: Ensuring Everyone Pays Their Fair Share of Taxes

BACKGROUNDER

Ministry of Finance

Ensuring Everyone Pays Their Fair Share of Taxes

November 17, 2014

Ontario has created a competitive and fair tax system that supports the funding of critical public services for Ontarians.

When some businesses do not pay their fair share of taxes, it puts legitimate businesses at a competitive disadvantage.

Businesses that do not pay their fair share of taxes often ignore other rules, such as protecting employees and ensuring that products and services are reliable and safe. That’s why it’s important for Ontario to ensure a level playing field for businesses and require all taxpayers to play by the rules.

Strengthening Revenue Integrity

The government is taking concrete steps to strengthen revenue integrity and in 2013–14, its efforts generated more than $380 million in additional revenue.

Some recent examples include:

  • Launching a Tender Contract Tax Compliance initiative to ensure businesses that supply the government of Ontario with products and services demonstrate that they are complying with their provincial tax obligations prior to being awarded contracts
  • Enhancing compliance activities to address the underground economy and corporate tax avoidance in Ontario through a multi-year agreement with the Canada Revenue Agency; over the four-year duration of this agreement, approximately $700 million in additional tax revenue is expected to be generated
  • Enhancing enforcement measures under the Tobacco Tax Act, including increased fines and impounding vehicles for those who break the law.

Building on its progress, Ontario is committed to moving forward with new measures, such as:

  • Launching pilot initiatives to better coordinate and strengthen compliance activities in high-risk sectors; the focus will be on strengthening consumer protection, enhancing worker safety and curtailing tax loss
  • Building on its Tender Contract Tax Compliance initiative launched in February 2014, the government will develop a plan to expand tax verification to business support programs provided by government, and procurements in the broader public sector and Crown corporations
  • Examining new methods of information sharing across government ministries
  • Monitoring and reporting on the government’s progress on these initiatives.

Need for a National Strategy

For several years, Ontario has requested that the federal government release a national strategy and action plan to address the underground economy. A clear national strategy and action plan are imperative to ensuring that compliance efforts are effectively coordinated with provinces.

Corporate Tax Avoidance

Ontario continues to work with the federal government to identify and adopt new measures to better address corporate tax avoidance.

Most recently, the Taxation Act, 2007 was amended to enhance oversight of aggressive tax avoidance transactions. The new disclosure rules are similar to those put in place by the federal government and Quebec, and will position Ontario to more effectively address egregious tax practices.

Ontario is committed to adopting best practices to ensure companies pay their fair share of tax and do not employ elaborate tax planning schemes that undermine the intent of the Province’s tax laws.

Contraband Tobacco

The low price of contraband tobacco undermines the integrity of the Tobacco Tax Act and the Smoke-Free Ontario Strategy. To address this challenge, Ontario intends to proceed with several initiatives, including establishing oversight of raw leaf tobacco effective January 1, 2015. This change will help impede the flow of raw leaf tobacco to contraband tobacco product manufacturers and address some of the concerns raised by law enforcement agencies.

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:
Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

: Faire en sorte que chacun paie sa juste part d’impôts

DOCUMENT D'INFORMATION

Ministère des Finances

Faire en sorte que chacun paie sa juste part d’impôts

Le 17 novembre 2014

L’Ontario a créé un régime fiscal concurrentiel et juste qui appuie le financement de services publics cruciaux pour la population ontarienne.

Lorsque certaines entreprises ne paient pas leur juste part de taxes et d’impôts, cela désavantage les entreprises légitimes par rapport à leurs concurrents.

Les entreprises qui ne paient pas leur juste part de taxes et d’impôts font souvent fi d’autres règles, notamment celles qui concernent la protection des employés ou la fiabilité et la sécurité des produits et des services. C’est pourquoi il est important que l’Ontario assure des conditions équitables pour les entreprises et exige que tous les contribuables respectent les règles.

Améliorer l’intégrité des revenus

Le gouvernement ayant pris des mesures concrètes pour améliorer l’intégrité des revenus en 2013‑2014, ses efforts ont généré des revenus supplémentaires de plus de 380 millions de dollars.

Voici des exemples de mesures prises récemment par l’Ontario :

  • Nouvelle initiative d’observation fiscale pour l’adjudication des contrats afin de veiller à ce que les entreprises qui fournissent des produits et des services au gouvernement de l’Ontario démontrent qu’elles se sont acquittées de leurs obligations fiscales à l’égard de la province avant d’obtenir un contrat du gouvernement.
  • Amélioration des activités d’observation fiscale pour s’attaquer à l’économie souterraine et à l’évitement fiscal des entreprises en Ontario grâce à une entente pluriannuelle avec l’Agence du revenu du Canada. Pendant les quatre années au cours desquelles l’entente sera en vigueur, on s’attend à ce que quelque 700 millions de dollars de revenus fiscaux supplémentaires soient générés.
  • Amélioration des mesures d’application de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac notamment en prévoyant l’augmentation des amendes et la saisie des véhicules pour les contrevenants.

S’appuyant sur ses progrès, l’Ontario est déterminé à prendre de nouvelles mesures, dont les suivantes :

  • Nouvelles initiatives pilotes pour mieux coordonner et renforcer les activités d’application de la loi dans les secteurs à risque élevé; ces mesures viseront à renforcer la protection des consommateurs, à améliorer la sécurité des travailleurs et à freiner les pertes fiscales.
  • Faisant fond sur son initiative d’observation fiscale pour l’adjudication des contrats lancée en février 2014, le gouvernement élaborera un plan visant à étendre l’audit fiscal aux programmes de soutien aux entreprises dispensés par le gouvernement ainsi qu’aux mesures d’approvisionnement dans le secteur parapublic et les sociétés de la Couronne.
  • Examen de nouvelles méthodes d’échange de renseignements entre les ministères.
  • Surveillance et reddition de comptes sur les progrès du gouvernement au regard de ces initiatives.

Une stratégie nationale est nécessaire

Le gouvernement demande depuis plusieurs années que le gouvernement fédéral mette en oeuvre une stratégie nationale et un plan d’action pour s’attaquer à l’économie souterraine. Il est impératif qu’une stratégie et un plan d’action clairs soient adoptés à l’échelle nationale pour faire en sorte que les efforts en matière d’observation soient efficacement coordonnés avec les provinces.

Évitement fiscal des entreprises

L’Ontario continue de travailler avec le gouvernement fédéral pour établir et adopter de nouvelles mesures visant à mieux s’attaquer à l’évitement fiscal des entreprises.

Plus récemment, la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts a été modifiée afin d’accroître la surveillance des opérations d’évitement fiscal abusives. Les nouvelles règles de divulgation issues de ces modifications sont semblables à celles instaurées par le gouvernement fédéral et le Québec, et permettront à l’Ontario de s’attaquer plus efficacement aux pratiques les plus flagrantes.

L’Ontario est déterminé à adopter des pratiques exemplaires pour s’assurer que les entreprises paient leur juste part d’impôts et n’ont pas recours à des stratagèmes de planification fiscale qui minent l’objet des lois fiscales de la province.

Tabac de contrebande

Le faible prix du tabac de contrebande mine l’intégrité de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et de la stratégie Ontario sans fumée. Pour lutter contre ce problème, l’Ontario a l’intention de prendre plusieurs initiatives, dont l’établissement d’un mécanisme de surveillance du tabac naturel en feuilles qui entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015. Cette initiative contribuera à entraver l’acheminement du tabac naturel en feuilles vers les fabricants des produits du tabac de contrebande et à répondre à certaines des préoccupations soulevées par les organismes d’application de la loi.

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English