Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Strengthening the Financial Services Sector

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

The government is strengthening the financial services sector, protecting consumers and investors, and bolstering the stability and efficiency of financial markets.

Impact

The financial services sector provides good jobs for Ontarians, helps them save and grow their hard-earned money and enables the growth of businesses of all sizes across all sectors of the economy.

The financial services sector is critical to Ontario’s economic prosperity. The government is taking action to support growth for the industry ─ and province ─ by taking a modern and flexible approach to regulation, strengthening consumer and investor protection and promoting Toronto as a global financial services hub.

Progress Report

Modernizing Financial Services Regulation

  • To modernize and harmonize the capital markets law framework, in August, the jurisdictions participating in the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System released for comment the revised consultation draft provincial/territorial legislation and draft initial regulations.
  • To improve the representation of women on boards and in senior executive positions, Ontario is establishing a steering committee that will be co-chaired by the Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues, Tracy MacCharles, and by the Minister of Finance, Charles Sousa.
  • The government has completed a review of the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994.  Following an extensive consultation process, Parliamentary Assistant Laura Albanese finalized the recommendations and delivered her report to the Minister of Finance in November. The Minister is currently reviewing the recommendations and will release the report soon.

Strengthening Consumer and Investor Protection

  • In April, the government announced the members of the expert committee reviewing the regulatory framework relating to financial advisory and financial planning services. The committee concluded its initial consultations in September, and will issue an interim report with preliminary recommendations in the near term.

Promoting Toronto as a Global Financial Services Hub

  • In September, Finance Minister Charles Sousa travelled to China and Japan to meet with leaders of the financial services, banking and manufacturing sectors to promote Ontario as a favourable investment destination.
  • The government continues to collaborate with industry and other levels of government to support the growth of Toronto’s financial services sector. Toronto recently moved up to eighth place globally in Z/Yen Group’s Global Financial Centres Index, and is now ranked second in North America.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I, Section B: Strengthening the Financial Services Sector

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Consolider l’industrie des services financiers

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

Le gouvernement consolide le secteur des services financiers, protège les consommateurs et les investisseurs et accroît la stabilité et l’efficience des marchés des capitaux.

Incidence

Le secteur des services financiers fournit de bons emplois à la population ontarienne, il l’aide  à épargner et à faire croître son argent durement gagné et il contribue à la croissance des entreprises de toutes tailles dans tous les secteurs économiques.

L’industrie des services financiers joue un rôle prépondérant dans la prospérité économique de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement prend des mesures pour soutenir la croissance de l’industrie — et celle de la province — par l’adoption d’une approche moderne et souple à la réglementation, l’affermissement de la protection des consommateurs et des investisseurs ainsi que la mise en valeur de Toronto comme centre international de services financiers.

Progrès accomplis

Modernisation de la réglementation des services financiers

  • En vue de moderniser et d’harmoniser le cadre juridique des marchés financiers, les territoires de compétence participant au régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés de capitaux ont, en août, publié le projet de loi révisé sur les marchés des capitaux provinciaux et territoriaux et l’ébauche des règlements initiaux aux fins de consultation.
  • Pour accroître la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration et aux postes de cadre dirigeant, l’Ontario a créé un comité directeur qui sera coprésidé par Tracy MacCharles, ministre déléguée à la Condition féminine, et Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances.
  • Le gouvernement a terminé l’examen de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions. Dans la foulée de vastes consultations intensives, l’adjointe parlementaire, Laura Albanese, a complété les recommandations et déposé son rapport au ministre des Finances en novembre. Le ministre se penche actuellement sur les recommandations et publiera le rapport sous peu.

Affermissement de la protection des consommateurs et des investisseurs

  • En avril, le gouvernement a révélé l’identité des membres du comité d’experts qui devait examiner le cadre réglementaire régissant les services de consultation et de planification financières. En septembre, le comité a conclu ses consultations initiales. Il déposera prochainement un rapport provisoire contenant ses recommandations préliminaires.

Mise en valeur de Toronto comme centre international de services financiers

  • En septembre, le ministre des Finances, Charles Sousa, s’est rendu en Chine et au Japon afin de rencontrer des dirigeants des secteurs bancaire, manufacturier et des services financiers pour promouvoir l’Ontario à titre de destination propice aux investissements.
  • Le gouvernement continue de collaborer avec l’industrie et les autres ordres de gouvernement pour soutenir la croissance du secteur des services financiers de Toronto qui s’est récemment hissé au huitième rang mondial dans l’indice Global Financial Centres Index du groupe Z/Yen Group et est maintenant deuxième en Amérique du Nord.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015, chapitre I, section B : Consolider le secteur des services financiers