2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter IV: Together towards a Stronger Ontario and a Stronger Canada

The challenges facing the federation show the need for a new collaborative approach to federalism. Ontario and the federal government share common goals and values, and the Province is ready to make progress on shared priorities, such as building infrastructure, improving retirement security, tackling climate change, and creating economic growth and jobs, among others. Working with provincial, territorial and Aboriginal partners, Ontario has long embraced a collaborative approach and has continued to take action to enhance quality of life, prosperity and competitiveness.

The Next Chapter in Intergovernmental Relations

The challenges facing the federation in the 21st century underscore the need for a new period of collaboration among Canada’s governments. Uncertain and uneven global economic growth, growing international competition, the dangers of climate change, and the far-reaching impacts of an aging population will require constructive partnerships and forward-looking actions.

Such challenges cannot, and should not, be tackled by one order of government alone — in the Canadian system, the best solutions result from governments working together. Ontarians are ready for a new collaborative approach to federalism in Canada, driven by a set of shared values. Working on many fronts with the federal government, provinces, territories and Aboriginal partners, Ontario is taking the lead to find forward-looking solutions to meet the challenges collectively faced by Canadians.

Forward-Looking Priorities for Ontarians and Canadians

Looking forward, Ontario will work with the federal government on common goals to build up Ontario and Canada.

Canadian Infrastructure Partnership

Governments should work together to collectively invest at a level that will optimize economic growth. The Province has called for a national infrastructure investment target, for example, at five per cent of national gross domestic product (GDP). Ontario looks forward to the realization of the federal government’s commitment to predictable and long-term funding for infrastructure. This would complement Ontario’s infrastructure investments that have placed the country on the path to long-term prosperity, including commitments in the Ring of Fire region.

Retirement Income Security

The retirement savings challenge is an important issue for all Canadians. The Province is ready to work with a new federal partner to strengthen the retirement income system for Ontarians (see Chapter I, Section F: Strengthening Retirement Security).

A National Fight against Climate Change

Ontario is moving ahead, joining many forward-looking jurisdictions of the world through actions such as introducing a cap-and-trade system to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, and working to link Ontario’s carbon market with California’s and Quebec’s under the Western Climate Initiative (see Chapter I, Section G: Tackling Climate Change).

Ontario is ready to work closely with the new federal government on its stated commitment to put forward an ambitious and credible GHG emissions reduction target for Canada, and a plan to achieve it. The Province will look for opportunities for meaningful collaboration at the United Nations Climate Change Conference later this month in Paris.

Ontario also welcomes the new federal government’s focus on ensuring that climate resilience is factored into new infrastructure investments, and that it recognizes the importance of “green infrastructure” in helping not only in mitigating the impacts of climate change but also in maintaining the high quality of life that Ontarians enjoy.

Jobs and the Economy

Ontario is focused on supporting job creation by building an environment in which business can thrive. The federal government has stated its agreement with this approach, and the Province is ready to work with a federal partner to continue to build Ontario up.

International trade agreements can sharpen Ontario’s competitive edge and create jobs by making it easier for businesses to expand into new diversified markets. More specifically, Ontario is looking forward to working with the federal government in reviewing the details of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) and analyzing its implications for Ontario businesses.

The current Labour Market Development Agreement (LMDA) with the federal government supports proven and effective training programs that help Canadians find work, but there is room for improvement. Broader LMDA client eligibility would allow more unemployed Canadians to receive the skills training they need, and increased funding for the LMDA, allocated fairly, would allow governments to better meet the needs of all of Canada’s unemployed workers.

Aboriginal Partners

Ontario is heartened by the federal government’s commitment to a renewed relationship with Indigenous Peoples. The Province remains committed to working with Aboriginal communities in a spirit of collaboration and mutual respect. This has led to historic agreements such as the First Nations–Ontario Political Accord, which commits parties to work together on issues of mutual interest and set a path for further reconciliation. Ontario will work with the federal government as it acts on its promises to make measurable progress on Aboriginal education and clean drinking water, to move forward on the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, and to take action on missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls by calling a national inquiry.

Health Care

Ontario is making the investments necessary to improve and sustain health care services (see Chapter I, Section E: Towards a Fair Society). Federal support through the Canada Health Transfer is a key element of the health care system. Ontario looks forward to working with the federal government to ensure that support is adequate, that it responds to the needs of an aging population, and that it is sustainable over the long term.

Ontario is pleased that the federal government has committed to join the provincial and territorial initiative to negotiate lower pharmaceutical prices, reducing costs and making drugs more affordable. The Province also looks forward to a meaningful national conversation on enhancing access to prescription drugs for all Canadians.

In February 2015, the Supreme Court of Canada struck down the federal law prohibiting physician-assisted dying. Ontario is committed to providing care with compassion and dignity and is leading a provincial–territorial expert advisory group on physician-assisted dying. As provinces and territories have the primary responsibility to provide health care, Ontario will look for opportunities to work with the federal government as it prepares its legislative response.

A true federal partner on health issues could help support investments in innovation and transformation of health care systems, in particular by building on Ontario’s investments in home care and mental health. Ontario looks forward to ongoing collaboration in this critical area for Ontarians and Canadians.

Refugees

Ontario is ready and willing to accept more refugees and help them settle in the province. The government has announced $10.5 million over three years in new funding to support the arrival and settlement of up to 10,000 refugees in Ontario, and for international relief efforts. The Province is ready to work with a committed federal partner to welcome and resettle more refugees.

Other Ongoing Partnerships

Ontario has long embraced a collaborative approach with other provinces and territories and it continues to achieve results, particularly supporting economic growth and prosperity. For example, the Province continues to be a leading voice in the commitment to complete a comprehensive renewal and modernization of the Agreement on Internal Trade by March 2016. Additionally, Ontario and Quebec have agreed to a series of economic roundtables that will identify initiatives that would support business development, strengthen regional economic growth and job creation, and facilitate action on issues related to investment and the environment.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2015
Chapitre IV : Ensemble, vers un Ontario plus fort et un Canada plus fort

Les défis que connaît la fédération démontrent la nécessité d’un nouveau fédéralisme axé sur la collaboration. L’Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral ont des valeurs et des buts communs, et la province est prête à mettre en branle les priorités communes, notamment bâtir l’infrastructure, rehausser la sécurité du revenu de retraite, s’attaquer au changement climatique, stimuler la croissance économique et créer des emplois. De concert avec ses partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones, l’Ontario préconise depuis longtemps une démarche fondée sur la collaboration et il continue de prendre des mesures pour améliorer la qualité de vie, la prospérité et la compétitivité.

Le prochain chapitre des relations intergouvernementales

Les défis que la fédération doit relever au XXIe siècle soulignent la nécessité d’une nouvelle période de collaboration entre les ordres de gouvernement du Canada. L’incertitude et les inégalités qui caractérisent la croissance économique mondiale, la concurrence internationale accrue, les dangers liés aux changements climatiques et l’incidence marquée du vieillissement de la population nécessiteront des partenariats constructifs et des actions prospectives.

De tels défis ne peuvent pas, et ne devraient pas, être pris en charge par un seul ordre de gouvernement – dans le régime canadien, les meilleures solutions résultent de la collaboration entre les gouvernements. Les Ontariennes et Ontariens sont prêts pour un nouveau fédéralisme canadien fondé sur la collaboration et un ensemble de valeurs communes. En travaillant sur plusieurs fronts avec le gouvernement fédéral, les autres provinces, les territoires et ses partenaires autochtones, l’Ontario prend les devants afin de trouver des solutions prospectives pour relever les défis qui touchent l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Priorités prospectives pour la population de l’Ontario et du Canada

L’Ontario travaillera avec le gouvernement fédéral pour atteindre des buts communs afin de favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario et du Canada.

Partenariat canadien sur l’infrastructure

Les gouvernements devraient travailler ensemble et investir collectivement à un degré qui optimisera la croissance économique. La province a demandé une cible nationale d’investissement dans l’infrastructure, par exemple, 5 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) national. L’Ontario espère que le gouvernement fédéral tiendra sa promesse d’accorder un financement prévisible et à long terme pour l’infrastructure. Ce financement s’ajouterait aux investissements de l’Ontario dans l’infrastructure qui placent le pays sur la voie de la prospérité à long terme, notamment son engagement dans la région du Cercle de feu.

Sécurité du revenu de retraite

Le problème de l’épargne-retraite est un enjeu important pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. La province est disposée à travailler avec un nouveau partenaire fédéral pour consolider le régime de revenu de retraite pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens (voir la section F du chapitre 1, Sécuriser la retraite).

La lutte au changement climatique à l’échelle nationale

L’Ontario va de l’avant et se joint aux nombreux territoires du monde tournés vers l’avenir en prenant des mesures comme la mise en place d’un système de plafonnement et d’échange pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) et en joignant le marché du carbone de l’Ontario à celui de la Californie et du Québec dans le cadre de la Western Climate Initiative (voir la section G du chapitre I, S’attaquer au changement climatique).

L’Ontario est prêt à travailler en étroite collaboration avec le nouveau gouvernement fédéral qui s’est engagé à établir une cible de réduction des émissions de GES ambitieuse mais crédible pour le Canada, et un plan pour y parvenir. La province espère avoir l’occasion de faire une contribution utile à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques qui aura lieu à Paris plus tard ce mois-ci.

L’Ontario se réjouit également que le nouveau gouvernement fédéral mette l’accent sur la nécessité de prendre en compte la résilience climatique dans les nouveaux investissements infrastructurels et qu’il reconnaisse l’importance d’une « infrastructure verte » non seulement en contribuant à atténuer les répercussions du changement climatique, mais aussi en maintenant l’excellente qualité de vie dont jouissent les Ontariennes et Ontariens.

Les emplois et l’économie

L’Ontario s’emploie avec détermination à soutenir la création d’emplois en créant un environnement dans lequel les entreprises peuvent prospérer. Le gouvernement fédéral s’est dit d’accord avec cette façon de faire et la province est prête à collaborer avec un partenaire fédéral pour favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario.

Les ententes de commerce international peuvent contribuer à améliorer l’avantage concurrentiel de l’Ontario et à créer des emplois en aidant les entreprises à s’engager dans de nouveaux marchés diversifiés. Plus précisément, l’Ontario envisage avec plaisir la possibilité de travailler avec le gouvernement fédéral et de revoir avec lui les détails du Partenariat transpacifique proposé et d’en analyser les répercussions pour les entreprises ontariennes.

L’Entente sur le développement du marché du travail (EDMT) en vigueur conclue avec le gouvernement fédéral appuie les programmes efficaces et éprouvés de formation qui aident les Canadiennes et Canadiens à trouver du travail, mais il y a place à l’amélioration. Des critères d’admissibilité élargis pour les clients permettraient à un plus grand nombre de Canadiennes et de Canadiens en chômage de recevoir la formation professionnelle dont ils ont besoin et un financement accru réparti équitablement permettrait aux gouvernements de mieux répondre aux besoins de tous les travailleurs du pays qui sont en chômage.

Partenaires autochtones

L’Ontario se réjouit de constater que le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à établir de nouvelles relations avec les peuples autochtones. La province maintient son engagement à travailler avec les communautés autochtones dans un esprit de collaboration et de respect mutuel. Cet engagement a donné lieu à des ententes historiques, comme l’Accord politique entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement de l’Ontario, qui engage les parties à collaborer pour s’occuper des questions d’intérêt mutuel et à établir un plan visant à poursuivre la réconciliation. L’Ontario collaborera avec le gouvernement fédéral lorsqu’il prendra des mesures pour remplir ses promesses de réaliser des progrès mesurables concernant l’éducation et l’eau potable chez les Autochtones, de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et de demander une enquête nationale concernant les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Soins de santé

L’Ontario fait les investissements nécessaires pour améliorer et soutenir les services de santé (voir la section E du chapitre I, Vers une société équitable). Le soutien du gouvernement fédéral par l’entremise du Transfert canadien en matière de santé est un élément crucial du système de santé. L’Ontario se réjouit à l’idée de collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral pour faire en sorte que ce soutien soit suffisant, qu’il réponde aux besoins d’une population vieillissante et qu’il soit viable à long terme.

L’Ontario constate avec plaisir que le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à collaborer avec les provinces et les territoires à une initiative visant à négocier une baisse des prix des produits pharmaceutiques, à réduire les coûts et à rendre les médicaments plus abordables. Il tarde à l’Ontario d’avoir une conversation nationale utile sur l’amélioration de l’accès aux médicaments vendus sur ordonnance pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

En février 2015, la Cour suprême du Canada a invalidé la loi fédérale qui interdit l’aide médicale à mourir. L’Ontario est déterminé à prodiguer des soins avec compassion et dignité et dirige un groupe consultatif provincial-territorial d’experts sur l’aide médicale à mourir. Comme les provinces et les territoires sont les principaux responsables de la prestation des soins de santé, l’Ontario cherchera des occasions de collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral lorsqu’il préparera sa réponse législative.

Un véritable partenaire fédéral concernant les questions de santé pourrait aider à financer les investissements dans l’innovation et la transformation des systèmes de soins de santé, en particulier en faisant fond sur les investissements de l’Ontario dans les soins à domicile et la santé mentale. L’Ontario attend avec plaisir une collaboration continue dans ce secteur crucial pour la population de l’Ontario et du Canada.

Réfugiés

L’Ontario est prêt et disposé à accueillir plus de réfugiés et à les aider à s’établir dans la province. Le gouvernement a annoncé de nouveaux fonds s’établissant à 10,5 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour soutenir l’arrivée et l’établissement de jusqu’à 10 000 réfugiés en Ontario et l’aide humanitaire internationale. La province est prête à travailler avec un partenaire fédéral engagé pour accueillir et établir plus de réfugiés.

Autres partenariats continus

Il y a longtemps que l’Ontario préconise une démarche fondée sur la collaboration avec les autres provinces et les territoires, et il continue d’obtenir des résultats, notamment en soutenant la croissance économique et la prospérité. Par exemple, la province demeure un ardent défenseur du renouvellement global et de la modernisation de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur d’ici mars 2016. En outre, l’Ontario et le Québec ont accepté de tenir une série de tables rondes économiques qui cerneront des initiatives aptes à soutenir le développement des affaires, à renforcer la croissance économique régionale et la création d’emplois, à favoriser la mise en place de mesures sur des enjeux liés à l’investissement et à l’environnement.