Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Leading in the Green Economy

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

The government is tackling climate change and continuing to be a leader in the low-carbon economy.

Impact

Addressing climate change now will allow Ontario to reduce the risk of negative impacts to infrastructure, biodiversity, agriculture and the health and well-being of all Ontarians, while taking advantage of the opportunities that have emerged in the low-carbon economy.

Good environmental policy is good economic policy. The government is committed to tackling climate change, while continuing to foster a competitive business climate and grow the economy. Acting now can help ensure a prosperous economic future and a flourishing society.

Progress Report

Tackling Climate Change

  • As a member of the Western Climate Initiative, Ontario intends to link its cap-and-trade program with those in Quebec and California. The Province has released a broad climate change strategy and is developing a specific action plan to achieve its 2020 emissions reduction target.
  • In May, Ontario became the first Canadian province to set a mid-term greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reduction target for 2030. The new commitment to reduce emissions by 37 per cent below 1990 levels by 2030 will help Ontario achieve its long-term environmental goals.
  • In July, the Province hosted the Climate Summit of the Americas, which culminated in the Climate Action Statement, the first-ever pan-American action statement on climate change. The statement was signed by Ontario and 22 other states and regions including Brazil, Mexico and the United States, committing them to work together to achieve environmental goals.

Focus on Cleantech

  • In November, Premier Kathleen Wynne led a successful trade mission to California, showcasing Ontario’s leadership in cleantech and tackling climate change, as well as information and communications technology, film production, and advanced manufacturing.
  • Also in November, the Premier conducted a second trade mission to China to highlight Ontario’s expertise in the cleantech, science and technology, and agriculture sectors.

New Green Initiatives

Green Investment Fund

  • The government proposes a down payment of $325 million in 2015–16 through a Green Investment Fund that will be targeted at reducing GHG emissions while strengthening the economy. Through this initial investment, the fund will support energy retrofits in homes, including affordable housing; energy-efficiency investments in small and medium-sized businesses and industry; support for Aboriginal communities; and new investments in electric vehicle infrastructure.

Green Bonds

  • In 2014, Ontario launched its first Green Bond, with a value of $500 million. The Green Bond program is a new way to help the Province finance transit and other environmentally friendly projects. Based on the program’s success, the Province plans to issue its second Green Bond before the end of March 2016.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review: Chapter I, Section A: Fostering a More Innovative and Dynamic Business Environment; Chapter I, Section G: Tackling Climate Change;
Chapter III, Section D: Borrowing and Debt Management.

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Prendre les rênes de l’économie verte

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

Le gouvernement s’attaque au changement climatique et continue à assumer un rôle de leader dans l’économie sobre en carbone.

Incidence

En s’attaquant au changement climatique maintenant, l’Ontario réduit le risque de répercussions négatives sur l’infrastructure, la biodiversité, l’agriculture ainsi que sur la santé et le bien-être de l’ensemble de la population ontarienne, tout en tirant parti des occasions que l’économie sobre en carbone présente.

De bonnes politiques environnementales constituent de bonnes politiques économiques. Le gouvernement est résolu à s’attaquer au changement climatique tout en favorisant un climat des affaires concurrentiel et en stimulant la croissance économique. En agissant maintenant, on contribue à assurer un avenir économique prospère et une société florissante.

Progrès accomplis

S’attaquer au changement climatique

  • En tant que membre de la Western Climate Initiative, l’Ontario entend lier son programme de plafonnement et d’échange à ceux du Québec et de la Californie. La province a rendu publique une vaste stratégie sur le changement climatique et travaille à l’élaboration d’un plan d’action précis en vue d’atteindre sa cible de réduction des émissions pour 2020.
  • En mai, l’Ontario est devenu la première province canadienne à établir une cible de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) pour 2030. Ce nouvel engagement à réduire les émissions de 37 % par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 d’ici 2030 aidera l’Ontario à atteindre ses objectifs environnementaux à long terme.
  • En juillet, la province a été l'hôte du Sommet des Amériques sur le climat qui a abouti à la publication de la Déclaration sur les mesures climatiques, la première mesure sur le changement climatique adoptée à l’échelle panaméricaine. Dans cette déclaration, l’Ontario et 22 autres États et régions signataires, dont le Brésil, le Mexique et les États-Unis, s’engagent à collaborer à l’atteinte des objectifs environnementaux.

Accent sur les technologies propres

  • En novembre, la première ministre Kathleen Wynne a dirigé une fructueuse mission commerciale en Californie. Durant sa visite, elle a mis en valeur la position de chef de file de l’Ontario dans les secteurs des technologies propres, de la lutte contre le changement climatique, des technologies de l’information et de la communication, de la production cinématographique et de la fabrication de pointe.
  • Toujours en novembre, la première ministre Kathleen Wynne a mené une deuxième mission commerciale en Chine pour mettre en lumière l’expertise de l’Ontario dans les secteurs des technologies propres, des sciences et de la technologie, et de l’agriculture.

Nouvelles initiatives vertes

Fonds d’investissement vert

  • Le gouvernement propose de faire un paiement initial de 325 millions de dollars en 2015-2016 par l’entremise d’un Fonds d’investissement vert qui visera à réduire les émissions de GES tout en consolidant l’économie. Grâce à cet investissement initial, le Fonds soutiendra les rénovations écoénergétiques dans les logements, y compris les logements sociaux, les investissements dans l’industrie et les petites et moyennes entreprises pour améliorer leur rendement énergétique, les collectivités autochtones ainsi que les nouveaux investissements dans l’infrastructure pour les véhicules électriques.

Obligations vertes

  • En 2014, l’Ontario a procédé à sa première émission d’obligations vertes, d’une valeur de 500 millions de dollars. Le programme des obligations vertes constitue un nouvel outil pour aider la province à financer des projets de transport en commun et d’autres projets écologiques. Selon le succès remporté par le programme, la province prévoit procéder à sa deuxième émission d’obligations vertes avant la fin de mars 2016.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015 :
Chapitre I, Section A : Promouvoir un climat d’affaires plus innovateur et dynamique;
Chapitre I, Section G : S’attaquer au changement climatique;
Chapitre III, Section D : Emprunts et gestion de la dette
.