2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter I: Creating Jobs and Building Prosperity for Everyone

Section D: Strengthening Retirement Security

With two-thirds of Ontario workers not participating in workplace pension plans and many families worried about how they will maintain their standard of living in retirement, the Province has been taking action. Ontario’s leadership on the national stage helped to facilitate a historic agreement to enhance the Canada Pension Plan in a way that will significantly improve retirement security for future generations. This enhancement is just one component of the Province’s strategy to support Ontarians in retirement. The government is also working to ensure that workplace pension plans are strong and new opportunities for savings are available. The strengthening and modernization of the legislative and regulatory framework for workplace pension plans are underway, with a focus on developing a new framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans and conducting a review of the solvency funding framework for defined benefit pension plans.

The government is committed to ensuring that Ontarians have the tools and resources they need to lead healthy and meaningful lives at all stages, including their retirement years.

Ontarians can take pride in their retirement income security system. The combination of government programs — such as Old Age Security, the Guaranteed Income Supplement and the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) — as well as workplace pension plans and individual savings vehicles, such as registered retirement savings plans, helps Ontarians live with dignity in retirement.

However, the realities of a changing economy present challenges for future retirement security and are already making it increasingly difficult for many to save enough for retirement. Analysis conducted jointly by the federal, provincial and territorial governments found that, without further action, 24 per cent of Canadian families will not have sufficient savings to maintain their standard of living in retirement.1

A number of factors are contributing to this situation.

  • Workplace pension plan coverage has declined. About two decades ago, 58 per cent of Ontario workers did not participate in a workplace pension plan. Today, this has increased to two-thirds, and the situation is worse among younger workers aged 25 to 34, three-quarters of whom do not participate in a workplace pension plan.
  • People are living longer, which means that younger Ontarians will need to save more to have sufficient savings to maintain their standard of living throughout retirement.
  • Low interest rates will make it more difficult for younger Ontarians to achieve, through individual savings, the level of consistent investment returns required to provide for a secure retirement income.

To address these complex challenges, the Province has adopted, and made significant progress on, a multi-pronged strategy that includes:

  • Working with the federal government and the other provinces and territories to enhance the CPP;
  • Strengthening and modernizing workplace pensions;
  • Establishing new opportunities for workplace savings; and
  • Improving consumer protection for individual investors, as detailed in Section A: Fostering a More Innovative and Dynamic Business Environment in this chapter.

Agreement on a Canada Pension Plan Enhancement

Ontario is proud of its central role in achieving a historic agreement among federal, provincial and territorial governments to enhance the CPP.

The CPP has remained largely unchanged for decades.

National discussions about how to enhance the CPP had stalled until 2013, when Premier Kathleen Wynne, as chair of the Council of the Federation, reinvigorated the national conversation. Later that year, tasked by the council to advance work on a CPP enhancement, Ontario Finance Minister Charles Sousa chaired a meeting of his provincial and territorial counterparts that resulted in an agreement on a set of objectives that would underlie a CPP enhancement.

Despite this consensus among provinces and territories to continue the discussions, hopes for a national solution were defeated in December 2013, when the federal government of the day unilaterally shut down discussions.

Faced with an impasse at the national level, Ontario was not prepared to defer taking action.

That is why the Province stepped up to address the retirement savings challenge by announcing in the 2014 Ontario Budget the introduction of a first-of-its-kind provincial pension plan — the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP).

Over the next two years, Ontario worked intensively to develop the ORPP and prepare for its implementation, starting in 2018. These steps included:

  • Passing legislation on the design, funding and governance of the ORPP, including the creation of the ORPP Administration Corporation (ORPPAC), responsible for administering the plan;
  • Undertaking extensive consultations with business, industry groups, pension experts and communities on key design features of the ORPP; and
  • Preparing to put in place the administrative systems needed to ensure that the ORPP would begin collecting contributions, starting in 2018.

At the same time, the Province maintained that an enhancement to the CPP remained its priority and preferred approach.

Ontario’s work in advocating for an improvement to the CPP and in moving forward with the ORPP ensured that CPP enhancement remained on the national agenda. In fall 2015, the new federal government restarted national discussions. The knowledge and analysis Ontario gained from developing the ORPP were invaluable in facilitating an agreement in less than a year.

Without Ontario’s leadership and commitment in addressing the retirement income security needs of future generations, this national agreement would not have been possible. The agreement reflects many of the same principles and features as the ORPP and will significantly improve the future retirement security of hardworking Ontarians by:

  • Providing a meaningful increase in future retirement income that is predictable, paid for life and fully indexed to inflation (see Chart 1.4);
  • Ensuring that workers experiencing temporary periods of low earnings and those engaged in part-time employment and multiple jobs would benefit;
  • Having a timely start date of January 1, 2019, with a seven-year phase-in period to allow businesses time to adapt to increased contributions; and
  • Protecting low-income workers through an enhancement to the Working Income Tax Benefit.

Having successfully achieved Ontario’s preferred approach to address the retirement savings challenge, the Province is proposing to repeal the ORPP-related legislation.

Ontario looks forward to continuing to work with governments across the country on the next steps needed to implement the agreement to enhance the CPP.

Strengthening and Modernizing Workplace Pension Plans

While the CPP enhancement represents an important step forward in retirement income security, workplace pension plans remain an integral part of Ontario’s retirement income system. Ontario will continue to strengthen and modernize the legislative and regulatory framework for workplace pension plans to ensure Ontarians have a robust foundation that supports their retirement savings goals.

Strengthening and modernizing workplace pension plans include wide-ranging initiatives, such as the review of the current solvency funding framework for defined benefit (DB) plans; reforms to encourage innovative and flexible retirement savings tools; and policy development and necessary regulations to allow the payment of variable benefits directly from defined contribution (DC) plans. Given the expansion of the DC market, Ontario will also consider the strengths and weaknesses of the existing DC policy and legislative framework.

In addition, Ontario is taking steps to strengthen the oversight of workplace pension plans. Amendments to the Pension Benefits Act have been introduced that would provide the Superintendent of Financial Services with the authority to levy financial penalties, known as administrative monetary penalties, in the pensions sector. The government has also passed regulations that would make it easier for plan beneficiaries to establish pension advisory committees, starting in 2017.

Solvency Funding Review

In recent years, low long-term interest rates have placed funding pressures on pension plan sponsors of single-employer DB pension plans. To assist sponsors in these challenging circumstances, the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review announced the government’s intention to review the current solvency funding framework. The 2016 Ontario Budget announced further details of the review.

The goal of the review is to develop a balanced set of solvency funding reforms that would focus on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security, taking into account the interests of all pension stakeholders while encouraging sponsors to maintain their DB pension plans. Since initiating the review in fall 2015, the government has engaged in significant consultations with stakeholders. The consultation process has sought feedback through a number of approaches, as well as across all stakeholder groups — including sponsors, unions, members and retirees in both the private and broader public sectors.

Since the 2016 Budget, a stakeholder reference group has been established to ensure that any reforms to the existing framework are informed by a broad range of opinions. Through this group and with the leadership of David Marshall, former president and CEO of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), roundtable discussions were held with a variety of stakeholder groups in spring and fall 2016. Consultations have also taken place with various professional associations and experts.

In July 2016, the government released a consultation paper seeking written feedback from all interested parties on how best to revise the funding framework for DB pension plans in Ontario. Over 90 submissions were received from individuals and stakeholder groups.

The government will continue to consult with affected stakeholder groups throughout the review of the current framework and in the development of any reforms.

Investment Management Corporation of Ontario

The Investment Management Corporation of Ontario (IMCO) is a non-share capital corporation that will provide investment management services to broader public-sector organizations that choose to become members. The IMCO is intended to deliver enhanced risk-adjusted returns to members by providing greater investment economies of scale and facilitating enhanced access to investment opportunities and world-class expertise.

On July 1, 2016, the Province established the IMCO by proclaiming the Investment Management Corporation of Ontario Act, 2015, into force.

In addition, the government appointed the initial members of the IMCO: the Ontario Pension Board (OPB) and the WSIB. With combined investment assets of approximately $50 billion, these two institutions provide the scale to ensure IMCO’s success.

The initial board has been appointed and will be preparing the IMCO for operations beginning in spring 2017.

New Opportunities for Workplace Savings

Target Benefit Multi-Employer Pension Plans

Target benefit pension plans combine features of DB pension plans and DC pension plans. While they “target” a specific benefit level funded by fixed contributions, accrued benefits may be reduced to address funding shortfalls. Many current multi-employer pension plans (MEPPs) share these characteristics. Ontario is developing a framework that will replace the time-limited funding regulations in place for certain MEPPs, known as specified Ontario multi-employer pension plans (SOMEPPs).

In summer 2015, Ontario released a consultation paper seeking input from affected stakeholders on a proposed regulatory framework for target benefit MEPPs, including a permanent exemption from solvency funding requirements. The paper relied on the current regulations for SOMEPPs as the basis for the proposed target benefit MEPP framework. The paper also explored issues surrounding the feasibility of a framework for target benefit MEPPs outside a unionized environment.

While submissions were supportive of a new framework, including a solvency funding exemption, some concerns were raised that certain MEPPs may face challenges transitioning to a new framework and implementing changes in funding rules.

The government remains committed to implementing a framework for target benefit MEPPs based on the SOMEPP regulations, as well as considering how a framework could be applied outside a unionized environment. The Province will continue to engage with affected stakeholders. It will also consider how a new target benefit MEPP framework would align with any changes to the solvency funding framework for DB plans before finalizing a new approach. Any new target benefit MEPP framework would provide a transition period to allow sufficient time for plans to adjust to the new regime.

Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs) are an innovative savings tool intended to be low cost (achieved through a simple design and economies of scale), professionally managed, and portable from one workplace to another.

The government has long been committed to introducing PRPPs as a means of further strengthening Ontario’s retirement income system by providing employees and the self-employed with an additional voluntary tax-assisted savings tool to help increase retirement savings. On November 8, 2016, the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act, 2015, was proclaimed into force, fulfilling the 2014 Budget commitment to introduce a PRPP framework that is broadly consistent with the model introduced by the federal government and that of other jurisdictions.

Ontario supports a harmonized framework for multijurisdictional PRPPs. In June 2016, a multilateral agreement was entered into by jurisdictions with PRPP legislation in force to harmonize the administration and supervision of PRPPs across various jurisdictions. It is anticipated that Ontario will sign on to the agreement and the government is actively working with the signatories to do so at the earliest opportunity. Once the agreement is in effect in Ontario, PRPPs can be made available in the province.

[1] Department of Finance Canada, “Backgrounder: Canada Pension Plan (CPP) Enhancement,” (2016), http://www.fin.gc.ca/n16/data/16-113_3-eng.asp.

Chart Description:

Chart 1.4: Illustrations of Maximum Annual Benefit

This chart illustrates the combined annual current Canadian Pension Plan (CPP) and enhanced CPP retirement benefit levels for three levels of steady career earnings. Benefit collection is assumed to begin at age 65. All figures are rounded and expressed in 2016 dollars.

In retirement, a worker with pre-retirement earnings of $15,000 annually would receive an enhanced CPP benefit of about $1,195 annually for life. Combined with the current CPP benefit, the worker would receive about $4,775 annually for life.

In retirement, a worker with pre-retirement earnings of $40,000 annually would receive an enhanced CPP benefit of about $3,185 annually for life. Combined with the current CPP benefit, the worker would receive about $12,735 annually for life.

In retirement, a worker with pre-retirement earnings of $70,000 annually would receive an enhanced CPP benefit of about $6,815 annually for life. Combined with the current CPP benefit, the worker would receive about $19,925 annually for life.

Return to Chart 1.4

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2016
Chapitre I : Création d’emplois et prospérité pour tous

Section D : Sécuriser la retraite

Vu que les deux tiers des travailleurs ontariens ne participent pas à un régime de retraite d’employeur et que de nombreuses familles se demandent comment elles pourront maintenir leur niveau de vie lorsqu’elles cesseront de travailler, la province est passée à l’action. Le leadership dont a fait preuve l’Ontario sur la scène nationale a contribué à la signature d’un accord historique sur la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada de façon à accroître considérablement la sécurité de la retraite pour les générations futures. Il s’agit là d’un des volets de la stratégie mise en place par la province pour soutenir les Ontariennes et Ontariens durant leur retraite. Le gouvernement s’emploie également à assurer la solidité des régimes de retraite d’employeur et à mettre de nouveaux mécanismes d’épargne à la disposition de la population. Il prend aussi des mesures pour renforcer et moderniser le cadre législatif et réglementaire s’appliquant aux régimes de retraite d’employeur, en s’attardant plus particulièrement à l’élaboration d’un nouveau cadre pour les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles et à l’examen du cadre en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à l’égard des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées.

Le gouvernement est résolu à veiller à ce que les Ontariennes et Ontariens disposent des outils et des ressources dont ils ont besoin pour mener une vie enrichissante et en santé à toutes les étapes, y compris pendant leur retraite.

Les Ontariennes et Ontariens peuvent être fiers de leur système de sécurité du revenu de retraite. Grâce aux programmes gouvernementaux, tels que la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Supplément de revenu garanti et le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), ainsi qu’aux régimes de retraite d’employeur et aux instruments d’épargne individuelle, comme les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite, les Ontariennes et Ontariens vivent leur retraite dans la dignité.

Cependant, les réalités d’une économie en évolution présentent des défis pour la sécurité des prestations de retraite dans le futur, et il devient d’ores et déjà de plus en difficile pour bon nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens d’économiser suffisamment pour la retraite. Selon une analyse menée conjointement par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, 24 % des familles canadiennes n’auront pas suffisamment d’épargne pour maintenir leur niveau de vie à la retraite, si aucune nouvelle mesure n’est prise1.

Un certain nombre de facteurs contribuent à cette situation.

  • Les couvertures offertes par les régimes de retraite d’employeur ont diminué. Il y a environ 20 ans, 58 % des travailleurs ontariens ne participaient pas à un régime de retraite d’employeur. Aujourd’hui, cette proportion est passée à deux tiers, et la situation est pire chez les jeunes travailleurs de 25 à 34 ans, dont les trois quarts ne participent à aucun régime de retraite d’employeur.
  • Les gens vivent plus longtemps, ce qui signifie que les Ontariennes et Ontariens plus jeunes devront économiser davantage pour accumuler une épargne suffisante pour maintenir leur niveau de vie tout au long de leur retraite.
  • En raison des faibles taux d’intérêt, il sera de plus en plus difficile pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens plus jeunes d’atteindre, par l’entremise de l’épargne personnelle, les rendements stables dont ils ont besoin pour sécuriser leur revenu de retraite.

Pour faire face à ces enjeux complexes, la province a adopté et fait considérablement progresser une stratégie à plusieurs volets qui comprend :

  • collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral, les autres provinces et les territoires pour bonifier le RPC;
  • renforcer et moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur;
  • offrir de nouvelles possibilités d’épargne salariale;
  • améliorer la protection des investisseurs particuliers, comme il est expliqué en détail à la section A, Promouvoir un climat d’affaires plus innovateur et dynamique, du présent chapitre.

Accord sur une bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada

La province de l’Ontario est fière du rôle central qu’elle a joué dans le cadre de l’accord historique sur la bonification du RPC conclu entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Le RPC n’a pratiquement pas changé depuis des décennies.

Les discussions nationales sur la façon de bonifier le RPC s’étaient enlisées jusqu’à ce qu’en 2013, la première ministre Kathleen Wynne, à titre de présidente du Conseil de la fédération, a relancé le débat national. Plus tard cette année-là, le ministre ontarien des Finances, Charles Sousa, chargé par le Conseil de faire avancer les travaux sur la bonification du RPC, a présidé une réunion regroupant ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux. Cette rencontre a abouti à un accord sur un ensemble d’objectifs devant servir de base à la bonification du RPC.

En dépit de ce consensus entre les provinces et les territoires quant à la poursuite des discussions, l’espoir de trouver une solution nationale a été anéanti en décembre 2013, lorsque le gouvernement fédéral de l’époque a mis unilatéralement un terme aux discussions.

Devant l’impasse au niveau national, l’Ontario n’était pas prêt à remettre à plus tard les mesures qui s’imposent. C’est pourquoi la province est intervenue pour s’attaquer au problème de l’épargne retraite, en annonçant dans son budget de 2014 l’instauration du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO), le premier régime de retraite provincial du genre.

Au cours des deux années suivantes, l’Ontario a travaillé sans relâche pour élaborer le RRPO et préparer sa mise en oeuvre dès 2018, notamment :

  • en adoptant une loi sur la structure, le financement et la gouvernance du RRPO, y compris la création de la Société d’administration du RRPO, chargée d’administrer le régime;
  • en procédant à de vastes consultations auprès des entreprises, des groupes sectoriels, des spécialistes en régimes de retraite et des collectivités sur les principales caractéristiques du RRPO;
  • en se préparant à mettre en place les systèmes administratifs nécessaires pour garantir la collecte des cotisations dès 2018.

En même temps, la province maintenait qu’une bonification du RPC demeurait sa priorité et l’approche qu’elle privilégiait.

Le travail accompli par l’Ontario en faveur de l’amélioration du RPC et pour faire avancer le RRPO a fait en sorte que la bonification du RPC demeure à l’ordre du jour du programme national. À l’automne 2015, le nouveau gouvernement fédéral a relancé les discussions nationales. Les connaissances acquises et les analyses effectuées par l’Ontario dans le cadre de l’élaboration du RRPO se sont révélées d’une aide inestimable pour faciliter la conclusion d’un accord en moins d’un an.

Sans le leadership et l’engagement de la province de l’Ontario en vue d’assurer la sécurité du revenu des générations futures, cet accord national n’aurait pas été possible. S’inspirant d’un grand nombre des principes et des caractéristiques qui se retrouvent dans le RRPO, l’accord améliorera considérablement la sécurité de la retraite des vaillants travailleurs ontariens grâce aux éléments suivants :

  • hausse appréciable des futurs revenus de retraite, de façon prévisible et au moyen de prestations viagères entièrement indexées à l’inflation (voir le graphique 1.4);
  • couverture des travailleurs qui connaissent des périodes temporaires de faibles revenus, qui travaillent à temps partiel ou qui occupent plusieurs emplois à la fois;
  • entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019, suivie d’une période de mise en place progressive de sept ans afin de laisser le temps aux entreprises de s’adapter à la hausse des cotisations;
  • protection des travailleurs à faible revenu par la bonification de la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail.

Étant parvenue à adopter l’approche qu’elle privilégiait pour s’attaquer aux problèmes d’épargne-retraite, la province propose d’abroger la loi relative au RRPO.

L’Ontario se réjouit à l’idée de poursuivre la collaboration avec les divers gouvernements au pays en vue de la mise en oeuvre de l’accord sur la bonification du RPC.

Renforcer et moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeurs

Même si la bonification du RPC représente une étape importante en vue de sécuriser la retraite, les régimes d’employeur continuent de faire partie intégrante du système de revenu de retraite de l’Ontario. L’Ontario continuera de renforcer et de moderniser le cadre législatif et réglementaire des régimes d’employeur pour veiller à ce que la population dispose de solides fondations à l’appui de ses objectifs d’épargne-retraite.

Un large éventail d’initiatives ont été mises en place afin de renforcer et de moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur, dont l’examen du cadre actuel de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à l’égard des régimes à prestations déterminées. Cela englobe aussi des réformes visant à encourager l’utilisation d’instruments d’épargne-retraite innovateurs et souples, ainsi que l’établissement de politiques et de règles pour permettre le versement de prestations variables directement à partir de régimes à cotisations déterminées. Vu l’expansion du marché des régimes à cotisations déterminées, l’Ontario examinera également les forces et les faiblesses de la politique applicable à ces régimes et du cadre législatif afférent.

Par ailleurs, l’Ontario prend des mesures pour accroître la surveillance des régimes de retraite d’employeur. Il a proposé des modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, qui donneraient au surintendant des services financiers le pouvoir d’imposer des sanctions financières, aussi appelées sanctions pécuniaires administratives, dans le secteur des régimes de retraite. Le gouvernement a également adopté des règlements qui permettraient aux bénéficiaires de régimes de mettre sur pied, dès 2017, des comités consultatifs des régimes de retraite.

Examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Ces dernières années, la persistance des faibles taux d’intérêt a exercé des pressions sur la situation de capitalisation des promoteurs de régimes de retraite à employeur unique. Afin d’aider les promoteurs dans ce contexte difficile, il a été annoncé dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015 que le gouvernement avait l’intention d’examiner le cadre en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité. Plus de détails sur l’examen ont été annoncés dans le budget de 2016 de l’Ontario.

L’examen vise à proposer une série de réformes en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité qui seraient équilibrées et axées sur la viabilité et le caractère abordable des régimes ainsi que sur la sécurité des prestations, et qui tiendraient compte des intérêts des différents intervenants du secteur des régimes de retraite tout en encourageant les promoteurs à conserver leurs régimes à prestations déterminées. Depuis le début de l’examen à l’automne 2015, le gouvernement a mené d’importantes consultations dans le but d’obtenir des commentaires par diverses méthodes et auprès de tous les groupes d’intervenants, incluant les promoteurs, les syndicats, les participants à un régime de retraite et les retraités, tant du secteur privé que parapublic.

Depuis le budget de 2016, un groupe de référence des intervenants a été mis en place pour assurer que toute réforme du cadre actuel repose sur un large éventail d’opinions. Par l’entremise de ce groupe et sous la direction de David Marshall, ancien président-directeur général de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT), des tables rondes ont été organisées avec divers groupes d’intervenants, au printemps et à l’automne 2016. D’autres consultations ont eu lieu avec divers experts et associations professionnelles.

En juillet 2016, le gouvernement a rendu public un document de consultation dans le but d’obtenir des commentaires écrits de toutes les parties intéressées sur la meilleure façon de réviser le cadre de capitalisation à l’égard des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées en Ontario. Plus de 90 commentaires ont été reçus de la part de particuliers et de groupes d’intervenants.

Le gouvernement continuera de consulter tous les groupes d’intervenants concernés tout au long du processus d’examen et de l’élaboration de réformes.

Société ontarienne de gestion des placements

La Société ontarienne de gestion des placements (SOGP) est une société sans capital-actions qui offrira ses services aux organismes du secteur parapublic qui choisissent d’en devenir membres. Elle a pour but d’offrir à ses membres des rendements ajustés au risque supérieurs, en apportant une plus grande économie d’échelle en matière de placement et en facilitant l’accès à des occasions d’investissement et à une expertise de calibre mondial.

Le 1er juillet 2016, la province a créé la SOGP en proclamant la Loi de 2015 sur la Société ontarienne de gestion des placements.

En outre, le gouvernement a nommé les membres initiaux de la SOGP : la Commission du Régime de retraite de l’Ontario (CRRO) et la CSPAAT. Compte tenu de leurs actifs combinés de quelque 50 milliards de dollars, ces deux organismes offrent l’envergure requise pour assurer la réussite de la SOGP.

Le conseil d’administration initial a été nommé et se prépare à démarrer les activités de la SOGP au printemps 2017.

Nouvelles possibilités d’épargne salariale

Régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles

Les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles combinent les caractéristiques des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et de ceux à cotisations déterminées. Même s’ils visent un niveau de prestations précis capitalisé par des cotisations fixes, les prestations peuvent être réduites pour faire face à tout déficit de solvabilité de la caisse de retraite. Beaucoup de régimes de retraite interentreprises (RRI) ont ces caractéristiques. La province élabore actuellement un cadre qui remplacera les règlements sur le financement d’une durée d’application limitée qui régissent actuellement certains RRI, appelés régimes de retraite interentreprises ontariens déterminés (RRIOD).

Au cours de l’été 2015, l’Ontario a rendu public un document de consultation sur le cadre de réglementation proposé à l’égard des RRI à prestations cibles, y compris sur une exemption permanente des exigences de capitalisation du déficit, et a sollicité la rétroaction des intervenants concernés. Ce document s’appuyait sur la réglementation actuelle des RRIOD comme base du cadre proposé pour les RRI à prestations cibles. Le document explorait également les questions relatives à la faisabilité d’un cadre de réglementation des RRI à prestations cibles en dehors d’un milieu de travail syndiqué.

Si les commentaires reçus étaient favorables à un nouveau cadre de réglementation, notamment l’exemption des exigences de capitalisation du déficit, certaines préoccupations ont été soulevées concernant les difficultés que pourraient éprouver certains RRI lors du passage à un nouveau cadre et de la mise en oeuvre de modifications aux règles de capitalisation.

Le gouvernement est résolu à mettre en oeuvre un cadre de réglementation des RRI à prestations cibles basé sur celui des RRIOD, ainsi qu’à examiner la manière dont on pourrait appliquer un cadre de réglementation en dehors d’un milieu de travail syndiqué. La province continuera de consulter les intervenants concernés. Elle étudiera également la compatibilité d’un nouveau cadre de réglementation des RRI à prestations cibles avec toute modification au cadre de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées avant de mettre au point une nouvelle approche. Tout nouveau cadre de réglementation des RRI à prestations cibles prévoirait une période de transition pour laisser suffisamment de temps aux régimes pour s’adapter au nouveau système.

Régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Outil d’épargne innovateur, les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) sont offerts à peu de frais (grâce à une structure simple et aux économies d’échelle), gérés par des professionnels et transférables d’un emploi à l’autre.

Le gouvernement préconise depuis longtemps l’instauration des RPAC pour renforcer le système de revenu de retraite de l’Ontario en offrant aux employés et aux travailleurs autonomes un autre outil d’épargne facultative assortie d’une aide fiscale pour les aider à accroître leur épargne-retraite. Le 8 novembre 2016, la Loi de 2015 sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs a été proclamée, respectant ainsi l’engagement pris dans le budget de 2014 de présenter un cadre régissant les RPAC, qui correspond globalement au modèle instauré par le gouvernement fédéral et à celui d’autres provinces et territoires.

La province est favorable à un cadre harmonisé pour les RPAC relevant de plus d’une autorité législative. En juin 2016, un accord multilatéral a été conclu avec des territoires de compétence où la législation sur les RPAC est déjà en vigueur afin d’en harmoniser l’administration et la supervision. On s’attend à ce que l’Ontario signe l’accord, et le gouvernement travaille en collaboration avec les signataires afin que cela se concrétise le plus rapidement possible. Dès que l’accord sera en vigueur en Ontario, les RPAC pourront être offerts dans la province.

[1] Ministère des Finances du Canada, Document d’information sur la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), 2016, http://www.fin.gc.ca/n16/data/16-113_3-fra.asp.

Description des graphiques

Graphique 1.4 : Illustrations des prestations annuelles maximales

Ce graphique illustre les niveaux combinés de prestations de retraite annuelles du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) actuel et de celles du RPC bonifié pour trois niveaux de revenus de carrière constants. On suppose que le versement des prestations commence à 65 ans. Tous les chiffres sont arrondis et exprimés en dollars de 2016.

À la retraite, un travailleur dont le revenu avant retraite s’élevait à 15 000 $ par an recevrait une prestation viagère d’environ 1 195 $ du RPC bonifié. En combinaison avec la prestation du RPC actuelle, le travailleur recevrait environ 4 775 $ par an à vie.

À la retraite, un travailleur dont le revenu avant retraite s’élevait à 40 000 $ par an recevrait une prestation viagère d’environ 3 185 $ du RPC bonifié. En combinaison avec la prestation du RPC actuelle, le travailleur recevrait environ 12 735 $ par an à vie.

À la retraite, un travailleur dont le revenu avant retraite s’élevait à 70 000 $ par an recevrait une prestation viagère d’environ 6 815 $ du RPC bonifié. En combinaison avec la prestation du RPC actuelle, le travailleur recevrait environ 19 925 $ par an à vie.

Retourner au graphique 1.4