2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Creating Jobs and Building Prosperity for Everyone

Section C: Investing in People’s Talents and Skills

Ontario’s highly educated workforce has long been one of the province’s greatest strengths. To prepare workers for the economy of the future, investments in education and training are critical. By providing Ontarians with the right opportunities and supports, the government is helping more people participate in, and meet the demands of, an evolving knowledge economy. Significant investments in child care and early-years programs are getting more children off to a positive start in their education and making life easier by providing working families with quality, affordable care. A new approach to student financial assistance will make college and university more accessible, with tens of thousands of postsecondary students benefiting from free tuition. An overarching Highly Skilled Workforce Strategy will ensure Ontarians are well positioned to thrive and compete.

2016 Budget: Jobs for Today and Tomorrow

The 2016 Budget announced Ontario’s commitments to move towards an accessible, high-quality child care system, making college or university even more attainable and affordable, and further improving Ontario’s education and skills training system.

Commitments in the 2016 Budget included:

  • Taking steps to modernize the legislative and regulatory framework for child care including strengthening oversight of the unlicensed child care sector and increasing capacity in the licensed child care sector;
  • Creating a single major upfront grant — the Ontario Student Grant — to make the average cost of tuition free for students with financial need from families with incomes of $50,000 or less, and making tuition more affordable for middle-income families;
  • Continuing to modernize and transform employment and training programs and services, as well as implementing the renewed Ontario Youth Jobs Strategy; and
  • Building a high-quality apprenticeship system that protects public and workplace safety and ensures skilled tradespeople are ready to meet labour market demands.

Making Progress

Preschool, Primary and Secondary Education

Child Care and Early Years

Since the 2016 Budget, Ontario has introduced regulations to end fees for child care waitlists to improve the accessibility of child care and make life easier for families. The ban took effect on September 1, 2016, and prevents licensed child care centres and home child care agencies from charging fees or requiring deposits to join child care waitlists.

To meet the demands of a growing and changing province within the next five years, starting in 2017, the government will help create another 100,000 licensed spaces for infants, toddlers and preschoolers. This will double the current capacity for those age groups. Children up to age four will benefit from this mixed approach of school-based, community-based and home-based expansion, which will also help more working families find quality, affordable care. See Section B: Building Tomorrow’s Infrastructure Now in this chapter for more details.

The Province will also work with federal, provincial and territorial partners on a pan-Canadian Early Years and Child Care Framework.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action Responses

In response to the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, the government is working with Indigenous partners, on- and off-reserve, on a broader child care and early-years strategy for Indigenous communities in Ontario.

The government will also expand five existing child and family programs on-reserve in the following communities:

  • M’Chigeeng First Nation;
  • Nibinamik First Nation;
  • Six Nations of the Grand River;
  • Walpole Island First Nation; and
  • Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve.

Ontario will continue to work with Indigenous partners to help increase the number of off-reserve licensed child care spaces and culturally relevant programming for children and families.

Primary and Secondary Education

Math skills and knowledge are critical components of success. Through activities that are practical and relevant to their lives, students develop mathematical understanding, problem-solving skills and related technological skills that they can apply in their daily lives and, eventually, in the workplace. Ontario is providing various resources both inside and outside the classroom to help more students improve their math scores. A number of investments will support students and parents, including:

  • Investing more than $60 million to implement a renewed math strategy, starting in the 2016–17 school year;
  • Requiring teachers in Grades 1 to 8 to spend 60 minutes each day on effective math instruction; and
  • Supporting Homework Help, which provides students in Grades 7 to 10 with free, real-time math tutoring by certified Ontario teachers in all English-language school boards. SOS Devoirs is a similar service for francophone students in Grades 1 to 12.

In addition, Ontario will work with Indigenous partners to ensure the education curriculum provides mandatory content that includes First Nation, Métis and Inuit histories, cultures, perspectives and ways of knowing, as well as the legacy of colonialism, treaties and residential schools.

Postsecondary Education

Making Tuition More Affordable

Ontario is continuing to make postsecondary education attainable for all who qualify, regardless of family income.

The government is transforming student financial assistance. This includes the introduction of the Ontario Student Grant, starting in the 2017–18 school year, which will make average tuition free for over 150,000 postsecondary students. It will also make student assistance more generous for students from middle-income families. For instance, over 50,000 students from families earning
more than $50,000 in annual income will receive increased grants.

The Province will also:

  • Expand financial support for mature and married students;
  • Raise the Ontario weekly assistance maximum levels for individuals and married and sole-support parents; and
  • Increase access to interest-free and low-cost loans for middle- and upper-income families.

Overall, about 250,000 students will have less debt than they would have under the current system, and the maximum Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) debt level will be capped at $10,000 annually for higher-income families.

Ontario consulted with stakeholders, including postsecondary institutions and student groups, on the transformation of OSAP and the implementation of net tuition, and will continue to engage with Indigenous communities and stakeholders on student financial assistance reforms.

The government is also focused on better serving students and improving their interactions with OSAP. Starting in fall 2017, students will be able to apply to colleges and universities and OSAP at the same time through an integrated application process. In early 2018, when students receive their offers of admission, they will also receive a net tuition estimate — meaning they will see their out-of-pocket costs after government and institutional assistance is taken into account — to help students budget and plan for their education costs.

In addition to the OSAP changes, the government will continue to focus on initiatives designed to reduce non-financial barriers for groups with lower postsecondary participation, including low-income students, mature students and students with disabilities.

Strengthening the Postsecondary Education System

The government is continuing to focus on student success and quality outcomes in postsecondary education as the core of its transformation agenda for the sector. This will ensure that Ontario’s colleges and universities continue to provide the best learning outcomes for students who strive to seize the opportunities offered by the knowledge-driven economy.

The Province continues to work closely with its postsecondary partners to design new formulas to fund colleges and universities that will ensure continued student success, support differentiation based on institutional strengths and improve sustainability. Following university funding formula consultations in 2015, the government completed consultations on college funding modernization
in summer 2016.

To ensure sustainability and formally recognize Aboriginal institutes, the Province is developing a standalone policy for Aboriginal postsecondary education and training institutes. This approach will strengthen Indigenous learners’ access to and improve success in postsecondary education and training. As part of its collaborative approach in developing this policy, the government will engage with Aboriginal institutes, Indigenous organizations, postsecondary-education sector stakeholders and other partners.

Ontario is moving forward on its plan to increase access to French-language postsecondary education for Ontario students. In September 2016, the government appointed a Chair for a planning board, which will be exploring options for a French-language university in central and southwestern Ontario.

Employment and Skills Training

The renewed Ontario Youth Jobs Strategy, announced in the 2015 Budget, committed to helping up to 150,000 youth with employment and skills development opportunities. As part of this strategy, Ontario is providing more comprehensive and targeted employment programs and services. In April, Ontario launched:

  • Youth Job Link to help young people aged 15 to 29 plan their careers, prepare for the labour market and connect to job opportunities; and
  • The summer component of Youth Job Connection to provide summer, part-time and after-school job opportunities to high school students aged 15 to 18 who face challenging life circumstances and may need support in transitioning between school and work.

As part of the transformation of employment and training services, the government will test and evaluate emerging program models. The Province will launch SkillsAdvance Ontario in fall 2016, a sector-focused pilot to provide employers with access to job-ready, skilled workers and to offer job seekers sector-focused employment and training services.

The government is investing $3.4 million over two years in the Ontario Bridge Training program to help internationally trained new Ontarians find jobs that match their skills and experience through 11 new bridge training projects. The program helps more than 6,000 newcomers every year with training and support to become registered to work in regulated professions and other high-skilled jobs. It also works with employers to develop resources to help them hire, retain and integrate internationally trained immigrants into the workplace.

Skilled trades play a central role in the Ontario economy. The government created the College of Trades to promote the skilled trades and support high-quality apprenticeship and training programs. The government will introduce amendments to the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009, to strengthen the College of Trades, ensure its sustainability, and increase the effectiveness of its regulatory, enforcement and administrative functions, while giving the skilled trades sector a direct role in its future.

Highly Skilled Workforce Strategy

In June 2016, the government received and accepted the final report of the Premier’s Highly Skilled Workforce Expert Panel, which made recommendations to help the province’s workforce adapt to the demands of a knowledge economy. In response, the Province and its partners are implementing an integrated Highly Skilled Workforce Strategy to bridge education, training and skills development with the demands of an evolving economy.

Ontario’s strategy is focused on making progress on several priority areas, including:

  • Improving labour market information for students, job seekers, workers and employers;
  • Expanding experiential learning opportunities across the education system;
  • Increasing students’ exposure to multiple career pathways, including options such as the arts, science, technology and engineering, entrepreneurship and apprenticeship;
  • Developing a seamless, learner-focused Adult Education System;
  • Investing in workers’ skills through employer-driven workplace training; and
  • Developing skills and competencies needed in the workplace, such as problem-solving, teamwork, entrepreneurship and industry-specific skills.

As part of this work, the Province and its partners will develop projects to help people gain the skills they need to find and keep jobs, and ensure Ontario retains the competitive advantage of having a workforce with the skills that employers want and need.

To implement the recommendations of the Premier’s Highly Skilled Workforce Expert Panel, the government will establish a new Planning and Partnership Table in fall 2016, bringing together employers, educators, labour, government experts and others to guide its strategy, initiatives and projects.

Ontario is entering the next phase of the Labour Market Information Strategy, which will support the implementation of the expert panel’s recommendations to improve the development and delivery of career and labour market information. The government plans to establish a Workforce Planning and Development Office to explore ways to collect better data faster and develop easy-to-use online resources for students, families, employers and organizations.

Labour market agreements between Ontario and Canada support an array of skills training and employment programs for Ontarians. The Province continues to work closely with the federal government to ensure that renewed agreements are better able to meet the training needs of Ontarians. For more information, see Chapter IV: Together Towards a Stronger Ontario and a Stronger Canada.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2016
Chapitre I : Création d’emplois et prospérité pour tous

Section C : Investir dans les talents et les compétences des gens

La main-d’oeuvre hautement scolarisée de l’Ontario est depuis longtemps un des plus grands atouts de la province. Dans le but de préparer les travailleurs pour l’économie de demain, il est crucial d’investir dans l’éducation et la formation. En fournissant aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens les occasions et les soutiens appropriés, le gouvernement permet à plus de personnes d’être partie prenante d’une économie du savoir en évolution et de satisfaire à ses exigences. Des investissements importants dans les services de garde d’enfants et l’éducation de la petite enfance aident plus d’enfants à amorcer leur cheminement scolaire du bon pied et facilitent le quotidien des familles travailleuses en fournissant des services de garde de qualité et abordables. Une nouvelle approche touchant l’aide financière aux étudiantes et aux étudiants rendra les études collégiales et universitaires plus accessibles, alors que des dizaines de milliers d’étudiantes et d’étudiants seront exemptés de payer les frais de scolarité. Grâce à une stratégie générale pour une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée, les Ontariennes et Ontariens seront bien placés pour réussir et être compétitifs.

Budget de 2016 : Des emplois pour aujourd’hui et demain

Dans le budget de 2016, l’Ontario s’engageait à mettre en place un système de garde d’enfants accessible et de haute qualité, à rendre les études collégiales et universitaires encore plus accessibles et abordables, et à améliorer davantage le système d’éducation et de formation professionnelle de l’Ontario.

Les engagements pris dans le budget de 2016 comprenaient ce qui suit :

  • Prendre des mesures pour moderniser le cadre législatif et réglementaire régissant les services de garde d’enfants, notamment en renforçant la surveillance du secteur des services de garde non agréés et en augmentant la capacité dans le secteur des services de garde agréés.
  • Instaurer une subvention majeure unique et immédiate, la Subvention ontarienne d’études, afin d’exempter des frais de scolarité moyens les étudiantes et étudiants ayant besoin d’un soutien financier et venant de familles touchant un revenu de 50 000 $ ou moins, et de rendre les études plus abordables pour les familles à revenu moyen.
  • Continuer à moderniser et à transformer les programmes d’emploi et de formation et mettre en oeuvre la Stratégie ontarienne d’emploi pour les jeunes.
  • Établir un système de formation en apprentissage de haute qualité qui assure la protection du public et la sécurité dans les lieux de travail, et fait en sorte que les gens de métier spécialisés puissent répondre aux demandes du marché du travail.

Progrès

Enseignement préscolaire, primaire et secondaire

Programmes de garde d’enfants et d’éducation de la petite enfance

Depuis la publication du budget de 2016, la province a déposé un règlement visant à supprimer les frais d’inscription aux listes d’attente des services de garde d’enfants afin de rendre les services plus accessibles et de faciliter la vie des familles. L’interdiction est entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2016 et empêche les garderies et les agences de services de garde en milieu familial agréés de demander des frais ou le versement de dépôts pour inscrire un enfant à leur liste d’attente.

Pour répondre aux besoins d’une province en croissance et en évolution au cours des cinq prochaines années, le gouvernement aidera à créer 100 000 nouvelles places en service de garde agréé pour les poupons, les bambins et les enfants d’âge préscolaire au cours des cinq prochaines années à compter de 2017. Ces nouvelles places doubleront la capacité actuelle pour les enfants de ces groupes d’âge. Les enfants de la naissance à 4 ans profiteront de l’expansion des services offerts dans les écoles, dans la collectivité et en milieu familial, ce qui aidera aussi un plus grand nombre de familles travailleuses à trouver des services de garde abordables et de qualité. Pour un complément d’information, voir la section B du présent chapitre, Bâtir l’infrastructure de demain dès maintenant.

La province travaillera également avec ses partenaires du gouvernement fédéral, des autres provinces et des territoires pour élaborer un cadre pancanadien régissant les programmes de garde d’enfants et d’éducation de la petite enfance.

Réponse aux appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada

Pour donner suite aux recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, le gouvernement collabore avec ses partenaires autochtones dans les réserves et hors réserve à l’élaboration d’une stratégie plus large de garde d’enfants et d’éducation de la petite enfance pour les communautés autochtones en Ontario.

Le gouvernement élargira également cinq programmes existants pour les enfants et leur famille offerts dans les réserves dans les cinq collectivités suivantes :

  • M’Chigeeng First Nation
  • Nibinamik First Nation
  • Six Nations of the Grand River
  • Walpole Island First Nation
  • Réserve indienne Wikwemikong Unceded

L’Ontario continuera de collaborer avec ses partenaires autochtones pour accroître le nombre de places dans des services de garde agréés hors réserve et de programmes pertinents sur le plan culturel pour les enfants et les familles.

Éducation primaire et secondaire

De plus en plus, les connaissances et les compétences en mathématiques deviennent des éléments essentiels de la réussite. Grâce à des activités qui mettent en valeur le rôle et l’utilité des mathématiques dans la vie de tous les jours, les élèves acquièrent une compréhension des concepts mathématiques et développent leurs habiletés en résolution de problèmes ainsi que des compétences technologiques connexes qu’ils peuvent mettre en pratique au quotidien et, plus tard, dans l’exercice de leur profession. L’Ontario fournit diverses ressources, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur de la salle de classe, afin d’aider plus d’élèves à améliorer leurs résultats en mathématiques. Un certain nombre d’investissements aideront les élèves et les parents, notamment ce qui suit :

  • Plus de 60 millions de dollars pour mettre en oeuvre une stratégie renouvelée pour l’enseignement et l’apprentissage des mathématiques à compter de l’année scolaire 2016-2017.
  • Enseignement obligatoire des mathématiques pendant 60 minutes chaque jour de la 1re à la 8e année.
  • Soutien au service Homework Help, qui procure aux élèves de la 7e à la 10e année du tutorat en mathématiques, gratuit et en temps réel, par des enseignantes et des enseignants accrédités de l’Ontario dans tous les conseils scolaires de langue anglaise. SOS Devoirs est un service semblable offert aux élèves francophones de la 1re à la 12e année.

En outre, l’Ontario collaborera avec ses partenaires autochtones pour s’assurer que le contenu obligatoire du curriculum met en relief les histoires, les cultures, les perspectives et les savoirs des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits, ainsi que l’héritage du colonialisme, des traités et des pensionnats.

Éducation postsecondaire

Rendre les études postsecondaires plus abordables

L’Ontario continue de rendre l’éducation postsecondaire accessible à toutes les personnes admissibles, quel que soit le revenu de leur famille.

Le gouvernement transforme l’aide financière aux étudiants. Cela comprend l’instauration de la Subvention ontarienne d’études à compter de l’année scolaire 2017-2018, qui dispensera du paiement des frais de scolarité moyens plus de 150 000 étudiantes et étudiants au palier postsecondaire. Elle rendra aussi l’aide financière plus généreuse pour les étudiantes et étudiants provenant de familles à revenu moyen. Par exemple, plus de 50 000 étudiantes et étudiants provenant de familles dont le revenu annuel est supérieur à 50 000 $ recevront des subventions plus élevées.

La province prendra également les mesures suivantes :

  • Élargir le soutien financier pour les élèves expérimentés et les étudiantes et étudiants mariés.
  • Augmenter les niveaux maximums de l’aide hebdomadaire que l’Ontario fournit aux particuliers et aux parents mariés ou seuls soutiens de famille.
  • Améliorer l’accès à des prêts sans intérêt ou à faible taux d’intérêt pour les familles à revenu moyen et supérieur.

Dans l’ensemble, environ 250 000 étudiantes et étudiants auront une dette moins élevée que celle qu’ils auraient en vertu du régime actuel, et le niveau d’endettement maximal dans le cadre du Régime d’aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l’Ontario (RAFEO) plafonnera à 10 000 $ par année pour les étudiantes et étudiants provenant de familles à revenu élevé.

L’Ontario a consulté les parties prenantes, y compris les établissements et les groupes d’étudiants, concernant la réorganisation du RAFEO et la facturation des frais de scolarité nets, et il continuera de consulter les communautés et les parties prenantes autochtones concernant les réformes de l’aide financière aux étudiants.

Le gouvernement s’emploie également à mieux servir les étudiantes et étudiants et à améliorer leur interaction avec le RAFEO. À compter de l’automne 2017, les étudiantes et étudiants pourront présenter leur demande aux collèges ou aux universités et au RAFEO en même temps grâce à un processus de demande intégré. À partir du début de 2018, les étudiantes et étudiants recevront avec leur offre d’admission une estimation de leurs frais de scolarité nets, ce qui leur permettra de déterminer les coûts qu’ils auront à assumer une fois prise en compte l’aide du gouvernement et de l’établissement d’enseignement, et les aidera à budgétiser et planifier les coûts de leurs études.

Outre les modifications apportées au RAFEO, le gouvernement continuera à concevoir des initiatives visant à réduire les obstacles non financiers pour les groupes moins représentés au palier postsecondaire, dont les étudiantes et étudiants à faible revenu, les élèves expérimentés et les étudiantes et étudiants ayant un handicap.

Renforcer le système d’éducation postsecondaire

La réussite des étudiantes et des étudiants ainsi que l’obtention de résultats de qualité au palier postsecondaire demeurent au coeur de la réorganisation du secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire. Les collèges et les universités de l’Ontario continueront ainsi de fournir le meilleur apprentissage aux étudiantes et aux étudiants qui veulent saisir les occasions qu’offre l’économie du savoir.

La province continue de travailler en étroite collaboration avec ses partenaires du palier postsecondaire pour concevoir de nouvelles formules de financement des collèges et des universités pour assurer la réussite continue des étudiantes et des étudiants, favoriser la différenciation fondée sur les points forts des établissements et améliorer la viabilité. Après les consultations sur la formule de financement des universités menées en 2015, le gouvernement a terminé ses consultations sur la modernisation du financement des collèges à l’été 2016.

Pour reconnaître officiellement les établissements autochtones et en assurer la pérennité, la province élabore une politique autonome visant les établissements autochtones de formation et d’éducation postsecondaire. Cette approche permettra à un plus grand nombre d’apprenants autochtones d’accéder à la formation et aux études postsecondaires et de réussir. Dans le cadre de la démarche fondée sur la collaboration qu’il adopte pour élaborer la politique, le gouvernement consultera les établissements et organismes autochtones, les intervenants du secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et d’autres partenaires.

L’Ontario continue de travailler pour accroître l’accès aux études postsecondaires en français pour les étudiantes et étudiants de l’Ontario. En septembre 2016, le gouvernement a nommé la présidente du conseil de planification chargé d’examiner les différentes options pour une université francophone dans le Centre et le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario.

Emploi et formation professionnelle

La Stratégie ontarienne d’emploi pour les jeunes renouvelée, annoncée dans le budget de 2015, vise à offrir à jusqu’à 150 000 jeunes des occasions d’emploi et de formation professionnelle. Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, l’Ontario fournit une gamme plus complète de programmes et de services d’emploi. En avril, l’Ontario a lancé :

  • le Programme d’orientation en matière d’emploi pour les jeunes visant à aider les personnes de 15 à 29 ans à planifier leur carrière, à se préparer pour le marché du travail et à accéder aux occasions d’emploi;
  • le Programme d’accès aux emplois d’été pour les jeunes, une composante du Programme d’accès à l’emploi pour les jeunes, visant à fournir des occasions d’emploi d’été, à temps partiel et après l’école aux élèves du secondaire de 15 à 18 ans dont la situation est difficile et qui ont peut-être besoin de soutien pour faire la transition entre l’école et le travail.

Dans le cadre de la réorganisation des services d’emploi et de formation, le gouvernement mettra à l’essai et évaluera des modèles de programmes en émergence. À l’automne 2016, la province lancera Compétences+ Ontario, un projet pilote sectoriel qui donne aux employeurs accès à des travailleurs qualifiés et prêts à occuper un emploi, et offre aux chercheurs d’emploi des services de formation et d’emploi par secteur.

Le gouvernement investit 3,4 millions de dollars sur deux ans dans le programme de formation relais de l’Ontario pour aider les nouveaux Ontariens et Ontariennes formés à l’étranger à trouver des emplois qui correspondent à leurs compétences et à leur expérience par l’entremise de 11 nouveaux projets de formation relais. Le programme aide plus de 6 000 nouveaux arrivants chaque année, en leur procurant la formation et le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour être autorisés à exercer une profession réglementée ou occuper d’autres emplois hautement spécialisés. Il aide aussi les employeurs à créer des ressources pour embaucher et maintenir en poste des immigrants formés à l’étranger et à les intégrer au lieu de travail.

Les métiers spécialisés jouent un rôle central dans l’économie de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement a établi l’Ordre des métiers pour promouvoir les métiers spécialisés et favoriser la prestation de programmes de formation et d’apprentissage de haute qualité. Le gouvernement déposera des modifications à la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage pour renforcer l’Ordre des métiers, assurer sa viabilité et accroître l’efficacité de ses fonctions de réglementation, d’application et d’administration tout en donnant au secteur des métiers spécialisés un rôle direct dans l’avenir.

Stratégie pour une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée

En juin 2016, le gouvernement a reçu et accepté le rapport final du Comité d’experts de la première ministre pour le développement d’une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée, qui contenait des recommandations pour aider les travailleurs de la province à s’adapter aux exigences de l’économie du savoir. En guise de réponse, la province et ses partenaires mettent en oeuvre une Stratégie pour une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée visant à établir une correspondance entre les programmes d’éducation, de formation et de développement des compétences, d’une part, et la demande au sein d’une économie en évolution, d’autre part.

La stratégie de l’Ontario met l’accent sur la réalisation de progrès dans plusieurs secteurs prioritaires, notamment ce qui suit :

  • Amélioration de l’accès aux renseignements sur le marché du travail pour les étudiantes et étudiants, les chercheurs d’emploi, les travailleurs et les employeurs.
  • Augmentation des possibilités d’apprentissage par l’expérience dans l’ensemble du système d’éducation.
  • Meilleure exposition des étudiantes et des étudiants aux nombreux cheminements de carrière en leur offrant différents choix, comme les arts, les sciences, la technologie et le génie, l’entrepreneuriat et la formation en apprentissage.
  • Établissement d’un système d’éducation des adultes harmonieux et centré sur les apprenants.
  • Investissement dans les compétences des travailleurs grâce à une formation en milieu de travail fournie par l’employeur.
  • Développement des compétences nécessaires dans le milieu de travail, comme la résolution de problèmes, le travail d’équipe et l’entrepreneuriat, et les compétences propres à une industrie.

Dans le cadre de ce travail, la province et ses partenaires élaboreront des projets afin d’aider les gens à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour trouver et conserver leur emploi et pour faire en sorte que l’Ontario conserve l’avantage concurrentiel que représente une main-d’oeuvre qualifiée répondant aux attentes et aux besoins des employeurs. Pour mettre en oeuvre les recommandations du Comité d’experts pour le développement d’une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée, le gouvernement mettra sur pied une nouvelle table de planification et de concertation à l’automne 2016 regroupant, entre autres, des employeurs, des éducateurs, des travailleurs et des experts du gouvernement qui orienteront sa stratégie, ses initiatives et ses projets.

L’Ontario entame la prochaine étape de la stratégie d’information sur le marché du travail qui facilitera la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du Comité d’experts pour améliorer l’information sur les carrières et le marché du travail. Le gouvernement planifie d’établir le Bureau de la planification et du perfectionnement de la main-d’oeuvre pour trouver des moyens de recueillir plus rapidement de meilleures données et d’élaborer des ressources en ligne faciles à utiliser pour les étudiantes et étudiants, leur famille, les employeurs et les organismes.

Les ententes sur le marché du travail conclues entre l’Ontario et le Canada soutiennent un ensemble de programmes d’emploi et de formation professionnelle pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens. La province continue de travailler en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral pour s’assurer que les ententes renouvelées répondent mieux aux besoins en formation des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir le chapitre IV, Ensemble, vers un Ontario plus fort et un Canada plus fort.