de la cession de bien‑fonds par quiconque étant assujetti aux droits de cession immobilière, devant remplir un Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière ou devant remplir une Déclaration sur l'acquisition d'un intérêt bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds.

Le ministre peut utiliser les renseignements pour l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière. De plus, le ministre peut utiliser ces renseignements sans identificateurs personnels afin de compiler des données statistiques, d'élaborer et d'évaluer les politiques économiques, fiscales et budgétaires.

L'obligation de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires ne sera pas en vigueur tant que le ministre n'aura pas déposé un règlement à cet effet et tant que les exigences prévues dans le règlement n'entreront pas en vigueur.

Acheteurs d'un premier logement

Les acheteurs d'un premier logement peuvent avoir droit à un remboursement total ou partiel des droits de cession immobilière.

Consultez le document : Remboursement des droits de cession immobilière pour les acheteurs d'un premier logement

Autres types d'impôts fonciers

Votre municipalité perçoit un impôt sur le bien‑fonds résidentiel ou commercial dont vous êtes propriétaire. Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l'impôt foncier municipal, adressez‑vous à votre municipalité. Si votre bien‑fonds se situe dans un territoire non érigé en municipalité (une région sans structure municipale) de l'Ontario, l'impôt foncier est perçu par le biais de l'impôt foncier provincial, un programme administré par le Bureau de l'impôt foncier provincial établi à Thunder Bay.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'impôt foncier provincial

Si vous achetez un bien‑fonds à Toronto, vous pourriez également devoir payer les droits de cession immobilière municipaux imposés par la Ville de Toronto.

Pour en savoir plus : droits de cession immobilière municipaux de la Ville de Toronto (en anglais seulement)

Taxe de vente harmonisée

La taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) s'applique aux habitations récemment construites ou ayant fait l'objet de rénovations majeures, mais non aux reventes d'habitations. Les acheteurs d'une habitation neuve pourraient recevoir une remise pouvant atteindre 24 000 $ de la composante provinciale (8 %) de la TVH. Si vous avez des questions au sujet du remboursement de la TVH, communiquez avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada au 1‑800‑959‑1953.

Pour en savoir plus : Remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour habitations neuves

Paiement des droits

Les droits de cession immobilière de l'Ontario sont payables au moment de l'enregistrement de la cession.

Si la cession immobilière n'est pas enregistrée dans les 30 jours, une Déclaration sur l'acquisition d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds doit être remplie et envoyée au ministère des Finances, accompagnée du paiement des droits applicables, dans les 30 jours suivant l'acquisition.

Télécharger : Déclaration sur l'acquisition d'un intérêt bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds

Certaines personnes ne sont pas tenues de payer de droits de cession immobilière sur certaines cessions de biens‑fonds. Ces exemptions englobent, sans s'y limiter cependant :

  • certaines cessions entre conjoints
  • certaines cessions entre une personne et son entreprise familiale
  • certaines cessions d'un bien‑fonds agricole entre des membres d'une même famille
  • certaines cessions d'un bail à vie de la part d'un organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif.

Un report des droits de cession immobilière peut être autorisé lors de la cession d'un bien‑fonds entre des sociétés affiliées, et lorsque l'avis de cession n'est pas enregistré auprès du bureau d'enregistrement immobilier.

Disposition générale anti‑évitement (DGAE)

Le projet de loi 14, Loi de 2014 ouvrant des perspectives et assurant notre avenir, a modifié la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière afin d'établir une disposition générale anti‑évitement. Cette disposition s'applique aux transactions effectuées après le 1er mai 2014. Elle s'applique aussi aux transactions qui ont été effectuées le ou avant le 1er mai 2014 si elles font partie d'une série de transactions qui se termine après le 1er mai 2014.

Paiements en trop et remboursement

Si vous avez payé des droits de cession immobilière en trop, vous pouvez demander un remboursement au ministère des Finances. Voici comment procéder :

  1. Soumettez une demande par écrit précisant les raisons justifiant le remboursement, et joignez :
    • une copie de l'acte de cession enregistré
    • une preuve que les droits ont été acquittés lors de l'enregistrement
    • une copie de la convention d'achat‑vente (y compris toutes les annexes et modifications), et
    • une copie de l'état des rajustements
  2. Faites parvenir votre lettre au:

    Ministère des Finances
    Section des impôts relatifs aux bien fonciers
    33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
    Oshawa ON L1H 8E9

Délais

Aucun délai n'est imposé pour demander un remboursement des droits de cession immobilière versés lors de l'enregistrement d'un avis ou d'un avertissement lorsque la cession prévue par l'entente indiquée sur l'avis ou l'avertissement n'a pas eu lieu.

Toute demande de remboursement soumise par un acheteur d'un premier logement doit être reçue dans les 18 mois suivant la date de la cession.

Toute autre demande de remboursement doit être reçue dans les 4 ans suivant le paiement des droits.

Si vous avez de la difficulté à accéder à l’un de ces documents dans votre navigateur Web :

  • Enregistrez-le sur votre ordinateur en cliquant sur le lien avec le bouton droit de la souris et en choisissant « Enregistrer le lien sous … »
  • Enregistrez le fichier sur le plan de travail (sélection par défaut) ou explorez pour enregistrer le fichier dans le répertoire de votre choix
  • Lorsque le fichier est enregistré, ouvrez le fichier enregistré en utilisant Adobe Reader
Page : 50  |