2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter III: Economic and Fiscal Outlook

Section D: Borrowing and Debt Management

The Province’s total long-term borrowing in 2015–16 is forecast to be $30.1 billion. The Province is committed to debt sustainability and has extended the term of its borrowing program to take advantage of low interest rates. For fiscal 2015–16, net debt and total debt are projected to be $298.3 billion and $324.3 billion, respectively. Ontario is also committed to helping develop the Canadian Green Bond market and plans to issue its second Green Bond during fiscal 2015–16.

Ontario conducts its borrowing program responsibly to protect the public interest. Overall, Ontario’s forecast indicates the long-term borrowing requirement for 2015­­–16 has decreased by $1.0 billion compared to the forecast in the 2015 Budget. As at November 10, 2015, $20.1 billion, or 65 per cent, of this year’s long-term public borrowing requirement has been completed.

As the first Canadian province to issue Green Bonds, Ontario is leading the way in establishing and developing a Canadian-dollar Green Bond market with global investor participation. The Province plans to issue its second Green Bond during fiscal 2015–16.

Ontario’s net debt is projected to be $298.3 billion as at March 31, 2016, $0.5 billion lower than forecasted in the 2015 Budget. Net debt was $284.6 billion as at March 31, 2015.

Given the low interest rates experienced in recent years, Ontario has actively extended the term of its borrowing program. Term extension has allowed the Province to lock in low interest rates for a longer period, which reduces refinancing risks and helps offset the impact of expected higher interest rates on the Province’s future interest on debt (IOD) costs.

Going back to the beginning of fiscal 2010–11, Ontario has issued $52.4 billion of bonds with terms of longer than 30 years to lock in low rates. As a result, the weighted-average term to maturity of long-term Provincial debt issued has been extended significantly, from 8.6 years in 2008–09 to 14.1 years last year and 16.1 years as at November 10, 2015.

Long-Term Public Borrowing

The Province’s deficit for 2015–16 is now projected to be $7.5 billion — compared to the 2015 Budget forecast of $8.5 billion. The total funding requirement for 2015–16 is now forecast at $1.3 billion lower than the 2015 Budget forecast.

The Province’s total long-term borrowing in 2015–16 is forecast to be $30.1 billion, $9.7 billion lower than the amount borrowed in 2014–15, and $1.0 billion less than forecast for 2015–16 in the 2015 Budget.

TABLE 3.18
Borrowing Program and Medium-Term Outlook: Province and Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation
($ Billions)
  2015–16 2016–17 2017–18
2015 Budget Current Outlook In-Year Change
Deficit/(Surplus) 8.5 7.5 (1.0) 4.5
Investment in Capital Assets 9.1 9.1 11.3 11.8
Non-Cash Adjustments (4.9) (3.1) 1.8 (5.5) (5.6)
Loans to Infrastructure Ontario 1.1 1.1 0.0 0.5 0.4
Other Net Loans/Investments 1.0 (0.3) (1.3) 0.3 0.1
Debt Maturities 21.0 21.1 0.1 21.4 17.5
Debt Redemptions 0.2 0.1 (0.1) 0.1 0.1
Hydro One Special Dividends (0.8) (0.8)
Total Funding Requirement 35.9 34.7 (1.3) 32.7 24.4
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (0.1)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (1.7)
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents 0.8 0.8 (0.8)
Preborrowing in 2014–15 (4.8) (5.3) (0.5)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 31.1 30.1 (1.0) 30.1 24.4
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

As at November 10, 2015, $20.1 billion of this year’s long-term public borrowing has been completed.

Approximately 87 per cent of this year’s borrowing to date has been completed in Canadian dollars, primarily through syndicated issues. Given the strength of demand Ontario has experienced in the Canadian-dollar market, the Province raised its Canadian-dollar borrowing target to at least 75 per cent in 2015–16 in the 2015 Budget. This is an increase from the previous target of 70 per cent.

About $2.6 billion, or 13 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in foreign currencies. The U.S. dollar market has remained an important source of funding for Ontario this year, with $2.4 billion issued in U.S. dollars. The remaining foreign currency borrowing has been completed in Australian dollars.

Green Bond Update

In 2014, Ontario successfully launched its Green Bond program with an inaugural $500 million global Canadian-dollar bond. Ontario’s inaugural Green Bond was oversubscribed, with orders of $2.4 billion that far surpassed the size of the bond issue by $1.9 billion. Green investors in Canada, as well as in the United States, Europe and Asia, participated in the deal, bringing new international buyers to the Canadian-dollar market.

The Province plans to issue its second Green Bond before the end of March 2016 and it will be denominated in Canadian dollars.

Commitment to Debt Sustainability

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $324.3 billion as at March 31, 2016 (March 31, 2015, $315.0 billion).

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. It is projected to be $298.3 billion as at March 31, 2016 (March 31, 2015, $284.6 billion). The net debt projection for March 31, 2016, was forecasted to be $298.9 billion in the 2015 Budget, $305.3 billion in the 2014 Budget and $303.9 billion in the 2013 Budget. Accumulated deficit is projected to be $195.0 billion as at March 31, 2016. The projected difference of $103.3 billion between net debt and accumulated deficit is due to the Province’s consistent level of investment in infrastructure, as shown by the increase in tangible capital assets.

Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP and accumulated deficit-to-GDP ratios are levelling off and the government continues to maintain a target of reducing the net debt-to-GDP ratio to its pre-recession level of 27 per cent.

Cost of Debt

The interest rate that Ontario pays on its debt has been in steady decline since 1990–91, when the effective interest rate (on a weighted-average basis) on total debt was 10.9 per cent. As at September 30, 2015, it was 3.7 per cent, unchanged from March 31, 2015, and lower than 3.9 per cent on March 31, 2014.

The global decline in interest rates over the last 25 years cannot continue indefinitely. To protect itself from an increase in interest rates, the Province has continued to extend the term of its debt. Going back to the beginning of fiscal 2010–11, Ontario has issued $52.4 billion of bonds longer than 30 years to lock in low rates. As a result, the weighted-average term to maturity of long-term provincial debt issued has been extended significantly, from 8.6 years in 2008–09 to 14.1 years last year and 16.1 years as at November 10, 2015.

For 2015–16, the impact of a one percentage point change in interest rates on IOD is approximately $400 million for the Province.

Residual Stranded Debt Update

The 2015 annual financial statements of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC) showed revenue over expense of $1.6 billion, reducing the OEFC’s unfunded liability (or “stranded debt of the electricity sector”) from $9.8 billion as at March 31, 2014, to $8.2 billion as at March 31, 2015.

The residual stranded debt is estimated to be about $2.2 billion as at March 31, 2015. This is a decrease of about $0.4 billion compared to residual stranded debt of $2.6 billion as at March 31, 2014, and a decrease of $9.7 billion from an estimated peak of residual stranded debt of $11.9 billion as at March 31, 2004.

The residual stranded debt estimate as at March 31, 2015, is based on a stranded debt amount of $8.2 billion, reduced by the estimated present value of future dedicated revenues to OEFC of $6.0 billion. This results in the calculated $2.2 billion of residual stranded debt as at March 31, 2015.

The Auditor General audits OEFC’s annual financial statements and has provided an unqualified opinion every year since the initial 1999–2000 financial statements.

As confirmed in the Auditor General’s 2011 Annual Report, the Debt Retirement Charge (DRC) is used exclusively by OEFC to meet its mandate, as provided for under the Electricity Act, 1998, which includes servicing and retiring its debt and other liabilities.

Hydro One Initial Public Offering: Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation Debt Paydown

As part of the government’s commitment to using the proceeds from broadening Hydro One ownership for infrastructure investments and paying down debt, proceeds related to the book value of the shares sold and the pre-IPO special dividend payment of $800 million paid by Hydro One to the Province will be used to pay down the Province’s electricity sector debt and other payables. This will allow the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC) to reduce its overall debt, and contribute towards the Province’s targeted $5 billion debt paydown. This debt paydown does not affect OEFC’s stranded debt, as OEFC’s receivables from the Province will be reduced by an equivalent amount.

The OEFC has also received $2.6 billion in departure tax from Hydro One, as Hydro One exited the payments in lieu of tax (PILs) regime with the IPO, and will no longer pay corporate tax PILs to OEFC. The OEFC is also expected to receive an additional $200 million in PILs from Hydro One. The cash PILs payments will allow OEFC to reduce its debt outstanding; however, they will not have a net impact on OEFC’s stranded debt, as the departure tax and incremental PILs amount, as expenses to Hydro One, reduce Hydro One net income, and in consequence, reduce the Province’s Electricity Sector Dedicated Income transfer to OEFC in respect of Hydro One net income.

In addition, as per section 50.3 of the Electricity Act, 1998, the Province will provide OEFC with a financial benefit that will help contribute to reducing stranded debt.

Ending the Debt Retirement Charge

As announced previously, the government is removing the DRC cost from residential users’ electricity bills as of January 1, 2016, saving a typical residential user about $70 per year.

The Electricity Act, 1998, provides for the DRC to be paid by consumers until the residual stranded debt is retired. The residual stranded debt is the stranded debt reduced by the estimated present value of future dedicated revenues to OEFC and it is estimated to be retired when the estimated present value of future dedicated revenues to OEFC is equal to the remaining stranded debt. This means that even after the end of the DRC, there will still be stranded debt remaining, to be serviced and paid down by OEFC’s other dedicated revenues.

At the time of the 2014 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, and as stated in the 2015 Budget, it has been estimated that the residual stranded debt would be retired by the end of 2018. However, the estimated residual stranded debt could extend beyond 2018, to the end of 2019 or later.

The amount and timing for its retirement are subject to uncertainty in forecasting future OEFC results and dedicated revenues to OEFC, which depend on the financial performance of Ontario Power Generation, Hydro One and municipal electricity utilities; the broadening of ownership of Hydro One; and other factors such as interest rates and electricity consumption. The Hydro One IPO will result in upfront benefits to OEFC, as well as the loss of future payments in lieu of taxes from Hydro One and revenues dedicated to OEFC in respect of Hydro One net income.

To address this uncertainty and mitigate cost pressures for non-residential users, the government introduced legislation that, if passed, would end the DRC as of April 1, 2018 — nine months earlier than previously estimated. The fixed end date would provide certainty to commercial, industrial and other non-residential electricity users, and help them plan their investment decisions more effectively.

Chart 3.5: 2015–16 Borrowing

As at November 10, 2015, $20.1 billion of this year’s long-term public borrowing has been completed and consisted of $17.5 billion of Canadian dollar bonds, $2.4 billion of U.S. dollar bonds and $0.1 billion of Australian dollar bonds.

Return to Chart 3.5

Chart 3.6: Net Debt-to-GDP and Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

Net debt-to-GDP ratio is projected to be 40.2 per cent for 2015–16. The net debt-to-GDP is projected to peak at 40.2 per cent in 2015–16. The accumulated deficit-to-GDP is projected to be 26.3 per cent for 2015–16.

Return to Chart 3.6

Chart 3.7: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

As at September 30, 2015, the effective interest rate (calculated as a weighted average) is 3.7 per cent on the Province’s total debt. This is unchanged from the 3.7 per cent in 2014–15 and lower than the 3.9 per cent in 2013–14. The effective interest rate has been steadily decreasing from 10.9 per cent in 1990–91.

Return to Chart 3.7

Chart 3.8: Residual Stranded Debt since April 1, 1999

As at March 31, 2015, the estimated residual stranded debt was $2.2 billion, a decrease of $0.4 billion compared to residual stranded debt of $2.6 billion as at March 31, 2014. This is also a total estimated decrease of $9.7 billion from an estimated peak of residual stranded debt of $11.9 billion as at March 31, 2004.

Return to Chart 3.8

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre III : Perspectives économiques et financières

Section D : Emprunts et gestion de la dette

Les emprunts à long terme de l’Ontario devraient totaliser 30,1 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016. La province s’est engagée à assurer la viabilité de la dette et a prolongé la durée de son programme d’emprunt pour tirer profit des faibles taux d’intérêt. Pour l’exercice 2015-2016, la dette nette et la dette totale devraient se chiffrer à 298,3 milliards de dollars et à 324,3 milliards de dollars respectivement. L’Ontario s’est aussi engagé à aider à établir le marché canadien des obligations vertes et prévoit procéder à sa deuxième émission d’obligations vertes en 2015-2016.

L’Ontario exécute son programme d’emprunt de façon responsable afin de protéger l’intérêt public. Selon les prévisions de l’Ontario, dans l’ensemble, les besoins d’emprunt à long terme pour 2015-2016 ont diminué de 1,0 milliard de dollars comparativement aux prévisions du budget de 2015. Au 10 novembre 2015, la province avait mobilisé 20,1 milliards de dollars, soit 65 % de ses besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour cette année.

L’Ontario, qui est la première province canadienne à émettre des obligations vertes, ouvre la voie à l’établissement et au développement d’un marché des obligations vertes en dollars canadiens auquel participent des investisseurs du monde entier. La province prévoit procéder à sa deuxième émission d’obligations vertes en 2015‑2016.

La dette nette de l’Ontario devrait atteindre 298,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016, soit 0,5 milliard de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2015. La dette nette se chiffrait à 284,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015.

En raison des faibles taux d’intérêt des dernières années, l’Ontario a prolongé l’échéance des titres de créance de son programme d’emprunt. Cela a permis à la province de tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt pour une plus longue période, ce qui réduit les risques de refinancement et aide à neutraliser l’incidence que la hausse prévue des taux d’intérêt aurait sur les futurs coûts liés à l’intérêt sur la dette de la province.

Au début de l’exercice 2010-2011, l’Ontario a émis des obligations d’une valeur de 52,4 milliards de dollars dont l’échéance dépasse 30 ans pour tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt. La moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme contractée a donc été prolongée considérablement, étant passée de 8,6 ans en 2008-2009 à 14,1 ans l’année dernière et à 16,1 ans au 10 novembre 2015.

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

On prévoit désormais que le déficit de la province pour 2015-2016 sera de 7,5 milliards de dollars, comparativement aux 8,5 milliards de dollars prévus dans le budget de 2015. On prévoit que le total des besoins en matière de financement pour 2015-2016 sera de 1,3 milliard de dollars inférieur aux prévisions du budget de 2015.

Les emprunts à long terme contractés par la province en 2015‑2016 devraient totaliser 30,1 milliards de dollars, soit 9,7 milliards de dollars de moins que le montant emprunté en 2014-2015 et 1,0 milliard de dollars de moins que les prévisions pour 2015-2016 indiquées dans le budget de 2015.

TABLEAU 3.18
Programme d'emprunt et perspectives à moyen terme : Province et Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario
(en milliards de dollars)
  2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Budget 2015 Perspect. actuelles Variation en cours d'exercice
Déficit/(Excédent) 8,5 7,5 (1,0) 4,5
Investissement dans les immobilisations corporelles 9,1 9,1 11,3 11,8
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (4,9) (3,1) 1,8 (5,5) (5,6)
Prêts à Infrastructure Ontario 1,1 1,1 0,0 0,5 0,4
Autres prêts/investissements nets 1,0 (0,3) (1,3) 0,3 0,1
Dette arrivant à échéance 21,0 21,1 0,1 21,4 17,5
Remboursement de titres 0,2 0,1 (0,1) 0,1 0,1
Dividendes spéciaux de Hydro One (0,8) (0,8)
Total des besoins en matière de financement 35,9 34,7 (1,3) 32,7 24,4
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (0,1)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (1,7)
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie 0,8 0,8 (0,8)
Emprunts anticipés en 2014-2015 (4,8) (5,3) (0,5)
Total des emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics 31,1 30,1 (1,0) 30,1 24,4
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres qui ont été arrondis.

Au 10 novembre 2015, l’Ontario avait emprunté 20,1 milliards de dollars à long terme sur les marchés publics.

Jusqu’ici cette année, environ 87 % des emprunts ont été contractés en dollars canadiens, principalement par l’entremise d’obligations consortiales. Étant donné la forte demande des obligations de l’Ontario sur le marché du dollar canadien, la province a haussé sa cible d’emprunt en dollars canadiens pour la faire passer à au moins 75 % en 2015-2016 dans le budget de 2015. La cible précédente était de 70 %.

Environ 13 % des emprunts, soit 2,6 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés en devises. Le marché du dollar américain est demeuré une importante source de financement pour l’Ontario cette année, des emprunts de 2,4 milliards de dollars ayant été contractés en dollars américains. Le reste des emprunts contractés en devises l’ont été en dollars australiens.

Mise à jour sur les obligations vertes

En 2014, l’Ontario a mis sur pied avec succès son programme d’obligations vertes en procédant à une première émission d’obligations planétaires en dollars canadiens d’une valeur de 500 millions de dollars. La première Obligation verte de l’Ontario a été sursouscrite, les commandes de 2,4 milliards de dollars dépassant de 1,9 milliard de dollars la valeur de l’émission. Des investisseurs respectueux de l’environnement du Canada ainsi que des États-Unis, de l’Europe et de l’Asie y ont participé, ce qui a amené de nouveaux acheteurs internationaux à prendre part au marché du dollar canadien.

La province prévoit procéder à sa deuxième émission d’obligations vertes, qui sera en dollars canadiens, avant la fin de mars 2016.

Engagement envers la viabilité de la dette

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans y inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 324,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016 (315,0 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015).

La dette nette de l’Ontario équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers. On prévoit qu’elle devrait se chiffrer à 298,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016 (284,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015). La dette nette projetée pour le 31 mars 2016 était de 298,9 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2015, de 305,3 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2014 et de 303,9 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2013. Le déficit accumulé devrait se chiffrer à 195,0 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016. La différence projetée de 103,3 milliards de dollars entre la dette nette et le déficit accumulé est attribuable au niveau constant d’investissements de la province dans l’infrastructure, comme l’illustre l’augmentation liée aux immobilisations corporelles.

Le ratio de la dette nette au PIB et le ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB de l’Ontario se stabilisent, et le gouvernement est toujours désireux de réduire le ratio de la dette nette au PIB pour le ramener au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession.

Coût de la dette

Le taux d’intérêt que l’Ontario paie pour sa dette est à la baisse depuis 1990-1991; le taux d’intérêt effectif (selon une moyenne pondérée) sur la dette totale était alors de 10,9 %. Au 30 septembre 2015, il était de 3,7 %, taux inchangé par rapport à celui du 31 mars 2015 et inférieur au taux de 3,9 % du 31 mars 2014.

La baisse générale des taux d’intérêt des 25 dernières années ne peut durer indéfiniment. Afin de se protéger contre une hausse de ces taux, la province a continué à prolonger l’échéance de sa dette. Au début de l’exercice 2010‑2011, l’Ontario a émis des obligations d’une valeur de 52,4 milliards de dollars dont l’échéance dépasse 30 ans pour tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt. Ainsi, la moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme contractée a été prolongée considérablement, étant passée de 8,6 ans en 2008-2009 à 14,1 ans l’année dernière et à 16,1 ans au 10 novembre 2015.

Pour 2015-2016, une variation de 1 point de pourcentage des taux d’intérêt ferait augmenter ou diminuer l’intérêt sur la dette de quelque 400 millions de dollars pour la province.

Mise à jour sur le reliquat de la dette insurmontable

Les états financiers annuels de 2015 de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SFIEO) indiquent que les revenus sont de 1,6 milliard de dollars supérieurs aux charges, ce qui réduit la dette non provisionnée de la SFIEO (ou « dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité »), pour la faire passer de 9,8 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014 à 8,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015.

Le reliquat de la dette insurmontable est estimé à environ 2,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015. Il s’agit d’une diminution de quelque 0,4 milliard de dollars par rapport au montant de 2,6 milliards de dollars affiché le 31 mars 2014 et d’une réduction de 9,7 milliards de dollars par rapport au sommet estimé à 11,9 milliards de dollars le 31 mars 2014.

Pour établir le reliquat de la dette insurmontable au 31 mars 2015, on a déduit du montant de la dette insurmontable de 8,2 milliards de dollars la valeur estimative actuelle des revenus futurs devant être consacrés à la SFIEO de 6,0 milliards de dollars. On a ainsi obtenu un montant de 2,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015.

Le vérificateur général, qui audite les états financiers annuels de la SFIEO, a émis une opinion sans réserve chaque année depuis la publication des premiers états financiers de 1999-2000.

Comme l’a confirmé le vérificateur général dans son rapport annuel de 2011, la SFIEO utilise uniquement la redevance de liquidation de la dette pour remplir son mandat aux termes de la Loi de 1998 sur l’électricité, qui englobe le service et le remboursement de la dette et des autres passifs.

Premier appel public à l’épargne de Hydro One : Remboursement progressif de la dette de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario

Dans le cadre de l’engagement pris par le gouvernement d’utiliser le produit résultant de l’élargissement de l’actionnariat de Hydro One pour des investissements dans l’infrastructure et le remboursement progressif de la dette, les produits relatifs à la valeur comptable des actions vendues et au versement spécial par Hydro One de dividendes de 800 millions de dollars à la province avant le PAPE serviront à rembourser progressivement la dette et à payer les créditeurs du secteur de l’électricité de l’Ontario. Cela permettra à la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SFIEO) de réduire sa dette globale et de contribuer au remboursement progressif de 5 milliards de dollars de la dette visé par la province. Ce remboursement n’a pas d’incidence sur la dette insurmontable de la SFIEO puisque les sommes que la SFIEO doit recevoir de la province seront réduites d’un montant équivalent.

La SFIEO a aussi reçu 2,6 milliards de dollars en impôts de départ de Hydro One, qui ne participe plus au régime des paiements tenant lieu d’impôt depuis le PAPE et ne versera donc plus de paiements tenant lieu d’impôt des sociétés à la SFIEO. La SFIEO devrait aussi recevoir de Hydro One une somme supplémentaire de 200 millions de dollars en paiements tenant lieu d’impôt. Les paiements tenant lieu d’impôt en espèces permettront à la SFIEO de réduire sa dette active. Ils n’auront toutefois aucune incidence nette sur la dette insurmontable de cette société puisque l’impôt de départ et le montant supplémentaire de paiements tenant lieu d’impôt, qui s’inscrivent au titre des charges de Hydro One, réduisent le revenu net de Hydro One et, par conséquent, réduisent le transfert par la province des revenus dédiés au secteur de l’électricité à la SFIEO relativement au revenu net de Hydro One.

De plus, conformément à l’article 50.3 de la Loi de 1998 sur l’électricité, la province offrira à la SFIEO un avantage financier qui l’aidera à réduire la dette insurmontable.

Fin de la redevance de liquidation de la dette

Comme il l’a annoncé auparavant, le gouvernement retirera la redevance de liquidation de la dette de la facture d’électricité de tous les consommateurs résidentiels au 1er janvier 2016, ce qui permettra à l’abonné résidentiel moyen d’économiser environ 70 $ par année.

La Loi de 1998 sur l’électricité prévoit que la redevance de liquidation de la dette doit être payée par les consommateurs jusqu’à ce que le reliquat de la dette insurmontable ait été éliminé. Ce reliquat représente la dette insurmontable déduction faite de la valeur estimative actuelle des futurs revenus devant être consacrés à la SFIEO et, selon les estimations, devrait être éliminé lorsque la valeur estimative actuelle des futurs revenus dédiés à la SFIEO équivaudra à la dette insurmontable qui reste. Cela signifie que même lorsque la redevance de liquidation de la dette aura pris fin, il restera une dette insurmontable dont le service et le remboursement graduel devront être faits à partir d’autres revenus dédiés de la SFIEO.

Selon ce qui est indiqué dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2014 et dans le budget de 2015, le reliquat de la dette insurmontable devrait être éliminé d’ici la fin de 2018. Toutefois, cette dette pourrait se prolonger au-delà de 2018, jusqu’à la fin de 2019 ou à une date ultérieure.

L’estimation du reliquat de la dette insurmontable et le moment de son élimination sont assujettis à l’incertitude entourant la prévision des futurs résultats de la SFIEO et des revenus devant y être consacrés à l’avenir, éléments qui dépendent du rendement financier d’Ontario Power Generation, de Hydro One et des services publics municipaux du secteur de l’électricité, de l’élargissement de l’actionnariat de Hydro One ainsi que d’autres facteurs tels que les taux d’intérêt et la consommation d’électricité. Le premier appel public à l’épargne (PAPE) de Hydro One procurera des avantages immédiats à la SFIEO et entraînera la perte de futurs paiements tenant lieu d’impôt versés par Hydro One et revenus nets de Hydro One consacrés à cette société.

En raison de cette incertitude et en vue d’alléger les pressions exercées sur les coûts pour les consommateurs non résidentiels, le gouvernement a déposé une loi qui, si elle est adoptée, mettra fin à la redevance de liquidation de la dette le 1er avril 2018, soit neuf mois plus tôt que prévu. Cette date fixe procurerait une certitude aux consommateurs commerciaux et industriels et aux autres consommateurs non résidentiels, ce qui les aiderait à prendre des décisions plus éclairées quant à leurs investissements.

Graphique 3.5 : Emprunts de 2015-2016

Au 10 novembre 2015, la province avait mobilisé 20,1 milliards de dollars pour ses besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics cette année, dont 17,5 milliards d’obligations en dollars canadiens, 2,4 milliards de dollars d’obligations en dollars américains et 0,1 milliard d’obligations en dollars australiens.

Retourner au graphique 3.5

Graphique 3.6 : Ratio de la dette nette au PIB et ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB

On s’attend à ce que le ratio de la dette nette au PIB soit de 40,2 % en 2015-2016. Il devrait atteindre un sommet de 40,2 % en 2015‑2016. On s’attend à ce que le ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB se chiffre à 26,3 % en 2015‑2016.

Retourner au graphique 3.6

Graphique 3.7 : Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

Au 30 septembre 2015, le taux d’intérêt effectif (calculé selon une moyenne pondérée) représentait 3,7 % de la dette totale de la province, tout comme en 2014‑2015. Il s’agit toutefois d’un taux inférieur à celui de 3,9 % en 2013‑2014. Le taux d’intérêt effectif a baissé de façon progressive depuis 1990‑1991, où il s’établissait à 10,9 %.

Retourner au graphique 3.7

Graphique 3.8 : Reliquat de la dette insurmontable depuis le 1er avril 1999

Au 31 mars 2015, le reliquat de la dette insurmontable était estimé à 2,2 milliards de dollars, soit une diminution de 0,4 milliard de dollars comparativement au reliquat de la dette insurmontable qui se chiffrait à 2,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014. Il s’agit aussi d’une diminution estimée à quelque 9,7 milliards de dollars depuis le sommet du 31 mars 2004, où il se chiffrait à 11,9 milliards de dollars.

Retourner au graphique 3.8