: National Leadership: Strong Ontario, Strong Canada

BACKGROUNDER

Ministry of Finance

National Leadership: Strong Ontario, Strong Canada

November 17, 2014

Time for Federal-Provincial Partnership

While Ontario is delivering on its plan to balance, it is critical that the federal government avoid unilateral actions that hurt Ontarians and put the Province’s fiscal plan at risk. Ontario, like other provinces in the federation, has responsibility for key public services such as health care and education while the federal government collects most of the tax revenue. This situation, called the vertical fiscal imbalance, leaves Ontario’s fiscal sustainability — and that of other provinces — vulnerable to federal unilateral actions. 

Provinces and territories are doing their part and reducing the fiscal gap by managing growth in program spending, in particular by controlling health care costs in the face of the growing demographic and other pressures. Ontario has taken action to manage growth in program spending, holding average annual growth to 1.2 per cent between 2010–11 and 2013–14. 

Meanwhile, the unilateral federal decision to limit increases for the Canada Health Transfer to the rate of nominal GDP growth starting in 2017–18 will remove $21 billion in funding from Canadians’ health care — and $8 billion from health care in Ontario — by 2023–24. 

Unilateral actions by the federal government put Ontario’s fiscal plan and public services at risk, particularly given the vertical fiscal imbalance within the federation. 

Modernizing the Fiscal Arrangements

Ontarians are significant contributors to the Canadian economy, but as discussed in the 2014 Budget, the shortfall between what the people of Ontario pay in federal taxes versus what they receive in federal transfers and services was roughly $11 billion in 2009–10. This represents $850 per Ontarian or $3,400 for a family of four. 

Equalization is a federal program that provides funding intended to support reasonably comparable provincial services across the country. Even this fundamental federal program works against Ontario. In 2014–15, Ontarians will contribute approximately $6.5 billion to the Equalization program, while
the province will receive only approximately $2 billion in return — representing a net contribution of $4.5 billion — the highest of all provinces.

Ontario's Net Contribution to the Federation in 2009-10

The major focus of the fiscal arrangements has traditionally been on supporting the high-quality social services delivered by provinces that Canadians across the nation rely on. While there is continued need for this support, the federal government should modernize the fiscal arrangements to support economic development across the country as well.  

Infrastructure Investment

The Province is investing more than $130 billion in public infrastructure over the next 10 years. This includes making nearly $29 billion in dedicated funding available for public transit, highways and other critical infrastructure.

The Province invests three times as much as the federal government in public infrastructure in Ontario. Despite this imbalance, the federal government receives roughly equal revenue from the economic activity enabled by modern infrastructure. In a fair partnership, the share of costs and benefits should be aligned. The Province is calling on the federal government to significantly increase its investments in public infrastructure.  

Ring of Fire

The province’s Ring of Fire area includes the largest deposit of chromite — a key ingredient of stainless steel — ever discovered in North America, as well as nickel and other minerals. The Ring of Fire has the potential to have a positive economic impact not only on northern Ontario, but also on Canada as a whole.

The Province has committed up to $1 billion to develop strategic transportation infrastructure. Ontario is calling on the federal government to be an equal partner and match the Province’s investments to build the infrastructure required for this important project in the north that will create jobs, provide opportunities for First Nation communities, and boost the northern economy.  A strong and clear federal commitment to match provincial funding will help boost investor confidence and accelerate development in the Ring of Fire.  

Support for the Automotive Sector

Ontario and Canada have successfully worked together to make strategic investments in the Province’s auto sector, resulting in economic growth and jobs for thousands of Canadians. Ontario’s automotive sector has shown tremendous resilience, with production, shipments and exports on the rebound.

As opportunities arise in the future, Ontario will look to collaborate with the federal government to build on this success and strengthen this vital part of Canada’s economy. 

Support for Labour Market Development

The Province continues to invest in the skills and talents of Ontarians to help them compete globally and to meet the demands of a rapidly evolving economy. The new Canada-Ontario Job Fund Agreement is a good step forward in supporting skills and training programming, but the federal government has not come far enough to address the critical need for funding.

Alongside adequate and reliable funding, good labour market information is critical to helping Ontarians find high-quality, well-paying jobs. Greater coordination between the federal government and the provinces and territories is needed to ensure that a reliable and up-to-date labour market system is available. 

Attracting Skilled Immigrants

It is expected that immigration will account for all of the increase in Ontario’s working-age population over the next 25 years, meaning that immigrants will be one of the main sources of future labour force growth in the province. However, recent federal changes to immigration policy have resulted in fewer skilled immigrants coming to Ontario.

In 2014, Ontario’s Provincial Nominee Program, which supports employers in attracting and retaining the skilled workers they need to be competitive in today’s knowledge-based economy, increased its target to 2,500 — still well below the 5,000 requested by the Province. The Province urges the federal government to support a strong and resilient workforce in Ontario and increase the Provincial Nominee target. 

Partnership on Poverty Reduction and a National Housing Strategy

Federal funding for existing social housing units in Ontario will decline from almost half a billion dollars annually to zero by 2033, jeopardizing the maintenance of existing facilities and putting more families at risk of homelessness. Ontario urges the federal government to come back to the table as a long-term funding partner in the area of social housing.  

Ontario also encourages the federal government to make enhancements to the Working Income Tax Benefit (WITB). Increases to the WITB would support the incomes of low-wage workers and make it easier for families to participate in employment and remain in the labour market. 

Ensuring Old Age Security

In its 2012 budget, the federal government announced changes to the Old Age Security (OAS) benefit, Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS) and Allowances (ALW). Over the 2023 to 2029 period, the federal government plans to increase the minimum ages of eligibility for OAS and GIS from 65 to 67 and ALW from 60 to 62. Those changes will have a wide range of negative impacts on seniors in Ontario, particularly vulnerable seniors with low incomes. 

Ensuring Everyone Pays Their Fair Share of Taxes

Ontario is again calling on the federal government to release its proposed national strategy and action plan to address the underground economy. A national strategy would serve as a foundation for sustained action and enable a more coordinated approach with the Province to address behaviours that Ontarians believe are unfair, unsafe and unacceptable.

The Province will also continue to review its tax collection arrangements with the federal government on a regular basis to ensure that quality services are provided to Ontarians and that optimal revenues are realized through tax administration and compliance activities. 

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:
Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

: Leadership national : Un Ontario fort, un Canada fort

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION

Ministère des Finances

Leadership national : Un Ontario fort, un Canada fort

Le 17 novembre 2014

L’heure est au partenariat fédéral-provincial

Alors que l’Ontario réalise son plan pour atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire, il importe que le gouvernement fédéral s’abstienne de toute mesure unilatérale qui lèse la population de l’Ontario et menace le plan financier de la province. L’Ontario, comme les autres provinces de la fédération, est responsable d’importants services publics, comme les soins de santé et l’éducation, tandis que le gouvernement fédéral amasse la plus grande part des revenus fiscaux. Cette situation, que l’on appelle le déséquilibre fiscal vertical, menace la viabilité financière de l’Ontario, ainsi que celle des autres provinces, face aux mesures fédérales unilatérales.

Les provinces et les territoires font leur part et réduisent l’écart financier en gérant la croissance des dépenses de programmes, surtout en contrôlant les dépenses en matière de santé malgré les pressions démographiques et autres qui s’intensifient. L’Ontario a pris des mesures pour gérer la croissance des dépenses de programmes, et a réussi à maintenir la croissance annuelle moyenne à 1,2 % entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014.

Entre-temps, la décision unilatérale du gouvernement fédéral de limiter, à compter de 2017-2018, l’augmentation des crédits du Transfert canadien en matière de santé au taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) nominal retranchera 21 milliards de dollars du financement des services de santé au Canada, dont 8 milliards de dollars en Ontario, d’ici 2023-2024.

Les mesures prises unilatéralement par le gouvernement fédéral menacent le plan financier et les services publics de l’Ontario, surtout si l’on considère le déséquilibre fiscal vertical qui existe au sein de la fédération.

Modernisation des arrangements fiscaux

La population ontarienne fait une importante contribution à l’économie canadienne, mais comme on l’a vu dans le budget de 2014, l’écart entre l’impôt que la population de l’Ontario verse au gouvernement fédéral et ce qu’elle en reçoit sous forme de transferts et de services se chiffrait grosso modo à 11 milliards de dollars en 2009-2010, ce qui équivaut à 850 $ par habitant ou 3 400 $ pour une famille de quatre personnes en Ontario.

Le programme fédéral de péréquation est conçu pour fournir les fonds nécessaires pour que les provinces puissent offrir des services relativement comparables d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Même ce programme fédéral fondamental nuit à l’Ontario. En 2014-2015, les Ontariennes et Ontariens verseront quelque 6,5 milliards de dollars au programme de péréquation tandis que la province ne recevra qu’environ 2,0 milliards de dollars en retour, ce qui représente une contribution nette de 4,5 milliards de dollars, la plus élevée de toutes les provinces.

Contribution nette de l'Ontario à la fédération en 2009-2010

Par le passé, les arrangements fiscaux avaient eu pour objectif premier d’appuyer les services sociaux de grande qualité que fournissent les provinces et sur lesquels compte la population canadienne partout au pays. Bien qu’il soit toujours nécessaire de fournir un tel soutien, le gouvernement fédéral devrait moderniser les arrangements fiscaux pour appuyer également la croissance économique d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. 

Investissement dans l’infrastructure

La province investira plus de 130 milliards de dollars dans l’infrastructure publique au cours des 10 prochaines années. Cet investissement comprend près de 29 milliards de dollars de financement réservé aux transports en commun, aux routes ainsi qu’à d’autres infrastructures essentielles.

La province investit trois fois plus que le gouvernement fédéral dans l’infrastructure publique de l’Ontario. Malgré ce déséquilibre, le gouvernement fédéral tire des revenus à peu près égaux de l’activité économique que favorise l’infrastructure moderne. Dans un partenariat équitable, la part des coûts que chacun assume devrait correspondre à la part des avantages que chacun en tire. La province exhorte le gouvernement fédéral à accroître considérablement ses investissements dans l’infrastructure publique.

Cercle de feu

La région ontarienne du Cercle de feu comprend le plus grand gisement de chromite, une composante essentielle de l’acier inoxydable, jamais découvert en Amérique du Nord, ainsi que du nickel et d’autres minéraux. Le Cercle de feu pourrait avoir d’avantageuses retombées économiques non seulement sur le Nord de l’Ontario, mais également sur le Canada tout entier. 

La province a affecté jusqu’à 1 milliard de dollars pour le développement stratégique de l’infrastructure des transports. L’Ontario invite le gouvernement fédéral à être un partenaire à parts égales et à faire un investissement correspondant à celui de l’Ontario afin de construire l’infrastructure requise pour cet important projet dans le Nord qui créera des emplois, ouvrira des perspectives d’avenir pour les communautés des Premières Nations et stimulera l’économie de cette région. Un engagement clair et ferme du gouvernement fédéral à verser un financement égal à celui de la province contribuera à stimuler la confiance des investisseurs et à accélérer le développement dans le Cercle de feu.

Soutien au secteur de l’automobile

L’Ontario et le Canada ont collaboré avec succès afin de faire des investissements stratégiques dans le secteur ontarien de l’automobile, ce qui a favorisé la croissance économique et procuré des emplois à des milliers de Canadiennes et de Canadiens. Le secteur ontarien de l’automobile a fait preuve d’une extraordinaire résilience, comme en fait foi la relance de la production, des expéditions et des exportations.

Lorsque des possibilités se présenteront à l’avenir, l’Ontario envisagera de collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral pour tirer profit de cette réussite et renforcer cet élément vital de l’économie canadienne.

Soutien au développement du marché du travail

La province continue d’investir dans les compétences et les talents de la population ontarienne afin de l’aider à soutenir la concurrence mondiale et de satisfaire aux exigences d’une économie en rapide évolution. La nouvelle Entente Canada-Ontario sur le Fonds pour l’emploi est un pas en avant pour appuyer les programmes de formation et de perfectionnement de la main-d’oeuvre, mais le gouvernement fédéral n’est pas allé assez loin pour répondre au besoin pressant de financement.

En plus d’un financement suffisant et fiable, nous avons besoin d’informations pertinentes sur le marché du travail pour aider les Ontariennes et Ontariens à trouver de bons emplois bien rémunérés. Une meilleure coordination entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces et territoires est essentielle pour assurer la mise sur pied d’un système d’information à jour et fiable sur le marché du travail.

Attirer des immigrants qualifiés

On s’attend à ce que la totalité de la croissance de la population en âge de travailler soit attribuable à l’immigration pour les 25 prochaines années en Ontario, ce qui veut dire que les immigrants seront l’une des principales sources de la croissance future de la main-d’oeuvre dans la province. Cependant, les modifications récemment apportées par le gouvernement fédéral aux politiques en matière d’immigration ont eu pour effet de diminuer le nombre de travailleurs qualifiés immigrant en Ontario.

En 2014, le nombre de candidats nommés par l’Ontario dans le cadre du Programme des candidats des provinces, lequel appuie les employeurs dans leurs efforts pour attirer et retenir les travailleurs qualifiés dont ils ont besoin pour faire face à la concurrence dans l’économie du savoir d’aujourd’hui, a été augmenté pour passer à 2 500, ce qui est bien inférieur à la cible de 5 000 demandée par la province. La province exhorte le gouvernement fédéral à appuyer la vigueur et la résilience de la main-d’oeuvre ontarienne en augmentant le nombre cible des candidats que peut nommer la province.

Partenariat pour la réduction de la pauvreté et stratégie nationale en matière de logement

Le financement fédéral destiné aux logements sociaux existants en Ontario diminuera pour passer de près d’un demi-milliard de dollars annuellement à zéro d’ici 2033, de sorte qu’il sera de plus en plus difficile d’entretenir les installations actuelles et qu’un plus grand nombre de familles risquent de se retrouver sans logis. L’Ontario exhorte le gouvernement fédéral de revenir à la table à titre de partenaire financier à long terme.

L’Ontario incite également le gouvernement fédéral à améliorer la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail (PFRT). Toute augmentation de la PFRT protégerait le revenu des travailleurs qui gagnent peu tout en aidant les familles à bénéficier d’un revenu d’emploi et à demeurer sur le marché du travail.

Assurer la sécurité de la vieillesse

Dans son budget de 2012, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait des modifications aux programmes de prestations de Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), du Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG) et de l’Allocation au conjoint (AC). Entre 2023 et 2029, le gouvernement fédéral entend porter de 65 à 67 ans l’âge d’admissibilité à la SV et au SRG, et le faire passer de 60 à 62 ans pour l’AC. Ces modifications auront toute une gamme d’effets néfastes sur les personnes âgées de l’Ontario, en particulier les personnes âgées vulnérables à faible revenu.

Faire payer à chacun sa juste part des taxes et impôts

L’Ontario demande encore au gouvernement fédéral de rendre publics son projet de stratégie nationale et son plan d’action pour s’attaquer à l’économie souterraine. Une stratégie nationale servirait de fondement à une intervention soutenue et permettrait une approche mieux coordonnée avec la province pour s’attaquer à des comportements que les Ontariennes et Ontariens considèrent injustes, dangereux et inadmissibles.

La province continuera également de réexaminer régulièrement les arrangements de perception fiscale conclus avec le gouvernement fédéral afin de s’assurer que les Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent des services de qualité et que la province perçoit des revenus optimaux grâce aux activités d’administration et d’observation des règles fiscales.

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-nouvelles
Available in English