2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Building Ontario Up — Progress for Prosperity

Section F: Strengthening Retirement Security

The government is taking a leadership role in strengthening the retirement income system. The 2014 Budget and 2015 Budget outlined a three-pronged approach to ensure a strong retirement income system, focusing on the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP), introducing new retirement savings vehicles such as pooled registered pension plans, and strengthening workplace pension plans. Ontario is moving forward on its commitment to implement the ORPP in 2017 and has appointed an initial board of the ORPP Administration Corporation. The government will also initiate, on an expedited basis, a review of the current solvency funding rules for defined benefit pension plans, focusing on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security. To provide private-sector sponsors with immediate assistance in the face of persistently low interest rates, the government intends to offer temporary solvency funding relief.

Study after study shows that a significant proportion of people are concerned about achieving a secure retirement. Without swift action, the retirement savings challenge will likely worsen over time.

Three critical factors are contributing to insufficient retirement income and underpin the need to enhance retirement savings: labour market changes; low personal savings and low average Canada Pension Plan (CPP) benefits; and increasing life expectancy and an aging demographic.

Labour market changes: In 2013, only 35 per cent of Ontario’s workers participated in a workplace pension plan. As well, in the modern, mobile workforce, workers are less able to participate consistently in a single workplace pension plan.

Low personal savings and low average CPP benefits: Evidence shows that many Ontarians are not making full use of voluntary savings vehicles, such as registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs). Moreover, the average annual CPP benefit in Ontario in 2014 was about $6,900. This is not enough for many Ontarians to maintain their standard of living when they retire.

Increasing life expectancy and an aging demographic: People are living longer and this trend is likely to continue. While this is a sign of higher living standards and better health outcomes, it also means Ontarians are facing the growing prospect of outliving their retirement savings. In addition, an aging population means there will be fewer workers to support each retiree. This will put pressure on younger workers to support health care and other public services that seniors will need.

2015 Budget: Building Ontario Up

After a lifetime of contributing to the economy, Ontarians deserve a secure retirement. That is why the Province is committed to strengthening retirement income security. As noted in the 2015 Budget, the government is fulfilling its commitment by:

  • Creating a new mandatory provincial plan, the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP);
  • Moving forward with an additional vehicle for retirement savings — pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs); and
  • Implementing initiatives to strengthen and modernize workplace pension plans.

Developing the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

The ORPP builds on the strengths of CPP and would:

  • Offer a predictable stream of retirement income for life;
  • Aim to replace 15 per cent of an individual’s pre-retirement earnings up to $90,000;
  • Require contributions to be shared equally between employers and employees, with a maximum combined rate not exceeding 3.8 per cent; and
  • Require benefits to be earned as contributions are made, to ensure fairness and avoid intergenerational inequity.

The ORPP would complement workplace and other voluntary retirement savings arrangements that will continue to play an important role in helping Ontarians maintain their standard of living in retirement.

The government’s goal is to ensure that, by 2020, every eligible employee in Ontario would be covered by the ORPP or a comparable workplace pension plan.

Progress since the 2015 Budget

Plan Design

Over the past several months, the government has reviewed and analyzed the feedback from consultations on plan design, governance and administration.

The government intends to confirm that the ORPP minimum earnings threshold will be aligned with the CPP’s Year’s Basic Exemption of $3,500 for eligible employees between the ages of 18 and 70. A minimum earnings threshold of $3,500 ensures that workers in multiple jobs, or part-time or temporary employment, benefit as much as possible from the ORPP. Many individuals experience low earnings at particular points in their careers (entry into the labour force or after being displaced). The government will examine and advocate for measures to improve supports for low-income workers and low-income seniors, and continue to ask the federal government to enhance the Working Income Tax Benefit.

In August, the government released details relating to comparable plans and phased implementation of the ORPP.

Ontario intends to define a “comparable plan” as a plan subject to federal and provincial regulation that meets certain minimum thresholds, such as mandatory employer contributions and locked-in funds. Comparable plans would include certain defined benefit (DB) plans, defined contribution (DC) plans, and PRPPs, once they are established in Ontario.

To be considered comparable, DB plans must be equal to or exceed the benefits being offered through the ORPP. For this reason, comparable DB plans in Ontario must meet a minimum benefit accrual rate of 0.50 per cent. An accrual rate is the rate at which retirement income in a pension is built up over time.

For DC plans, the contribution rate should reliably deliver the same level of retirement income replacement as the ORPP. Accordingly, a DC plan must have a minimum annual contribution rate of eight per cent and require at least 50 per cent matching of the minimum rate from employers.

The government continues to work with actuarial and pension experts to determine the threshold rate for various combinations of multi-employer pension plans (MEPPs) and PRPPs, and will align the approach with the principles applied to DB and DC plans.

In finalizing details of ORPP plan design, the government is guided by the critical objective of plan sustainability to ensure that the ORPP is actuarially sound on a long-term basis.

Implementation

Employers have highlighted the need for a streamlined and cost-effective administration. The government also recognizes that employers need time to adjust. That is why the government has proposed a staged enrolment of employers in the ORPP, along with phasing in of contribution rates.

TABLE 1.3 ORPP Phase-In and Contribution Schedule
(Rates reflect combined employer/employee contributions)
Type of Employer Jan. 1, 2017 Jan. 1, 2018 Jan. 1, 2019 Jan. 1, 2020 Jan. 1, 2021
Wave 1: large employers (500 or more employees) without registered workplace pension plans 1.6% 3.2% 3.8% 3.8% 3.8%
Wave 2: medium employers (50 to 499 employees) without registered workplace pension plans 0% 1.6% 3.2% 3.8% 3.8%
Wave 3: small employers (49 or fewer employees) without registered workplace pension plans 0% 0% 1.6% 3.2% 3.8%
Wave 4: employers with registered pension plans that either do not meet the comparability test or do not cover all classes of employees 0% 0% 0% 3.8% 3.8%

To facilitate enrolment, all Ontario employers will be provided with information in early 2016 that enables them to verify the comparability of their existing pension plans and assess the coverage offered to employees.

As another step in the implementation of the ORPP, the government has appointed the initial board of the ORPP Administration Corporation. The Board will be led by Susan Wolburgh Jenah, who will serve as the chair, with two members, Murray Gold and Richard Nesbitt. This board will oversee the startup of the corporation.

The government continues to be supported by several external experts in the development of the ORPP.

As outlined in the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Act, 2015, the government will release a cost-benefit analysis of the ORPP by the end of 2015.

Voluntary Retirement Savings Vehicles

In May, the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act, 2015, received Royal Assent. Regulations are currently in development.

Strengthening and Modernizing Workplace Pension Plans

In July, Ontario released a consultation paper seeking input from affected stakeholders on a proposed regulatory framework for target benefit MEPPs. The government is reviewing responses to the consultation to inform development of a framework that will replace the time-limited funding regulations in place for certain MEPPs, known as specified Ontario multi-employer pension plans (SOMEPPs).

In November, the government enacted regulations governing the process by which single-employer pension plans in the broader public sector can be merged with, or converted into, jointly sponsored pension plans in the broader public sector.

Going Forward

Collaboration on Retirement Security

Ontario is pleased to work with a new federal partner to ensure that the ORPP is efficiently administered with the least possible burden on employers and employees. The Province and the federal government are currently exploring collaboration opportunities for the implementation of the ORPP.

Retirement income security is an important issue for all Canadians. That is why Ontario has played a leadership role in advocating for a CPP enhancement since 2010 and welcomes the renewed interest from the federal government in addressing retirement security collaboratively with the provinces and territories. Ontario will be an active participant in national discussions on this issue. The Province will support a CPP enhancement that is consistent with the ORPP’s objectives with respect to adequacy and coverage.

However, the implementation of a CPP enhancement would take considerable time and requires the agreement of governments across the country. In light of these circumstances and the pressing need to address retirement security, Ontario continues to move forward to implement the ORPP in 2017, while allowing for potential integration of the ORPP with a CPP enhancement in the future.

Solvency Funding Relief

Over the last several years, private-sector sponsors of single-employer DB pension plans have faced funding pressures associated with the low interest rate environment. While the government provided temporary solvency funding relief to these plans in 2009 and 2012, many sponsors continue to face challenging contribution requirements as a result of persistently low interest rates. Recognizing this situation, the government will initiate, on an expedited basis, a review of the current solvency funding framework with a view to developing a balanced set of reforms that would focus on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security, and take into account the interests of pension stakeholders — including sponsors, unions, members and retirees.

To provide sponsors with immediate assistance, the government plans to extend the temporary solvency funding relief measures, provided in 2009 and 2012, for an additional three years for valuation reports dated in the three-year period starting on December 31, 2015. Consistent with earlier approaches, in the first valuation report filed in the three-year period, the temporary measures would provide sponsors with the following options:

  • Consolidating existing solvency payment schedules into a new, longer five-year payment schedule.
  • Extending the solvency payment schedule to a maximum of 10 years (from the current maximum of five years) for any new solvency deficiency determined in the valuation report in which relief is taken, subject to the consent of plan beneficiaries.

New Investment Opportunities

To open up new investment opportunities and tap the capacity of the pension sector to contribute more to economic growth, the government intends to eliminate the “30 per cent rule,” which restricts Ontario pension funds from owning more than 30 per cent of the voting shares of a corporation. Currently, real estate, resource and investment corporations are exempted from the rule, and the government had been looking at providing a further exemption for investments in public infrastructure, having identified this as an opportunity in 2013.

Pension plan administrators would continue to be required to exercise a fiduciary standard of care, diligence and skill in the administration and investment of the pension fund.

The government intends to post a description of the proposed regulation for consultation in early 2016.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre I : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario – Progrès vers la prospérité

Section F : Sécuriser la retraite

Le gouvernement joue un rôle de premier plan dans le renforcement du système de revenu de retraite. Les budgets de 2014 et de 2015 proposaient une approche en trois volets pour consolider le revenu de retraite en mettant l’accent sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO), en instaurant de nouveaux véhicules d’épargne-retraite, tels que les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC), et en renforçant les régimes de retraite d’employeur. L’Ontario maintient son engagement de mettre en oeuvre le RRPO d’ici 2017 et a nommé les membres du conseil d’administration initial de la Société d’administration du RRPO. Le gouvernement passera également en revue, et ce le plus rapidement possible, les règles de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité en vigueur à l’égard des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées dans l’optique d’assurer la viabilité et l’abordabilité de ces régimes ainsi que la sécurité des prestations. Il a l’intention de fournir un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité afin d’aider dans l’immédiat les promoteurs de régimes du secteur privé qui doivent composer avec la faiblesse persistante des taux d’intérêt.

Les études ne cessent de révéler qu’un important segment de la population craint de ne pas avoir des revenus suffisants à la retraite. Si on ne prend pas rapidement des mesures, il est fort probable que le problème de l’épargne-retraite s’accentuera au fil du temps.

Trois facteurs déterminants contribuent à l’insuffisance des revenus de retraite et viennent appuyer la nécessité de majorer l’épargne-retraite : le marché du travail changeant, le faible taux d’épargne-retraite personnelle et les prestations moyennes peu élevées versées par le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), ainsi que l’augmentation de l’espérance de vie et le vieillissement de la population.

Un marché du travail changeant : En 2013, seulement 35 % des travailleurs de l’Ontario participaient à un régime de retraite d’employeur. En outre, la mobilité de la main-d’oeuvre d’aujourd’hui rend difficile la participation continue à un seul régime de retraite d’employeur.

Faible épargne personnelle et prestations moyennes peu élevées du RPC : Les données indiquent qu’un grand nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens ne tirent pas pleinement parti des mécanismes d’épargne volontaire, tels que les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER). Qui plus est, la prestation annuelle moyenne du RPC en Ontario s’élevait à environ 6 900 $ en 2014. Pour bon nombre de citoyens de l’Ontario, cela n’est pas suffisant pour maintenir leur niveau de vie à la retraite.

Augmentation de l’espérance de vie et vieillissement de la population : Les gens vivent plus longtemps, et cette tendance est susceptible de se maintenir. Si elle est le signe d’une meilleure qualité de vie et d’une meilleure santé, elle signifie aussi que les Ontariennes et Ontariens sont plus susceptibles d’épuiser leurs économies. En outre, une population vieillissante signifie qu’il y aura moins de travailleurs pour soutenir chaque retraité. Cela exercera des pressions sur les jeunes travailleurs ayant à soutenir les soins de santé et autres services publics dont les personnes âgées auront besoin.

Budget de 2015 : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario

Après avoir contribué à l’économie durant leur vie active, les Ontariennes et Ontariens méritent une retraite à l’abri du besoin. C’est pourquoi la province s’est engagée à sécuriser le revenu de retraite. Comme il l’indiquait dans le budget de 2015, le gouvernement respecte cet engagement en :

  • créant un nouveau régime de retraite provincial obligatoire, soit le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO);
  • allant de l’avant et proposant un nouveau véhicule d’épargne-retraite, soit les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC);
  • lançant des initiatives pour renforcer et moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur.

Élaboration du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

S’appuyant sur les points forts du RPC, le RRPO :

  • offrirait une source de revenus prévisible et durable à la retraite;
  • viserait à remplacer 15 % des revenus avant-retraite d’un maximum de 90 000 $;
  • exigerait que les cotisations soient également partagées entre les employeurs et les salariés, et que le taux combiné maximum ne dépasse pas 3,8 %;
  • exigerait que les prestations soient acquises à mesure que les cotisations sont effectuées, pour faire en sorte que le système soit équitable et ne pénalise pas les générations plus jeunes.

Le RRPO se grefferait aux régimes de retraite d’employeur et à d’autres mécanismes d’épargne-retraite volontaire qui continueraient de jouer un rôle essentiel en aidant les Ontariennes et Ontariens à maintenir leur niveau de vie à la retraite.

Le but du gouvernement est de faire en sorte que d’ici 2020, tous les employés admissibles en Ontario soient couverts par le RRPO ou un régime de retraite d’employeur comparable.

Progrès réalisés depuis le budget de 2015

Conception du RRPO

Au cours des derniers mois, le gouvernement a analysé les observations issues des consultations sur la conception, la gouvernance et l’administration du régime.

Le gouvernement a l’intention de confirmer que le seuil de revenu minimum du RRPO sera aligné avec l’exemption de base de l’année du RPC de 3 500 $ pour les employés admissibles entre 18 et 70 ans. Un seuil de revenu minimum de 3 500 $ fait en sorte que les travailleurs ayant de multiples emplois, un travail à temps partiel ou un emploi temporaire profitent le plus possible du RRPO. En effet, de nombreuses personnes touchent un faible revenu à certains moments de leur carrière (p. ex., à leur entrée sur le marché du travail ou suivant un déplacement). Le gouvernement examinera et revendiquera des mesures pouvant améliorer les soutiens offerts aux travailleurs et aux personnes âgées à faible revenu et continuera à demander au gouvernement fédéral de majorer la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail.

En août, le gouvernement a fourni des détails concernant les régimes comparables et la mise en oeuvre graduelle du RRPO.

L’Ontario entend définir un « régime comparable » comme étant un régime assujetti à la réglementation provinciale et fédérale qui répond à certains seuils minimums, notamment en ce qui a trait aux cotisations obligatoires des employeurs et à l’immobilisation des fonds. Les régimes comparables incluraient certains régimes à prestations déterminées et à cotisations déterminées ainsi que les RPAC, lorsqu’ils seront offerts en Ontario.

Pour être considérés comme comparables, les régimes à prestations déterminées doivent offrir des prestations égales ou supérieures à celles du RRPO et, par conséquent, prévoir un taux d’accumulation des prestations minimal de 0,50 % en Ontario. Par taux d’accumulation, on entend le taux auquel sont constituées les prestations de retraite d’un régime au fil du temps.

Quant aux régimes à cotisations déterminées, le taux de cotisation devrait permettre d’offrir, et ce de façon fiable, un niveau de remplacement du revenu à la retraite égal à celui du RRPO. Par conséquent, un tel régime doit prévoir un taux de cotisation annuel minimum de 8 % et exiger un taux de cotisation de contrepartie versé par l’employeur égal à au moins 50 % du taux minimum.

Le gouvernement continue de travailler avec des actuaires et des spécialistes en matière de retraite afin de déterminer le taux seuil pour diverses combinaisons de régimes de retraite interentreprises (RRI) et RPAC, et il s’appuiera sur les principes appliqués pour les régimes à prestations déterminées et à cotisations déterminées.

Alors qu’il finalise la conception du RRPO, le gouvernement vise principalement à s’assurer que le régime repose sur des bases actuarielles solides qui garantiront sa viabilité à long terme.

Mise en oeuvre

Les employeurs ont souligné la nécessité d’une administration simplifiée et efficiente. Le gouvernement est également conscient que les employeurs ont besoin de temps pour s’adapter et c’est la raison pour laquelle il a proposé que la participation des employeurs au RRPO, tout comme l’introduction des taux de cotisation, se fassent de façon graduelle.

TABLEAU 1.3 Calendrier de la participation graduelle et de l'introduction progressive des taux de cotisation (les taux tiennent comptent des cotisations combinées des employeurs et des employés)
Type d'employeur 1er janv. 2017 1er janv. 2018 1er janv. 2019 1er janv. 2020 1er janv. 2021
Vague 1 : grands employeurs n'offrant pas de régime de retraite enregistré
(500 employés ou plus)
1,6 % 3,2 % 3,8 % 3,8 % 3,8 %
Vague 2 : moyens employeurs n'offrant pas de régime de retraite enregistré
(entre 50 et 499 employés)
0 % 1,6 % 3,2 % 3,8 % 3,8 %
Vague 3 : petits employeurs n'offrant pas de régime de retraite enregistré
(49 employés ou moins)
0 % 0 % 1,6 % 3,2 % 3,8 %
Vague 4 : employeurs offrant un régime de retraite enregistré non comparable ou ne couvrant pas toutes les catégories d'employés 0 % 0 % 0 % 3,8 % 3,8 %

Pour faciliter la participation, tous les employeurs de l’Ontario recevront au début de 2016 de l’information qui leur permettra de déterminer s’ils offrent des régimes de retraite comparables et d’évaluer la couverture offerte aux employés.

Le gouvernement a franchi une autre étape dans la mise en oeuvre du RRPO en nommant les membres du conseil d’administration initial de la Société d’administration du RRPO. Le conseil sera dirigé par sa présidente, Susan Wolburgh Jenah, et deux autres membres, soit Murray Gold et Richard Nesbitt, et supervisera la mise sur pied de la Société.

Le gouvernement continue d’être épaulé par plusieurs experts externes en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration du RRPO.

Comme il est énoncé dans la Loi de 2015 sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, le gouvernement rendra publique une analyse coûts-avantages d’ici la fin de 2015.

Mécanismes d’épargne-retraite volontaire

En mai, la Loi de 2015 sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs a reçu la sanction royale. Les règlements sont en cours de rédaction.

Consolidation et modernisation des régimes de retraite d’employeur

En juillet, l’Ontario a rendu public un document de consultation sur le cadre de réglementation proposé à l’égard des RRI à prestations cibles et sollicité la rétroaction des intervenants concernés. Le gouvernement examine ces observations afin d’élaborer un cadre qui remplacera les règlements sur le financement d’une durée d’application limitée qui régissent actuellement certains RRI, appelés régimes de retraite interentreprises ontariens déterminés (RRIOD).

En novembre, le gouvernement a adopté des règlements régissant la fusion d’un régime de retraite à employeur unique avec un régime de retraite conjoint ou la conversion d’un régime à employeur unique à un régime conjoint dans le secteur parapublic.

Prochaines étapes

Collaboration sur la sécurité de la retraite

L’Ontario se réjouit de travailler avec un nouveau partenaire fédéral pour faire en sorte que le RRPO soit administré avec efficience et de la façon la moins lourde possible pour les employeurs et les employés. La province et le gouvernement fédéral explorent actuellement les possibilités de collaboration pour la mise en oeuvre du RRPO.

La sécurité du revenu de retraite est une question importante pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’Ontario joue un rôle de premier plan dans la revendication d’une bonification du RPC depuis 2010 et il salue l’intérêt renouvelé dont fait preuve le gouvernement fédéral pour s’attaquer à ce dossier en collaboration avec les provinces et territoires. L’Ontario participera activement aux discussions nationales sur la sécurité du revenu de retraite. Il soutiendra une bonification du RPC conforme aux objectifs du RRPO en matière de couverture et de suffisance des revenus.

Cependant, la bonification du RPC, si elle était mise en oeuvre, prendrait un temps considérable et nécessiterait l’établissement d’une entente entre les divers gouvernements au pays. Dans ces circonstances et compte tenu du besoin pressant de renforcer la sécurité de la retraite, l’Ontario poursuit les efforts déployés pour mettre en oeuvre le RRPO d’ici 2017, tout en étant ouvert à une éventuelle intégration du RRPO et d’un RPC bonifié dans l’avenir.

Allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Au cours des dernières années, les promoteurs de régimes de retraite à employeur unique à prestations déterminées du secteur privé ont dû composer avec des contraintes sur le plan de la capitalisation dans un environnement où les taux d’intérêt étaient bas. Bien que le gouvernement ait fourni un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité entre 2009 et 2012, un grand nombre de promoteurs continuent à avoir de la difficulté à respecter les exigences visant les cotisations en raison de la faiblesse persistante des taux d’intérêt. Conscient de cette situation, le gouvernement examinera, et ce le plus rapidement possible, le cadre actuel en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité dans le but de proposer une série de réformes axées sur la viabilité et l’abordabilité des régimes ainsi que la sécurité des prestations et tenant compte des intérêts des différentes parties, incluant les promoteurs, les syndicats, les participants et les retraités.

Pour fournir une aide immédiate aux promoteurs, le gouvernement entend renouveler pour trois années supplémentaires les mesures d’allégement temporaire de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, qui avaient été offertes entre 2009 et 2012, pour les rapports d’évaluation datés durant la période de trois ans, et ce, à compter du 31 décembre 2015. Conformément à ce qui avait été fait précédemment, ces mesures temporaires donneraient aux promoteurs la possibilité, dans le premier rapport d’évaluation de la période de trois ans, de :

  • soit consolider les calendriers des paiements de solvabilité de façon à établir un nouveau calendrier de paiements plus long d’une durée de cinq ans;
  • soit prolonger le calendrier des paiements de solvabilité à un maximum de 10 ans (comparativement au maximum actuel de cinq ans) pour tout nouveau déficit de solvabilité dont fait état le rapport d’évaluation et dans lequel est demandé un allégement, sous réserve du consentement des bénéficiaires du régime.

Nouvelles occasions d’investissement

Le gouvernement a l’intention d’éliminer la règle qui empêche les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario de détenir plus de 30 % des actions avec droit de vote d’une personne morale, et ce, afin de créer de nouvelles possibilités de placement et de favoriser la contribution du secteur des régimes de retraite à la croissance économique. À l’heure actuelle, les sociétés du secteur de l’immobilier, des ressources et des placements sont exemptées de cette règle, et le gouvernement examine la possibilité d’élargir cette exemption pour les investissements dans l’infrastructure publique, comme il l’avait déjà envisagé en 2013.

Les administrateurs de régimes de retraite continueraient de respecter leur rôle de fiduciaire et de faire preuve de soin, diligence et compétence dans l’administration et le placement des fonds du régime.

Le gouvernement entend afficher une description du règlement proposé à des fins de consultation au début de 2016.