: Mid-Year Update on Ontario’s Economic and Fiscal Performance


Ministry of Finance

Mid-Year Update on Ontario’s Economic and Fiscal Performance

November 17, 2014

The government is committed to balancing the budget by 2017–18 and will do so in a way that is both fiscally responsible and fair. The Province will continue to invest in people’s skills and talents; build modern infrastructure and transportation networks; create a supportive and dynamic business climate; and strengthen retirement income security for all Ontarians. This will help grow the economy, protect revenue and create jobs. The government will also continue to responsibly manage spending. From 2013–14 through to balance in 2017–18, program spending is projected to grow at an average annual rate of 0.8 per cent.

Together, these government priorities and actions to make every dollar count will help support eliminating the deficit and improve the Province’s fiscal sustainability.

For five years in a row, the government has beaten the deficit targets it established after the 2008–09 global recession. Ontario is one of the only governments in Canada to have achieved this level of success. By beating its fiscal targets, the Province’s accumulated deficit is $25 billion lower than it otherwise would have been.

Although the global economic environment remains challenging, there are signs that Ontario’s economic expansion is gaining momentum in 2014, following weak growth in 2013. However, should economic conditions persist that result in the Province’s revenue outlook falling further below the 2014 Budget projection, the government will consider other tools, as necessary, to balance the budget by 2017–18. This would be done while continuing to make critical investments in the programs and services that people depend on, such as health and education.

201415 Fiscal Performance

The deficit for 2014–15 is currently projected to be $12.5 billion, unchanged from the 2014 Budget forecast.

The Province’s total revenue projection for 2014–15 of $118,362 million is $509 million lower than the 2014 Budget forecast, largely reflecting a lower-than-projected level of tax revenue in 2013–14 that carries forward over the medium term, as well as a one-time decline in Corporations Tax revenue related to assessments for prior years.

The Province’s total expense projection for 2014–15 of $130,168 million is $208 million lower than the projection in the 2014 Budget, due to lower-than-forecast interest on debt expense. Projected program expense is essentially unchanged from the 2014 Budget, reflecting the government’s commitment to manage spending and ensure every dollar counts.

The 2014 Budget included a $1 billion reserve in 2014–15 to protect against adverse changes in the Province’s revenue and expense. Consistent with this, the reserve is being reduced by $300 million to mitigate the remaining impact of the decline in the revenue outlook. This maintains a reserve of
$700 million in 2014–15.  

2014–15 In-Year Fiscal Performance
($ Millions)
  Budget Plan Current Outlook In-Year Change
Revenue 118,871 118,362 (509)
Programs 119,366 119,374 8
Interest on Debt 11,010 10,794 (216)
Total Expense 130,376 130,168 (208)
Reserve 1,000 700 (300)
Surplus/(Deficit) (12,505) (12,507) (1)
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Ontario’s Recovery Plan

The government projects deficits of $12.5 billion in 2014–15, $8.9 billion in 2015–16 and $5.3 billion in 2016–17, unchanged from the forecast outlined in the 2014 Budget.

The medium-term revenue outlook has declined since the 2014 Budget, reflecting a lower forecast for taxation revenue.

Total expense is now projected to be lower than forecast at the time of the 2014 Budget, as a result of lower projected interest on debt expense.

A $1.2 billion annual reserve is maintained in each of 2015–16, 2016–17 and 2017–18 to protect the fiscal outlook against adverse changes in the Province’s revenue and expense.

Even in the face of a decline in the revenue outlook, the government is committed to balancing the budget by 2017–18, and will do so in a way that is both fiscally responsible and fair.

Ontario's Recovery Plan
($ Billions)
  Current Outlook Medium-Term Outlook Extended Outlook
  2014–15 2015–16 2016–17 2017–18
Revenue 118.4 124.2 129.0 134.5
Programs 119.4 120.1 120.2 119.4
Interest on Debt 10.8 11.8 12.9 13.9
Total Expense 130.2 131.9 133.2 133.3
Reserve 0.7 1.2 1.2 1.2
Surplus/(Deficit) (12.5) (8.9) (5.3)
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Economic Performance and Outlook

The outlook for Ontario’s economy has evolved largely as expected at the time of the 2014 Budget. Growth is shifting away from a reliance on housing activity and household spending towards exports and productivity-enhancing business investment. This transition is expected to gain momentum as an improving global economy supports stronger, more balanced growth.

As part of developing Ontario’s fiscal plan, the Ministry of Finance is forecasting real gross domestic product (GDP) growth of 1.9 per cent in 2014 and 2.4 per cent annually over the 2015 to 2017 period. This compares to a projection for real GDP growth in the 2014 Budget of 2.1 per cent in 2014,
2.5 per cent in both 2015 and 2016, and 2.6 per cent in 2017.

Ontario Economic Outlook
(Per Cent)
  2011 2012 2013 2014p 2015p 2016p 2017p
Real GDP Growth 2.6 1.7 1.3 1.9 2.4 2.4 2.4
Nominal GDP Growth 4.6 3.2 2.4 3.5 4.4 4.4 4.4
Employment Growth 1.8 0.8 1.4 0.8 1.3 1.4 1.5
CPI Inflation 3.1 1.4 1.0 2.1 2.0 2.0 2.0
p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.
Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Within Ontario, elevated levels of household debt and the housing market remain key risks for the economy.  However, Ontario’s economy has shown signs of stronger momentum.  Major indicators, including real GDP, exports and household consumption, have posted solid gains since the beginning of 2014. As well, Ontario’s unemployment rate has declined to 6.5 per cent in October, down from
7.5 per cent in January 2014 and the lowest rate of unemployment since 2008. The recent decline in the Canadian dollar and oil prices will improve Ontario’s competitive position and could result in even stronger growth for the Province.

Gains in exports and business investment will lead economic growth over the forecast period. Household spending will also rise moderately, in line with gains in household income.

Private-Sector Forecasts

The Ministry of Finance consults with private-sector economists and tracks their forecasts to inform the government’s planning assumptions. Additionally, in the process of preparing the 2014 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the Minister of Finance met with private-sector economists to discuss their views on the economy. All private-sector economists are projecting continued growth for Ontario over the forecast horizon. On average, private-sector economists are projecting growth of 2.0 per cent in 2014 and 2.5 per cent annually in 2015 and 2016. For prudent fiscal planning, the Ministry of Finance’s real GDP growth projections are slightly below the average private-sector forecast.


Employment has rebounded strongly from the recessionary low. Since June 2009, Ontario has gained over half a million net new jobs, mostly in full-time positions and in the private sector. In addition, the majority of the increase has been in industries paying above-average wages, including professional, scientific and technical services and construction. As of October 2014, Ontario had 285,500 more jobs than at the pre-recession peak in September 2008. Ontario’s unemployment rate has also declined from a recessionary high of 9.4 per cent in June 2009 to 6.5 per cent in October 2014.

Employment Gains Concentrated in Full-Time Private-Sectorm Above-Average Wage Jobs

The pace of job creation in Ontario since the end of the recession has been stronger than in most developed economies, including the United States and the average for member countries in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Ontario Job Recovery Ahead of U.S. and OECD Average

Ontario employment is expected to grow by 57,000 jobs in 2014. Employment growth is projected to pick up in 2015 alongside improving output growth and business confidence. Employment is forecast to rise by 90,000 jobs or 1.3 per cent in 2015, and then increase by an average of 103,000 jobs or
1.4 per cent per year over 2016 and 2017. Ontario’s unemployment rate is expected to average
7.3 per cent in 2014 and fall steadily to an average annual rate of 6.3 per cent in 2017.

Employment Expected to Rise over the Medium Term


On October 2, 2014, Ontario successfully launched a Green Bond program, with an inaugural global Canadian dollar bond of $500 million.  There was strong demand for Ontario’s first Green Bond, with orders approaching $2.4 billion.  Green investors in Canada as well as in the United States, Europe and Asia participated in the deal, bringing new international buyers to the Canadian dollar market. 

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $310.5 billion as at March 31, 2015, compared to $295.8 billion as at March 31, 2014.

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. It is projected to be $287.3 billion as at March 31, 2015, $2.0 billion lower than forecast in the 2014 Budget. Net debt was $267.2 billion as at March 31, 2014. Accumulated deficit is projected to be $189.1 billion as at March 31, 2015, compared to $189.8 billion forecast in the 2014 Budget. The projected difference of $98.1 billion between net debt and accumulated deficit is due to net investments in capital assets.

The Province’s net debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to peak in 2015–16 at 40.4 per cent, compared to the forecast peak of 40.8 per cent in the 2014 Budget, 40.4 per cent in the 2013 Budget and 41.3 per cent in the 2012 Budget.

Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

Disponible en français

: Mise à jour de mi-exercice sur les résultats économiques et financiers de l’Ontario

DOCUMENT D'INFORMATION

Ministère des Finances

Mise à jour de mi-exercice sur les résultats économiques et financiers de l’Ontario

Le 17 novembre 2014

Le gouvernement est résolu à équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018, et ce, d’une manière qui est à la fois équitable et responsable sur le plan financier. La province continuera à investir dans les compétences et le talent de la population ontarienne, à construire une infrastructure et des réseaux de transport modernes, à créer un environnement favorable et dynamique pour les affaires et à consolider la sécurité du revenu de retraite pour l’ensemble de la population. Ces mesures favoriseront la croissance économique, protégeront les revenus et créeront des emplois. Le gouvernement continuera aussi à gérer les dépenses de façon responsable. Pendant les exercices allant de 2013-2014 jusqu’à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018, les charges de programmes devraient augmenter en moyenne à un rythme de 0,8 % par année.

Les priorités établies par le gouvernement, conjuguées aux mesures prises par celui-ci pour s’assurer que chaque dollar est dépensé judicieusement, contribueront à éliminer le déficit et à améliorer la viabilité financière de la province.

Pour la cinquième année de suite, le gouvernement a dépassé les objectifs de diminution du déficit qu’il avait établis après la récession mondiale de 2008-2009. L’Ontario est l’une des seules administrations au Canada à avoir atteint ce degré de réussite. Ayant surpassé ses objectifs financiers, la province affiche un déficit accumulé de 25 milliards de dollars inférieur à ce qu’il aurait été autrement.

Si la conjoncture mondiale est toujours difficile, il semble néanmoins que l’expansion économique de l’Ontario s’accélère en 2014, à la suite d’une période de faible croissance en 2013. Toutefois, au cas où les conditions économiques entraîneraient un recul plus prononcé des perspectives de revenus par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2014, le gouvernement envisagera d’autres outils, au besoin, pour atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018. Le gouvernement prendrait de telles mesures tout en continuant ses investissements cruciaux dans les programmes et services sur lesquels compte la population ontarienne, tels que la santé et l’éducation.

Rendement financier de 2014-2015

On prévoit actuellement que le déficit de 2014-2015 sera de 12,5 milliards de dollars, soit un montant inchangé par rapport aux projections du budget de 2014.

Au total, les perspectives de revenus de la province en 2014-2015 se chiffrent à 118 362 millions de dollars, soit 509 millions de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2014. Ce résultat est surtout attribuable à la diminution des revenus fiscaux en 2013-2014 par rapport aux prévisions, et qui se poursuivra à moyen terme, ainsi qu’à la diminution ponctuelle des revenus tirés de l’impôt des sociétés qui est liée aux cotisations fiscales d’années antérieures.

Au total, les perspectives de dépenses de la province en 2014-2015 se chiffrent à 130 168 millions de dollars, soit 208 millions de dollars de moins que ce qui était projeté dans le budget de 2014, en raison de charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette plus faibles que prévu. Les charges de programmes devraient demeurer essentiellement inchangées par rapport aux chiffres du budget de 2014, ce qui est attribuable à l’engagement du gouvernement de contrôler les dépenses et de faire en sorte que chaque dollar compte.

Dans le budget de 2014, une réserve de 1,0 milliard de dollars avait été prévue pour 2014-2015 afin de protéger le plan financier des variations défavorables des revenus et des charges de la province. La réserve a été réduite de 300 millions de dollars afin d’atténuer le reste des répercussions de la baisse des perspectives de revenus. Par conséquent, la réserve se chiffre à 700 millions de dollars en 2014-2015.

Résultats financiers en cours d’exercice 2014-2015
(en millions de dollars)
  Plan budgétaire Perspectives actuelles Variation en cours d’exercice
Revenus 118 871 118 362 (509)
Charges      
Programmes 119 366 119 374 8
Intérêt sur la dette 11 010 10 794 (216)
Total des charges 130 376 130 168 (208)
Réserve 1 000 700 (300)
Excédent/(Déficit) (12 505) (12 507) (1)
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Plan de redressement de l’Ontario

Le gouvernement prévoit des déficits se chiffrant à 12,5 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015, 8,9 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 et 5,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017, ces prévisions demeurant inchangées depuis la publication du budget de 2014.

À moyen terme, les perspectives de revenus ont baissé depuis la publication du budget de 2014, en raison de la révision à la baisse des projections des revenus fiscaux.

On prévoit maintenant que le total des charges sera inférieur aux prévisions publiées dans le budget de 2014, ce qui s’explique par la diminution prévue des charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette.

Une réserve annuelle se chiffrant à 1,2 milliard de dollars est maintenue pour les exercices 2015-2016, 2016‑2017 et 2017-2018 afin de protéger les perspectives financières de changements négatifs relatifs aux revenus et aux charges de la province.

Malgré la baisse des perspectives de revenus, le gouvernement est déterminé à atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018, et ce, en prenant des mesures financièrement responsables et équitables.

Plan de redressement de l’Ontario
(en milliards de dollars)
  Perspectives actuelles Perspectives à moyen terme Perspectives à long terme
  2014–2015 2015–2016 2016–2017 2017–2018
Revenus 118,4 124,2 129,0 134,5
Charges        
Programmes 119,4 120,1 120,2 119,4
Intérêt sur la dette 10,8 11,8 12,9 13,9
Total des charges 130,2 131,9 133,2 133,3
Réserve 0,7 1,2 1,2 1,2
Excédent/(Déficit) (12,5) (8,9) (5,3)
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Résultats et perspectives économiques

Les perspectives économiques de l’Ontario ont évolué essentiellement comme prévu au moment du budget de 2014. La croissance est de moins en moins dépendante de l’activité dans le secteur du logement et des dépenses des ménages et elle s’appuie davantage sur les exportations et les investissements des entreprises stimulant la productivité. La transition devrait s’accélérer à mesure que l’économie mondiale s’améliore et qu’elle contribue à une croissance plus forte et plus équilibrée.

Aux fins de l’élaboration du plan financier de l’Ontario, le ministère des Finances suppose que le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel croîtra de 1,9 % en 2014 et de 2,4 % par an de 2015 à 2017. Par comparaison, au moment du dépôt du budget de 2014, on avait prévu que la croissance du PIB réel serait de 2,1 % en 2014, de 2,5 % en 2015 et en 2016, et de 2,6 % en 2017.

Perspectives économiques de l’Ontario
(en pourcentage)
  2011 2012 2013 2014p 2015p 2016p 2017p
Croissance du PIB réel 2,6 1,7 1,3 1,9 2,4 2,4 2,4
Croissance du PIB nominal 4,6 3,2 2,4 3,5 4,4 4,4 4,4
Croissance de l’emploi 1,8 0,8 1,4 0,8 1,3 1,4 1,5
Inflation de l’IPC 3,1 1,4 1,0 2,1 2,0 2,0 2,0
p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.
Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

En Ontario, l’endettement élevé des ménages et le marché du logement constituent toujours des risques majeurs pour l’économie. L’économie ontarienne a toutefois montré des signes de raffermissement. Les principaux indicateurs, dont le PIB réel, les exportations et la consommation des ménages, ont connu de fortes hausses depuis le début de l’année 2014. En outre, le taux de chômage en Ontario a diminué, passant de 7,5 % en janvier 2014 à 6,5 % en octobre, soit le taux de chômage le plus bas depuis 2008. La récente baisse du cours du dollar canadien et du prix du pétrole améliorera la compétitivité de l’Ontario et pourrait renforcer davantage la croissance de la province.

Durant la période de prévision, la croissance économique sera soutenue par les gains dans le secteur des exportations et des investissements des entreprises. Les dépenses des ménages augmenteront de façon modérée, parallèlement à leur revenu.

Prévisions du secteur privé

Le ministère des Finances consulte des économistes du secteur privé et suit leurs prévisions afin de poser les hypothèses de planification du gouvernement. De plus, dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration du document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2014, le ministre des Finances a rencontré des économistes du secteur privé pour discuter de leur point de vue sur l’économie. Tous les économistes du secteur privé envisagent une croissance continue pour l’économie ontarienne au cours de la période de prévision. Selon la moyenne des prévisions du secteur privé, l’économie ontarienne devrait afficher une croissance de 2,0 % en 2014 et de 2,5 % par année en 2015 et en 2016. Le ministère des Finances, soucieux de faire preuve de prudence dans sa planification financière, prévoit une croissance du PIB réel légèrement inférieure à la moyenne projetée par les économistes du secteur privé.

Emplois

Le marché de l’emploi a connu une forte remontée depuis le creux de la récession. Depuis juin 2009, il s’est créé plus d’un demi-million d’emplois nets en Ontario, la plupart étant des postes à temps plein et dans le secteur privé. En outre, cette augmentation s’est produite en majeure partie dans des secteurs où les salaires sont plus élevés que la moyenne, comme les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques, et la construction. En octobre 2014, l’Ontario comptait 285 500 emplois de plus que lors du sommet atteint avant la récession, en septembre 2008. Le taux de chômage en Ontario a aussi baissé, passant du sommet de 9,4 % enregistré pendant la récession, en juin 2009, à 6,5 % en octobre 2014.

Les emplois créés sont surtout des emplois à temps plein dans le secteur privé offrant un salaire supérieur à la moyenne

Depuis la fin de la récession, l’Ontario crée des emplois à un rythme supérieur à celui de la plupart des économies développées, y compris les États-Unis, ainsi qu’à la moyenne enregistrée dans les pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

La reprise de l'emploi en Ontario devance celle aux É.-U. et la moyenne des pays de l'OCDE

On prévoit qu’en 2014, 57 000 emplois seront créés en Ontario. La croissance de l’emploi devrait s’accélérer en 2015, en parallèle avec l’amélioration de l’accroissement de la production et de la confiance des entreprises. On prévoit que 90 000 emplois seront créés en 2015, soit une hausse de 1,3 %, et que 103 000 emplois supplémentaires en moyenne seront créés en 2016 et en 2017, ce qui représente une hausse de 1,4 % par année. On prévoit que le taux de chômage de l’Ontario se situera en moyenne à 7,3 % en 2014 et qu’il diminuera progressivement pour atteindre un taux annuel moyen de 6,3 % en 2017.

L'emploi devrait s'accroître à moyen terme

Dette

Le 2 octobre 2014, l’Ontario a mis sur pied avec succès un programme d’obligations vertes en procédant à une première émission d’obligations planétaires en dollars canadiens d’une valeur de 500 millions de dollars. Les premières obligations vertes de l’Ontario ont fait l’objet d’une forte demande, les commandes approchant les 2,4 milliards de dollars. Des investisseurs respectueux de l’environnement du Canada ainsi que des États-Unis, de l’Europe et de l’Asie y ont participé, ce qui a amené de nouveaux acheteurs internationaux à prendre part au marché du dollar canadien.

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 310,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015, comparativement à 295,8 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014.

La dette nette de l’Ontario équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers. Elle devrait atteindre 287,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015, soit 2,0 milliards de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2014. La dette nette se chiffrait à 267,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014. On prévoit que le déficit accumulé sera de 189,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015, comparativement aux 189,8 milliards de dollars prévus dans le budget de 2014. La différence prévue de 98,1 milliards entre la dette nette et le déficit accumulé est attribuable à des investissements nets dans les immobilisations.

Le rapport dette nette-PIB de la province devrait atteindre un sommet de 40,4 % en 2015-2016, que l’on peut comparer au sommet de 40,8 % prévu dans le budget de 2014, à celui de 40,4 % prévu dans le budget de 2013 et à celui de 41,3 % prévu dans le budget de 2012.

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English