Building Ontario Up: Progress for Prosperity banner

: Together Towards a Stronger Ontario and a Stronger Canada

Backgrounder
November 26, 2015

2015 Budget Commitment

Ontario continues to take the lead on building constructive and collaborative intergovernmental partnerships to find forward-looking solutions to the challenges collectively faced by Ontarians and Canadians.

Impact

With shared values and priorities, a new collaborative approach to federalism will allow Ontario and a true federal partner to work together to achieve better results for Ontarians, faster. Working with provincial, territorial and Aboriginal partners, this collaborative approach has enhanced quality of life, prosperity and competitiveness.

The challenges facing the federation in the 21st century underscore the need for a new period of collaboration among Canada’s governments.

Progress Report

Shared Priorities with the Federal Government

Ontario will work with the federal government on common goals to build on the Province’s investments and act quickly to deliver better results for Ontarians.  Areas of shared priorities include:

  • Jobs and the Economy: Ontario is ready to work with a federal partner to help grow Ontario’s economy and create jobs. Areas of collaboration include recognizing Ontario’s interests in international trade agreements and improving the current Labour Market Development Agreement to better meet the needs of Canada’s unemployed workers.
  • Canadian Infrastructure Partnership: Investments in public infrastructure are key to strengthening Ontario’s economy. Ontario welcomes the federal government’s commitment to predictable and long-term funding for public infrastructure, which will complement and build on Ontario’s planned record investment.
  • Retirement Income Security: The Province is ready to work with a new federal partner to strengthen the retirement income system.
  • A National Fight against Climate Change: Ontario is already working closely with the federal government to put forward an ambitious and credible greenhouse gas emissions reduction target for Canada, and seek opportunities for collaboration at the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris later this month.
  • Aboriginal Partners: Ontario is committed to working with Aboriginal communities in a spirit of collaboration and mutual respect. The Province will work with the federal government as it acts on its promises to make measurable progress on Aboriginal education and clean drinking water, to move forward on the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and to take action on missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls by calling a national inquiry.
  • Health Care: Ontario looks forward to ongoing collaboration and cooperation on health issues to help support the Province’s investments necessary to improve and maintain health care services.
  • Refugees: Ontario is ready and willing to accept more refugees and help them settle across the province and looks forward to working with a committed federal partner to achieve these goals.

For more information, refer to the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter IV, Together Towards a Stronger Ontario and a Stronger Canada

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario: Progrès vers la prospérité

: Ensemble, vers un Ontario plus fort et un Canada plus fort

Document d’information
Le 26 novembre 2015

Engagement du budget de 2015

L’Ontario continue de prendre les rênes et de bâtir des partenariats constructifs fondés sur la collaboration intergouvernementale afin de trouver des solutions prospectives aux défis que la population de l’Ontario et du Canada doit relever.

Incidence

Dans le cadre d’un nouveau fédéralisme fondé sur la collaboration, l’Ontario et un véritable partenaire fédéral, qui ont des valeurs et des priorités communes, pourront collaborer pour servir les Ontariennes et Ontariens plus efficacement et plus rapidement. Cette collaboration avec les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones améliore la qualité de vie, la prospérité et la compétitivité.

Les défis que la fédération doit relever au XXIe siècle soulignent la nécessité d’une nouvelle période de collaboration entre les ordres de gouvernement du Canada.

Progrès accomplis

Priorités communes aux ordres de gouvernement

L’Ontario collaborera avec le gouvernement fédéral pour atteindre les buts communs, en s’appuyant sur les investissements de la province et en servant mieux les Ontariennes et Ontariens. Les secteurs où les deux ordres de gouvernement ont des priorités communes comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Emplois et économie : L’Ontario est prêt à travailler avec un partenaire fédéral pour contribuer à la croissance économique de l’Ontario et à la création d’emplois. Les secteurs de collaboration comprennent la reconnaissance des intérêts de l’Ontario dans les ententes de commerce internationales et l’amélioration de l’Entente sur le développement du marché du travail pour mieux répondre aux besoins des travailleurs sans emploi au pays.
  • Partenariat canadien sur l’infrastructure : Les investissements dans l’infrastructure publique sont essentiels pour renforcer l’économie de l’Ontario. L’Ontario applaudit à l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral d’affecter du financement prévisible et à long terme à l’infrastructure publique, qui s’appuiera sur l’investissement record que compte faire l’Ontario dans l’infrastructure publique et l’étoffera.
  • Sécurité du revenu de retraite : La province est prête à collaborer avec un nouveau partenaire fédéral pour renforcer le système de revenu de retraite.
  • La lutte nationale au changement climatique : L’Ontario collabore déjà étroitement avec le gouvernement fédéral afin d’établir une cible ambitieuse, mais crédible de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour le Canada et trouver des occasions de collaborer à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques qui aura lieu à Paris plus tard ce mois-ci.
  • Partenaires autochtones : L’Ontario est déterminé à travailler avec les communautés autochtones dans un esprit de collaboration et de respect mutuel. L’Ontario collaborera avec le gouvernement fédéral lorsque ce dernier prendra des mesures pour remplir ses promesses de réaliser des progrès mesurables concernant l’éducation et l’eau potable chez les Autochtones, de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et de demander une enquête nationale concernant les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.
  • Santé : L’Ontario attend avec plaisir la collaboration et la coopération sur les questions de santé pour soutenir les investissements de la province nécessaires pour améliorer et maintenir les services de santé.
  • Réfugiés : L’Ontario est prêt et disposé à accueillir plus de réfugiés et à les aider à s’établir dans la province et espère avoir l’occasion de travailler avec un partenaire fédéral engagé pour atteindre ces buts.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015, chapitre IV : Ensemble, vers un Ontario plus fort et un Canada plus fort