: Strengthening Retirement Security


Ministry of Finance

Strengthening Retirement Security

November 17, 2014

The government is committed to a strong and secure retirement income system that helps ensure working Ontarians will be better able to enjoy their retirement years.

The Retirement Undersaving Problem

Several studies have shown that many people are not saving enough for retirement, a problem that will likely worsen over time. Unless action is taken now, a significant portion of today’s workers will face a decline in their living standard in retirement. 

Increasing retirement savings remains a government priority that requires a multi-faceted approach and close collaboration with:

  • Individuals
  • Employers
  • Labour
  • The financial services industry
  • All orders of government. 

Canada Pension Plan Benefits Are Low

The Canada Pension Plan (CPP) is fundamental to the retirement income security of all Canadians. However, its benefits are too low to meet the needs of many workers. 

  • Since 2010, Ontario has been advocating for an enhancement to the CPP and has played a leadership role in discussions on ways to improve Canada’s retirement income system. 
  • Despite consensus among provinces and territories to continue working on this issue, the federal government unilaterally shut down discussions on options for an enhancement to the CPP. 

The Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

While Ontario’s preferred solution remains an enhancement to the CPP, the cost of inaction is simply too high. That is why the government plans to introduce a new mandatory provincial pension plan – the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP) – that will offer a secure benefit for life. The ORPP will be designed to facilitate the possibility of its integration with the CPP if an agreement is reached on CPP enhancement. 

The implementation of the ORPP is intended to coincide with the expected reductions in Employment Insurance premiums in 2017. 

The ORPP is part of the government’s plan to invest in people and to help working families build a more secure retirement future. The ORPP would help address the retirement undersaving challenge, particularly for middle-income earners without workplace pension coverage. 

Key Features of the ORPP

Building on the success of the CPP, the ORPP would:

  • Provide a predictable stream of retirement income for life by pooling longevity and investment risk, and indexing benefits to inflation. 
  • Aim to provide a replacement rate of 15 per cent of an individual’s earnings, up to a maximum earnings threshold.
  • Require equal contributions shared between employers and employees, not exceeding
    1.9 per cent each on annual earnings up to a maximum earnings threshold of $90,000 (in 2014 dollars). 
  • Be earned as contributions are made to ensure that the system is fair, and younger generations are not burdened with additional costs.
  • Be mandatory for all employees working in Ontario who do not have a comparable workplace pension plan.
  • Be publicly administered, at arm’s length from government.  

Exemptions would include:

  • Earnings below a low earnings threshold would be exempt from contributions. The government will consult on whether the ORPP’s low earnings threshold will mirror the CPP’s threshold of $3,500. 
  • Earnings beyond a maximum earnings threshold of $90,000 (in 2014 dollars) would be exempt from contributions. This threshold would increase every year, consistent with increases to the CPP maximum earnings threshold. 
  • Employees participating in a comparable workplace pension plan and self-employed individuals would not participate in the ORPP. The government will consult on what constitutes a comparable workplace pension plan and how to best assist self-employed individuals in achieving a secure retirement future. 

ORPP Implementation

  • Implementation would start in 2017, with enrolment of employers and employees occurring in stages, beginning with the largest employers. 
  • Contribution rates would be phased in over two years. 
  • Associate Minister of Finance, the Honourable Mitzie Hunter, has begun to engage with businesses, labour, organizations, associations, individuals, families and communities across the province to ensure that the ORPP properly balances retirement income security with the impact on business. 
  • Michael Nobrega is serving as Implementation Lead, providing advice to ensure a smooth transition to 2017. The government will continue to work with the Technical Advisory Group on Retirement Security. 
  • The government will introduce legislation shortly and will formally consult on key design issues in early 2015. 
  • Feedback from the government’s consultations will inform the ORPP’s design and structure. 

Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs) will offer employees and the self-employed a voluntary, low-cost, tax-assisted option to increase retirement savings. Ontario is committed to introducing a legislative framework for PRPPs that is broadly consistent with the model introduced by the federal government and adopted by various provinces. The government will introduce this legislation shortly. 

Target Benefit Pension Plans

Ontario’s strategy to enhance retirement income security includes pension reforms to allow for more flexible models such as target benefit pension plans. These plans offer employers a new option by combining features of defined benefit pension plans and defined contribution pension plans.  

Target benefit pension plans “target” a specific pension, funded by fixed contributions. Unlike defined benefit pensions, target benefit pensions may be reduced to address funding shortfalls.  

The government will be consulting on a regulatory framework for target benefit pension plans in Ontario. Initial consultations, including the release of a consultation paper, will focus on a framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans. 

Ongoing Retirement Income Security Reforms

Strong pension regulation and oversight are key factors in ensuring retirement income security is effective and responsive. The regulator, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario and its Superintendent, require sufficiently effective power to ensure compliance with pension minimum standards legislation. The government will move forward with the necessary regulations to proclaim amendments to the Pensions Benefits Act, which will expand the Superintendent’s powers. 

Pension Reforms Underway

In November 2014, the government passed a regulation to extend the exemption that certain pension plans have from the “solvency concerns” test, from December 31, 2014, to December 31, 2017.

Earlier this fall, regulatory proposals relating to information statements for retired and former pension plan members; disclosure of environmental, social and governance factors in pension investment decisions; and transfer of pension benefits from Ontario plans to plans in other jurisdictions were posted for public consultation. After incorporating feedback, regulations will be considered for approval later this year.

The government remains committed to and continues to work on other areas of reform, including updating filing requirements to reflect changes to accounting standards, allowing payment of variable benefits from defined contribution pension plans and providing an exemption from the “30 per cent rule” for pension investments in Ontario infrastructure.

Sustainable and Cost-Effective Public-Sector Defined Benefit Plans

Pooled Asset Management

The government will be moving forward with a framework to enable the pooling of pension plan assets in the broader public sector as well as endowment and other funds of public entities. Larger pools of capital enable access to a broader range of investments, which is key to improving risk-adjusted returns. 

Framework for Conversion to Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans

The government will facilitate conversions or mergers of employer-sponsored, single-employer pension plans into new or existing jointly sponsored pension plans. Consultations on the regulations required for these conversions will begin in the coming months and regulations are anticipated to take effect July 1, 2015. 

Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

Disponible en français

: Sécuriser la retraite

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION

Ministère des Finances

Sécuriser la retraite

Le 17 novembre 2014

Le gouvernement est déterminé à offrir un système de revenu de retraite solide et sûr pour que les travailleurs ontariens puissent mieux profiter de leurs années de retraite.

Le problème de l’insuffisance de l’épargne-retraite

Plusieurs études démontrent que beaucoup de personnes n’épargnent pas suffisamment pour leur retraite, un problème qui risque de s’aggraver avec le temps. À moins que des mesures ne soient prises maintenant, un pourcentage important des travailleurs actuels sera aux prises avec une baisse du niveau de vie durant la retraite.

Accroître l’épargne-retraite demeure une priorité du gouvernement et nécessite une approche multidimensionnelle et l’étroite collaboration de toutes les parties, à savoir :

  • les particuliers
  • les employeurs
  • les syndicats
  • le secteur des services financiers
  • tous les ordres de gouvernement

Les prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada sont insuffisantes

Le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) est un élément essentiel de la sécurité du revenu de retraite de toute la population canadienne, mais ses prestations ne suffisent pas à subvenir aux besoins de nombreux travailleurs.

  • Depuis 2010, l’Ontario réclame la bonification du RPC et joue un rôle de premier plan dans les discussions visant à trouver des moyens d’améliorer le système du revenu de retraite.
  • Malgré le consensus des provinces et des territoires qui s’entendent pour continuer à travailler sur la question, le gouvernement fédéral a mis fin de façon unilatérale aux discussions sur les options possibles de bonification du RPC.

Le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

Bien que l’Ontario continue de privilégier la bonification du RPC, le coût de l’inaction est tout simplement trop élevé. Par conséquent, le gouvernement planifie d’instaurer un régime de retraite provincial obligatoire, le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO), qui assurera un revenu de retraite la vie durant. Le RRPO sera conçu de manière à faciliter son intégration éventuelle au RPC, si on en arrive à une entente concernant la bonification du RPC.

La mise en oeuvre du RRPO devrait coïncider avec la baisse prévue des cotisations d’assurance-emploi, en 2017.

Le RRPO s’inscrit dans le plan du gouvernement d’investir dans les gens et d’aider les familles travailleuses à se bâtir un avenir plus sûr pour leur retraite. Le RRPO permettrait de s’attaquer au problème de l’insuffisance de l’épargne-retraite, particulièrement chez les personnes à revenu moyen qui ne bénéficient pas d’un régime de retraite d’employeur.

Principales caractéristiques du RRPO

S’appuyant sur la réussite du RPC, le RRPO :

  • fournirait une source de revenus prévisible à la retraite, la vie durant, en mettant en commun les risques liés à la longévité et à l’investissement et en indexant les prestations à l’inflation;
  • viserait à fournir un taux de remplacement de 15 % des revenus d’une personne, jusqu’à concurrence d’un seuil maximum de revenus;
  • serait obligatoirement financé à parts égales par les employeurs et les employés au moyen de cotisations ne devant pas dépasser 1,9 % chacune, prélevées sur les gains annuels dont le seuil maximum serait de 90 000 $ (en dollars de 2014);
  • offrirait des prestations acquises à mesure que les cotisations sont effectuées, pour faire en sorte que le système soit équitable et que les plus jeunes générations n’aient pas à assumer le fardeau de coûts supplémentaires;
  • serait obligatoire pour tous les travailleurs de l’Ontario qui ne bénéficient pas d’un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable;
  • serait administré publiquement par un organisme indépendant du gouvernement.

Il y aurait certaines exemptions, notamment les suivantes :

  • Aucune cotisation ne serait prélevée sur les revenus inférieurs à un seuil de faible revenu. Le gouvernement mènera des consultations pour déterminer si le seuil de faible revenu du RRPO sera le même que celui du RPC, soit 3 500 $.
  • Aucune cotisation ne serait prélevée non plus sur les revenus dépassant un seuil de 90 000 $ (en dollars de 2014). Ce seuil augmenterait chaque année parallèlement aux augmentations du maximum des gains ouvrant droit à pension du RPC.
  • Les travailleurs qui participent à un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable et les travailleurs autonomes ne seraient pas admissibles au RRPO. Le gouvernement mènera des consultations pour déterminer ce qui constitue un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable et comment aider le mieux possible les travailleurs autonomes à sécuriser leur retraite future.

Mise en oeuvre du RRPO

  • La mise en oeuvre débuterait en 2017 et l’inscription des employeurs et des employés se ferait par étapes, les plus grands employeurs s’inscrivant en premier.
  • Les taux de cotisation seraient mis en oeuvre graduellement sur deux ans.
  • La ministre associée des Finances, l’honorable Mitzie Hunter, a commencé à mobiliser des représentants d’entreprises, de syndicats, d’organismes et d’associations ainsi que des particuliers, des familles et des collectivités de l’Ontario, pour s’assurer que le RRPO établit un équilibre approprié entre la sécurité du revenu de retraite et l’incidence pour les entreprises.
  • M. Michael Nobrega est responsable de la mise en oeuvre et fournira des conseils pour assurer une transition harmonieuse jusqu’en 2017. Le gouvernement continuera de collaborer avec le Groupe consultatif technique pour la sécurité du revenu de retraite.
  • Le gouvernement déposera sous peu une mesure législative et mènera des consultations officielles sur les grands enjeux liés à la conception du régime au début de 2015.
  • La rétroaction obtenue à la suite des consultations gouvernementales façonnera la conception et la structure du RRPO.

Régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) offriront aux salariés et aux travailleurs autonomes une option facultative, à faible coût et bénéficiant d’une aide fiscale pour accroître l’épargne-retraite. L’Ontario est déterminé à présenter un cadre législatif régissant les RPAC, qui correspondra globalement au modèle que le gouvernement fédéral a instauré et que diverses provinces ont adopté. Le gouvernement déposera cette mesure législative sous peu.

Régimes de retraite à prestations cibles

La stratégie de l’Ontario visant à accroître la sécurité du revenu de retraite comprend des réformes pour permettre des modèles plus souples comme les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles. Ceux-ci offrent aux employeurs une nouvelle option en combinant les caractéristiques des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées.

Les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles visent un niveau de prestations précis capitalisé par des cotisations fixes. Contrairement aux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées, les prestations versées par des régimes de retraite à prestations cibles peuvent être réduites pour faire face à toute insuffisance de capitalisation de la caisse de retraite.

Le gouvernement mènera des consultations sur un cadre réglementaire régissant les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles en Ontario. Les consultations initiales, dont un document de consultation, mettront l’accent sur un cadre régissant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles.

Réformes continues de la sécurité du revenu de retraite

La réglementation et la surveillance rigoureuses des régimes de retraite sont essentielles pour assurer que la sécurité du revenu de retraite est efficace et qu’elle répond aux besoins des intéressés. L’organisme de réglementation, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, et son surintendant doivent avoir suffisamment de pouvoir pour assurer le respect de la loi prévoyant les normes minimales en matière de régimes de retraite. Le gouvernement prendra les règlements nécessaires pour promulguer les modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite qui accroissent les pouvoirs du surintendant.

Réformes en cours des régimes de retraite

En novembre 2014, le gouvernement a adopté un règlement visant à prolonger le délai d’exemption de l’analyse en cas de doute quant à la solvabilité dont bénéficient certains régimes de retraite pour le faire passer du 31 décembre 2014 au 31 décembre 2017.

Plus tôt cet automne, des propositions réglementaires sur les déclarations de renseignements pour les participants retraités et les anciens participants, la divulgation des facteurs environnementaux et sociaux et des questions de gouvernance pris en compte dans les décisions de placement des régimes de retraite ainsi que le transfert des prestations de régimes de retraite enregistrés en Ontario à des régimes de retraite d’autres territoires de compétence ont été soumises à la consultation publique. Après que les commentaires auront été intégrés, des règlements seront envisagés à des fins d’approbation plus tard cette année.

Respectant son engagement, le gouvernement continue de travailler à d’autres aspects de la réforme, dont la mise à jour des exigences en matière de déclaration pour tenir compte des modifications apportées aux normes comptables, le versement de prestations variables à partir de régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées et la possibilité de soustraire à la « règle des 30 % » les investissements par des régimes de retraite dans l’infrastructure de l’Ontario.

Régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur public viables et économiques

Gestion commune des actifs

Le gouvernement établira un cadre permettant la mise en commun des actifs des régimes de retraite du secteur parapublic ainsi que des dotations et d’autres fonds d’entités publiques. De plus grands bassins de capitaux permettent l’accès à un plus large éventail de placements, ce qui est essentiel pour améliorer le rendement corrigé en fonction du risque.

Cadre visant la conversion en régimes de retraite conjoints

Le gouvernement facilitera les conversions des régimes de retraite à employeur unique en régimes de retraite conjoints ou leur fusion avec des régimes de retraite conjoints existants. Des consultations sur les règlements requis pour ces conversions débuteront dans les mois à venir et on prévoit que les règlements entreront en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015.

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-nouvelles
Available in English