2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review

Chapter IV: Borrowing and Debt Management

HIGHLIGHTS

  • The total long-term public borrowing requirement over the forecast period has been reduced by $3.6 billion compared to the 2011 Budget, primarily because of the lower deficit recorded in the 2010–11 Public Accounts and the lower projected deficit in 2011–12.
  • Long-term public borrowing for 2011–12 will remain at the Budget forecast of $35 billion to smooth the borrowing program over the next three years while taking advantage of historically low interest rates and robust demand for Ontario long-term debt.
  • Interest on debt (IOD) expense in 2011–12, at $10,097 million, is $193 million less than forecast in the 2011 Budget. This reduction in IOD primarily reflects the impact of lower interest rates and the lower deficit in 2010–11.
  • Total debt is projected to be $257.3 billion as at March 31, 2012.
  • Net debt is projected to be $238.4 billion as at March 31, 2012.

Long-Term Public Borrowing

The forecast long-term public borrowing requirement for 2011–12 is $35.0 billion. As at November 15, 2011, $24.3 billion, or 70 per cent, of the long-term borrowing requirement was completed. This figure includes Ontario Savings Bond sales of $0.6 billion.

The Province has been able to continue to extend the term to maturity of its debt while locking in interest rates below the forecast used in the 2011 Budget. The weighted-average term to maturity of long-term provincial debt issued so far in 2011–12 is 11.6 years, compared to 12.8 years for 2010–11 and 8.1 years for 2009–10. This term to maturity extension reduces refinancing risks and helps offset the impact of expected higher interest rates in future years on the Province’s interest on debt (IOD) costs.

The IOD expense in 2011–12, at $10,097 million, is $193 million less than forecast in the 2011 Budget. This reduction in IOD primarily reflects the impact of lower interest rates and the lower deficit in 2010–11.

So far this year, Ontario has issued $18.2 billion (almost 75 per cent) in the Canadian dollar market, well above the 60 per cent target set out in the 2011 Budget. The Province now expects to end the year with more than 70 per cent of its borrowing in this market.

Chart 1: 2011-12 Borrowing-Canadian Dollar Market

Canadian dollar borrowing has been completed through a number of instruments:

  • syndicated issues
  • floating rate notes
  • Ontario Savings Bonds.
Chart 2: 2011-12 Borrowing-International Markets

International markets have remained an important source of funding for Ontario this year. About $6.2 billion, or over 25 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in foreign currencies:

  • three Global bonds in U.S. dollars
  • two Euro Medium-Term Notes (EMTNs) in Norwegian kroner
  • a Kangaroo bond in Australian dollars.
Table 1
2011–12 Borrowing Program:
Province and Ontario Electricity Financial
Corporation
($ Billions)
  Budget
Plan
Current Outlook In-Year Change
Deficit 16.3 16.0 (0.3)
Investment in Capital Assets 10.9 10.9
Non-Cash Adjustments (3.6) (3.6)
Net Loans/Investments 2.7 2.4 (0.3)
Debt Maturities 13.9 13.9
Debt Redemptions 0.5 0.3 (0.2)
Total Funding Requirement 40.7 40.0 (0.7)
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (1.1) (1.1)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing 0.7 0.7
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (4.6) (7.8)  
(3.2)
Provision for Debt Buy-Backs 3.2 3.2
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 35.0 35.0
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The lower deficit in 2010–11 resulted in the Province beginning 2011–12 with higher cash reserves than forecast at the time of the 2011 Budget. Still, long-term public borrowing will remain at the Budget forecast of $35 billion this fiscal year. This will allow the Province to smooth the borrowing program over the next three years, while taking advantage of historically low interest rates and robust demand for Ontario long-term debt.

The Province plans to buy back debt maturing over the next two fiscal years, as reflected in a new line in Tables 1 and 2, “Provision for Debt Buy-Backs,” if the opportunity arises. These debt buy-backs would result in the Province reducing Cash and Cash Equivalents by $3.2 billion more than forecast at the time of the Budget, while still ending fiscal 2011–12 with the same level of cash reserves as was targeted in the Budget.

Table 2
Medium-Term Borrowing Outlook:
Province and Ontario Electricity Financial
Corporation (OEFC)
($ Billions)
  2011–12 2012–13 2013–14
Deficit 16.0 15.2 13.3
Investment in Capital Assets 10.9 11.5 10.5
Non-Cash Adjustments (3.6) (3.4) (3.9)
Net Loans/Investments 2.4 1.2 1.0
Debt Maturities 13.9 17.3 23.8
Debt Redemptions 0.3 0.3 0.3
Total Funding Requirement 40.0 42.1 45.1
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (1.1) (0.8)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing 0.7 (3.0) (3.0)
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (7.8)
Provision for Debt Buy-Backs 3.2 (1.2) (2.0)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 35.0 37.2 40.0
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The total long-term public borrowing requirement over the forecast period has been reduced by $3.6 billion compared to the 2011 Budget, primarily because of the lower deficit recorded in the 2010–11 Public Accounts and the lower projected deficit in 2011–12.

The availability of debt to buy back at fair prices with the appropriate accounting treatment will determine whether the Province proceeds with the planned debt buy-backs. If it is not cost effective to buy back debt, the Province will finish the year with higher cash reserves than targeted in the Budget. Either buying back debt, or retaining higher cash reserves, will have the same impact of decreasing the Province’s net debt from the Budget forecast.

Debt

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $257.3 billion as at March 31, 2012, compared to $236.6 billion as at March 31, 2011.

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. It is projected to be $238.4 billion as at March 31, 2012, compared to $241.5 billion forecast in the 2011 Budget. Net debt was $214.5 billion as at March 31, 2011.

Total Debt Composition

Total debt is composed of bonds issued in both the short-and long-term public capital markets and non-public debt.

Ontario had total debt of $251.9 billion as at September 30, 2011. Public debt totalled $236.8 billion, primarily consisting of bonds issued in the long-term markets in Canadian dollars, and internationally in U.S. dollars and nine other currencies. The Province also had $15.1 billion outstanding in non-public debt issued in Canadian dollars. Non-public debt mainly consists of debt instruments issued to public-sector pension funds in Ontario and the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board. This debt is not marketable and cannot be traded.

Chart 3: Total Debt Composition as at September 30, 2011

Debt-to-GDP Ratios

The Province’s debt-to-GDP ratios are expected to increase due to the projected deficits. The ratios will stabilize and begin to decline as the deficit is eliminated.

Chart 4: Net Debt-to-GDP
Chart 5: Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

Cost of Debt

The effective interest rate (on a weighted-average basis) on total debt was 4.43 per cent as at September 30, 2011 (March 31, 2011, 4.54 per cent).

Chart 6: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average)

Risk Exposure

The Province limits itself to a maximum net interest rate resetting exposure of 35 per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes and a maximum foreign exchange exposure of five per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes. As at September 30, 2011, the net interest rate resetting exposure was 5.8 per cent and foreign exchange exposure was 1.1 per cent.

All exposures have remained well below policy limits in 2011–12.

Chart 7: Net Interest Rate Resetting Exposure

Chart 8: Foreign Exchange Exposure

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2011

Chapitre IV  : Emprunts et gestion de la dette

Points saillants

  • Le total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour la période de prévision a été réduit de 3,6 milliards de dollars comparativement au budget de 2011, en raison principalement du déficit moins important déclaré dans les Comptes publics de 2010‑2011 et du déficit plus faible projeté pour 2011‑2012.
  • Les emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics pour 2011‑2012 seront conformes aux prévisions du budget, soit 35 milliards de dollars, en vue d’alléger le programme d’emprunt pour les trois prochaines années en tirant profit des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas et de la forte demande de titres de créances à long terme de l’Ontario.
  • Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette en 2011-2012, qui se chiffrent à 10 097 millions de dollars, sont inférieurs de 193 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2011. Cette diminution résulte surtout de l’incidence des taux d’intérêt plus faibles et du déficit moins important enregistré en 2010-2011.
  • La dette totale devrait s’élever à 257,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012.
  • La dette nette devrait se chiffrer à 238,4 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012.

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

Les besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour 2011‑2012 s’établissent à 35,0 milliards de dollars. Au 15 novembre 2011, la province avait mobilisé 24,3 milliards de dollars, soit 70 % de ses besoins d’emprunt à long terme. Ce montant englobe les ventes d’Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario, qui se sont chiffrées à 0,6 milliard de dollars.

La province a pu continuer à prolonger l’échéance de sa dette tout en tirant profit des taux d’intérêt inférieurs aux prévisions du budget de 2011. La moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme jusqu’ici en 2011‑2012 est de 11,6 ans, par rapport à 12,8 ans pour 2010‑2011 et 8,1 ans pour 2009‑2010. Cette prolongation de l’échéance réduit les risques de refinancement et aide à contrebalancer l’incidence que des taux d’intérêt plus élevés à l’avenir auraient sur les frais d’intérêt sur la dette de la province.

Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette en 2011-2012, qui se chiffrent à 10 097 millions de dollars, sont inférieurs de 193 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2011. Cette diminution résulte surtout de l’incidence des taux d’intérêt plus faibles et du déficit moins important en 2010-2011.

Jusqu’ici cette année, l’Ontario a émis 18,2 milliards de dollars (près de 75 %) sur le marché du dollar canadien, ce qui est de beaucoup supérieur à la cible de 60 % établie dans le budget de 2011. La province s’attend maintenant à terminer l’exercice avec plus de 70 % de ses emprunts contractés sur ce marché.

Graphique 1 : Emprunts de 2011-2012–Marché canadien

Ces emprunts en dollars canadiens ont été faits à l’aide d’un certain nombre d’instruments :

  • des obligations consortiales;
  • des obligations à taux variable;
  • des Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario.
Graphique 2 : Emprunts sur le marché international en 2011-2012

Les marchés internationaux sont demeurés une importante source de financement pour l’Ontario cette année. Plus de 25 % des emprunts, soit quelque 6,2 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés en devises étrangères :

  • trois obligations planétaires en dollars américains;
  • deux euro-billets à moyen terme, en couronnes norvégiennes;
  • une obligation en dollars australiens.
Tableau 1
Programme d'emprunt de 2011-2012 : Province et Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario
(en milliards de dollars)
  Plan
budgétaire
Perspectives
actuelles
Variation en
cours
d’exercice
Déficit 16,3 16,0 (0,3)
Investissement dans des immobilisations corporelles 10,9 10,9
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (3,6) (3,6)
Prêts/Investissements nets 2,7 2,4 (0,3)
Dette arrivant à échéance 13,9 13,9
Rachats de titres de créances 0,5 0,3 (0,2)
Total des besoins en matière de financement 40,7 40,0 (0,7)
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada  (1,1) (1,1)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme  –   0,7 0,7
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents (4,6) (7,8) (3,2)
Provision pour rachats de titres de créances   3,2 3,2
Total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics 35,0 35,0
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Grâce au déficit moins élevé enregistré en 2010-2011, la province a commencé l’exercice 2011-2012 avec des réserves de trésorerie plus importantes que prévu lors de la publication du budget de 2011. Les emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics seront tout de même conformes aux prévisions du budget, soit 35 milliards de dollars, au cours du présent exercice en vue d’alléger le programme d’emprunt pour les trois prochaines années en tirant profit des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas et de la forte demande de titres de créances à long terme de l’Ontario.

Si l’occasion se présente, la province rachètera des titres de créances arrivant à échéance au cours des deux prochains exercices, comme l’indique la nouvelle ligne des tableaux 1 et 2, « Provision pour rachats de titres de créances ». Ces rachats permettraient à la province de réduire le poste Trésorerie et équivalents de 3,2 milliards de dollars de plus que ce qui était prévu dans le budget tout en terminant l’exercice 2011-2012 avec le même niveau de réserves de trésorerie que ce qui était visé dans le budget.

Tableau 2
Perspectives du programme d’emprunt à moyen terme : Province et Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario
(en milliards de dollars)
  2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014
Déficit 16,0 15,2 13,3
Investissement dans des immobilisations corporelles 10,9 11,5 10,5
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (3,6)  (3,4)  (3,9)
Prêts/Investissements nets 2,4 1,2 1,0
Dette arrivant à échéance 13,9 17,3 23,8
Rachats de titres de créances 0,3 0,3  0,3
Total des besoins en matière de financement 40,0 42,1 45,1
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (1,1) (0,8)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme 0,7 (3,0) (3,0)
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents (7,8)
Provision pour rachats de titres de créances 3,2 (1,2) (2,0)
Total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics 35,0 37,2 40,0
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Le total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour la période de prévision a été réduit de 3,6 milliards de dollars comparativement au budget de 2011, en raison principalement du déficit moins important déclaré dans les Comptes publics de 2010-2011 et du déficit plus faible projeté pour 2011-2012.

La province procédera aux rachats prévus s’il y a des titres de créances à racheter à des prix justes en ayant recours au traitement comptable pertinent. S’il n’est pas efficient de racheter des titres de créances, la province terminera l’exercice avec des réserves de trésorerie supérieures aux montants ciblés dans le budget. Que la province rachète des titres de créances ou conserve des réserves de trésorerie plus importantes, le résultat sera le même : sa dette nette sera inférieure aux prévisions budgétaires.

Dette

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans y inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 257,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012, comparativement à 236,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011.

La dette nette de l’Ontario, qui équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers, devrait atteindre 238,4 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012, par rapport aux 241,5 milliards de dollars prévus dans le budget de 2011. La dette nette se chiffrait à 214,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011.

Composition de la dette totale

La dette totale est constituée d’obligations émises sur les marchés financiers publics à court et à long terme et d’une dette interne.

Au 30 septembre 2011, l’Ontario avait une dette totale de 251,9 milliards de dollars. La dette publique totalisait 236,8 milliards de dollars; elle était constituée principalement d’obligations émises sur les marchés à long terme en dollars canadiens et sur les marchés internationaux en dollars américains et dans neuf autres devises. La province avait aussi une dette interne de 15,1 milliards de dollars contractée en dollars canadiens. Celle‑ci est constituée principalement de titres de créances qui sont détenus par des régimes de retraite du secteur public de l’Ontario et l’Office d’investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada. Cette dette contractée hors des marchés publics est non négociable.

Graphique 3 : Composition de la dette totale au 30 septembre 2011

Rapports dette-PIB

On s’attend à ce que les rapports dette-PIB de la province augmentent en raison des déficits projetés. Les rapports se stabiliseront et commenceront à diminuer lorsque le déficit sera éliminé.

Graphique 4 : Rapport dette nette-PIB
Graphique 5 : Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB

Coût de la dette

Au 30 septembre 2011, le taux d’intérêt effectif (selon une moyenne pondérée) sur la dette totale était de 4,43 % (4,54 % au 31 mars 2011).

Graphique 6 : Taux d'intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

Exposition aux risques

La province limite son exposition aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d’intérêt à 35 % de la dette contractée pour les besoins de la province et son exposition aux risques de change, à 5 % de cette dette. Au 30 septembre 2011, l’exposition de la province aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d’intérêt était de 5,8 %. Son exposition aux risques de change était de 1,1 %.

En 2011-2012, toutes les expositions sont restées nettement inférieures aux limites prévues dans la politique.

Graphique 7 : Exposition aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d'intérêt
Graphique 8 : Exposition aux risques de change