2014 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Building Opportunity, Securing Our Future

Section E: Strengthening Retirement Security

A Leader in Retirement Income Security


The government is committed to a strong and secure retirement income system to help ensure that Ontarians are better able to enjoy their retirement years. Several studies have shown that, unless action is taken, a significant portion of today’s workers will face a decline in their living standard in retirement.1 These studies also indicate that this problem will likely worsen over time.

As noted in Ontario’s 2014 Budget, the government recognizes that increasing retirement savings in the province is a complex challenge that requires a multi-faceted approach and close collaboration with all parties, including individuals, employers, labour, the financial services industry, and all orders of government. That is why Ontario is continuing with its three-pronged strategy, first outlined in the 2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, to strengthen and modernize the retirement income system. This multi-faceted strategy will strengthen the retirement income security of all Ontarians, including:

  • Those without workplace pension plans;
  • Those with self-directed retirement savings; and
  • Those with defined benefit plans.

The Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

Canada’s publicly administered Canada Pension Plan (CPP) is fundamental to the retirement income security of all Canadians, but its benefits are too low to meet the needs of many workers.

Ontario has long played a leadership role in retirement income security and has been advocating for an enhancement to the CPP since 2010.

In 2013, the federal government unilaterally shut down discussion on options for an enhancement to the CPP, against the consensus of provinces and territories to continue working on this issue.

Ontario’s preferred solution remains an enhancement to the CPP; however, the cost of inaction is simply too high. As a result, the government intends to introduce a new mandatory provincial pension plan — the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP) — that will offer a secure benefit for life. The implementation of the ORPP is intended to coincide with the expected reductions in Employment Insurance premiums in 2017.  The ORPP will be designed to facilitate the possibility of its integration with the CPP, in the event that an agreement is reached on a CPP enhancement.

The ORPP is an integral part of the government’s plan to invest in people, and to help working families build a more secure retirement future.

A provincial pension plan of this scale would be the first of its kind in Canada. Once introduced, the ORPP would be a significant step in addressing the retirement undersaving challenge, particularly for middle-income earners without workplace pension coverage.

As outlined in the 2014 Budget, the ORPP would have the following features:


  • Replicate many of the CPP’s design features in order to build on the success of the CPP.


  • Provide a predictable stream of retirement income for life by pooling longevity and investment risk, and indexing benefits to inflation.
  • Aim to provide a replacement rate of 15 per cent of an individual’s earnings, up to a maximum annual earnings threshold. The ORPP benefits would be earned as contributions are made to ensure that the system is fair, and younger generations are not burdened with additional costs.


  • The ORPP would require equal contributions shared between employers and employees, not exceeding 1.9 per cent each (3.8 per cent combined) on earnings up to a maximum earnings threshold of $90,000 (in 2014 dollars). This threshold would increase every year, consistent with increases to the CPP maximum earnings threshold.
  • Earnings below a low earnings threshold would be exempt from contributions. The government will consult on whether the ORPP’s low earnings threshold will mirror the CPP’s threshold of $3,500.


  • The ORPP would be mandatory for all employees working in Ontario who do not currently benefit from a comparable workplace pension plan.
  • Employees participating in a comparable workplace pension plan and self-employed individuals would not participate in the ORPP. The government will consult on what constitutes a comparable workplace pension plan and how to best assist self-employed individuals in achieving a secure retirement future.  


  • The ORPP would be publicly administered at arm’s length from government with a strong governance model and be responsible for managing the plan’s investments.

Recognizing that retirement income security is critically important to Ontario families and for the future prosperity of the province, the government is committed to implementing the ORPP as a priority in 2017. Enrolment of employers and employees would occur in stages, beginning with the largest employers, and contribution rates would be phased in over two years.

In June, Premier Kathleen Wynne appointed a new Associate Minister of Finance responsible for the ORPP. The Associate Minister of Finance, the Honourable Mitzie Hunter, has begun to engage a variety of stakeholders — meeting with businesses, labour, organizations, associations, as well as individuals, families and communities across the province — to ensure that the ORPP properly balances retirement income security with the impact on business, and meets the needs of a 21st century workforce.

The government will also be supported by Michael Nobrega in his role as the Implementation Lead, providing guidance and support to the Minister of Finance, the Associate Minister of Finance and Ministry officials on the implementation of the ORPP. In particular, this role will involve providing advice on the creation of the arm’s-length administrative entity and the development of the administrative and operational capacity necessary to ensure a smooth transition to 2017 and manage the ORPP on a long-term basis.

The Province will continue to work with the Technical Advisory Group on Retirement Security, relying on a range of pension expertise and perspectives as it develops the ORPP.

The government intends to introduce legislation shortly to begin the process of fulfilling its commitment to introduce the ORPP and will formally consult on key plan design issues in early 2015. Feedback from the government’s consultations will inform the ORPP’s design and structure.  

Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Voluntary savings tools, such as registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs) and pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs), will continue to play an important role in Ontario’s retirement income security system. Pooled registered pension plans will offer employees and the self-employed a voluntary, low-cost, tax-assisted option to increase retirement savings.

After a successful consultation process in early 2014, the 2014 Budget committed to introducing a legislative framework for PRPPs that is broadly consistent with the model introduced by the federal government and adopted by various provinces. The government intends to introduce this legislation shortly.

Target Benefit Pension Plans

Ontario’s three-pronged strategy to enhance retirement income security includes pension reforms to allow for more flexible models such as target benefit pension plans. These plans offer employers an innovative new option by combining features of defined benefit pension plans and defined contribution pension plans. Target benefit pension plans “target” a specific pension, funded by fixed contributions. Unlike defined benefit pensions, target benefit pensions may be reduced to address funding shortfalls.

As outlined in the 2014 Budget, the government will be consulting on a regulatory framework for target benefit pension plans in Ontario. Initial consultations, including the release of a consultation paper, will focus on a framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans.

Ongoing Retirement Income Security Reforms

A Strong Pension Regulator

A key factor in ensuring retirement income security is effective and responsive pension regulation and oversight. The regulator, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) and its Superintendent, must have sufficiently effective powers to ensure compliance with pension minimum standards legislation.

In response to the Report of the Expert Commission on Pensions, in 2010 the government made a number of amendments to the Pension Benefits Act, which have yet to be proclaimed, to expand the Superintendent’s powers. The government intends to move forward with the necessary regulations to proclaim these amendments.

“To bring compliance as near to 100% as can be achieved, the regulator ought to have a number of strategies at its disposal. Disseminating information, dispelling misunderstandings, resolving ambiguities, developing open and cooperative relationships, providing positive incentives for willing compliance and forgiveness for innocent and minor transgressions are — and should be — part of any regulator’s repertoire. Nonetheless, significant and intentional violations will occur and must be dealt with.”

Report of the Expert Commission on Pensions, “A Fine Balance: Safe Pensions, Affordable Plans, Fair Rules,” (2008), 139.

Pension Reforms Underway

The government continues to strengthen and modernize Ontario’s retirement income system through the development of regulations to implement the amendments to the Pension Benefits Act introduced in 2010.

In November 2014, the government passed a regulation to extend the exemption that certain pension plans have from the “solvency concerns” test. This test determines when defined benefit pension plans must file annual valuation reports with the pension regulator. The exemption has now been extended from December 31, 2014, to December 31, 2017, to allow enough time to consult on an appropriate test for those pension plans that are exempt from solvency funding requirements.

In addition, earlier this fall regulatory proposals on the following issues were posted for public consultation:

  • Information statements for retired and former pension plan members;
  • Disclosure of environmental, social and governance factors in pension investment decisions; and
  • The transfer of pension benefits from Ontario registered pension plans to plans in other jurisdictions.

After incorporating feedback, regulations will be considered for approval later this year.

The government continues to work on other areas of reform, including:

  • Updating filing requirements to reflect changes to accounting standards: After initial consultations, the government remains committed to implementing the necessary regulatory reforms once it has had an opportunity to incorporate stakeholder feedback.
  • Payment of variable benefits directly from defined contribution plans: Initial consultations in April highlighted areas where legislative amendments would be required to promote consistency between the treatment of variable benefits and the current framework for Life Income Funds (LIFs). The government has considered stakeholder responses to the consultation and is proceeding with the necessary amendments to the Pension Benefits Act. The amendments will support greater flexibility, so that retired members receiving variable benefits would have more portability and withdrawal options in dealing with their retirement funds. Once these amendments have been passed, the government will move forward with regulations to implement its commitment to permit direct payments from defined contribution pension plans.
  • Exemption from the “30 per cent rule” for pension investments in Ontario infrastructure: As announced in the 2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the government is committed to removing obstacles to investments in Ontario infrastructure by Ontario’s pension plans. The 30 per cent rule limits the ability of pension plans to take large voting interests in a corporation, potentially restricting pension investments in infrastructure projects. With the removal of this restriction, pension plans may represent a significant new source of capital to support economic growth and job creation in Ontario. A description of proposed regulatory amendments providing for an exemption from the 30 per cent rule for pension investments in Ontario infrastructure was posted for consultation earlier this fall. The government will consider stakeholder responses as it develops regulations to implement the proposed exemption.

Sustainable and Cost-Effective Public-Sector Defined Benefit Plans

Pooled Asset Management

The 2014 Budget announced that the government will be moving forward with a framework to enable the pooling of pension plan assets in the broader public sector as well as endowment and other funds of public entities. Larger pools of capital enable access to a broader range of investments, which is key to improving risk-adjusted returns.

The government is working closely with key stakeholders to develop the framework for the pooled asset management entity. The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board and Ontario Pension Board have expressed their interest in being involved as initial participants in the entity.

Framework for Conversion to Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans

The government will facilitate conversions or mergers of employer-sponsored, single-employer pension plans (SEPPs) into new or existing jointly sponsored pension plans (JSPPs). On July 24, Bill 14, the Building Opportunity and Securing Our Future Act (Budget Measures), 2014, received Royal Assent. This legislation makes changes to the Pension Benefits Act that, once proclaimed, will provide authority for regulations to facilitate these transactions.

Work is well underway to develop the necessary regulations required for the legislative provisions to be proclaimed. Issues to be addressed in regulations include the level of consent required for active members and retirees, as well as the degree of protection that employers must provide if the SEPP converts to, or merges with, a JSPP. The government has assigned a high priority to the development of these regulations and intends to post regulatory proposals on the Regulatory Registry in the coming months. Comments received will be considered in the development of the regulations, which are anticipated to take effect on July 1, 2015.

[1] Recent studies that have examined the adequacy of retirement savings in Canada include: Keith Horner, “Retirement Saving by Canadian Households,” (2009); Kevin D. Moore, William Robson and Alexandre Laurin, C.D. Howe Institute, “Canada’s Looming Retirement Challenge,” (2010); Michael C. Wolfson, “Projecting the Adequacy of Canadians’ Retirement Incomes,” (2011); McKinsey & Company, “Are Canadians Ready for Retirement?” (2012); and CIBC, “Canadians’ Retirement Future: Mind the Gap,” (2013).

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2014
Chapitre I : Des perspectives d’avenir garantes de notre réussite

Section E : Sécuriser la retraite

Chef de file en matière de sécurité du revenu de retraite

Introduction

Le gouvernement est déterminé à faire en sorte que les Ontariennes et Ontariens puissent mieux profiter de leurs années de retraite grâce à un système de revenu de retraite solide et sûr. Plusieurs études ont démontré qu’à moins que des mesures ne soient prises, un pourcentage important des travailleurs actuels sera aux prises avec une baisse du niveau de vie durant la retraite1 et que ce problème s’aggravera au fil des ans.

Comme il en a été fait mention dans le budget de 2014, le gouvernement reconnaît qu’accroître l’épargne-retraite dans la province est une entreprise complexe qui nécessite une approche multidimensionnelle et l’étroite collaboration de toutes les parties, à savoir les particuliers, les employeurs, les syndicats, le secteur des services financiers et tous les ordres de gouvernement. C’est pourquoi l’Ontario poursuit sa stratégie à trois volets, énoncée pour la première fois dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2013,qui vise à renforcer et à moderniser le système de revenu de retraite pour tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes, dont :

  • ceux qui n’ont pas de régime de retraite d’employeur;
  • ceux qui ont un régime d’épargne-retraite autogéré;
  • ceux qui ont un régime d’épargne à prestations déterminées.

Le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

Le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), un programme public administré par le gouvernement fédéral, est un élément essentiel de la sécurité du revenu de retraite de toute la population canadienne, mais les prestations ne suffisent pas à subvenir aux besoins de nombreux travailleurs.

L’Ontario est depuis longtemps un acteur important du mouvement visant à assurer la sécurité du revenu de retraite et il réclame la bonification du RPC depuis 2010.

En 2013, le gouvernement fédéral a mis fin de façon unilatérale aux discussions sur les options possibles de bonification du RPC, malgré le consensus des provinces et des territoires qui étaient d’accord pour continuer à travailler sur la question.

L’Ontario continue de privilégier la bonification du RPC, mais le coût de l’inaction est tout simplement trop élevé. Par conséquent, le gouvernement a l’intention d’instaurer un régime de retraite provincial obligatoire, le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO), qui assurera un revenu de retraite la vie durant. La mise en oeuvre du RRPO devrait coïncider avec la baisse prévue des cotisations d’assurance-emploi, en 2017. Le RRPO sera conçu de manière à faciliter son intégration éventuelle au RPC, si on en arrive à une entente concernant la bonification du RPC.

Le RRPO fait partie intégrante du plan du gouvernement d’investir dans les gens et d’aider les familles travailleuses à se bâtir un avenir plus sûr pour leur retraite.

Un régime de retraite provincial de cette envergure serait le premier du genre au Canada. Une fois implanté, le RRPO représenterait une étape importante dans la recherche d’une solution au problème de l’insuffisance de l’épargne-retraite, particulièrement chez les personnes à revenu moyen qui ne bénéficient pas d’un régime de retraite d’employeur.

Comme il en est question dans le budget de 2014, le RRPO aurait les caractéristiques suivantes :

Conception

  • Il reprendrait bon nombre des caractéristiques du RPC afin de s’appuyer sur le succès du RPC.

Avantages

  • Il fournirait une source de revenus prévisible à la retraite en mettant en commun les risques liés à la longévité et à l’investissement et en indexant les prestations à l’inflation.
  • Il viserait à fournir un taux de remplacement de 15 % des revenus d’une personne, jusqu’à concurrence d’un seuil maximum de gains annuels. Les prestations du RRPO seraient acquises à mesure que les cotisations sont faites, pour faire en sorte que le système soit équitable et que les plus jeunes générations n’aient pas à assumer le fardeau de coûts supplémentaires.

Cotisations

  • Le RRPO serait obligatoirement financé à parts égales par les employeurs et les employés au moyen de cotisations d’un taux maximum de 1,9 % pour chacun (3,8 % combinées) prélevées sur les revenus ne dépassant pas un seuil de 90 000 $ (en dollars de 2014). Ce seuil augmenterait chaque année parallèlement aux augmentations du maximum des gains ouvrant droit à pension du RPC.
    • Aucune cotisation ne serait prélevée sur les revenus inférieurs à un seuil de faible revenu. Le gouvernement mènera des consultations pour déterminer si le seuil de faible revenu du RRPO sera le même que celui du RPC, soit 3 500 $.

Participation

  • Le RRPO serait obligatoire pour tous les travailleurs de l’Ontario qui ne bénéficient pas d’un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable.
  • Les travailleurs qui participent à un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable et les travailleurs autonomes ne seraient pas admissibles au RRPO. Le gouvernement mènera des consultations pour déterminer ce qui constitue un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable et comment aider le mieux possible les travailleurs autonomes à sécuriser leur retraite future.

Administration

  • Le RRPO serait administré publiquement par un organisme indépendant du gouvernement qui serait assujetti à un modèle de gouvernance rigoureuse et serait responsable de la gestion des investissements.

Reconnaissant l’importance cruciale de la sécurité du revenu de retraite pour les familles ontariennes et pour la prospérité future de la province, le gouvernement s’engage à faire de l’instauration du RRPO en 2017 une priorité. L’inscription des employeurs et des employés se ferait par étapes, les plus grands employeurs s’inscrivant en premier, et les taux de cotisation seraient instaurés graduellement sur deux ans.

En juin, la première ministre Kathleen Wynne a nommé une nouvelle ministre associée des Finances, responsable du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, l’honorable Mitzie Hunter. Mme Hunter a commencé à mobiliser divers intervenants, rencontrant des représentants d’entreprises, de syndicats, d’organismes et d’associations ainsi que des particuliers, des familles et des collectivités de l’Ontario, pour s’assurer que le RRPO établit un équilibre approprié entre la sécurité du revenu de retraite et l’incidence pour les entreprises, et qu’il répond aux besoins des travailleurs du XXIe siècle.

Le gouvernement recevra également le soutien de Michael Nobrega qui, à titre de responsable de la mise en oeuvre, fournira conseils et soutien au ministre des Finances, à la ministre associée des Finances et aux fonctionnaires du ministère pour la mise en oeuvre du RRPO. Il devra notamment fournir des conseils sur la création de l’entité administrative indépendante et le développement de la capacité administrative et opérationnelle nécessaire pour assurer une transition harmonieuse jusqu’en 2017 et pour gérer le RRPO à long terme.

La province continuera de collaborer avec le Groupe consultatif technique pour la sécurité du revenu de retraite, s’appuyant sur toute une gamme d’expertises et de points de vue relatifs aux régimes de retraite, à mesure qu’il élabore le RRPO.

Le gouvernement a l’intention de déposer sous peu une mesure législative pour enclencher le processus qui donnera suite à son engagement d’instaurer le RRPO et mènera des consultations officielles sur les grands enjeux liés à la conception du régime au début de 2015. La rétroaction obtenue à la suite des consultations gouvernementales façonnera la conception et la structure du RRPO.

Régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Les instruments d’épargne volontaire, comme les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER) et les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC), continueront de jouer un rôle important dans le système de sécurité du revenu de retraite de l’Ontario. Les régimes de pension agréés collectifs offriront aux salariés et aux travailleurs autonomes une option facultative, à faible coût et bénéficiant d’une aide fiscale pour accroître l’épargne-retraite.

Après un processus de consultation fructueux mené au début de 2014, le gouvernement s’est engagé dans le budget de 2014 à présenter un cadre législatif régissant les RPAC, qui correspondra globalement au modèle que le gouvernement fédéral a instauré et que diverses provinces ont adopté. Le gouvernement entend déposer cette mesure législative sous peu.

Régimes de retraite à prestations cibles

La stratégie à trois volets de l’Ontario visant à accroître la sécurité du revenu de retraite comprend des réformes pour permettre des modèles plus souples comme les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles. Ceux-ci offrent aux employeurs une nouvelle option novatrice en combinant les caractéristiques des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées. Les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles visent un niveau de prestations précis capitalisé par des cotisations fixes. Contrairement aux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées, les prestations versées par des régimes de retraite à prestations cibles peuvent être réduites pour faire face à toute insuffisance de capitalisation de la caisse de retraite.

Comme le mentionne le budget de 2014, le gouvernement mènera des consultations sur un cadre réglementaire régissant les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles en Ontario. Les consultations initiales, dont un document de consultation, mettront l’accent sur un cadre régissant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles.

Réformes continues de la sécurité du revenu de retraite

Un organisme de réglementation des régimes de retraite solide

La réglementation et la surveillance efficaces et adaptées des régimes de retraite sont essentielles pour assurer la sécurité du revenu de retraite. L’organisme de réglementation, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO), et son surintendant, doivent avoir suffisamment de pouvoir pour assurer le respect de la loi prévoyant les normes minimales en matière de régimes de retraite.

Dans la foulée de la publication du rapport de la Commission d’experts en régimes de retraite, le gouvernement a apporté, en 2010, un certain nombre de modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, qui doivent encore être promulguées, pour élargir les pouvoirs du surintendant. Le gouvernement a l’intention d’aller de l’avant et de prendre les règlements nécessaires pour promulguer ces modifications.

« Pour parvenir à un niveau de conformité aussi proche que possible de 100 %, l’organisme de réglementation doit recourir à un certain nombre de stratégies. La diffusion d’information, l’éclaircissement des malentendus, l’élimination des ambiguïtés, l’établissement de relations ouvertes et de coopération, les encouragements positifs à la conformité volontaire et l’amnistie en cas d’infraction accidentelle et mineure devraient faire partie de l’arsenal de tout organisme de réglementation. Néanmoins, des infractions graves et intentionnelles surviendront, et elles devront faire l’objet de sanctions. »

Rapport de la Commission d’experts en régimes de retraite. Un juste équilibre : Une retraite sûre – Un régime abordable – Des règles équitables, 2008, p. 160.

Réformes en cours des régimes de retraite

Le gouvernement continue de renforcer et de moderniser le système de revenu de retraite de l’Ontario par l’élaboration de règlements visant à mettre en oeuvre les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite en 2010.

En novembre 2014, le gouvernement a adopté un règlement visant à prolonger l’exemption de l’analyse en cas de doute quant à la solvabilité dont bénéficient certains régimes de retraite. Cette analyse détermine à quel moment les promoteurs de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées doivent déposer les rapports d’évaluation annuels auprès de l’organisme de réglementation des régimes de retraite. L’exemption, qui devait prendre fin le 31 décembre 2014, sera prolongée jusqu’au 31 décembre 2017, afin de prévoir assez de temps pour mener des consultations sur une analyse appropriée à appliquer aux régimes non assujettis aux exigences de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité.

En outre, plus tôt cet automne, des propositions réglementaires sur les questions suivantes ont été soumises à la consultation publique :

  • déclarations de renseignements pour les participants retraités et les anciens participants;
  • divulgation des facteurs environnementaux et sociaux et des questions de gouvernance pris en compte dans les décisions de placement des régimes de retraite;
  • transfert des prestations de retraite de régimes de retraite enregistrés en Ontario à des régimes de retraite d’autres territoires de compétence.

Après avoir intégré les commentaires, des règlements seront examinés à des fins d’approbation plus tard cette année.

Le gouvernement continue d’oeuvrer dans d’autres secteurs de réforme, dont les suivants :

  • Mise à jour des exigences de dépôt afin de tenir compte des modifications apportées aux normes comptables : Après les premières consultations, le gouvernement demeure déterminé à mettre en oeuvre les réformes réglementaires nécessaires une fois qu’il aura eu la possibilité d’intégrer les commentaires des intervenants.
  • Paiement de prestations variables directement à partir de régimes à cotisations déterminées : Les consultations initiales tenues en avril ont mis en relief les secteurs où des modifications législatives seraient requises pour favoriser l’uniformité entre le traitement des prestations variables et le cadre actuel régissant les fonds de revenu viager. Le gouvernement a examiné les réponses des intervenants à la consultation et apporte les modifications nécessaires à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite. Celles-ci favoriseront une plus grande souplesse, de façon que les participants retraités qui reçoivent des prestations variables aient plus d’options pour ce qui est de la transférabilité et du retrait lorsqu’ils traitent avec leur caisse de retraite. Une fois ces modifications adoptées, le gouvernement déposera des règlements pour mettre en oeuvre son engagement de permettre les paiements directs à partir des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées.
  • Exemption de la règle des 30 % régissant les investissements des régimes de retraite dans l’infrastructure de l’Ontario : Comme il l’a annoncé dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de 2013, le gouvernement est déterminé à éliminer les obstacles aux investissements dans l’infrastructure de l’Ontario par les régimes de retraite ontariens. La règle des 30 % limite la capacité des régimes de retraite de détenir une grande proportion des actions avec droit de vote d’une personne morale, ce qui peut les empêcher d’investir dans les projets d’infrastructure. Grâce à l’élimination de cette limite, les régimes de retraite pourront représenter une nouvelle source de capitaux considérable qui stimulera la croissance économique et la création d’emplois en Ontario. Une description des modifications proposées au règlement pour soustraire à la règle des 30 % les investissements des régimes de retraite dans l’infrastructure ontarienne a été affichée, pour consultation, plus tôt cet automne. Le gouvernement tiendra compte des réponses des intervenants lorsqu’il élaborera le règlement visant à mettre en oeuvre l’exemption proposée.

Régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur public viables et économiques

Gestion commune des actifs

Dans le budget de 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il établira un cadre permettant la mise en commun des actifs des régimes de retraite du secteur parapublic ainsi que des dotations et d’autres fonds d’entités publiques. De plus grands bassins de capitaux permettent l’accès à un plus large éventail de placements, ce qui est essentiel pour améliorer le rendement corrigé en fonction du risque.

Le gouvernement travaille en étroite collaboration avec les principaux intervenants à l’élaboration d’un cadre régissant l’entité de gestion commune des actifs. À la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail et à la Commission du Régime de retraite de l’Ontario, on s’est montré intéressé à faire partie des premiers participants de l’entité.

Cadre visant la conversion en régimes de retraite conjoints

Le gouvernement facilitera les conversions des régimes de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) en régimes de retraite conjoints (RRC) ou leur fusion avec des RRC existants. Le 24 juillet, le projet de loi 14, la Loi de 2014 ouvrant des perspectives et assurant notre avenir (mesures budgétaires), a reçu la sanction royale. Cette loi prévoit des modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite qui, une fois promulguée, donnera le pouvoir de prendre des règlements pour faciliter ces transactions.

Le travail se poursuit pour élaborer les règlements nécessaires pour que les dispositions législatives soient promulguées. Les règlements devront traiter notamment du niveau de consentement requis des participants actifs et retraités ainsi que du degré de protection que l’employeur doit fournir si le RREU est converti en RRC ou fusionné à un RRC existant. Le gouvernement a accordé une grande priorité à l’élaboration de ces règlements et entend afficher les propositions de règlement au Registre de la réglementation dans les mois à venir. Les commentaires reçus seront pris en compte lorsque seront élaborés les règlements, qui pourraient entrer en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015.

[1] Parmi les études récentes visant à déterminer si les épargnes faites pour la retraite sont suffisantes au Canada, mentionnons les suivantes : Keith Horner, Retirement Saving by Canadian Households, 2009; Kevin D. Moore, William Robson et Alexandre Laurin, Institut C.D. Howe, Canada’s Looming Retirement Challenge, 2010; Michael C. Wolfson, Projecting the Adequacy of Canadians’ Retirement Incomes, 2011; McKinsey & Company, Are Canadians Ready for Retirement?, 2012; CIBC, Canadians’ Retirement Future : Mind the Gap, 2013.