Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Towards a Fair Society

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

The government is investing in initiatives that reduce poverty and improve the incomes, overall health and well-being of all Ontarians, while supporting businesses in the changing economy.

Impact

A fair society provides opportunities for all Ontarians to realize their full potential and participate in a changing economy.

Ontario’s most valuable resource is its people. The government is promoting conditions that support people in a changing labour market and help those in poverty, so all Ontarians can lead healthy and prosperous lives.

Progress Report

Labour and Employment

  • In September, the government concluded public consultations on Ontario’s Changing Workplaces Review, which will identify reforms to strengthen the province as a place to work and invest. Recommendations are expected in the summer of 2016.
  • In October, the government announced that its Gender Wage Gap Steering Committee will host consultations across the province to inform the development of a strategy that will help close the wage gap between men and women.
  • Ontario is taking steps to restore full indexation for all injured workers who receive partial disability benefits. By January 1, 2018, all workers’ compensation benefits would be fully indexed (to the Consumer Price Index) on the benefit amount, with no upper limit.

Income Support

  • In October, Ontario raised the minimum wage to $11.25 from $11.00 per hour.
  • In July, the maximum annual Ontario Child Benefit per child increased to $1,336 from $1,310.

Social Assistance and Community Support

  • Social assistance rates increased by one per cent for people with disabilities who rely on the Ontario Disability Support Program and for adults receiving Ontario Works. Ontario Works rates also increased by $25 per month, or $300 annually, for singles without children.
  • Forty-one community-driven projects from across the province were selected to receive funding from the Local Poverty Reduction Fund to gather evidence to support best practices in combating poverty among the target groups identified in the Poverty Reduction Strategy.
  • The government has committed to ending chronic homelessness in 10 years and is providing up to $10 million over two years in targeted funding from the Local Poverty Reduction Fund to help address homelessness.
  • The government introduced legislation related to It’s Never Okay: An Action Plan to Stop Sexual Violence and Harassment, to build a province where everyone is free from the threat of sexual violence and harassment.

Transforming Health Care – Patients First

  • The government is now offering parents a free nasal mist flu vaccine for their children aged two to 17 as an alternative to an injection. The new vaccine for young people offers broader protection against more flu viruses, including one that affects children and youth more frequently than adults.
  • Starting in December, the government will contribute to funding one in vitro fertilization cycle per eligible patient for up to 4,000 Ontarians per year.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I, Section E: Towards a Fair Society

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Vers une société équitable

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

Le gouvernement investit dans des initiatives qui réduisent la pauvreté et améliorent le revenu, la santé et le bien-être de tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes, tout en soutenant les entreprises dans une économie en mutation.

Incidence

Une société équitable donne la chance à tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes de réaliser pleinement leur potentiel et de participer à l’économie en mutation.

La population de l’Ontario est le plus grand atout de la province. Le gouvernement crée des conditions favorables qui soutiennent les gens dans un marché du travail en transformation et aident les personnes vivant dans la pauvreté, afin que toute la population ontarienne puisse mener une vie prospère et en santé.

Progrès accomplis

Travail et emploi

  • En septembre, le gouvernement a conclu des consultations publiques sur l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail en Ontario, qui cernera les réformes à effectuer pour faire de la province un lieu encore plus propice au travail et aux investissements. Les recommandations sont attendues à l’été 2016.
  • En octobre, le gouvernement a annoncé que le Comité directeur de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes mènerait des consultations provinciales pour aider à la création d’une stratégie visant à combler l’écart salarial entre les hommes et les femmes.
  • L’Ontario prend des mesures pour rétablir l’indexation intégrale pour tous les travailleurs blessés qui reçoivent des prestations d’invalidité partielle. D’ici le 1er janvier 2018, toutes les indemnités d’accidents du travail seraient indexées intégralement (selon l’Indice des prix à la consommation), sans aucun plafond.

Soutien du revenu

  • En octobre, l’Ontario a haussé le salaire minimum horaire, le faisant passer de 11 $ à 11,25 $.
  • En juillet, le montant annuel maximum de la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants (POE) a été relevé pour passer de 1 310 $ à 1 336 $ par enfant.

Aide sociale et soutien communautaire

  • Les taux d’aide sociale ont été majorés de 1 % pour les personnes handicapées qui comptent sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) et pour les adultes bénéficiaires du programme Ontario au travail. Les taux pour ce programme ont connu une augmentation de 25 $ par mois, soit 300 $ par année, pour les adultes vivant seuls, sans enfants.
  • Quarante et un projets communautaires de toutes les régions de la province ont été sélectionnés pour recevoir du financement dans le cadre du Fonds pour les initiatives locales de réduction de la pauvreté afin de recueillir des données soutenant les pratiques exemplaires dans la lutte contre la pauvreté chez les groupes cibles cernés dans la Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté.
  • Le gouvernement a pris l’engagement de mettre un terme à l’itinérance chronique d’ici 10 ans et verse jusqu’à 10 millions de dollars sur deux ans sous forme de financement ciblé provenant du Fonds pour les initiatives locales de réduction de la pauvreté, dans le but d’aider à résoudre le problème de l’itinérance.
  • Le gouvernement a déposé des mesures législatives relativement à Ce n’est jamais acceptable : Plan d’action pour mettre fin à la violence et au harcèlement sexuels, afin que la province soit un endroit où personne ne vit sous la menace de violence et de harcèlement sexuels.

Transformation des soins de santé — Priorité aux patients

  • Le gouvernement offre maintenant aux parents un vaccin par pulvérisation intranasale gratuit pour les enfants et les jeunes de deux à 17 ans, comme solution de rechange à l’injection. Le nouveau vaccin pour les jeunes offre une protection plus large contre un plus grand nombre de virus de la grippe, y compris celui qui les affecte plus fréquemment que les adultes.
  • À compter de décembre, le gouvernement contribuera au financement d’un cycle de fécondation in vitro par patiente admissible, jusqu’à concurrence de 4 000 Ontariennes par année.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015, chapitre I, section E, Vers une société équitable