2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter III: Economic and Fiscal Outlook

Section C: Strengthening Ontario’s Property Tax and Assessment System

The government is strengthening Ontario’s property tax and assessment system through a range of measures, such as implementing the recommendations of the Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review, creating a fair and modern Provincial Land Tax system, and proposing enhancements that would improve the fairness and transparency of the Business Property Tax Capping Program.

The Province and municipalities have a shared interest in a strong and competitive property tax and assessment system, which helps support local municipal services and Ontario’s school system.

The government has successfully implemented a number of important measures that have enhanced the fairness, effectiveness and predictability of Ontario’s property tax and assessment system for both property owners and municipalities. The Province continues to work with key stakeholders to identify potential opportunities to further strengthen Ontario’s property tax and assessment system.

2015 Budget: Building Ontario Up

The 2015 Budget highlighted initiatives to strengthen Ontario’s property tax and assessment system:

  • Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review — improving the property assessment system by implementing the recommendations of the assessment review in partnership with the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC), municipalities and stakeholders.
  • Provincial Land Tax (PLT) announcing PLT changes for 2015 and 2016 that marked an important first step towards creating a fair and modern PLT system. This is the first time in over 60 years that PLT rates have been updated to increase revenue.
  • Power Dam Special Payment Program — working with municipalities to explore ways to implement the phase-down of this mitigation program in a manner that is fair and manageable, and also exploring the option of reintroducing property taxation for power dams.

Progress since the 2015 Budget

Ontario continues to make significant progress in moving forward on these commitments.

Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review

The Province is working to strengthen Ontario’s property assessment system by implementing the recommendations of the assessment review.

One of its key recommendations is the introduction of an advance disclosure process for special purpose business properties that involve complex assessment methodologies. This initiative will enable affected businesses and municipalities to contribute to the determination of assessed values before the assessment roll is prepared. As part of this initiative, MPAC has published methodology guides to improve the transparency of valuation procedures.

Provincial Land Tax

As part of the ongoing PLT review, the government will consult with northerners on ways to further address tax inequities in the north before determining PLT rate adjustments for 2017. The Province has already initiated this next round of discussions by holding 15 open houses across northern Ontario between August and October. The open houses provided an opportunity for unincorporated area property owners to hear more about PLT changes and provide input.

Power Dam Special Payment Program

Ontario has conducted extensive analysis and held productive discussions with municipal and electricity sector representatives as part of the government’s exploration of phase-down and taxation options. Considering property taxation for power dams is a complex and challenging proposal, particularly when balancing the priority of avoiding adverse impacts on electricity ratepayers.

Going Forward

Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review

As part of the advance disclosure process, MPAC has begun consultations on market factors and analytics that underlie the assessment of special purpose business properties. It will publish market valuation reports containing this information in early 2016.

As a further measure to support the objectives of the assessment review’s recommendations, the Province is proposing improvements to the Request for Reconsideration process to standardize timelines and support the early resolution of assessment issues.

Power Dam Special Payment Program

While work is underway to examine phase-down and taxation options, the government appreciates that municipalities would benefit from as much advance information as possible to support their budgeting process for the upcoming taxation year.

As a result, the Province is announcing a stable funding guarantee for 2016. This means that municipalities will receive the same payment under the Power Dam Special Payment Program for 2016 as they received in 2015, subject to any necessary maintenance adjustments for changes such as the decommissioning of generating stations.

Business Property Tax Capping Program

The Business Property Tax Capping Program was implemented in 1998 as the Province transformed the property tax system to the current value assessment (CVA) model, to ensure that businesses would not see large increases in property tax as a result of this transition. In 2015, slightly more than 10 per cent of business properties province-wide remained in the capping program, a significant decrease compared to nearly 90 per cent in 2004. However, in light of the continued inequities for some properties, many municipal and business stakeholders have requested changes to the capping program that would further enhance fairness and transparency for property owners.

Beginning in 2016, municipalities would be provided with increased flexibility to accelerate progress to CVA-level taxes. Municipalities that meet certain eligibility criteria established by the Province would also have the option to exit or phase out the capping program, if doing so would have a limited impact on business properties. As a result of these proposed changes, municipalities would be able to adjust the capping program to best suit their local circumstances, and address the potential for inequities and economic distortions that may result from the capping program. Properties removed from the capping program would continue to benefit from the ongoing mitigation provided through the four-year assessment phase-in program.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre III : Perspectives économiques et financières

Section C : Renforcer le régime ontarien d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers

Le gouvernement renforce le régime ontarien d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers par un ensemble de mesures telles que la mise en oeuvre des recommandations découlant de l’Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier, la création d’un régime d’impôts fonciers provincial moderne et équitable, et la proposition d’améliorations qui rendraient le programme de plafonnement de l’impôt foncier applicable aux entreprises plus équitable et plus transparent.

Un régime d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers solide et concurrentiel est dans l’intérêt de la province et des municipalités, car il aide à soutenir les services municipaux à l’échelle locale et le système d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire de l’Ontario.

La province a mis en oeuvre plusieurs mesures importantes qui ont amélioré l’équité, l’efficacité et la prévisibilité du régime d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers en Ontario, tant pour les propriétaires fonciers que pour les municipalités. La province continue de collaborer avec les principaux intervenants dans le but d’améliorer encore davantage le régime d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers de l’Ontario.

Budget de 2015 : Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario

Le budget de 2015 a mis en lumière certaines initiatives visant à renforcer le régime d’évaluation et d’impôts fonciers de l’Ontario :

  • Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier – améliorer le régime d’évaluation foncière en mettant en oeuvre les recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation conjointement avec la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (MPAC), les municipalités et les intervenants.
  • Impôt foncier provincial (IFP) – annoncer des modifications à l’IFP pour 2015 et 2016, un premier pas important vers la création d’un régime d’IFP équitable et moderne. C’est la première fois en plus de 60 ans que les taux d’IFP sont mis à jour de manière à faire augmenter les revenus.
  • Programme de paiement spécial relatif aux barrages – travailler avec les municipalités afin d’explorer les moyens de réduire graduellement ce programme d’atténuation de façon équitable et raisonnable, et explorer la possibilité de rétablir l’imposition foncière des barrages hydroélectriques.

Progrès réalisés depuis le budget de 2015

L’Ontario continue de faire des progrès considérables relativement à ces engagements.

Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier

La province s’efforce de renforcer le régime d’évaluation foncière de l’Ontario en mettant en oeuvre les recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation.

La mise en place d’un processus de divulgation préalable pour les biens commerciaux à usage particulier qui fait appel à des méthodes d’évaluation complexes constitue l’une de ses principales recommandations. Cette initiative permettra aux entreprises et aux municipalités touchées de contribuer à la détermination des valeurs imposables avant la préparation du rôle d’évaluation. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, la MPAC a publié des guides méthodologiques afin d’améliorer la transparence des procédés d’évaluation.

Impôt foncier provincial

Dans le cadre de l’examen continu de l’IFP, le gouvernement consultera les résidents du Nord sur les moyens à prendre pour réduire encore davantage les iniquités fiscales dans cette région avant de déterminer le taux de rajustement de l’IFP pour 2017. La province a déjà entamé la prochaine série de discussions en organisant 15 séances d’information dans la région entre août et octobre. Ces rencontres ont permis aux propriétaires fonciers dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité d’en apprendre davantage sur les changements apportés à l’IFP et de faire des observations.

Programme de paiement spécial relatif aux barrages

L’Ontario a effectué des analyses approfondies et tenu des discussions productives avec des représentants du secteur municipal et de celui de l’électricité, dans le cadre de l’examen, par le gouvernement, des options relatives à la réduction graduelle et à l’imposition. Il est complexe et difficile d’envisager d’assujettir les barrages hydroélectriques à l’imposition foncière, particulièrement lorsqu’on tient compte de la priorité d’éviter toute répercussion négative sur les consommateurs d’électricité.

Prochaines étapes

Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier

Dans le cadre du processus de divulgation préalable, la MPAC a entamé des consultations sur les facteurs et les données analytiques liés au marché qui sous-tendent l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier et publiera des rapports d’évaluation renfermant cette information au début de 2016.

Autre mesure pour soutenir les objectifs des recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation : la province propose d’apporter des améliorations au processus de demande de réexamen afin de normaliser les échéanciers et de favoriser la résolution précoce des questions relatives à l’évaluation foncière.

Programme de paiement spécial relatif aux barrages

Alors qu’on examine les options relatives à la réduction graduelle et à l’imposition, le gouvernement comprend que les municipalités devraient pouvoir disposer d’autant d’information préalable que possible afin de soutenir leur processus budgétaire pour l’année d’imposition à venir.

La province annonce donc la garantie d’un financement stable pour 2016. Cela signifie que les municipalités recevront le même montant au titre du Programme de paiement spécial relatif aux barrages pour 2016 que pour 2015, sous réserve de tout rajustement pour travaux d’entretien nécessaires relatifs à des changements comme la mise hors service de centrales hydroélectriques.

Programme de plafonnement de l’impôt foncier applicable aux entreprises

Le programme de plafonnement de l’impôt foncier applicable aux entreprises a été mis en oeuvre en 1998 alors que la province transformait le régime d’impôts fonciers afin d’adopter le modèle d’imposition basée sur l’évaluation selon la valeur actuelle (ÉVA) pour protéger les entreprises d’augmentations substantielles de leurs impôts fonciers par suite de cette transition. En 2015, un peu plus de 10 % des biens immeubles commerciaux dans toute la province étaient toujours inclus dans le programme de plafonnement, ce qui représente une diminution considérable par rapport au taux de près 90 % en 2004. Cependant, en raison des iniquités continues relatives à certains biens immeubles, de nombreux représentants des municipalités et des entreprises ont demandé que le programme de plafonnement soit modifié afin d’améliorer encore davantage l’équité et la transparence pour les propriétaires fonciers.

À compter de 2016, les municipalités auraient une plus grande souplesse pour progresser plus rapidement vers l’imposition basée sur l’ÉVA. Les municipalités qui satisfont à certains critères d’admissibilité établis par la province auraient la possibilité de se retirer du programme de plafonnement ou de l’éliminer progressivement, si cela avait un effet limité sur les biens immeubles commerciaux. Par suite de ces changements proposés, les municipalités seraient en mesure d’ajuster le programme de plafonnement afin qu’il réponde mieux aux facteurs locaux et de réduire le risque d’iniquités et de distorsions économiques pouvant découler du programme. Les biens immeubles retirés du programme de plafonnement continueraient de profiter de l’atténuation continue fournie par le programme d’application progressive de l’évaluation sur une période de quatre ans.