Contraband Tobacco

Ontario continues to make progress in reducing smoking rates. It is determined to reduce the supply of low‑cost, contraband tobacco and aims to have the lowest smoking rates in Canada. The availability of contraband tobacco however, undermines the government's efforts in reducing smoking rates and protecting children and youth from the dangers of smoking.

Contraband cigarettes can be purchased for as little as a few dollars. The profits generated from contraband tobacco may also fuel other criminal activity, including trafficking of drugs, purchasing illegal weapons and funding other illicit activities.

Under the Tobacco Tax Act, unless otherwise authorized, it is illegal to buy, possess or distribute any quantity of untaxed or unregulated cigarettes or other tobacco products.

Recent action taken

Tobacco taxes are an effective way to reduce smoking rates, and prevent individuals, particularly youth, from starting smoking in the first place. Studies indicate that tobacco taxes are effective at reducing tobacco consumption. Effective February 26, 2016, Ontario increased the tobacco tax rate from 13.975 cents to 15.475 cents per cigarette (from $27.95 to $30.95 per carton of 200 cigarettes) and per gram of tobacco products other than cigarettes and cigars.

Stamps and markings on packaged cigarettes and fine cut tobacco show that Ontario’s tobacco tax has been accounted for on those tobacco products. Effective January 1, 2014, only packages of cigarettes and fine cut tobacco marked with a yellow 'ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ' tobacco stamp (replacing the peach-coloured federal stamp) are allowed for sale to consumers required to pay tobacco tax. See the new stamp. The new stamp helps to clearly identify what cigarettes and fine cut tobacco are legal, and which are not.

The Ministry of Finance has also signed an information-sharing agreement with the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario. Now, retailers who sell illegal tobacco under the Tobacco Tax Act could have their lottery licences suspended or revoked.

The government continues to strengthen tobacco enforcement, which includes a raw leaf tobacco oversight system effective January 1, 2015. Ministry of Finance oversight of raw leaf tobacco will help provide comprehensive coverage of the tobacco supply chain, and provide greater opportunity to disrupt the diversion of raw leaf tobacco to contraband manufacturers.

The government also introduced legislation that amended the Tobacco Tax Act to increase fines for offences related to marked tobacco products, allow for the impoundment of vehicles used to transport contraband tobacco and strengthen other enforcement measures.

Addressing contraband tobacco

Combating underground economies, including contraband tobacco, is a priority for the Government of Ontario. These activities result in a loss of revenue that supports important programs for Ontarians and creates unfair competition for those businesses that comply with Ontario laws.

Ontario has introduced measures to strengthen enforcement against the illegal manufacture and sale of tobacco products, and the results of these actions include:

  • since March 2008, penalties assessed against retailers violating the Tobacco Tax Act total more than $37 million
  • since 2008, more than 252 million contraband cigarettes, 4.3 million untaxed cigars and 169 million grams of untaxed fine‑cut tobacco or other tobacco products have been seized by the ministry.

The government is committed to addressing the underground economy and the issue of contraband tobacco through a balanced approach of consumer awareness, enforcement and partnerships, which includes working with Crime Stoppers.

  • Avoiding tobacco taxes erodes business competitiveness, and reduces the money available to fund vital programs for all Ontarians.
  • Report contraband tobacco to Ontario Crime Stoppers at 1 800‑222‑8477, or by leaving an anonymous tip online.

The Ministry of Finance works closely with various law enforcement agencies such as the RCMP-led Cornwall Regional Task Force, local public health units and the Ontario Provincial Police to reduce the presence of contraband tobacco.

Enforcing Ontario's tobacco tax laws also complements the Smoke-Free Ontario Strategy.

What you need to know about contraband tobacco

Under the Tobacco Tax Act, unless otherwise authorized, it is illegal to buy, possess or distribute any quantity of untaxed cigarettes or any other untaxed tobacco products.

How to identify legal cigarettes and fine cut tobacco

Packages of legal cigarettes and fine cut tobacco in Ontario are identified by the Ontario-adapted federal tobacco stamp:

sample of the Ontario-adapted federal stamp

This tobacco stamp contains security features and has a yellow background with the letters 'ON' in white and in black letters the words 'DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ'.

Because the provincial and federal taxes add up to at least $55 per carton of 200 cigarettes, cartons sold for less than this are likely illegal.

Subject to certain limited exceptions, cigarettes and fine cut tobacco sold in packages without a legal ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ tobacco stamp are illegal.

For example, cigarette packages with a peach-coloured federal stamp may be sold at authorized duty‑free stores. Some on-reserve retailers are also authorized to buy, from authorized wholesalers registered under the Tobacco Tax Act, limited quantities of cigarette packages with a peach‑coloured stamp. These packages are to be sold only on reserves to First Nation consumers who are Indians as defined under the federal Indian Act, for their own use. 

Consequences of breaking the law

Without proper authorization under the Tobacco Tax Act, it is against the law to have any packages of cigarettes or fine cut tobacco that do not have a legal ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ tobacco stamp. Consequences include civil penalties, and, if charged and convicted of an offence, possible fines, jail time or both. Packages of cigarettes that do not have the tobacco stamp are unmarked cigarettes.

If you are convicted of possessing unmarked cigarettes you may be fined three times the tax on the unmarked cigarettes you possessed plus:

  • a fine of $100 if you possessed 200 unmarked cigarettes or less
  • a fine of $250 if you possessed more than 200 unmarked cigarettes but less than 1,001
  • a fine of $500 if you possessed more than 1,000 unmarked cigarettes but less than 10,001
  • a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $10,000 if you possessed more than 10,000 unmarked cigarettes.

In addition, if it is not your first conviction for possessing unmarked cigarettes or if you are in possession of more than 10,000 unmarked cigarettes you may be sentenced to up to two years in jail.

For tobacco retailers

Tobacco retailers must:

  • sell only legal tobacco products
  • have a valid tobacco retail dealer’s permit or a retail sales tax vendor’s permit
  • only buy tobacco products from tobacco wholesalers who are registered with Ontario. You can see which wholesalers are registered by getting the current Tobacco Tax Registrant List on the Ministry of Finance website. Please subscribe to receive e-alerts about tobacco tax and other topics from the Ministry of Finance
  • keep, records and books of account for all tobacco product purchases and sales for seven years at their principal place of business
  • not sell tobacco products to a person less than 19 years old
  • require ID from anyone that appears to be less than 25 years old
  • post applicable health warning and age restriction signs
  • sell legal packages of cigarettes and fine cut tobacco that are marked with the ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ tobacco stamp.

Tobacco retailers found selling contraband tobacco may be subject to penalties, fines, imprisonment, and may be banned from selling tobacco or lottery products.

Recommended for you

Page: 3080  |

Tabac de contrebande

L'Ontario continue de faire des progrès en matière de réduction du nombre de fumeurs, est déterminé à réduire la quantité de produits du tabac contrebande à bas prix et est résolu à afficher le taux d'usage du tabac le plus faible au Canada. Toutefois, la disponibilité du tabac de contrebande mine les efforts du gouvernement visant à réduire le nombre de fumeurs et à protéger les enfants et les jeunes contre les dangers du tabagisme.

Les cigarettes de contrebande peuvent être achetées pour quelques dollars seulement. Les profits issus du tabac de contrebande peuvent également servir à financer d'autres activités criminelles, notamment le trafic de stupéfiants, l'achat d'armes illégales et d'autres activités illicites.

En vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, sauf autorisation contraire, il est illégal d'acheter, de posséder ou de distribuer des cigarettes de contrebande ou tout autre tabac non réglementé ou non taxé, quelle qu'en soit la quantité.

Mesures récentes prises

Les taxes sur le tabac sont un moyen efficace pour réduire l'usage du tabac et dissuader les gens, particulièrement les jeunes, de commencer à fumer. Des études ont démontré que les taxes sur le tabac sont efficaces pour réduire la consommation du tabac. Le 26 février 2016, l'Ontario a augmenté le taux de la taxe sur le tabac de 13,975 cents à 15,475 cents par cigarette (de 27,95 $ à 30,95 $ par cartouche de 200 cigarettes) et par gramme de produits du tabac autres que les cigarettes et les cigares.

Les estampilles et le marquage des paquets de cigarettes et de tabac haché fin indiquent que la taxe sur le tabac de l'Ontario a été perçue pour ces produits du tabac. À compter du 1er janvier 2014, seuls les paquets de cigarettes et de tabac haché fin marqués d'une estampille de tabac jaune « ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ » (qui remplace l'estampille de couleur pêche du gouvernement fédéral) sont autorisés pour la vente aux consommateurs tenus de payer la taxe sur le tabac. Voir la nouvelle estampille. La nouvelle estampille permet de distinguer clairement les cigarettes et le tabac haché fin légaux des produits de contrebande.

Le ministère des Finances a également signé un accord d'échange de renseignements avec la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l'Ontario. Dorénavant, les détaillants qui vendent du tabac illégal en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac pourraient se voir suspendre ou retirer leur permis de loterie.

Le gouvernement continue de renforcer l'application de la législation sur le tabac, qui comprend un système de surveillance du tabac en feuilles à compter du 1er janvier 2015. La surveillance du tabac en feuilles par le ministère des Finances contribuera à offrir une couverture complète de la chaîne d'approvisionnement des produits du tabac, et une possibilité accrue de perturber le détournement du tabac en feuilles aux fabricants illégaux.

Le gouvernement a également proposé une législation visant à modifier la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac afin d'augmenter les amendes prévues pour les infractions liées aux produits du tabac marqués, à saisir les véhicules utilisés pour le transport de tabac de contrebande et à affermir d'autres mesures d'exécution de la loi.

Mesures visant le tabac de contrebande

La lutte contre l'économie clandestine, y compris le tabac de contrebande, est une priorité du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Ces activités entraînent une perte de revenu qui soutient d'importants programmes pour les Ontariens et crée une concurrence injuste aux entreprises qui respectent les lois de l'Ontario.

L'Ontario a proposé des mesures visant à renforcer l'application de la loi contre la fabrication et la vente illégales de produits du tabac avec les résultats suivants :

  • Depuis mars 2008, les pénalités imposées aux détaillants ayant enfreint la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ont atteint plus de 37 millions de dollars.
  • Depuis 2008, plus de 252 millions de cigarettes de contrebande, 4,3 millions de cigares non taxés et 169 millions de grammes de tabac haché fin ou d'autres produits du tabac non taxés ont été saisis par le ministère.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à s'attaquer à l'économie clandestine et à régler le problème du tabac de contrebande grâce à l'adoption d'une démarche équilibrée en matière de sensibilisation des consommateurs, d'application de la loi et de partenariats, qui comprend la collaboration avec le programme Échec au crime.

  • Le non‑paiement des taxes sur le tabac mine la compétitivité des entreprises et réduit les montants d'argent disponibles pour financer les programmes essentiels pour toute la population ontarienne.
  • Signalez le tabac de contrebande à Échec au crime Ontario (Disponible en anglais seulement) en composant le 1 800 222‑8477 ou en laissant un renseignement anonyme en ligne (Disponible en anglais seulement).

Le ministère des Finances collabore étroitement avec différents organismes d'application de la loi comme le groupe de travail régional de Cornwall dirigé par la GRC, les Bureaux de santé publique locaux et la Police provinciale de l'Ontario afin de réduire la présence du tabac de contrebande.

La mise en application des lois sur le tabac de l'Ontario complémente également la stratégie Ontario sans fumée.

Ce que vous devez savoir à propos du tabac de contrebande

En vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, sauf autorisation contraire, il est illégal d'acheter, de posséder ou de distribuer des cigarettes de contrebande ou tout autre tabac non taxé, quelle qu'en soit la quantité.

Comment reconnaître les cigarettes et le tabac haché fin légaux

Les paquets de cigarettes et de tabac haché fin légaux en Ontario se reconnaissent par l'estampille de tabac fédérale adaptée pour l'Ontario :

sample of the Ontario-adapted federal stamp

Cette estampille de tabac comporte des éléments de sécurité et les lettres « ON » imprimées en blanc et la mention « DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ » imprimée en noir sur fond jaune.

Comme les taxes provinciale et fédérale totalisent au moins 55 $ par cartouche de 200 cigarettes, les cartouches vendues à prix moindre sont probablement des produits de  contrebande.

Sous réserve de certaines exceptions limitées, les cigarettes et le tabac haché fin vendus dans des paquets ne portant pas l'estampille légale ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ sont considérés comme des produits illégaux.

Par exemple, les paquets de cigarettes portant une estampille fédérale de couleur pêche peuvent être vendus dans les boutiques hors taxes autorisées. Certains détaillants situés sur des réserves sont également autorisés à acheter, auprès de grossistes autorisés enregistrés en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, une certaine quantité de paquets de cigarettes comportant une bandelette de couleur pêche. Ces paquets doivent être vendus uniquement dans la réserve à des membres d'une Première Nation possédant le statut d'Indien selon les critères de la Loi sur les Indiens (fédérale), pour leur usage exclusif.

Conséquences en cas d'infraction

Sans autorisation appropriée en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, toute possession de paquets de cigarettes ou de tabac haché fin ne portant pas une estampille de tabac légale ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ est interdite. Les conséquences comprennent l'imposition de sanctions civiles et, si elle est reconnue coupable, une personne est passible d'une amende, d'emprisonnement ou des deux. Les paquets de cigarettes qui ne portent pas l'estampille de tabac sont des cigarettes non marquées.

Si vous êtes reconnu coupable de possession de cigarettes non marquées, on vous imposera une amende correspondant à trois fois la taxe sur les cigarettes non marquées en votre possession, plus :

  • une amende de 100 $ si vous aviez en votre possession 200 cigarettes non marquées ou moins
  • une amende de 250 $ si vous aviez en votre possession plus de 200 et moins de 1 001 cigarettes non marquées
  • une amende de 500 $ si vous aviez en votre possession plus de 1 000 et moins de 10 001 cigarettes non marquées
  • une amende d'au moins 500 $ et d'au plus 10 000 $ si vous aviez en votre possession plus de 10 000 cigarettes non marquées.

En outre, s'il ne s'agit pas de votre première déclaration de culpabilité pour possession de cigarettes non marquées ou si vous aviez en votre possession plus de 10 000 cigarettes non marquées, vous pourriez être condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement maximale de deux ans.

Pour les détaillants de tabac

Les détaillants de tabac doivent :

  • vendre uniquement des produits du tabac légaux
  • détenir un permis de détaillant de tabac valide ou un permis de vendeur au titre de la taxe de vente au détail valide
  • acheter des produits du tabac provenant uniquement des grossistes de tabac enregistrés en Ontario. Vous pouvez connaître les grossistes enregistrés en consultant la Liste d'inscrits de la taxe sur le tabac sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. Veuillez vous inscrire pour recevoir des alertes par courriel du ministère des Finances à propos de la taxe sur le tabac et d'autres sujets
  • tenir, à leur lieu d'affaires commercial principal, des dossiers et des livres comptables pour tous les achats et les ventes de produits du tabac pendant une période de sept ans
  • s'abstenir de vendre des produits du tabac aux personnes de moins de 19 ans
  • exiger une pièce d'identité de toute personne qui semble avoir moins de 25 ans
  • afficher les mises en garde en matière de santé et de limite d'âge
  • vendre des paquets de cigarettes et de tabac haché fin légaux marqués par l'estampille de tabac ON DUTY PAID CANADA DROIT ACQUITTÉ.

Les détaillants de tabac qui vendent du tabac de contrebande pourraient se voir imposer des pénalités, des amendes, une peine d'emprisonnement et une interdiction de vendre des produits du tabac ou des billets de loterie.

Sujets connexes recommandés

Page : 3080  |