Back to the Ombudsman Ontario Summary page

Ombudsman Ontario Program - VOTE 2301

The Ombudsman is an Officer of the Legislature who submits his reports directly to the Legislative Assembly. The Ombudsman's mandate is set out in the Ombudsman Act. The Ombudsman publishes an Annual Report as required by the Act, as well as special reports throughout the year on systemic investigations conducted by the Special Ombudsman Response Team.

The Ombudsman investigates complaints about the administration of Ontario's provincial governmental organizations and makes recommendations to improve government policy, programs and services. The Ombudsman can investigate both individual and systemic complaints brought forward by members of the public, Members of Provincial Parliament, and on his own initiative. The Ombudsman services are free of charge.

During the 2012/2013 fiscal year, the Ombudsman's Office experienced a 6% increase in its caseload, receiving over 19,700 complaints. We are on track to exceed this number for the 2013/2014 fiscal year. The Ombudsman's Office maintains a complement of 86 FTE's, 63 of which are members of the Canadian Office and Professional Employees union (COPE). The Office's current collective agreement expired March 31, 2013.

The Ombudsman also investigates citizens' complaints about closed municipal meetings pursuant to the Municipal Act, where no municipal investigator is in place. This additional jurisdiction was received in 2008 and was implemented using existing resources and with no resulting increase in the operating budget of the office. The Ombudsman also publishes an Annual Report on the Closed Meetings investigations conducted by his office, as well as special reports on individual investigations.

The Office of the Ombudsman maintains a high social media presence and individuals may contact the Office to lodge a complaint in person, in writing, via toll-free telephone, email, internet or using a mobile web application. The Office provides extensive information about its operations and specific investigations in both English and French, on its website at www.ombudsman.on.ca.

Vote Summary
($)
ITEM # ITEM

Estimates
2013-14

Estimates
2012-13

Difference
Between
2013-14
and
2012-13

Actual
2011-12

  OPERATING EXPENSE        
1 The Ombudsman 11,288,100 11,159,300 128,800 10,773,758
  TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE TO BE VOTED 11,288,100 11,159,300 128,800 10,773,758
  Total Operating Expense 11,288,100 11,159,300 128,800 10,773,758


Standard Account by Item and Sub-Items
($)
VOTE-
ITEM
#
STANDARD ACCOUNT BY ITEM AND SUB-ITEMS      
  OPERATING EXPENSE      
2301-1 The Ombudsman      
      Salaries and wages     7,376,400
      Employee benefits     1,696,600
      Transportation and communication     593,000
      Services     1,373,200
      Supplies and equipment     248,900
  Total Operating Expense to be Voted     11,288,100
  Total Operating Expense for Ombudsman Ontario Program     11,288,100

Retour au Ombudsman Ontario sommaire

Programme - Ombudsman Ontario - CRÉDIT 2301

L'ombudsman enquête sur les plaintes concernant l'administration d'organismes gouvernementaux de la province de l'Ontario et fait des recommandations en vue d'améliorer les politiques, programmes et services gouvernementaux. L'ombudsman peut enquêter sur des plaintes individuelles et systémiques présentées par des membres du public, des députés ou de son propre chef. Les services de l'ombudsman sont gratuits.

Au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013, le Bureau de l'ombudsman a enregistré une hausse de 6 % du nombre de dossiers, avec plus de 19 700 plaintes reçues. Il semble bien que ce chiffre sera dépassé en 2013/2014. Le Bureau de l'ombudsman a un effectif de 86 ETP, dont 63 membres du Syndicat canadien des employées et employés professionnels et de bureau (SEPB). La convention collective actuelle du Bureau a expiré le 31 mars 2013.

L'ombudsman examine également les plaintes de citoyens concernant des réunions à huis clos en vertu de la Loi sur les municipalités, lorsqu'aucun enquêteur municipal n'est en poste. Cette compétence a été ajoutée en 2008 et mise en œuvre à partir des ressources existantes, sans hausse connexe du budget de fonctionnement du Bureau. L'ombudsman publie également un rapport annuel sur les enquêtes menées par son bureau concernant les réunions à huis clos, ainsi que des rapports spéciaux sur des enquêtes précises.

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman est très présent sur les médias sociaux. Les particuliers peuvent communiquer avec le Bureau pour déposer une plainte en personne, par écrit, en appelant une ligne sans frais, par courriel, par Internet ou au moyen d'une application Web pour mobiles. Le Bureau donne de nombreux renseignements concernant ses activités et certaines enquêtes, en français et en anglais, sur son site Web (www.ombudsman.on.ca).

Sommaire - Crédit
($)
POSTE NO POSTE

Prévisions
2013-2014

Prévisions
2012-2013

Différence
entre
2013-2014
et
2012-2013

Chiffres
réels
2011-2012

  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT        
1 Ombudsman 11 288 100 11 159 300 128 800 10 773 758
  TOTAL À VOTER - CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT 11 288 100 11 159 300 128 800 10 773 758
  Total - Charges de fonctionnement 11 288 100 11 159 300 128 800 10 773 758


Catégorie de dépenses par poste et sous-postes
($)
CRÉDIT-
POSTE
No
CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES PAR POSTE ET SOUS-POSTES      
  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT      
2301-1 Ombudsman      
      Traitements et salaires     7 376 400
      Avantages sociaux     1 696 600
      Transports et communications     593 000
      Services     1 373 200
      Fournitures et matériel     248 900
  Total à voter - Charges de fonctionnement     11 288 100
  Total (Charges de fonctionnement) - Programme - Ombudsman Ontario     11 288 100