2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Building Ontario Up — Progress for Prosperity

Section B: Strengthening the Financial Services Sector

The financial services sector is critical to Ontario’s economic prosperity. The government is taking action to support growth for the industry — and province — by taking a modern and flexible approach to regulation, strengthening consumer and investor protection, and promoting Toronto as a global financial services hub. Since the 2015 Budget, Ontario has taken steps to move forward with the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System. The government has also established a steering committee to promote the increased representation of women on boards and in executive leadership.

The financial services sector helps Ontarians save and grow their hard-earned money, and remains essential for the growth of businesses of all sizes across all sectors of the economy. The sector remains the province’s second largest after manufacturing, based on output. In 2014, the sector created jobs almost twice as quickly as the overall Ontario economy, resulting in a total of 380,500 jobs.

The government is committed to strengthening this important contributor to Ontarians’ financial health and the overall economy through an ambitious strategy that includes the most significant set of changes in recent history.

The government’s strategy will build on the significant steps taken to date and focus on:

  • Taking a modern and flexible approach to regulation;
  • Strengthening consumer and investor protection; and
  • Promoting Toronto as a global financial services hub.

2015 Budget: Building Ontario Up

Steps taken prior to and including in the 2015 Budget include:

  • Playing a leadership role, working with other provincial and territorial jurisdictions and the federal government, towards the establishment of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System;
  • Initiating “comply or explain” disclosure requirements for TSX-listed issuers to promote increased representation of women on boards of directors and in senior executive officer positions;
  • Initiating a comprehensive review of the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994;
  • Announcing the appointment of an expert advisory panel to lead the mandate reviews of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), the Financial Services Tribunal (FST) and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO); and
  • Announcing the appointment of an expert committee to review the regulatory framework relating to financial advisory and financial planning services.

Progress since the 2015 Budget

Modernizing Financial Services Regulation

An efficient and effective regulatory framework will protect consumers and investors, while improving the competitiveness of Ontario’s financial services sector. Since the release of the 2015 Budget, the government has made significant progress.

Establishing the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority

The participating jurisdictions have:

  • In July, named William A. Black, former Maritime Life president and CEO, as chair of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority’s board of directors.
  • In August, published the revised consultation draft provincial/territorial capital markets legislation and draft initial regulations for comment. These items are intended to modernize and harmonize the capital markets law frameworks in the participating provinces and territory.

Supporting More Women in Executive Leadership

  • Following the implementation of “comply or explain” disclosure requirements relating to gender diversity, 15 per cent of companies listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) have added more women to their boards this year. To continue this momentum, the government is establishing a steering committee that will be co-chaired by Tracy MacCharles, Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues, and Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance. The committee will work to improve the representation of women on boards and in senior executive positions.

Reviewing the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994

  • The government completed its review of the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994. Following an extensive consultation process, Parliamentary Assistant Laura Albanese finalized her recommendations and delivered her report to the Minister of Finance in November. The Minister is currently reviewing the recommendations and will release the report in the near future.

Reviewing the Mandates of FSCO, FST and DICO

  • In March, the expert advisory panel released a consultation paper inviting input on changes to the agencies’ mandates, operations and governance structures. In July, seven sector roundtable sessions were held, seeking additional input. In November, the panel released a preliminary position paper to facilitate further consultation. The panel will deliver its final recommendations to the government in early 2016.

Strengthening Consumer and Investor Protection

Ontario is pursuing a pro-consumer agenda that includes a number of initiatives to protect and educate consumers in the financial services sector.

In April, the government announced the members of the expert committee reviewing the regulatory framework relating to financial advisory and financial planning services. In September, the committee concluded its initial consultations, and it will issue an interim report with preliminary recommendations in the near term.

The Province is also moving forward on a number of initiatives to help improve Ontarians’ financial literacy, including the Ontario Securities Commission’s newly integrated Investor Office. Its consumer-oriented materials and website are helping Ontarians make more informed investment decisions with greater confidence. Ontario has embedded financial literacy learning in the curriculum, from Grades 4 to 12. The Ministry of Finance continues to explore other opportunities for Ontarians to access the tools and resources they need to increase their overall financial literacy.

Protecting Consumers in Ontario’s Auto Insurance System

The government is committed to continuing to improve Ontario’s auto insurance system. As part of this commitment, in October, the Province appointed David Marshall as an adviser on auto insurance and pensions. Beginning on February 1, 2016, Mr. Marshall will apply expertise he developed as president and CEO of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board to identify additional opportunities for reforms that will lead to better health outcomes, lower costs and more affordable auto insurance.

The 2015 Budget announced significant reforms to Ontario’s auto insurance system, including a number of consumer protection measures that will ensure Ontario’s 9.5 million drivers pay a fair price for auto insurance coverage. The reforms included a requirement that insurers offer a discount for the use of winter tires and a prohibition against rate increases for minor at-fault accidents. The government also lowered the interest rate for monthly payment plans, so that for standard 12-month policies renewed after June 1, 2016, the maximum interest rate an insurer may charge on monthly payments will be 1.3 per cent, compared to a maximum of three per cent prior to the reforms.

The reforms also introduced new coverage options for Ontario consumers. As a result of adopting these reforms, the government expects auto insurance rates to continue to decline, and Ontarians will remain protected by the most generous auto insurance system in Canada among comparable jurisdictions.

The province has a very competitive market for auto insurance, and consumers are encouraged to shop around to better understand their options and find the best possible rates and coverage to meet their needs.

Promoting Toronto as a Global Financial Services Hub

Work through public–private partnerships, such as the Toronto Financial Services Alliance (TFSA), successfully supports the growth of Toronto’s financial services sector. Recent achievements include:

  • Minister of Finance Charles Sousa travelling to China and Japan in September to meet with leaders of the financial services, banking and manufacturing sectors to promote Ontario as a sound investment destination.
  • Working with the City of Toronto and private-sector partners to establish organizations such as TFSA’s Centre of Excellence in Financial Services Education — a research and outreach organization focused on strengthening Toronto’s talent pipeline to attract new talent and promote the region’s educational and professional strengths.
  • Working with the federal government, TFSA and the financial services sector to create the Global Risk Institute in Financial Services. It provides a unique opportunity to capitalize on Ontario’s financial sector’s global reputation for safety and soundness by promoting best practices and education in financial risk management and leading-edge applied research.
  • Toronto recently moving up to eighth place in Z/Yen Group’s Global Financial Centres Index, and is now ranked second in North America, behind only New York.1

[1] Mark Yeandle, “Global Financial Centres Index 18,” Z/Yen Group, (September 2015).

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre I : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario – Progrès vers la prospérité

Section B : Consolider le secteur des services financiers

L’industrie des services financiers joue un rôle prépondérant dans la prospérité économique de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement prend des mesures pour soutenir la croissance de l’industrie — et celle de la province — par l’adoption d’une approche moderne et souple à la réglementation, l’affermissement de la protection des consommateurs et des investisseurs ainsi que la mise en valeur de Toronto comme un centre international de services financiers. Depuis le dépôt du budget de 2015, le gouvernement a franchi des étapes en vue de la création d’un régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés de capitaux. Il a aussi formé un comité directeur pour promouvoir la nomination d’un plus grand nombre de femmes aux conseils d’administration et aux postes de cadre dirigeant.

Le secteur des services financiers aide la population ontarienne à épargner et à faire croître son argent durement gagné. Il demeure un rouage essentiel dans la croissance des entreprises de toutes tailles dans tous les secteurs économiques. Il demeure le deuxième secteur en importance, après celui de la fabrication, au point de vue de la production. En 2014, le taux de création d’emplois dans ce champ d’activité a été presque deux fois plus rapide que dans l’ensemble de l’économie de la province, affichant un total de 380 500 emplois.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à consolider cet important secteur qui contribue à la santé financière de l’Ontario et à l’économie en général. Pour ce faire, il élabore une stratégie ambitieuse qui comporte les plus importants changements depuis plusieurs années.

Misant sur les mesures importantes prises à ce jour, le gouvernement s’emploiera à :

  • utiliser une approche moderne et souple en matière de réglementation;
  • affermir la protection des consommateurs et des investisseurs;
  • mettre en valeur Toronto en tant que centre international de services financiers.

Budget de 2015 : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario

Voici une liste partielle des mesures prises dans le budget de 2015 et dans la période qui l’a précédé :

  • jouer un rôle de premier plan et travailler avec d’autres provinces et territoires ainsi qu’avec le gouvernement fédéral en vue de créer un régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés de capitaux;
  • poser les obligations de divulgation fondées sur un modèle « se conformer ou s’expliquer » pour les émetteurs inscrits à la Bourse de Toronto afin d’encourager la nomination de femmes aux conseils d’administration et aux postes de cadre dirigeant;
  • amorcer un examen exhaustif de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions;
  • annoncer la mise sur pied d’un groupe consultatif d’experts afin de diriger l’examen des mandats de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO), du Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) et de la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts (SOAD);
  • annoncer la mise sur pied d’un groupe d’experts pour mener l’examen du cadre réglementaire visant les services de consultation et de planification financières.

Progrès réalisés depuis le budget de 2015

Modernisation de la réglementation des services financiers

L’instauration d’un cadre réglementaire efficient et efficace contribuera à protéger les consommateurs et les investisseurs ainsi qu’à accroître la compétitivité du secteur des services financiers en Ontario. Depuis le dépôt du budget de 2015, le gouvernement a réalisé des progrès considérables.

Établissement d’un régime de réglementation des marchés de capitaux

Les territoires de compétence participants ont :

  • nommé, en juillet, M. William A. Black, auparavant président et chef de la direction de La Maritime, à titre de président du conseil de l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés de capitaux;
  • publié, en août, l’avant-projet de loi révisé sur les marchés des capitaux provinciaux et territoriaux et l’ébauche des règlements initiaux aux fins de consultation. Ces documents visent la modernisation et l’harmonisation des cadres juridiques sur les valeurs mobilières dans les territoires de compétence participants.

Amélioration de la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration

  • À la suite de la mise en oeuvre des obligations d’information sur la mixité des sexes, 15 % des sociétés inscrites à la Bourse de Toronto (TSX) ont nommé un plus grand nombre de femmes à leur conseil d’administration cette année. Poursuivant sur cette lancée, le gouvernement a créé un comité directeur sur la représentation des femmes qui sera coprésidé par Mme Tracy MacCharles, ministre déléguée à la Condition féminine, et M. Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances. Le comité s’affairera à accroître la représentation des femmes au sein des conseils et des équipes de direction des entreprises.

Examen de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions

  • Le gouvernement a terminé l’examen de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions. Dans la foulée de consultations intensives, l’adjointe parlementaire, Mme Laura Albanese, a complété ses recommandations et déposé son rapport au ministre des Finances en novembre. Le ministre se penche actuellement sur ces recommandations et rendra le rapport public dans un avenir rapproché.

Examen des mandats de la CSFO, du TFS et de la SOAD

  • En mars, le comité consultatif d’experts a publié un document de consultation invitant les intervenants à fournir des commentaires sur les mandats des organismes et sur leur structure d’exploitation et de gouvernance. En juillet, sept tables rondes sectorielles ont été organisées pour recueillir d’autres commentaires. En novembre, le comité a publié un exposé de principe préliminaire pour faciliter les consultations ultérieures. Il déposera ses recommandations définitives au gouvernement tôt en 2016.

Affermissement de la protection des consommateurs et des investisseurs

L’Ontario propose un programme en faveur des consommateurs qui comprend des initiatives pour protéger et éduquer les consommateurs de services financiers.

En avril, le gouvernement a révélé l’identité des membres du comité d’experts qui devait examiner le cadre réglementaire régissant les services de consultation et de planification financières. En septembre, le comité a conclu ses consultations initiales. Il déposera sous peu un rapport provisoire contenant ses recommandations préliminaires.

La province va aussi de l’avant avec quelques initiatives pour améliorer la littératie financière de la population ontarienne, notamment le Bureau des Investisseurs nouvellement intégré de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario. La documentation et le site Web du Bureau sont adaptés aux consommateurs et aident les Ontariennes et Ontariens à prendre avec plus de confiance des décisions mieux informées en matière de placement. L’Ontario a ajouté la littératie financière au curriculum des élèves de la 4e à la 12e année. Par ailleurs, le ministère des Finances continue d’explorer d’autres moyens de fournir à la population les outils et les ressources dont elle a besoin pour améliorer son niveau de littératie financière général.

Protection des consommateurs dans le système ontarien d’assurance-automobile

Le gouvernement est aussi déterminé à poursuivre l’amélioration du système d’assurance-automobile en Ontario. Conformément à cet engagement, il a nommé David Marshall à titre de conseiller sur l’assurance-automobile et les régimes de retraite en octobre. À compter du 1er février 2016, M. Marshall mettra à profit le savoir-faire qu’il a acquis comme président-directeur général de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail pour cerner d’autres possibilités de réformes qui mèneront à de meilleurs résultats en matière de santé, à une baisse des coûts et à des primes d’assurance-automobile plus abordables.

Dans le budget de 2015, le gouvernement annonçait d’importantes réformes du système d’assurance-automobile de la province, notamment des mesures de protection des consommateurs pour faire en sorte que 9,5 millions de conducteurs paient un prix équitable pour leur couverture d’assurance-automobile. Ces réformes obligent désormais les assureurs à offrir une remise aux personnes qui utilisent des pneus d’hiver et interdisent la hausse des primes à la suite d’un accident mineur avec responsabilité. De plus, le gouvernement a baissé le taux d’intérêt sur les paiements de primes mensuels. Ainsi, les assureurs ne peuvent exiger qu’un taux de 1,3 % sur les primes mensuelles d’une police type de 12 mois renouvelée après le 1er juin 2016 comparativement au taux maximal de 3 % qui avait effet auparavant.

Les réformes comportent aussi de nouvelles options de couverture pour les consommateurs ontariens. Grâce à l’adoption de ces réformes, le gouvernement s’attend à ce que les taux d’assurance-automobile continuent à baisser et à ce que la population ontarienne continue à bénéficier du système d’assurance-automobile le plus généreux au Canada parmi les territoires de compétence comparables.

Comme la concurrence est vive entre les fournisseurs d’assurance-automobile dans la province, les consommateurs sont encouragés à s’informer pour mieux comprendre les options s’offrant à eux afin d’obtenir les meilleurs taux possible et la couverture qui leur convient.

Mise en valeur de Toronto comme centre international de services financiers

Le travail que le gouvernement accomplit par l’entremise de partenariats publics ─ privés, comme la Toronto Financial Services Alliance (TFSA), contribue à l’essor des services financiers de Toronto. Parmi les réalisations récentes, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • Le ministre des Finances Charles Sousa s’est rendu en Chine et au Japon en septembre pour rencontrer des dirigeants du secteur manufacturier et des services financiers et bancaires afin de faire la promotion de l’Ontario comme une destination de choix pour les investissements.
  • Le gouvernement a aussi collaboré avec la ville de Toronto et les partenaires du secteur privé pour mettre sur pied des organisations comme le Centre d’excellence pour l’éducation dans le domaine des services financiers de la TFSA. Il s’agit d’un groupe de recherche et de sensibilisation axé sur l’affermissement du vivier de talents à Toronto et sur la promotion des forces de la région sur le plan de l’éducation et du professionnalisme.
  • L’Ontario a aussi collaboré avec le gouvernement fédéral, la TFSA et le secteur financier pour créer l’institut mondial de gestion des risques du secteur financier. L’institut présente une possibilité unique de miser sur la réputation de sécurité et de solidité que s’est taillée le secteur financier de l’Ontario en favorisant l’enseignement et l’adoption des meilleures pratiques en gestion des risques financiers et dans la recherche appliquée de pointe.
Toronto s’est récemment hissée au huitième rang dans l’indice Global Financial Centres Index du groupe Z/Yen Group et est maintenant deuxième en Amérique du Nord derrière nulle autre que la ville de New York.1

[1] Mark Yeandle, « Global Financial Centres Index 18 », Z/Yen Group, septembre 2015.