Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Building Tomorrow’s Infrastructure

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

Ontario is making the largest public infrastructure investment in the province’s history — more than $134 billion over 10 years in highways, transit, schools, hospitals and other local infrastructure projects. This is supported by $5.7 billion in dedicated funds for infrastructure investment from asset optimization initiatives, including broadening the ownership of Hydro One.

Impact

Building and revitalizing public infrastructure will create jobs, spur economic growth, help reduce congestion, increase productivity and support public services. Ontario’s infrastructure investments are expected to support an average of more than 110,000 jobs per year. Recent research shows that, on average, one dollar of public infrastructure spending in Canada raises GDP by $1.43 in the short term and up to $3.83 in the long term.

By unlocking value from key assets, the amounts raised allow the Province to help fund priority infrastructure projects without corresponding increases in borrowing and taxes or reductions to public services. These investments are essential to strengthening Ontario’s economic growth.

Progress Report

Since April, Ontario has committed support for more than 200 infrastructure projects in communities across the province that will create jobs, keep people and goods moving, connect communities and improve the lives of Ontarians where they live, work and play.

Unlocking Value to Invest in Infrastructure

  • As a result of the November Hydro One initial public offering, it is anticipated that $2.7 billion in dedicated funds will be made available for infrastructure — $1.1 billion over the 2015 Budget asset optimization target for 2015–16.

Priority Infrastructure Projects

  • Focus areas include widening key highways, repaving and rehabilitation across Ontario.
  • The Connecting Links program will provide $15 million annually to help smaller municipalities maintain and build roads connecting provincial highways.
  • Ontario is investing $25 million over three years to improve routes for cyclists across the province, including $15 million for routes that provide key connections and linkages on provincial highways. In July, the Province launched the Ontario Municipal Cycling Infrastructure Program, making available $10 million in dedicated funds.

Priority Transit Projects

  • Major sections of the Confederation Line, Ottawa’s 12.5-km light rail transit (LRT) project, are expected to be ready by the summer of 2017. The project is supported by a provincial funding commitment of up to $600 million.
  • To prepare for Regional Express Rail (RER), GO Transit is in the process of providing additional weekday rail trips. The RER will increase weekly GO train trips across the network to nearly 6,000 over 10 years.
  • In May, the Province announced up to $1 billion in funding for the Hamilton LRT project, covering the capital costs. Planning is also underway on the LRT line in Peel Region, running along the Hurontario corridor.
  • The Eglinton Crosstown LRT line, with a provincial investment of $5.3 billion in capital costs, is expected to be in service by September 2021.

Supporting Community Infrastructure

  • The Province is moving forward on its 10-year commitment to provide more than $11 billion in capital grants to school boards, with approximately 170 major capital school projects in planning or underway.
  • In October, Ontario opened Humber River Hospital, North America’s first fully digital hospital. Nearly 40 major hospital projects are in planning or under construction as part of the Province’s 10-year commitment to provide more than $11 billion in hospital capital grants.
  • The Province helped deliver landmark facilities for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games, including the Athletes’ Village and Hamilton Pan Am Soccer Stadium (Tim Hortons Field), which will leave a lasting legacy for Ontario communities. Work has begun to transform Toronto’s Athletes’ Village into the Canary District, providing a range of affordable housing options, including accessible units, along with a new YMCA and a residence for George Brown College students.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I, Section C: Building Tomorrow’s Infrastructure and Asset Optimization

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Bâtir l’infrastructure de demain

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

L’Ontario fait l’investissement dans l’infrastructure publique le plus important de son histoire, soit plus de 134 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans dans les routes, le transport en commun, les écoles, les hôpitaux et d’autres projets d’infrastructure locaux. Cet investissement comprend 5,7 milliards de dollars en fonds dédiés découlant d’initiatives d’optimisation des actifs, dont l’élargissement de l’actionnariat de Hydro One.

Incidence

Bâtir et revitaliser l’infrastructure publique contribuera à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance économique, à réduire la congestion, à accroître la productivité et à soutenir les services publics. On s’attend à ce que les investissements dans l’infrastructure de l’Ontario soutiennent, en moyenne, plus de 110 000 emplois par année. Des recherches récentes montrent qu’en moyenne, le produit intérieur brut (PIB) augmente de 1,43 $ à court terme par dollar investi dans l’infrastructure publique au Canada et de jusqu’à 3,83 $ à long terme.

En dégageant la valeur d’actifs clés, la province est en mesure de contribuer au financement de projets d’infrastructure prioritaires sans avoir à emprunter davantage, à augmenter les taxes et impôts, ni à réduire les services publics. Ces investissements sont essentiels pour renforcer la croissance économique de l’Ontario.

Progrès accomplis

Depuis avril, l’Ontario s’engage à soutenir plus de 200 projets d’infrastructure qui seront mis en oeuvre dans les collectivités de l’ensemble de la province, et créeront des emplois, faciliteront le déplacement des personnes et des biens, relieront les collectivités et amélioreront la vie des Ontariennes et des Ontariens, là où ils vivent, travaillent et jouent.

Dégager la valeur des actifs pour l’investir dans l’infrastructure

  • À la suite du premier appel public à l’épargne de Hydro One en novembre, on prévoit que des fonds dédiés s’établissant à 2,7 milliards de dollars seront disponibles pour l’infrastructure, soit 1,1 milliard de dollars de plus que l’objectif d’optimisation des ressources prévu pour 2015‑2016 dans le budget de 2015.

Projets d’infrastructure prioritaires

  • Les secteurs d’intérêt comprennent l’élargissement, l’asphaltage et la réfection de routes clés à l’échelle de l’Ontario.
  • Dans le cadre du Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales, des fonds de 15 millions de dollars seront versés annuellement pour aider les petites municipalités à bâtir et à entretenir les routes de raccordement aux routes provinciales.
  • L’Ontario investit 25 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour améliorer les pistes cyclables à l’échelle de la province, dont 15 millions de dollars dans celles qui fournissent des connexions et des liens essentiels sur les routes provinciales. En juillet, la province a lancé le Programme ontarien pour le réseau municipal d’infrastructure cyclable, libérant des fonds dédiés de 10 millions de dollars.

Projets de transport en commun prioritaires

  • Les principaux tronçons de la Ligne de la Confédération, le projet de train léger sur rail d’Ottawa de 12,5 kilomètres, devraient être terminés d’ici l’été de 2017. Ce projet bénéficie d’un engagement de financement provincial pouvant atteindre 600 millions de dollars.
  • En prévision de l’arrivée du service ferroviaire express régional, le réseau GO Transit s’apprête à fournir des voyages hebdomadaires supplémentaires. Sur 10 ans, ce service augmentera le nombre de voyages sur le réseau ferroviaire de GO qui passera à près de 6 000 par semaine.
  • En mai, la province a annoncé du financement pouvant atteindre 1 milliard de dollars pour les coûts d’immobilisations liés au projet de TLR de Hamilton. La planification de la ligne de TLR dans la région de Peel, qui longera le corridor Hurontario, a débuté.
  • La ligne de TLR Eglinton Crosstown, qui bénéficiera d’un investissement provincial de 5,3 milliards de dollars au titre des coûts d’immobilisations, devrait entrer en service d’ici septembre 2021.

Soutien à l’infrastructure communautaire

  • La province va de l’avant et met en oeuvre son engagement de verser aux conseils scolaires des subventions d’équipement de plus de 11 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans. Quelque 170 grands projets d’immobilisations dans les écoles sont en cours ou au stade de planification.
  • En octobre, l’Ontario a ouvert l’hôpital Humber River, le premier hôpital entièrement numérique de l’Amérique du Nord. Une quarantaine de grands projets hospitaliers sont en construction ou à diverses étapes de planification dans le cadre de l’engagement de la province de verser aux hôpitaux des subventions d’équipement de plus de 11 milliards de dollars sur dix ans.
  • La province a aidé à aménager des installations importantes pour les Jeux panaméricains/parapanaméricains de 2015, dont le Village des athlètes, le Stade de soccer panaméricain à Hamilton (Stade Tim Hortons), qui laisseront un héritage durable aux collectivités de l’Ontario. On a commencé à transformer le Village des athlètes dans le Canary District de Toronto. L’ensemble comprendra une variété de logements abordables, dont des logements accessibles, un YMCA et une résidence pour étudiants du Collège George Brown.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015, chapitre 1, section C : Bâtir l’infrastructure de demain et optimiser les actifs