2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Building Ontario Up — Progress for Prosperity

Section D: Investing in Tomorrow’s Workforce

The government is investing in people to help them gain the education and skills they require to flourish in the province’s evolving economy. This strategy also serves businesses that need skilled workers to grow and succeed. Since the 2015 Budget, the Province has allocated more than $80 million in funding for 2,901 new licensed child care spaces as part of the government’s commitment to invest $120 million over three years to create more child care spaces. Also, it announced plans to establish a new campus for York University in partnership with Seneca College, and launched the Lazaridis Institute for the Management of Technology Enterprises at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Ontario’s greatest strengths are its people’s talents and skills, which give the province a strong foundation to prosper in the knowledge-based economy.

Ontario’s publicly funded primary and secondary education system is recognized as one of the best in the world. Through the implementation of Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario, the Province continues to progress towards an increasingly innovative, creative and entrepreneurial system.

The government’s investments have produced significant gains, including a higher postsecondary attainment rate than all countries in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Ontario is also pursuing a policy of differentiation to ensure that each postsecondary institution concentrates on its demonstrated strengths and specializations to offer students the best possible learning experience, and continues to review the university funding formula to better focus on outcomes and data.

In addition, the Province is investing in employment and skills development opportunities and building a modern and cohesive employment and training services network, to help workers adapt to a technologically advanced and rapidly changing economy.

2015 Budget: Building Ontario Up

Preschool, Primary and Secondary Education

The 2015 Budget outlined the Province’s continued commitment to implement its renewed vision for education by focusing on four key goals: achieving excellence, ensuring equity, promoting well-being, and enhancing confidence in the publicly funded education system. The plan includes a focus on 21st century teaching and learning skills, and improving math achievement.

Part of this commitment includes modernizing and building a child care and early years system by:

  • Increasing access to licensed child care by investing $120 million over three years to create 4,000 more licensed child care spaces in schools; and
  • Modernizing the legislative and regulatory framework for child care by implementing the Child Care Modernization Act, 2014.

In addition, the government has built on its commitment to create opportunities for students by:

  • Expanding the Specialist High Skills Major and Dual Credit programs; and
  • Announcing the launch of Experience Ontario to help recent high school graduates choose their career direction and postsecondary education pathway.

Postsecondary Education

Building on previous achievements in the postsecondary education system, the government committed to:

  • Reforming the postsecondary education system funding model, starting with the university sector, to ensure quality and sustainability;
  • Expanding online learning opportunities and credit transfers through eCampus Ontario and the Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer, to give students flexibility to access courses whenever and wherever works best for them; and
  • Investing an additional $5 million through the Postsecondary Education Fund for Aboriginal Learners to ensure that high-quality postsecondary education and training remain accessible to Aboriginal youth through the province’s nine Aboriginal institutes.

The Province also announced plans to increase support for students and modernize the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP).

Employment and Skills Development Opportunities

The 2015 Budget announced a renewal of the Ontario Youth Jobs Strategy by:

  • Investing $250 million over two years to help up to 150,000 youth with employment and skills development opportunities; and
  • Enriching a comprehensive suite of programs and services that are tailored to the individual needs of youth.

As part of the Canada–Ontario Job Grant, the Province introduced two employer-driven skills training pilot programs to investigate new ways of working with employers to provide flexible, short-term training: the Customized Training pilot and the UpSkill pilot. These pilots will help employers support their employees to develop the skills they need in their jobs.

The Province also announced $55 million in additional multi-year support for the apprenticeship system.

To support the success of the Ontario College of Trades, and based on the feedback of skilled tradespeople themselves, Ontario appointed former Secretary of Cabinet and Head of the Ontario Public Service Tony Dean in 2014 to provide recommendations on ways to improve key areas of the college’s activities and decision-making processes.

Progress since the 2015 Budget

Preschool, Primary and Secondary Education

Since the 2015 Budget, Ontario has:

  • Allocated more than $80 million in funding for 2,901 new licensed child care spaces in communities across Ontario. This is part of the government’s commitment to invest $120 million over the next three years to create approximately 4,000 new licensed child care spaces.
  • Commenced the implementation of the Child Care Modernization Act, 2014, which became law on August 31, 2015, further strengthening oversight of the province’s unlicensed and licensed child care sector and increasing access to licensed child care options for families.
  • Expanded the Specialist High Skills Major and Dual Credit programs, helping an additional 2,000 and 600 students, respectively, turn their passions into career opportunities.
  • Launched Experience Ontario, a two-year, $20 million pilot program that will help up to 600 high school students starting in year one to identify and work towards their future goals.

Postsecondary Education

Since the 2015 Budget, the Province has:

  • Concluded consultations on university funding reform in September. The consultations will help guide development of a new funding model focused on quality outcomes, while increasing transparency and ensuring sustainability.
  • Announced plans to establish a York University—Markham Centre campus in partnership with Seneca College for about 4,000 students, so more students can attend postsecondary education closer to home. A second call for proposals will be released in 2016 to meet the growing demand in Peel and Halton Regions.
  • Launched the Lazaridis Institute for the Management of Technology Enterprises at Wilfrid Laurier University to help bolster Ontario’s emerging technology sector. The institute will teach students management skills and provide development and networking opportunities that will help innovative technology startups become globally competitive companies. The Province is investing $15 million over 10 years to support the institute.
  • Launched eCampus Ontario (formerly known as Ontario Online), which will bring the best of technology-enabled learning to students. In its first phase, ecampusontario.ca is hosting over 13,000 online courses and work is underway to allow students to customize their online learning experience.

Postsecondary students in the 2015–16 school year are benefiting from the government’s actions to modernize OSAP, which include:

  • Indexing the Ontario maximum student aid levels annually to inflation, starting with the 2015–16 school year;
  • Exempting student earnings when they are studying, allowing students to keep more of their part-time earnings;
  • Launching the Ontario Student Loan Rehabilitation Program, a new initiative to allow past borrowers who defaulted on the Ontario portion of their student loan to bring their loan back into good standing through scheduled partial payments;
  • Indexing the debt cap to inflation, ensuring that OSAP remains sustainable in the long term (repayable debt will remain at 60 per cent of the maximum loan support available to students); and
  • Eliminating the requirement for students to report their vehicle as an asset for OSAP assessment, allowing students to keep their vehicles.

Employment and Skills Development Opportunities

As part of the renewed Ontario Youth Jobs Strategy, Ontario launched Youth Job Connection in October to provide intensive support and training to young people facing multiple barriers to employment. The Province is investing more than $160 million over two years in Youth Job Connection to help over 27,000 young people.

This year, Mr. Dean submitted his report on the Ontario College of Trades to the government. The Province has reviewed the report and will move forward with its recommendations.

Going Forward

Ontario is continuing to strengthen its education and training system by partnering with businesses, primary, secondary and postsecondary institutions, and labour. Some examples include:

  • Youth Job Link will be available, starting in the spring of 2016, to all youth, including students, to help them access job search resources and information to assist them in transitioning to the labour market, including summer employment opportunities.
  • This fall, Ontario is launching the new Ontario Centre for Workforce Innovation, which will ensure the delivery of employment and training services is informed by evidence of what works, for whom and in what context.
  • Pilot Local Employment Planning Councils will be established in December 2015 in eight communities across Ontario: Durham, Peel-Halton, Windsor, London-Middlesex-Oxford, Ottawa, Peterborough, Timmins and Thunder Bay. These councils will help address gaps in local labour market information, facilitate more informed career decision-making, and build local workforce planning capacity at the community level among employers, service providers and community groups.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre I : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario – Progrès vers la prospérité

Section D : Investir dans la main-d’oeuvre de demain

Le gouvernement investit dans les gens afin qu’ils puissent obtenir l’éducation et acquérir les compétences requises pour réussir dans l’économie changeante de la province. Cette stratégie est aussi profitable pour les entreprises, qui ont besoin de travailleurs qualifiés pour croître et prospérer. Depuis le budget de 2015, la province a alloué plus de 80 millions de dollars pour la création de 2 901 places en service de garde agréé dans le cadre de l’engagement du gouvernement d’investir 120 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour augmenter le nombre de places en garderie. Elle a en outre annoncé l’aménagement d’un nouveau campus de l’Université York en partenariat avec le Collège Seneca et lancé le Lazaridis Institute for the Management of Technology Enterprises à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier.

Les talents et compétences des citoyens de l’Ontario sont les plus importants atouts de la province et constituent des assises solides pour jouir de la prospérité au sein de l’économie du savoir.

Le système d’éducation primaire et secondaire public de l’Ontario est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs au monde. Dans le cadre de la mise en oeuvre de l’initiative Atteindre l’excellence – Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario, la province continue à progresser vers la mise en place d’un système de plus en plus innovateur, créatif et axé sur l’entrepreneuriat.

Les investissements faits par le gouvernement ont été fructueux et ont permis notamment d’atteindre un taux de participation aux études postsecondaires supérieur à celui de l’ensemble des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et développement économiques. L’Ontario suit également une politique de différenciation pour faire en sorte que chaque établissement postsecondaire se concentre sur ses forces et spécialisations manifestes afin d’offrir aux étudiants la meilleure expérience d’apprentissage qui soit. De plus, la province poursuit son examen de la formule de financement des universités dans le but de mettre davantage l’accent sur les résultats et les données.

Qui plus est, la province investit dans le développement de possibilités d’emploi et de perfectionnement professionnel et construit un réseau moderne et cohérent de services d’emploi et de formation pour aider les travailleurs à s’adapter à une économie en rapide évolution et axée sur la haute technologie.

Budget de 2015 : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario

Éducation préscolaire, primaire et secondaire

Le budget de 2015 présentait l’engagement soutenu de la province envers la mise en oeuvre de sa vision renouvelée de l’éducation en mettant l’accent sur quatre objectifs clés, soit atteindre l’excellence, assurer l’équité, promouvoir le bien-être et améliorer la confiance de la population dans le système d’éducation financé par les deniers publics. Le plan pour l’éducation met entre autres l’accent sur les méthodes d’enseignement et d’acquisition des compétences pour le XXIe siècle et l’amélioration des résultats en mathématiques.

Cet engagement inclut également la modernisation et la consolidation du système de garde d’enfants et de services à la petite enfance par :

  • l’amélioration de l’accès aux services de garde agréés grâce à l’investissement de 120 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour créer 4 000 places en garderie agréée supplémentaires dans les écoles;
  • l’actualisation du cadre législatif et réglementaire sur la garde d’enfants grâce à la mise en application de la Loi de 2014 sur la modernisation des services de garde d’enfants.

En outre, le gouvernement a fait fond sur son engagement de créer des possibilités pour les étudiantes et étudiants :

  • il a élargi les programmes de Majeure Haute Spécialisation et de double reconnaissance de crédit;
  • il a annoncé le lancement de l’initiative Expérience Ontario pour aider les nouveaux diplômés du secondaire à choisir leur orientation professionnelle et leur itinéraire d’études postsecondaires.

Éducation postsecondaire

S’appuyant sur les réalisations antérieures au sein du système d’éducation postsecondaire, le gouvernement s’était engagé à :

  • réformer le modèle de financement du système d’éducation postsecondaire, en commençant par le secteur universitaire, afin d’en assurer la qualité et la viabilité;
  • élargir les possibilités d’apprentissage en ligne et les transferts de crédits, par l’entremise de eCampus Ontario et du Conseil ontarien pour l’articulation et le transfert, pour permettre aux étudiants d’accéder aux cours au moment et à l’endroit qui leur conviennent le mieux;
  • investir 5 millions de dollars supplémentaires dans le cadre du Financement de l’éducation postsecondaire pour les apprenants autochtones pour faire en sorte que les jeunes autochtones aient accès à une éducation et à une formation postsecondaires de qualité dans la province par l’entremise des neuf établissements autochtones.

La province avait également annoncé son intention d’accroître le soutien offert aux étudiants et de moderniser le Régime d’aide financière aux étudiants de l’Ontario (RAFEO).

Possibilités d’emploi et de perfectionnement professionnel

Dans le budget de 2015, on avait annoncé le renouvellement de la Stratégie ontarienne d’emploi pour les jeunes qui prévoyait :

  • un investissement de 250 millions de dollars sur deux ans afin de fournir du travail et des possibilités de perfectionnement professionnel à jusqu’à 150 000 jeunes;
  • l’étoffement d’une gamme complète de programmes et de services adaptés aux besoins particuliers des jeunes.

Dans le cadre de la Subvention Canada-Ontario pour l’emploi, la province a mis sur pied deux projets pilotes de formation dirigés par les employeurs pour explorer de nouvelles façons de fournir une formation souple et à court terme. Ces deux projets pilotes, qui s’intitulent Formation sur mesure et Perfectionnement professionnel, aideront les employeurs à soutenir leurs employés dans l’acquisition des compétences dont ils ont besoin dans leur travail.

La province avait également annoncé l’octroi de 55 millions de dollars supplémentaires, échelonné sur plusieurs années, pour soutenir le système d’apprentissage.

Pour appuyer le succès de l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et en réponse aux observations soumises par des gens de métier, la province avait chargé en 2014 l’ancien secrétaire du Conseil des ministres et chef de la fonction publique de l’Ontario, Tony Dean, de formuler des recommandations sur les moyens d’améliorer les principaux secteurs d’activité et processus décisionnels des collèges.

Progrès réalisés depuis le budget de 2015

Éducation préscolaire, primaire et secondaire

Depuis la publication du budget de 2015, l’Ontario :

  • a alloué plus de 80 millions de dollars pour la création de 2 901 places en garderie agréée un peu partout dans la province. Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans le cadre de l’engagement du gouvernement d’investir 120 millions de dollars au cours des trois prochaines années afin de créer approximativement 4 000 places en garderie agréée;
  • a entrepris la mise en application de la Loi de 2014 sur la modernisation des services de garde d’enfants, qui a été adoptée le 31 août 2015, renforçant ainsi la surveillance du secteur des services agréés et non agréés de garde d’enfants dans la province tout en donnant aux familles plus de choix en matière de services de garde agréés;
  • a élargi les programmes de Majeure Haute Spécialisation et de double reconnaissance de crédit, qui aideront respectivement 2 000 et 600 élèves de plus à faire carrière dans des domaines qui les passionnent;
  • a lancé l’initiative Expérience Ontario, un programme pilote de deux ans doté de 20 millions de dollars, qui aidera jusqu’à 600 élèves, et ce, dès la première année du secondaire, à cerner leurs buts pour l’avenir et à les réaliser.

Éducation postsecondaire

Depuis le budget de 2015, la province :

  • a mené des consultations sur la réforme du financement des universités qui ont pris fin en septembre. Les observations recueillies orienteront l’élaboration d’un nouveau modèle de financement axé sur la qualité des résultats, tout en accroissant la transparence et en assurant la viabilité;
  • a annoncé les plans en vue de l’établissement d’un nouveau campus de l’Université York-Centre de Markham en partenariat avec le Collège Seneca qui accueillera environ 4 000 étudiants, qui pourront ainsi fréquenter un établissement postsecondaire près de chez eux. Un deuxième appel de propositions d’établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire sera lancé en 2016 pour répondre à la demande croissante dans les régions de Peel et de Halton;
  • a inauguré le Lazaridis Institute for the Management of Technology Enterprises à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier dans le but de stimuler le secteur émergent de la technologie en Ontario. L’Institut donnera aux étudiants la chance d’acquérir des compétences en gestion et de bénéficier d’occasions de perfectionnement et de réseautage qui aideront les jeunes entreprises innovantes à devenir des sociétés concurrentielles sur la scène mondiale. La province appuie l’Institut en y investissant 15 millions de dollars sur 10 ans;
  • a lancé eCampus Ontario (anciennement Apprentissage en ligne Ontario), qui offrira aux étudiants une expérience d’apprentissage intégrant la technologie hors pair. Étant dans sa première phase, le portail ecampusontario.ca propose plus de 13 000 cours en ligne, et des travaux sont en cours dans le but d’offrir aux étudiants la possibilité de personnaliser leur expérience d’apprentissage.

Les étudiants qui fréquentent un établissement postsecondaire durant l’année scolaire 2015‑2016 bénéficient des mesures prises par le gouvernement pour moderniser le RAFEO, notamment :

  • l’indexation à l’inflation du niveau maximum d’aide aux étudiants de l’Ontario annuellement, à partir de l’année scolaire 2015‑2016;
  • l’exonération des revenus gagnés pendant les études pour que les étudiants puissent conserver une plus grande partie de la rémunération tirée d’un emploi à temps partiel;
  • le lancement du Programme de régularisation des prêts ontariens d’études, une nouvelle initiative qui permettra aux emprunteurs qui n’ont pas remboursé la fraction ontarienne de leur prêt d’études de régulariser à nouveau leur prêt en versant des paiements partiels échelonnés;
  • l’indexation à l’inflation du plafond de la dette, assurant ainsi que le RAFEO demeure viable à long terme (la dette remboursable demeurera fixée à 60 % du prêt maximum offert aux étudiants);
  • la dispense, pour les étudiants, de l’obligation de déclarer leur véhicule à titre d’élément d’actif pour les besoins de l’évaluation du RAFEO, ce qui leur permettra de conserver leur véhicule.

Possibilités d’emploi et de perfectionnement professionnel

Dans le cadre du renouvellement de sa Stratégie d’emploi pour les jeunes, l’Ontario a lancé le Programme d’accès à l’emploi pour les jeunes en octobre 2015 afin d’offrir une formation ainsi qu’un soutien intensif à ceux qui se heurtent à de nombreux obstacles en matière d’emploi. L’investissement de plus de 160 millions de dollars sur deux ans fait par la province dans ce programme aidera plus de 27 000 jeunes.

Cette année, M. Dean a soumis son rapport sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario. La province a examiné le rapport et mettra en oeuvre les recommandations qu’il renferme.

Prochaines étapes

L’Ontario continue à consolider son système d’éducation et de formation en créant des partenariats avec les entreprises, les établissements d’enseignement primaire, secondaire et postsecondaire ainsi que les syndicats. En voici des exemples :

  • Le Programme d’orientation en matière d’emploi pour les jeunes sera offert à compter du printemps 2016 à tous les jeunes, notamment aux étudiants, qui désirent obtenir de l’information et des ressources pour faciliter leur transition au marché du travail et décrocher un emploi, y compris un emploi d’été.
  • Cet automne, l’Ontario inaugure le Centre ontarien pour l’innovation en matière de ressources humaines. Le Centre veillera à ce que les services d’emploi et de formation offerts reposent sur des données probantes relativement aux méthodes efficaces en fonction du contexte et de la clientèle visée.
  • Des conseils locaux de planification de l’emploi seront mis à l’essai en décembre 2015 dans huit communautés de la province : Durham, Peel-Halton, Windsor, London-Middlesex-Oxford, Ottawa, Peterborough, Timmins et Thunder Bay. Ils auront pour mandat de combler les lacunes en matière d’information sur le marché du travail local, de faciliter la prise de décisions plus éclairées concernant les carrières et de renforcer la capacité locale en planification de la main-d’oeuvre parmi les employeurs, les fournisseurs de services et les groupes communautaires.