Building Ontario Up for Everyone: 2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review banner

: Strengthening Retirement Security for Ontarians

BACKGROUNDER — November 14, 2016

Strengthening retirement security by modernizing workplace pension plans and making available new opportunities for savings are key components of the government’s plan to build Ontario up. Ontario’s leadership in the pursuit of an agreement to enhance the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) will significantly improve retirement security for future generations.

Ontario’s Actions

  • Providing leadership that resulted in the federal government and nine provinces reaching a national agreement on a CPP enhancement that reflects many of the principles and features of the planned Ontario Retirement Pension Plan. The agreement will help Ontarians be more financially secure in retirement by:
    • providing a meaningful increase in future retirement incomes and helping address the retirement savings challenge; and
    • ensuring that workers experiencing temporary periods of low earnings, part-time employment or multiple jobs would benefit.
    • An Ontario worker with steady career earnings of $40,000 per year over a 40-year period would receive an extra $3,185 annually in retirement income from the enhanced CPP.

      a worker earning

      image has the number $40,000

      annually

      contributes

      image has the number + $1

      a day

      receives an extra

      imag has the number + $3,185

      a year in retirement income from CPP enhancement

  • Implementing a framework for Ontario businesses to offer pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs) to their employees, as well as make PRPPs available to the self-employed. PRPPs are a voluntary, low-cost, tax-assisted option to increase retirement savings.

Going Forward

The government will continue to improve the retirement income system for all Ontarians by:

  • Working with governments across the country on the next steps required to implement the agreement to enhance the CPP, which would start in January 2019 and be phased in over a seven-year period to give businesses time to adapt to increased contributions.
  • Consulting with stakeholders through the review of the current solvency funding framework for defined benefit (DB) plans to develop a balanced set of solvency funding reforms that would focus on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security.
  • Engaging with stakeholders on all aspects of a new target benefit multi-employer pension plan framework and considering how it would align with a revised solvency funding framework for DB pension plans before finalizing a new approach.

Favoriser l'essor de l'ontario pour tous bannière

: Améliorer la sécurité de la retraite pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION – Le 14 novembre 2016

La consolidation de la sécurité de la retraite grâce à la modernisation des régimes de retraite d’employeur et l’offre de nouveaux mécanismes d’épargne constituent des éléments clés du plan du gouvernement pour favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario. Le leadership dont a fait preuve l’Ontario en vue de la conclusion d’un accord sur la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) accroîtra considérablement la sécurité de la retraite pour les générations futures.

Actions de l’Ontario

  • Le leadership de l’Ontario a donné lieu à un accord national sur la bonification du RPC, qui a été signé par le gouvernement fédéral et neuf provinces et qui s’inspire d’un grand nombre des principes et des caractéristiques figurant dans le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario prévu. L’accord améliorera la sécurité de la retraite des Ontariennes et des Ontariens en :
    • fournissant une augmentation importante des futurs revenus de retraite et en contribuant à combler l’écart sur le plan de l’épargne-retraite;
    • faisant en sorte que les travailleurs qui connaissent des périodes temporaires de faibles revenus, qui travaillent à temps partiel ou qui occupent plusieurs emplois à la fois puissent bénéficier du régime.
    • Un travailleur ontarien qui gagne un revenu stable de 40 000 $ par année pendant 40 ans recevrait un revenu de retraite supplémentaire de 3 185 $ par année du RPC bonifié.

      Un travailleur gagnant

      l'image a le numéro 40 000 $

      par année

       
      cotise

      image a le numéro + 1 $

      par jour

       
      reçoit

      image a le numéro + 3185 $

      en revenu de retraite par année du RPC bonifié

  • L’Ontario a mis en oeuvre un cadre afin que les entreprises de la province puissent offrir des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) à leurs employés et que les travailleurs autonomes puissent aussi bénéficier des RPAC. Ces régimes constituent une option facultative, à faible coût et bénéficiant d’une aide fiscale pour accroître l’épargne-retraite.

Prochaines étapes

Le gouvernement continuera à améliorer le système de revenu de retraite pour l’ensemble de la population de l’Ontario de la façon suivante :

  • Il travaillera avec les gouvernements de partout au pays sur les prochaines étapes requises pour la mise en oeuvre de l’accord sur la bonification du RPC, qui entrerait en vigueur au mois de janvier 2019 et serait progressivement mis en place sur une période de sept ans afin de laisser le temps aux entreprises de s’adapter à la hausse des cotisations.
  • Il consultera les intervenants durant l'examen du cadre actuel de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées en vue d'élaborer une série de réformes qui seraient équilibrées et axées sur la viabilité et le caractère abordable des régimes ainsi que sur la sécurité des prestations.
  • Il sollicitera la participation des intervenants sur tous les aspects d'un nouveau cadre touchant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles et examinera comment ce cadre s'alignerait sur un cadre révisé en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées avant de mettre la touche finale à une nouvelle approche.