meeting in ottawa
Minister of Finance Joe Oliver met with Gordon Wyant, Saskatchewan’s Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Troy Lifford, New Brunswick’s Minister of Justice, Michael de Jong, British Columbia’s Minister of Finance, and Charles Sousa, Ontario’s Minister of Finance, in Ottawa, on Wednesday July 9, 2014.

: Key Changes as agreed to in the Amended Agreement in Principle to Move Towards a Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System

On July 9, 2014, the provincial Ministers responsible for securities regulation in Saskatchewan, and New Brunswick have agreed to join the Ministers of Finance in British Columbia, Ontario and Canada to establish a Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.

This announcement builds on the September 19, 2013 agreement in principle between the Governments of British Columbia, Ontario and Canada.

The signing of the amended agreement in principle by the Ministers of Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, British Columbia, Ontario and Canada means, among other things, that there will be two additional regional Deputy Chief Regulators representing capital markets jurisdictions in each of western and eastern Canada.