Retail Sales Tax

On July 1, 2010, the Retail Sales Tax (RST) was replaced by the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST). The provincial portion of the HST is eight per cent and the federal portion is five per cent, for a combined HST rate of 13 per cent.

The Canada Revenue Agency administers the HST. For answers to your HST questions and for more information, visit www.cra.gc.ca/gsthst or call 1 800 959-5525.

RST continues to apply to:

  • taxable insurance premiums, and
  • private sales of specified vehicles from a person who is not a GST/HST registrant.

RST related activities such as audits, refunds and appeals, etc., that apply to periods prior to July 1, 2010 continue during our wind-down period.

The information below explains how RST applies after June 30, 2010 to insurance premiums and specified vehicles.

Who collects and remits the RST?

Insurance premiums: Vendors are required to collect and remit the RST with their periodic tax return. Tax return filing frequencies that were in place for RST returns before July 1, 2010 have been maintained. For more information read Insurance Premiums .

Private sales of specified vehicles: Vehicles purchased privately from a person who is not a GST/HST registrant is subject to the RST at a rate of 13 per cent. RST is payable at the time of purchase.

How do I register as a vendor and obtain a vendor permit?

Only businesses that sell taxable insurance products or provide self insured benefits to their employees must be registered as vendors with the Ministry of Finance and obtain a vendor permit to charge, collect and remit RST. Effective June 30, 2010, all former RST vendor accounts were closed and businesses primarily engaged in insurance activities were automatically re-registered.

You can register as a vendor and obtain a vendor permit:

Can I apply for a RST refund?

All applications for a rebate or refund of RST paid must have been received by the Ministry of Finance by December 31, 2012. The December 31, 2012 deadline does not apply to applications for refunds or rebates of RST paid in respect of insurance premiums and for private transfers of used vehicles. The existing refund and rebate periods continue to apply for both of these areas.

For more information, see the list of RST forms and publications.

Page: 47  |

Taxe de vente au détail

Le 1er juillet 2010, la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) a été remplacé par la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH). La partie provinciale de la TVH est de huit pour cent et la partie fédérale de cinq pour cent, ce qui fait un taux combiné de 13 pour cent.

L'Agence du revenu du Canada administre la TVH. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web de l'Agence au www.arc.gc.ca/tpstvh ou composez le 1 800 959-5525.

La taxe de vente au détail continue à s'appliquer aux :

  • primes d'assurance, et
  • aux véhicules déterminés achetés à l'amiable.

La taxe de vente au détail reliée aux activités tel que les vérifications, remboursements, et les appels, etc, qui s'applique à la période avant le 1er juillet 2010, continue durant l'élimination graduelle de la TVD.

L'information ci-dessous explique comment la TVD s'applique aux primes d'assurance et véhicules determinés après le 30 juin 2010.

Qui perçoit la taxe de vente au détail?

Assurance : Les vendeurs sont requis de percevoir et remettre la TVD à la fin de chaque période de déclaration. La fréquence de production des déclarations en vigueur avant le 1er juin 2010 ne changera pas. Pour de l'information supplémentaire, veuillez consulter : Primes d'assurance.

Vente à l'amiable de véhicules déterminés : La TVD s'applique aux véhicules déterminés achetés à l'amiable auprès d'une personne non-inscrite aux fins de la TPS/TVH aux taux de 13 pour cent. La TVD sera requise au moment de l'enregistrement.

Comment s'enregistrer et obtenir un permis de vendeur?

Seulement les entreprises qui vendent des produits d'assurance taxable ou fournissent des régimes autogérés à leurs employés doivent être enregistrées auprès du ministère des Finances et obtenir un permis de vendeur pour percevoir et remettre la TVD. En date du 30 juin 2010, tous les anciens comptes de vendeurs au titre de la TVD ont été fermés et les entreprises exerçant principalement dans le secteur des assurances ont automatiquement été réinscrites.

Vous pouvez demander un permis de vendeur au titre de la taxe de vente au détail :

Puis-je demander un remboursement de la taxe de vente au détail?

Toute demande de remboursement ou de remise de TVD payée doit avoir été reçue par le ministère des Finances au plus tard le 31 décembre 2012. La date limite du 31 décembre 2012 ne s'applique pas aux demandes de remboursement et de remise de la TVD payée sur des primes d'assurance ou sur les cessions privées de véhicules d'occasion. Les périodes de demande de remboursement ou de remise existantes continuent de s'appliquer dans ces deux cas.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter notre liste de formulaires et publications.

Page : 47  |