Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Strengthening Retirement Security

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

The government outlined a three-pronged approach to ensure a strong retirement income system. This includes implementing the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP); introducing a new retirement savings vehicle, pooled registered pension plans; and strengthening existing workplace pension plans through ongoing pension reform.

Impact

By 2020, every eligible employee in Ontario would be covered by the ORPP or a comparable workplace pension plan, so they can have a predictable stream of income in retirement. The three-pronged approach will help ensure Ontarians can maintain their standard of living in retirement.

After a lifetime of contributing to the economy, Ontarians deserve a secure retirement. That is why the Province is committed to strengthening retirement income security.

Progress Report

Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

In the 2015 Budget, the government restated its commitment to implement a new mandatory provincial pension plan.

  • The government has appointed the initial board of the ORPP Administration Corporation (AC), another step in implementing the ORPP. Susan Wolburgh Jenah will lead the board as chair, with two members, Murray Gold and Richard Nesbitt. This board will oversee the start-up activities of the ORPP AC.
  • The government intends to confirm the ORPP minimum earnings threshold at $3,500 for eligible employees between the ages of 18 and 70, aligning with the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).
  • In August, the government announced staged enrolment in the ORPP, along with a phase-in of contribution rates. It also announced the definition of a comparable pension plan.  Employers and employees who participate in a comparable plan would not be required to take part in the ORPP.
  • Ontario and the new federal government are currently discussing ways to collaborate on the implementation of the ORPP to ensure the plan operates with the least possible burden on employers and employees.
  • Ontario looks forward to participating in national discussions with the federal government and provinces on enhancing the CPP. The Province will support a CPP enhancement that is consistent with the ORPP’s objectives with respect to adequacy and coverage. The implementation of a CPP enhancement would take considerable time and requires the agreement of governments across the country. In light of these circumstances and the pressing need to address retirement security, Ontario is moving forward with implementing the ORPP in 2017.

Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs)

  • Regulations are currently being drafted to make PRPPs available to workers in Ontario.

Strengthening and Modernizing Workplace Pension Plans

  • In July, Ontario released a consultation paper seeking input from stakeholders on a proposed regulatory framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans. Responses will inform the development of a new framework for these plans.
  • In November, the government made regulations to allow single-employer pension plans in the broader public sector to merge with or convert to jointly sponsored pension plans.
  • The government plans to extend temporary solvency funding relief measures for private sector sponsors of single-employer defined benefit plans.
  • The government will also initiate, on an expedited basis, a review of the current solvency funding rules for defined benefit pension plans, focusing on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I, Section F: Strengthening Retirement Security

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Sécuriser la retraite

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

Le gouvernement proposait une approche en trois volets pour consolider le système du revenu de retraite, soit : la mise en oeuvre du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO); l’instauration des régimes de pension agréés collectifs, un nouveau véhicule d’épargne-retraite; et le renforcement des régimes de retraite d’employeur existants au moyen de mesures de réforme.

Incidence

D’ici 2020, tous les employés admissibles en Ontario seraient couverts par le RRPO ou un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable afin de pouvoir bénéficier d’une source de revenu prévisible durant leur retraite. L’approche en trois volets mise de l’avant permettra de maintenir le niveau de vie des Ontariennes et Ontariens à la retraite.

Après avoir contribué à l’économie durant leur vie active, les Ontariennes et Ontariens méritent une retraite à l’abri du besoin. C’est pourquoi la province s’est engagée à sécuriser le revenu de retraite.

Progrès accomplis

Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

Dans le budget de 2015, le gouvernement réitérait son engagement de mettre en oeuvre un nouveau régime de retraite provincial obligatoire.

  • Le gouvernement a nommé les membres du conseil d’administration initial de la Société d’administration du RRPO, franchissant ainsi une autre étape dans la mise en œuvre du RRPO. Susan Wolburgh Jenah présidera le conseil et sera épaulée par deux autres membres, soit Murray Gold et Richard Nesbitt. Le conseil supervisera la mise sur pied de la Société d’administration.
  • Le gouvernement a l’intention de confirmer que le seuil de revenu minimum du RRPO sera de 3 500 $ pour les employés admissibles entre 18 et 70 ans, à l’instar du RPC.
  • En août, le gouvernement a annoncé que la participation au RRPO, tout comme l’introduction des taux de cotisation, se feraient de façon graduelle. Il a également annoncé ce qu’il entend par un régime de retraite comparable. Les employeurs et les employés participant à un régime comparable ne seraient pas tenus de cotiser au RPPO.
  • L’Ontario et le nouveau gouvernement fédéral ont entamé des discussions sur les façons de collaborer à la mise en oeuvre du RRPO pour que le fonctionnement du régime soit le moins lourd possible pour les employeurs et les employés.
  • L’Ontario se réjouit à l’idée de prendre part à des discussions nationales avec le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces sur la bonification du RPC. La province soutiendra une bonification du RPC conforme aux objectifs du RRPO en matière de couverture et de suffisance des revenus. La bonification du RPC, si elle était mise en oeuvre, prendrait un temps considérable et nécessiterait l’établissement d’une entente entre les divers gouvernements au pays. Dans ces circonstances et compte tenu du besoin pressant de renforcer la sécurité de la retraite, l’Ontario va de l’avant pour mettre en œuvre le RRPO d’ici 2017.

Régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC)

  • Des règlements sont en cours de rédaction pour que les travailleurs de l’Ontario puissent bénéficier des RPAC.

Consolidation et modernisation des régimes de retraite d’employeurs

  • En juillet, l’Ontario a rendu public un document de consultation sur le cadre de réglementation proposé à l’égard des régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles et sollicité la rétroaction des intervenants. Les observations recueillies guideront l’élaboration d’un nouveau cadre régissant ces régimes.
  • En novembre, le gouvernement a adopté des règlements autorisant la fusion d’un régime de retraite à employeur unique avec un régime de retraite conjoint ou la conversion d’un régime à employeur unique à un régime conjoint dans le secteur parapublic.
  • Le gouvernement entend renouveler les mesures d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité pour les promoteurs des régimes de retraite à employeur unique à prestations déterminées du secteur privé.
  • Le gouvernement passera également en revue, et ce, le plus rapidement possible, les règles de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité en vigueur à l’égard des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées dans l’optique d’assurer la viabilité et l’abordabilité de ces régimes ainsi que la sécurité des prestations.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015, chapitre 1, section F : Sécuriser la retraite