: Unlocking the Value of Provincial Assets


Ministry of Finance

Unlocking the Value of Provincial Assets

November 17, 2014

Ontario is continuing to pursue opportunities to unlock economic value from its assets. Maximizing the value of provincial assets would provide resources to invest in new transit and transportation infrastructure to help expand the economy, improve competitiveness and productivity, and create jobs for Ontarians.

Key provincial assets being reviewed by the government include:

  • Its interest in General Motors shares
  • Ontario’s extensive real estate portfolio, including the Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO) head office lands, Ontario Power Generation’s (OPG) head office building and Seaton and Lakeview lands
  • Assets under review by the Premier’s Advisory Council on Government Assets — LCBO, OPG and Hydro One.

The government will not sell public assets for the purpose of meeting operating budget shortfalls. Net revenue gains from asset sales will flow to the Trillium Trust to help build a new generation of public infrastructure, including roads, bridges and transit.

By making smart business decisions that maximize the value of Ontario’s assets, the government is making public dollars go further for the people of Ontario.

Premier’s Advisory Council on Government Assets

In April 2014, the government appointed the Premier’s Advisory Council on Government Assets to provide recommendations for maximizing the value of key provincial assets. The principles guiding the council’s work are to ensure:

  • The public interest remains paramount and protected
  • Decisions align with maximizing value to Ontarians
  • The decision process remains transparent, professional and independently validated.

The council is of the view that the government should retain ownership of OPG, Hydro One and the LCBO. The council agreed with the government’s overall strategy to consider divesting non-core assets if it is in the public interest to do so. Maintaining provincial ownership of core assets remains a priority for delivering key services to the public. The council’s findings highlight opportunities to improve the operations and performance of each government business enterprise (GBE) under review, ensure their long-term sustainability and bring greater returns to Ontarians.

The government is supportive of the council’s initial findings, which include:

Improving Efficiencies and Modernizing Operations

  • Beverage Alcohol: The council examined the three quasi-monopolies in Ontario’s liquor distribution system: the LCBO, the privately owned Beer Store and off-site Winery Retail Stores.
  • With respect to the LCBO, the council recommended using the LCBO’s buying power to lower costs and making changes to enhance the customer experience, including an online marketplace to broaden product selection.
  • The council recommended improving transparency at the Beer Store; providing Ontarians with a fair share of profits; ensuring that all producers, including craft breweries, are treated equitably; and extending the sale of 12-packs of beer into LCBO stores.
  • For off-site Winery Retail Stores, the council also made recommendations to ensure Ontarians receive a fair share of profits; they also proposed exploring the possibility of opening new private stores offering both Canadian and international wines.
  • OPG: The council recommended that OPG focus on ensuring the Darlington nuclear refurbishment project is delivered safely, on budget and on schedule. The council also found that OPG should consider, in future, creating an internal structure over time as though its nuclear and non-nuclear businesses were two separate entities. The council also suggested that the government strengthen project management experience on OPG’s board.
  • Hydro One: The council recommended that Hydro One retain the electricity transmission as its core business, but separate out the electricity distribution business. The council recommended bringing in private capital to help consolidate the fragmented system of local distribution companies, as well as the Province diluting its interest in the distribution businesses currently in Hydro One Networks and Hydro One Brampton.

Sustainable Arrangements

Another area for improvement suggested by the council involves compensation practices at the LCBO, OPG and Hydro One. The council will work with its partners across these GBEs to ensure that agreements are sustainable and fair.

The Next Phase

Following on the council’s initial findings and report, the government has instructed the council to move to the second phase of its review, which will include consultations with multiple stakeholders, bringing the council closer to its goal of reaching agreements that are pragmatic and, to the extent possible, supported by all parties.

With respect to beverage alcohol sales, the council will be guided by advice from government and external experts. It will work with the Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure to ensure that all recommendations comply with Ontario’s obligations under various trade agreements as well as trade and other laws. The council will also ensure that recommendations support the Province’s ongoing commitment to social responsibility.

With respect to Hydro One, the council will develop an implementation plan for the distribution businesses, including an analysis of potential transition implications and costs relating to the separation of the distribution and transmission businesses.

The council’s final recommendations, expected by the spring of 2015, will help inform the 2015 Ontario Budget.

Optimizing the Value of the Province’s Real Estate Portfolio

The government is moving forward with measures to extract greater value from its real estate portfolio, including:

  • Releasing a Request for Proposals on September 4, 2014 for the sale of LCBO’s head office lands — this transaction is expected to close in 2015
  • Performing due diligence and exploring opportunities for moving forward with the sale of the OPG head office
  • Continuing the revitalization of other real estate assets, such as the former Lakeview generating station property in southeastern Mississauga and the Seaton Lands in Pickering.

The government’s review of key government assets is part of the fiscally responsible core of a four-pillar economic plan to build up Ontario. Additional revenues from provincial assets will help build modern infrastructure, one of the four pillars of Ontario’s economic plan.

Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

Disponible en français

: Dégager la valeur des biens provinciaux

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION

Ministère des Finances

Dégager la valeur des biens provinciaux

Le 17 novembre 2014

L’Ontario continue d’explorer les possibilités de dégager la valeur économique de ses actifs pour en tirer le maximum et obtenir des ressources qu’il pourra investir dans une nouvelle infrastructure de transport et de transports en commun pour faire croître l’économie, améliorer la compétitivité, augmenter la productivité et créer des emplois pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens.

Le gouvernement étudie actuellement les principaux actifs provinciaux suivants :

  • ses intérêts dans les actions de la société General Motors;
  • un portefeuille immobilier d’envergure qui comprend le terrain où est situé le siège social de la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario (LCBO), l’immeuble abritant le siège social d’Ontario Power Generation (OPG) ainsi que les terrains de Seaton et de Lakeview;
  • les actifs faisant l’objet d’un examen par le Conseil consultatif de la première ministre pour la gestion des biens provinciaux, à savoir la LCBO, OPG et Hydro One.

Le gouvernement ne vendra pas des biens publics pour combler les déficits du budget de fonctionnement. Les revenus nets tirés de la vente des actifs admissibles seront versés au Fonds Trillium et contribueront à bâtir une nouvelle génération d’infrastructures publiques, notamment des routes, des ponts et des réseaux de transport en commun.

En prenant des décisions d’affaires judicieuses qui permettent d’optimiser la valeur des actifs de l’Ontario, le gouvernement étire au maximum les deniers publics au profit de la population ontarienne.

Conseil consultatif de la première ministre pour la gestion des biens provinciaux

En avril 2014, le gouvernement a mis sur pied le Conseil consultatif de la première ministre pour la gestion des biens provinciaux dont le mandat est de faire des recommandations pour maximiser la valeur des principaux actifs provinciaux. Les travaux du Conseil sont guidés par trois grands principes :

  • L’intérêt public demeure le but ultime et doit être protégé.
  • Les décisions doivent viser à optimiser la valeur pour la population ontarienne.
  • Le processus décisionnel doit demeurer transparent et professionnel, et il doit être attesté par un tiers impartial.

Le Conseil est d’avis que le gouvernement devrait demeurer propriétaire d’OPG, d’Hydro One et de la LCBO. Il est d’accord avec la stratégie globale du gouvernement qui consiste à envisager de céder ses actifs non essentiels à condition que cette mesure soit dans l’intérêt public. Maintenir la propriété provinciale des principaux actifs demeure une priorité pour la prestation des services clés à la population. Les constatations du Conseil mettent en lumière les possibilités d’améliorer les activités et le rendement de chaque entreprise publique étudiée, d’assurer leur pérennité et d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens.

Le gouvernement souscrit aux conclusions initiales du Conseil, qui comprennent ce qui suit :

Améliorer les gains d’efficience et moderniser les opérations

  • Boissons alcoolisées : Le Conseil a examiné les trois quasi-monopoles qui dominent le système de vente d’alcool de l’Ontario : la LCBO, le Beer Store (propriété privée) et les points de vente hors des établissements vinicoles.
  • En ce qui concerne la LCBO, le Conseil a recommandé que l’entreprise utilise son pouvoir d’achat pour diminuer les coûts et fasse des changements pour améliorer l’expérience pour les clients, notamment en créant un marché en ligne pour offrir un plus grand choix de produits.
  • Le Conseil a recommandé d’accroître la transparence du Beer Store, de procurer aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens leur juste part des profits, de faire en sorte que tous les producteurs, y compris les brasseries artisanales, soient traités équitablement et de permettre la vente de la bière en caisses de 12 dans les magasins de la LCBO.
  • Pour les points de vente hors des établissements vinicoles, le Conseil a aussi fait des recommandations pour faire en sorte que les Ontariennes et Ontariens obtiennent leur juste part des bénéfices; il a en outre proposé d’explorer la possibilité d’ouvrir de nouveaux magasins privés qui offriraient des vins canadiens et internationaux.
  • OPG : Le Conseil a recommandé qu’OPG veille à ce que le projet de remise en état de la centrale nucléaire de Darlington soit exécuté en toute sécurité, dans le respect des budgets et des délais. Il a conclu qu’OPG devrait envisager, à l’avenir, de créer une structure interne constituée de deux entités distinctes, l’une axée sur le nucléaire et l’autre sur le non nucléaire. Le Conseil a aussi proposé que le gouvernement renforce l’expérience en gestion de projet chez les membres du conseil d’OPG.
  • Hydro One : Le Conseil a recommandé qu’Hydro One conserve le transport de l’électricité et qu’il en fasse son activité principale, mais qu’il sépare ses activités de distribution. Il a également recommandé de mobiliser des capitaux du secteur privé pour consolider le système fragmenté d’entreprises de distribution locales et que la province dilue sa participation dans les activités de distribution dans Hydro One Networks et Hydro One Brampton.

Solutions durables

Le Conseil a également suggéré d’autres améliorations, notamment en ce qui concerne les pratiques de rémunération à la LCBO, OPG et Hydro One. Il collaborera avec ses partenaires au sein de ces entreprises publiques pour faire en sorte que les ententes soient durables et équitables.

La prochaine étape

À la suite du rapport et des constats initiaux du Conseil, le gouvernement lui a demandé de passer à la seconde étape de son examen, qui comprendra des consultations avec de multiples intervenants, ce qui rapprochera le Conseil de son objectif de parvenir à des ententes pragmatiques et, dans la mesure du possible, soutenues par toutes les parties concernées.

En ce qui concerne la vente de boissons alcoolisées, le Conseil sera soutenu par le gouvernement et des spécialistes externes. Il travaillera avec le ministère des Finances et le ministère du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure pour veiller à ce que toutes les recommandations soient conformes aux obligations de la province et aux exigences de diverses ententes et lois commerciales, entre autres. Le Conseil veillera également à ce que les recommandations soutiennent l’engagement continu de la province en matière de responsabilité sociale.

En ce qui concerne Hydro One, le Conseil élaborera un plan de mise en oeuvre des activités de distribution comprenant une analyse des répercussions possibles de la transition et des coûts qu’occasionnerait la séparation de ses activités de distribution et de transport.

Les recommandations finales du Conseil, prévues au printemps de 2015, éclaireront le processus d’élaboration du budget de 2015.

Optimiser la valeur du portefeuille immobilier de la province

Le gouvernement va de l’avant et met en oeuvre des mesures visant à tirer le maximum de valeur de son portefeuille immobilier.

  • Il a lancé une demande de propositions le 4 septembre 2014 pour la vente du terrain où se trouve le siège social de la LCBO. Cette transaction devrait être conclue en 2015.
  • Le gouvernement fait également preuve de la diligence voulue et examine les possibilités de concrétiser son projet de vendre le siège social d’OPG.
  • D’autres actifs immobiliers continuent d’être revitalisés, comme le bien foncier de l’ancienne centrale électrique Lakeview, dans le quartier sud-est de Mississauga, et les terrains Seaton à Pickering.

L’examen par le gouvernement de ses principaux actifs fait partie d’un plan économique responsable à quatre volets visant à faire progresser l’Ontario. Des revenus supplémentaires tirés des actifs provinciaux contribueront à bâtir une infrastructure moderne, l’un des quatre piliers du plan économique de l’Ontario.

 

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-nouvelles
Available in English