2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review

Chapter V: Taxation and Pensions

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth is providing $12 billion in tax relief for people and more than $4.8 billion in business tax relief over three years, beginning in 2010–11.
  • The proposed Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit would allow seniors or family members who are sharing a home with a senior to claim a refundable tax credit for permanent modifications that improve accessibility or help a senior be more functional or mobile at home.

Creating Jobs and Helping Ontarians

Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth, announced in 2009, provides Ontario with a strong foundation to help manage global economic uncertainty. Tax relief measures for people and businesses are helping to make Ontario’s tax system fairer and more competitive.

Tax Relief for People
  • A permanent cut to Personal Income Tax (PIT) for 93 per cent of income tax payers, including elimination of Ontario PIT for about 90,000 lower-income taxpayers.
  • Permanent refundable credits providing a total of $2.4 billion in annual assistance to millions of low- to moderate-income people:
    • Ontario Sales Tax Credit — for 2011, people can get up to $265 in sales tax relief for each adult and child in a family.
    • Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit — for 2011, single people and families can get up to $917 in relief for the sales tax on energy and for property taxes. Seniors can get up to $1,044.
    • Northern Ontario Energy Credit — for 2011, residents of northern Ontario can get up to $132 for a single person or up to $204 for a family to help with the higher energy costs they face.
    • These credits are paid in four instalments. Beginning in July 2012, these credits will be combined and delivered on a monthly basis as the Ontario Trillium Benefit.
  • The Ontario Senior Homeowners’ Property Tax Grant, introduced in 2009, is providing grants of up to $500 a year to help low- to moderate-income senior homeowners pay their property taxes. Over five years, the grant is expected to provide about $1 billion in property tax relief to over 600,000 seniors.
  • Children’s Activity Tax Credit — for 2011, parents who have children enrolled in extracurricular activities can get up to $51 for each child under age 16. They can receive up to $102 for each child with a disability who is under age 18. This credit is expected to provide about $75 million in assistance to Ontario families each year.

Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit

The government is proposing a new Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit. If passed, this tax credit could stimulate economic growth through home renovation activity, and would also support around 10,500 jobs throughout the Ontario economy annually. Helping seniors stay in their homes, or in their families’ homes, frees up health resources for patients occupying costly beds in hospitals but who could be best cared for in a long-term care home.

Effective October 1, 2011, senior homeowners and tenants, and people who share a home with a senior relative, would be allowed to claim a refundable tax credit of up to $1,500 for expenses related to permanent modifications to the home.

Expenses would be eligible only to the extent that they improve accessibility or help a senior be more functional or mobile at home.

Expenses would not be eligible if their primary purpose is to increase the value of a home (for example, repairs to a roof, redecorating, new windows, new flooring, landscaping, general plumbing or electrical repairs, heating/air conditioning systems or insulation).

Expenses that would be eligible are illustrated by the list below.

To claim the tax credit, seniors or their family members would have to get receipts from suppliers and contractors, helping to ensure that these amounts are reported by vendors for tax purposes.

The credit would be calculated as 15 per cent of up to $10,000 in total eligible expenses for a senior’s principal residence in Ontario for a calendar year, for a maximum credit of $1,500 each year. The credit would be claimed on the Personal Income Tax return.

For the 2012 tax year only, the $10,000 maximum would apply to expenses paid or payable from October 1, 2011 to December 31, 2012.

Examples of Eligible Expenses*
  • Certain renovations to permit first-floor occupancy or secondary suites (“granny flats” or “in-law suites”)
  • Grab bars and related reinforcements around the toilet, bathtub and shower
  • Hand rails in corridors
  • Wheelchair ramps, stair/wheelchair lifts and elevators
  • Bath lifts, walk-in bathtubs and wheel-in showers
  • Widening passage doors
  • Lowering existing counters/cupboards or installing adjustable counters/cupboards
  • Light switches and electrical outlets placed in accessible locations
  • Door locks that are easy to operate
  • Lever handles on doors and taps instead of knobs
  • Pull-out shelves under counter to enable work from a seated position
  • Non-slip bathroom flooring
  • A hand-held shower on adjustable rod or high-low mounting brackets
  • Additional light fixtures throughout the home and exterior entrances
  • Swing-clear hinges on doors to widen doorways
  • Creation of knee space under the basin to enable use from a seated position (and insulation of any hot-water pipes)
  • Relocation of tap to front or side of a sink for easier access
  • Hands-free taps
  • Motion-activated lighting
  • Touch-and-release drawers and cupboards and drawers that pull out fully
  • Modular or removable versions of a permanent fixture, such as modular ramps and non-fixed bath lifts

* Rules for eligibility would be set out in legislation. This list is not complete.

The tax credit is projected to cost the Province $60 million in 2011–12, which would be offset by savings in business support programs and tax-related expenditures.

Tax Relief for Businesses

Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth supports job creation and economic growth.

Tax Competitiveness

Ontario will reduce the general statutory Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate to 10 per cent in 2013.

  • The general CIT rate was reduced to 11.5 per cent effective July 1, 2011 and will be further reduced to 11 per cent on July 1, 2012 and to 10 per cent on July 1, 2013.
  • The CIT rate on income from manufacturing and processing, mining, logging, farming and fishing has been reduced to 10 per cent.
  • The small business CIT rate has been reduced to 4.5 per cent.
  • The small business deduction surtax has been eliminated.
  • The Corporate Minimum Tax (CMT) rate has been reduced to 2.7 per cent and more small and medium-sized business have been exempted from the CMT.

The CIT rate reductions, along with other measures described below, will increase Ontario’s competitiveness within Canada, with the province’s largest trading partner, the United States, and with other jurisdictions around the world. In 2009, prior to the plan, Ontario’s general statutory CIT rate of 14 per cent was the second-highest provincial CIT rate in Canada. When Ontario’s general CIT rate reaches 10 per cent in 2013, it will be among the lowest provincial rates in the country. Ontario’s tax advantage over the average combined federal–state rate in the United States will widen from just over six percentage points in 2009 to over 14 percentage points when the CIT rate reductions are fully implemented. Ontario’s CIT rate reductions will put Ontario in line with the average CIT rate of Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) member countries.

In addition to the CIT rate reductions in the Tax Plan, the Province has:

  • introduced the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST), which, when fully implemented, removes about $4.5 billion of embedded sales tax paid by business each year, allowing businesses to lower prices;
  • eliminated the Capital Tax on July 1, 2010, providing more than $1.6 billion of tax relief annually;
  • moved to a single HST administration and a single corporate tax administration, providing compliance cost savings to business of more than $635 million per year; and
  • reduced Business Education Tax (BET) rates, saving businesses $540 million per year when fully implemented in 2014.

Strengthening Accountability and Transparency of Tax Expenditures

Public Sector Accounting Standard for Tax Revenue Reporting

The Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants published a standard for tax revenue after consultation with federal, provincial and territorial governments.

The PSAB standard for tax revenue distinguishes between tax expenditures that provide:

  • relief to taxpayers of taxes paid or owing to the government (i.e., tax concessions), such as non-refundable tax credits; and
  • financial benefits regardless of whether a recipient has paid or owes taxes, such as certain refundable tax credits.

Tax concessions would be netted against related tax revenue. Transfers made through a tax system would be reported as expenses, and appropriations approved by the legislature would be required.

As part of its continuing efforts to strengthen financial management, transparency and accountability for the spending of taxpayer dollars, the government will adopt the PSAB standard for tax revenue and begin to treat transfers made through the tax system as expenses.

Reviewing Business Tax Expenditures

Ontario’s tax plan has significantly enhanced tax competitiveness for businesses. Ontario will review business tax expenditures for effectiveness and administrative efficiency.

Since 2005, the Ontario government has been reporting tax expenditures as part of its fall economic updates. The Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004, stipulates that the mid-year review of the fiscal plan must include information about the estimated cost of expenditures made through the tax system. The Transparency in Taxation, 2011 report, which provides the most current estimates of revenue forgone with respect to tax expenditures, can be found at: www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/fallstatement/2011/transparency.html

Strengthening the Integrity of the Tax System

Ontario’s ability to maintain a competitive tax system depends on the integrity and overall fairness of its business tax base. Ontario will continue to work with the federal government and other provinces to address tax loopholes and aggressive tax planning.

In addition, Ontario is calling on the federal government to strengthen the integrity of the corporate tax system by ensuring that tax losses are applied in a fair and reasonable manner and do not distort the principles of inter-provincial income allocation. Ontario continues to support the federal government’s review of corporate group taxation in Canada. As stated in the 2011 Ontario Budget, “Provincial governments have responsibility for key programs such as health and education, and are entitled to tax the economic activity taking place within their jurisdictions. The focus of any changes should be to increase the efficiency and competitiveness of the Canadian corporate tax system and ensure that provinces receive the revenues to which they are entitled.”

Federal Support for Research and Development

The federally appointed panel leading the Review of Federal Support for Research and Development (R&D) submitted its final report to the federal government in October 2011. The report makes a series of recommendations relating to federal direct spending and the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax incentive program.

Ontario shares the federal government’s interest in enhancing business innovation and welcomes efforts to improve the effectiveness and administration of federal programs. Ontario parallels the base of the federal SR&ED tax incentives and will be reviewing any federal changes that would impact R&D tax support for businesses in Ontario.

Ontario’s innovative businesses benefit from federal direct spending and the SR&ED tax incentive program. Any changes to federal R&D assistance should focus on greater effectiveness and fairness and should be done in consultation with the provinces.

Securing Our Retirement Future

Ontario is modernizing its pension legislation and actively representing Ontarians in national discussions about improving Canada’s retirement income system. This comprehensive approach includes:

  • reforming Ontario’s employment pension system while balancing the interests of active pension plan members, pensioners and plan sponsors;
  • protecting members and pensioners by responding to the effects of economic uncertainty on pensions;
  • further enhancing the sustainability of the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund; and
  • strengthening Canada’s retirement income system by supporting a modest, phased-in, fully funded enhancement to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) as well as innovative ideas to improve employment pension coverage in a cost-effective manner.

In 2010, the Ontario legislature unanimously approved the Pension Benefits Amendment Act, 2010 and the Securing Pension Benefits Now and for the Future Act, 2010. These two bills marked the most significant reform of the Pension Benefits Act in more than 20 years. The government is now working on the regulatory amendments required to implement many of these new provisions and other proposed amendments announced by the minister.

Since the release of the Province’s discussion paper, ‘Securing Our Retirement Future: Consulting with Ontarians on Canada’s Retirement Income System” in October 2010, the government has received over 1,000 responses from business, labour groups and individual stakeholders. In the paper, CPP expansion and Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs) are presented as options for improving retirement income security for Ontarians. The government is working with its federal, provincial and territorial partners to assess approaches to CPP expansion and consider the framework for PRPPs.

l

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2011

CHAPITRE V : Régime fiscal et régimes de retraite

Points saillants

  • Le Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance accorde un allégement fiscal de plus de 12 milliards de dollars aux particuliers et de plus de 4,8 milliards de dollars aux entreprises sur trois ans à compter de 2010-2011.
  • Le crédit d’impôt pour l’aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être que propose le gouvernement permettrait aux personnes âgées ou aux membres de la famille avec qui elles vivent de demander un crédit d’impôt remboursable pour les dépenses engagées dans le but d’apporter des modifications permanentes afin de rendre le logement plus fonctionnel et plus accessible ou de faciliter la mobilité de la personne âgée à domicile.

Créer des emplois et aider les Ontariennes et Ontariens

Le Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance, annoncé en 2009, procure à l’Ontario de solides assises pour l’aider à faire face à l’incertitude de l’économie mondiale. Les mesures d’allégement fiscal pour les particuliers et les entreprises contribuent à rendre le régime fiscal de l’Ontario plus équitable et plus compétitif.

Allégement fiscal pour les particuliers
  • Une réduction permanente de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers (IRP) pour 93 % des contribuables, y compris l’élimination de l’IRP pour environ 90 000 contribuables à faible revenu.
  • Des crédits d’impôt remboursables permanents procurant un total de 2,4 milliards de dollars d’aide annuelle à des millions de personnes à revenu faible ou modeste :
    • Le crédit de taxe de vente de l’Ontario — En 2011, les contribuables peuvent obtenir un allégement de 265 $ de la taxe de vente pour chaque adulte et enfant de la famille.
    • Le crédit d’impôt pour les coûts d’énergie et les impôts fonciers — En 2011, les personnes seules et les familles peuvent obtenir jusqu’à 917 $ en allégement de la taxe de vente relative aux coûts d’énergie et des impôts fonciers. Les personnes âgées peuvent obtenir jusqu’à 1 044 $.
    • Le crédit pour les coûts d’énergie dans le Nord de l’Ontario — En 2011, les résidents du Nord de l’Ontario peuvent obtenir un crédit pouvant aller jusqu’à 132 $ pour une personne seule et jusqu’à 204 $ pour une famille pour les aider à assumer les coûts d’énergie plus élevés qu’ils doivent payer.
    • Ces crédits d’impôt sont payés en quatre versements. À compter de juillet 2012, ils seront combinés et versés mensuellement sous le nom de Prestation Trillium de l’Ontario.
  • La Subvention ontarienne aux personnes âgées propriétaires pour l’impôt foncier, introduite en 2009, offre aux personnes âgées à revenu faible ou moyen qui sont propriétaires de leur logement une aide financière pouvant atteindre 500 $ par année pour les aider à payer les impôts fonciers. On prévoit que le programme accordera un allégement fiscal d’environ 1 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans à plus de 600 000 personnes âgées.
  • Le crédit d’impôt pour les activités des enfants — En 2011, les parents qui ont inscrit un enfant à une activité parascolaire peuvent recevoir jusqu’à 51 $ pour chaque enfant de moins de 16 ans. Ils peuvent recevoir jusqu’à 102 $ pour un enfant de moins de 18 ans ayant un handicap. On prévoit que ce crédit d’impôt apportera une aide d’environ 75 millions de dollars aux familles ontariennes chaque année.

Crédit d’impôt pour l’aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être

Le gouvernement propose un nouveau crédit d’impôt, le crédit d’impôt pour l’aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être. S’il était adopté, ce crédit d’impôt pourrait stimuler la croissance économique en favorisant l’activité dans le secteur de la rénovation domiciliaire, tout en appuyant environ 10 500 emplois à l’échelle de l’économie ontarienne par année. Aider les personnes âgées à vivre chez elles ou avec des membres de leur famille est un bon moyen de libérer des places dans les foyers de soins de longue durée pour les mettre à la disposition des patients qui occupent des lits d’hôpitaux, lesquels sont coûteux, et qui recevraient ainsi des soins et des services mieux adaptés à leurs besoins.

À compter du 1er octobre 2011, les personnes âgées qui sont propriétaires ou locataires, ainsi que les personnes de leur famille avec qui elles partagent un logement, pourraient demander un crédit d’impôt remboursable pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 500 $, pour les dépenses engagées dans le but d’apporter des modifications permanentes au logement.

Les dépenses ne seraient admissibles que dans la mesure où les travaux améliorent la fonctionnalité et l’accessibilité du logement ou favorisent la mobilité d’une personne âgée à domicile.

Les dépenses engagées pour des travaux ayant pour but principal d’augmenter la valeur du logement ne seraient pas admissibles (par exemple, réparation du toit, décoration, nouvelles fenêtres, nouveaux revêtements de plancher, aménagement paysager, réparation générale des systèmes de plomberie ou d’électricité, installation de systèmes de chauffage ou de climatisation, isolation).

Le tableau ci-après donne des exemples de dépenses admissibles.

Pour demander le crédit d’impôt, les personnes âgées ou les membres de leur famille devraient obtenir des reçus des fournisseurs et des entrepreneurs en rénovation, ce qui aiderait à assurer que ces montants sont déclarés par les fournisseurs aux fins de l’impôt.

Le crédit d’impôt serait de 15 % d’une tranche maximale de 10 000 $ du total des dépenses admissibles pour le domicile principal d’une personne âgée en Ontario pour une année civile, soit un crédit maximal de 1 500 $ par année. Le crédit devrait être demandé dans la déclaration de revenus aux fins de l’impôt des particuliers.

Pour l’année d’imposition 2012 seulement, le maximum de 10 000 $ s’appliquerait aux dépenses effectuées entre le 1er octobre 2011 et le 31 décembre 2012.

Exemples des dépenses admissibles proposées*
  • Certaines rénovations permettant l’occupation du rez-de-chaussée ou l’aménagement d’un appartement secondaire
  • Barres d’appui et renforcement connexe autour de la cuvette, de la baignoire et de la douche
  • Rampes dans les couloirs
  • Rampes d’accès pour fauteuils roulants, monte-escalier et ascenseurs
  • Sièges élévateurs de bain, baignoires à accès latéral et douches accessibles en fauteuil roulant
  • Élargissement des portes
  • Abaissement des comptoirs et des armoires existantes ou installation de comptoirs et armoires ajustables
  • Installation d’interrupteurs d’éclairage et de prises de courant à des endroits accessibles
  • Mécanismes de verrouillage des portes faciles à utiliser
  • Béquilles sur les portes et manettes à volant sur les robinets au lieu de mécanismes de forme arrondie
  • Tablettes coulissantes sous le comptoir pour permettre de travailler en position assise
  • Revêtement de plancher antidérapant dans la salle de bain
  • Douche manuelle ajustable sur barre ou supports de fixation à niveaux haut et bas
  • Luminaires supplémentaires dans toute la maison et aux entrées extérieures
  • Charnières contre-coudées sur les portes pour élargir les entrées de porte
  • Création d’un dégagement pour les jambes sous les éviers et lavabos afin de permettre de les utiliser en position assise (et isolation des tuyaux d’eau chaude)
  • Déplacement des robinets sur l’avant ou le côté de l’évier ou lavabo pour en faciliter l’accès
  • Robinets mains libres
  • Éclairage déclenché par le mouvement
  • Tiroirs s’ouvrant par simple pression et armoires et tiroirs s’ouvrant entièrement
  • Versions modulaires ou amovibles d’un accessoire fixe permanent, comme des rampes modulaires et des sièges élévateurs de bain amovibles

* Les règles d’admissibilité seraient établies par mesure législative. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

On prévoit que ce crédit d’impôt coûtera à la province 60 millions de dollars en 2011-2012, somme qui sera compensée par des économies réalisées à l’égard des programmes de soutien aux entreprises et des dépenses fiscales connexes.

Allégement fiscal pour les entreprises

Le Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance assurera la création d’emplois et la croissance économique.

Compétitivité de l’impôt des sociétés

L’Ontario réduira le taux général de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés (IRS) de l’Ontario prévu par la loi pour le ramener à 10 % d’ici 2013.

  • Le taux général de l’IRS a été ramené à 11,5 % le 1er juillet 2011 et il sera encore réduit pour passer à 11 % le 1er juillet 2012 et à 10 % le 1er juillet 2013.
  • Le taux de l’IRS applicable aux entreprises de fabrication et de transformation, d’exploitation minière, forestière et agricole et de pêche a été ramené à 10 %.
  • Le taux de l’IRS applicable aux petites entreprises a été ramené à 4,5 %.
  • La surtaxe sur la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises a été éliminée.
  • Le taux de l’impôt minimum sur les sociétés (IMS) a été ramené à 2,7 % et un plus grand nombre de petites et moyennes enteprises sont exonérées de l’IMS.

Les réductions des taux de l’IRS ainsi que les autres mesures décrites ci-dessous rendront l’Ontario plus compétitif à l’intérieur du Canada et par rapport aux États-Unis, le plus important partenaire commercial de la province, ainsi que par rapport à d’autres territoires partout dans le monde. En 2009, avant la mise en oeuvre du plan, le taux général de l’IRS de l’Ontario prévu par la loi était de 14 % et se classait au deuxième rang des taux provinciaux de l’IRS les plus élevés du Canada. Lorsque le taux général de l’IRS de l’Ontario sera de 10 % en 2013, il sera parmi les taux provinciaux les plus faibles au pays. L’avantage fiscal de l’Ontario par rapport au taux moyen combiné fédéral-État en vigueur aux États-Unis passera d’un peu plus de six points de pourcentage en 2009 à plus de 14 points de pourcentage lorsque toutes les réductions des taux de l’IRS auront été apportées. Grâce aux réductions des taux de l’IRS adoptées en Ontario, le taux ontarien sera sur un pied d’égalité avec le taux moyen des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

En plus de réduire les taux de l’IRS grâce au plan fiscal, le gouvernement provincial a :

  • instauré la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) qui, lorsqu’elle aura été entièrement mise en oeuvre, permettra d’éliminer la taxe de vente enchâssée d’une valeur d’environ 4,5 milliards de dollars par année que paient les entreprises, de sorte que celles-ci pourront abaisser leurs prix;
  • éliminé l’impôt sur le capital le 1er juillet 2010, ce qui fournit un allégement fiscal de plus de 1,6 milliard de dollars par année;
  • adopté l’administration unique de la TVH et des impôts des sociétés, ce qui a permis aux entreprises de faire des économies annuelles de plus de 635 millions de dollars par année en coûts d’observation;
  • réduit les taux élevés d’impôt scolaire applicable aux entreprises, ce qui permettra aux entreprises d’économiser 540 millions de dollars par année lorsque cette mesure aura été entièrement mise en oeuvre en 2014.

Renforcement de la responsabilité et de la transparence des dépenses fiscales

La norme comptable du secteur public relative aux recettes fiscales

Le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés a publié une norme relative aux recettes fiscales après avoir consulté les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.

La norme du CCSP relative aux recettes fiscales fait la distinction entre les dépenses fiscales qui offrent :

  • un allégement des impôts que les contribuables paient ou doivent au gouvernement (soit les « dégrèvements »), comme les crédits d’impôt non remboursables;
  • des avantages financiers, que le bénéficiaire ait ou non des impôts à payer, comme certains crédits d’impôt remboursables.

Les dégrèvements seraient déduits des recettes fiscales correspondantes. Les transferts effectués par le truchement d’un régime fiscal seraient comptabilisés en charges et nécessiteraient une affectation des crédits approuvée par l’Assemblée législative.

Dans le cadre de ses efforts continus pour renforcer la gestion, la transparence et la responsabilité financières à l’égard de l’utilisation des deniers publics, le gouvernement adoptera la norme du CCSP relative aux recettes fiscales et commencera à passer en charges les transferts effectués par le truchement d’un régime fiscal.

Examen des dépenses fiscales relatives aux entreprises

Le plan fiscal de l’Ontario a beaucoup amélioré la compétitivité fiscale pour les entreprises. L’Ontario examinera les dépenses fiscales relatives aux entreprises pour s’assurer qu’elles sont efficaces et efficientes sur le plan administratif.

Depuis 2005, le gouvernement de l’Ontario rend compte des dépenses fiscales dans le cadre de la mise à jour des perspectives économiques de l’automne. La Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières prévoit que la revue de mi-exercice du plan financier doit comprendre des renseignements sur le coût estimatif des dépenses engagées par l’entremise du régime fiscal. On peut consulter le rapport Transparence fiscale – 2011, qui fournit les estimations les plus à jour sur les revenus cédés au chapitre des dépenses fiscales, à www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/fallstatement/2011/transparency.html.

Renforcement de l’intégrité du système fiscal

La capacité de l’Ontario de maintenir un système fiscal compétitif repose sur l’intégrité et l’équité générale de l’assiette de l’impôt des sociétés. L’Ontario continuera de travailler avec le gouvernement fédéral et les autres provinces pour traiter des échappatoires fiscales et de la planification fiscale agressive.

En outre, l’Ontario invite le gouvernement fédéral à renforcer l’intégrité du régime d’imposition des sociétés en veillant à ce que les pertes fiscales soient traitées de manière juste et raisonnable et ne faussent pas les principes de la répartition des revenus entre les provinces. L’Ontario continue d’appuyer l’examen de l’imposition des groupes de sociétés au Canada. Comme il est dit dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2011 : « Les gouvernements provinciaux assument la responsabilité de programmes clés, comme les services de santé et l’éducation, et sont autorisés à percevoir des impôts sur les activités économiques qui ont lieu dans leur territoire. Toute modification apportée devrait viser à rendre le régime canadien d’imposition des sociétés plus efficient et plus concurrentiel et à fournir aux gouvernements provinciaux les revenus auxquels ils ont droit. »

Soutien fédéral à la recherche et au développement

Le comité nommé par le gouvernement pour diriger l’Examen du soutien fédéral de la recherche-développement (R-D) a soumis son rapport final au gouvernement fédéral en octobre 2011. Ce rapport comprend une série de recommandations portant sur les dépenses directes et le programme d’incitatif fiscal pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental (RS&DE) du gouvernement fédéral.

À l’instar du gouvernement fédéral, l’Ontario a à coeur d’intensifier l’innovation des entreprises et voit d’un bon oeil tous les efforts déployés pour améliorer l’efficacité et l’administration des programmes fédéraux. L’Ontario a une assiette équivalant à celle des incitatifs fiscaux fédéraux pour la RS&DE et examinera toute modification fédérale qui pourrait avoir une incidence sur l’aide fiscale offerte aux entreprises de l’Ontario en matière de R-D.

Les entreprises novatrices de l’Ontario bénéficient des dépenses directes du gouvernement fédéral et du programme d’encouragement fiscal RS&DE. Toute modification de l’aide à la R-D devrait viser une efficacité et une équité accrues et être effectuée en consultation avec les provinces.

Assurer l’avenir des régimes de retraite

L’Ontario modernise sa législation sur les régimes de retraite et représente activement les Ontariennes et Ontariens dans les discussions nationales sur l’amélioration du système canadien de revenu de retraite. Cette approche globale vise notamment ce qui suit:

  • réformer le système ontarien de régimes de retraite d’employeur tout en établissant un équilibre entre les intérêts des participants actifs aux régimes de retraite, des pensionnés et des promoteurs de régimes;
  • protéger les participants actifs aux régimes et les pensionnés en réagissant aux effets de l’incertitude économique sur les régimes de retraite;
  • améliorer encore davantage la viabilité du Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite;
  • renforcer le système canadien de revenu de retraite en appuyant une bonification modeste, graduelle et entièrement capitalisée du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), ainsi que les idées novatrices pour améliorer la couverture des régimes de retraite d’employeur de manière efficiente.

En 2010, l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario a adopté à l’unanimité la Loi de 2010 modifiant la Loi sur les régimes de retraite et la Loi de 2010 sur la pérennité des prestations de retraite. L’adoption de ces deux lois constituait la plus importante réforme de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite en plus de 20 ans. Le gouvernement s’emploie actuellement à élaborer les modifications réglementaires nécessaires pour mettre en oeuvre bon nombre de ces nouvelles dispositions et d’autres modifications que le ministre a annoncées.

Depuis la publication par le gouvernement du document de travail intitulé « Assurer notre avenir : Consultation des Ontariens et des Ontariennes sur le système de revenu de retraite du Canada » en octobre 2010, le gouvernement a reçu plus de 1 000 réponses d’entreprises, de syndicats et de particuliers intéressés. Dans ce document, l’élargissement du RPC et les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) sont présentés comme des options pour améliorer la sécurité du revenu de retraite des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. Le gouvernement collabore avec ses partenaires fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour étudier la question d’un élargissement du RPC et pour envisager le cadre de mise en oeuvre des RPAC.