2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter II: A Balanced Path to a Balanced Budget

Section B: Transforming Government and Managing Costs

Ontarians expect the government to deliver services in a modern and efficient manner. By collaborating across ministries, the Province is taking a coordinated approach to ensuring that programs are effective, sustainable and meeting the needs of Ontarians. This approach is improving how programs are delivered and identifying how resources can be reallocated to priority areas, such as health care and education. Transforming services and managing compensation in a prudent manner is part of the government’s ongoing plan to achieve a balanced budget.

Program Review, Renewal and Transformation

Program Review, Renewal and Transformation (PRRT) is Ontario’s ongoing fiscal planning and expenditure management approach. Through cross-ministry collaboration, the government is taking focused action on major transformation and efficiency initiatives that will improve outcomes for Ontarians, ensure programs are effective and sustainable, and help free up resources to reinvest in key priorities, such as health care and education.

Program Review, Renewal and Transformation focuses on evidence-based decision-making to improve how planned outcomes are identified and achieved across government. This means redesigning policies to support greater efficiency and cooperation within government, modernizing program delivery, and changing or ending programs that no longer meet people’s needs.

Program Effectiveness and Sustainability

Improved, Better-Targeted Postsecondary Student Financial Assistance

Today, more Ontario students are graduating from postsecondary programs than ever before, but some youth hesitate to aspire to a college or university education because they worry about tuition and other costs, or graduating with debt from student loans. Beginning in September 2017, the Ontario Student Grant (OSG) will help the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) empower more students to seek an advanced education based on their abilities and potential, not their family’s income. For more details on the new OSAP program, see Chapter I, Section C: Investing in People’s Talents and Skills.

The tuition and education tax credits will be discontinued. All of the additional revenue from eliminating these tax credits will be reinvested to support the new OSG or other postsecondary, education, training and youth job programs. Grants are more effective than tax credits at targeting financial support to students with the greatest need and providing support upfront.

Tax Expenditures

As of January 1, 2017, the government is ending the Healthy Homes Renovation Tax Credit and Children’s Activity Tax Credit because they do not effectively achieve desired outcomes and overlap with support provided through other provincial programs.

Government Modernization

Digital Government

Ontario is fundamentally rethinking how it designs and delivers public services. Work is well underway on developing a Digital Government Action Plan that will unveil a vision for transforming government services online so that people can connect anytime, anywhere, on any device. The plan will build on public consultations and dialogue, and will serve as a public road map for Ontario’s digital transformation. As part of this transformation, in 2017, the Province will open a new digital outpost at Communitech in Kitchener, enabling government access to non-traditional approaches to service delivery and high-performing digital talent.

In alignment with its digital vision, the Province remains committed to delivering more tax- and benefit-related services electronically, to ensure greater access. Since the 2016 Budget, the government has made progress on developing an electronic service delivery model and introduced key initiatives, including expanding the availability of direct deposit so more individuals and businesses can receive their tax rebates, refunds and payments faster. Implementation will begin in December and continue through to summer 2017.

Modernizing Information and Information Technology

In the 2016 Budget, Ontario announced that it would improve information and information technology (IT) productivity and cost efficiency to achieve $100 million in annual savings by 2020. The government has already exceeded its 2016–17 savings target by improving the management of IT applications and infrastructure, collaborating with the broader public sector (BPS) and working with software vendors to achieve reductions in contract costs.

Initial steps have also been taken to improve IT productivity and achieve planned 2017–18 savings. These include creating a single Ontario Public Service (OPS) enterprise service management group to improve internal IT service delivery, and better managing common contracts to reduce the cost of IT software and services. The government is also continuing to reduce its reliance on fee-for-service resources, with plans underway to reduce the use of external consultants, resulting in an increase of 96 permanent OPS IT positions. This is expected to achieve $4 million in annual savings by 2018–19.

Behavioural Insights Unit

Following the 2015 announcement of the creation of a new Centre of Excellence for Evidence-Based Decision Making, Ontario continues to build its capacity to assess how programs are performing, using evidence to inform choices and lead change in critical public services. Increasingly, the government is using evidence to select, fund and operate public programs more strategically. Defining outcomes and monitoring performance are essential to transforming and modernizing government processes.

At the same time, Ontario announced the creation of the Behavioural Insights Unit (BIU) to assess programs and offer low-cost ways to improve them. Applying a behavioural lens to policies and programs will create more efficient processes, improve outcomes and deliver better services to Ontarians.

The BIU has established relationships with key partners and launched several pilot projects designed to test the impact of behavioural science insights to improve outcomes for Ontarians.

The BIU will continue to work with its pilot partners, including the Poverty Reduction Strategy Office, Employment and Social Development Canada, Cancer Care Ontario and Ontario Ministry of Finance, to design and implement policies and programs that are more effective, efficient and human-centric.

Transfer Payment Administration Modernization

The Province is simplifying how transfer payments are managed to support a more modern, efficient and effective government. These changes will simplify processes for both transfer payment recipients and government staff, allowing them to spend less time on administration. As a first step, this fall, the Province is implementing a “one-window” common registration system that will help transfer payment recipients easily submit and update information online.

Managing Compensation

The 2016 Budget reaffirmed the government’s commitment to balancing the budget by 2017–18 and confirmed that compensation costs remain a key element of achieving this goal.

The public service plays an important part in supporting the delivery of the government’s commitments and key priorities. As such, it is necessary to recognize its role through a consistent and coordinated approach to compensation that fosters a positive relationship between the Province and its public-sector partners. To this end, the government will continue to provide effective and affordable public services, while recognizing the need for fair compensation. A strong labour relations framework will provide stability, improve the quality of public services that Ontarians rely on and support the government’s transformational agenda.

The government is committed to working with public-sector bargaining agents to negotiate fair collective agreements that consider recent macroeconomic and labour market trends. Moving forward, the Province expects current modest public-sector wage trends to continue, with outcomes that are consistent with the fiscal plan.

Since July 2012, public-sector negotiated agreements have included average annual negotiated wage increases that are lower than those in the private sector. Specifically, the Ontario provincial public-sector negotiated wage increases in which the government has been directly involved have been significantly lower than in all other sectors.

TABLE 2.1
Average Annual Negotiated Wage Increase in Ontario
Sectors Per Cent Increase
(July 2012 to September 2016)
Provincial Public Sector 0.6
Municipal Public Sector 1.7
Federal Public Sector 1.7
Private Sector 1.9
Sources: Ontario Treasury Board Secretariat and Ontario Ministry of Labour.

The 2016 Budget highlighted the collective agreements that had been reached with the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU), which applied to all OPS members. Since then, the Province has also reached an agreement with the Professional Engineers Government of Ontario. The Province also recently received an interest arbitration award for the Ontario Provincial Police Association, which provides outcomes below police-sector norms.

Since the 2016 Budget, a number of government agencies, including the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation and Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, have also negotiated agreements consistent with the Province’s fiscal framework.

Going forward, emphasis will be placed on a collective bargaining process that supports transformational and modernization priorities and recognizes employees’ needs. Managing compensation in a fiscally prudent manner, together with promoting service transformation, will help the government make progress on its commitment to a balanced budget by 2017–18, and continue to deliver high-quality public services that are efficient, effective and sustainable.

Accountability and Transparency

The government continues to demonstrate its strong commitment to fully transparent financial reporting, which is a key element to delivering on accountability for the use of public funds.

Pensions Accounting

In preparing the Public Accounts of Ontario 2015–2016, the Province’s professional accounting staff and the Auditor General’s Office engaged in discussions about the appropriate interpretation of public-sector accounting standards in relation to pension accounting for jointly sponsored pension plans. The Province’s interpretation of the standards had been applied consistently since they were first implemented 15 years ago.

The government adopted the Auditor General’s accounting interpretation for the treatment of net pension assets for 2015–16 through a time-limited regulatory amendment (the “Pension Adjustment”).

The impact of the change resulted in an additional $10.7 billion being added to the net debt and accumulated deficit and an increase of $1.5 billion to the annual deficit for 2015–16.

Consistent with the accounting treatment adopted in the Public Accounts of Ontario 2015–2016, the medium-term fiscal outlook provided in this document also reflects a cautious approach to forecasting the projected Pension Adjustment in each year. This cautious approach to forecasting the Pension Adjustment results in an estimated potential impact of $2.2 billion in 2016–17, $2.8 billion in 2017–18 and $3.7 billion in 2018–19.

The government has established a Pension Asset Expert Advisory Panel to assess the interpretation of public-sector accounting standards as related to Ontario’s pension plans. The panel will also provide advice on how to value pension assets reported on the Province’s books, taking into account future decisions that might be made by the plans’ sponsors. Specifically, the panel will help to inform the amount of net pension assets that should be reflected on the Province’s financial statements if there is concurrence that the asset should be recognized. A net pension asset arises when the government’s total contributions to a plan, including interest earned, are greater than the pension expense recognized since the start of the plan.

The Panel’s recommendations will help inform the development of the 2017 Budget and the Province’s future accounting treatment for net pension assets.

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2016
Chapitre II : Un cheminement raisonnable vers un budget équilibré

Section B : Réorganiser le gouvernement et gérer les coûts

La population de l’Ontario s’attend à ce que le gouvernement fournisse des services en ayant recours à des moyens modernes et efficients. Grâce à une collaboration entre les ministères, la province adopte une approche coordonnée pour faire en sorte que les programmes soient efficaces et viables, et qu’ils répondent aux besoins des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. Cette approche permet d’améliorer la prestation des programmes et de déterminer la façon de réaffecter les ressources aux secteurs prioritaires, tels que les soins de santé et l’éducation. La réorganisation des services et la gestion de la rémunération en faisant preuve de prudence font partie du plan permanent du gouvernement visant à équilibrer le budget.

Examen, renouvellement et réorganisation des programmes

Le Processus d’examen, de renouvellement et de réorganisation des programmes (ERRP) est l’approche permanente adoptée par l’Ontario pour la planification financière et la gestion des dépenses. Grâce à une collaboration interministérielle, le gouvernement prend des mesures ciblées relativement à d’importantes initiatives de réorganisation et d’efficience qui amélioreront les résultats pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens, feront en sorte que les programmes soient efficaces et viables, et contribueront à libérer des ressources à réinvestir dans des secteurs prioritaires, comme la santé et l’éducation.

Le processus ERRP met l’accent sur la prise de décisions fondées sur des données probantes pour mieux déterminer les résultats visés et les façons de les atteindre à l’échelle du gouvernement. À cette fin, il est nécessaire de remanier des politiques pour favoriser une efficience et une coopération accrues au sein du gouvernement, de moderniser la prestation des programmes et de modifier ou d’annuler des programmes qui ne répondent plus aux besoins des gens.

Efficacité et viabilité des programmes

Aide financière améliorée et mieux ciblée pour les étudiantes et étudiants du palier postsecondaire

Le nombre d’étudiantes et d’étudiants ontariens obtenant un diplôme d’études postsecondaires n’a jamais été aussi élevé, mais certains jeunes hésitent à poursuivre des études collégiales ou universitaires parce qu’ils s’inquiètent des frais de scolarité et des autres coûts à assumer, ou qu’ils craignent de s’endetter à cause des prêts étudiants. À compter de septembre 2017, grâce à la Subvention ontarienne d’études (SOE), le Régime d’aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l’Ontario (RAFEO) permettra à un plus grand nombre de jeunes de poursuivre des études postsecondaires s’ils en ont les habiletés et le potentiel, peu importe le revenu familial. Pour plus de détails sur le nouveau RAFEO, voir la section C du chapitre I, Investir dans les talents et les compétences des gens.

Les crédits d’impôt pour les frais de scolarité et l’éducation seront annulés. Tous les revenus supplémentaires découlant de cette mesure seront réinvestis en vue d’appuyer la nouvelle SOE ou d’autres programmes d’études postsecondaires, d’éducation et de formation, et d’emplois pour les jeunes. Les subventions sont plus efficaces que les crédits d’impôt pour offrir un soutien financier immédiat aux étudiantes et étudiants ayant les plus grands besoins.

Dépenses fiscales

Au 1er janvier 2017, le gouvernement mettra fin au crédit d’impôt pour l’aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être et au crédit d’impôt pour les activités des enfants parce qu’ils ne donnent pas les résultats escomptés, de façon efficace, et font double emploi avec un soutien offert par d’autres programmes provinciaux.

Modernisation interne du gouvernement

Gouvernement numérique

L’Ontario est fondamentalement en train de repenser la façon dont il conçoit et dispense les services publics. L’élaboration du Plan d’action pour un gouvernement numérique progresse bien. Ce plan dévoilera la façon dont on entend transformer les services gouvernementaux en ligne afin que les gens puissent se brancher n’importe quand, n’importe où et à l’aide de n’importe quel dispositif. Ce plan, qui s’appuiera sur des consultations publiques, orientera la transformation numérique de l’Ontario. Dans le cadre de cette transformation, la province ouvrira, en 2017, un nouveau poste éloigné numérique à Communitech, situé à Kitchener, ce qui permettra au gouvernement d’avoir accès à des approches non traditionnelles pour la prestation des services et à des talents numériques très performants.

Conformément à sa vision axée sur le numérique, la province est toujours déterminée à dispenser par voie électronique plus de services fiscaux et relatifs aux prestations, pour améliorer l’accès. Depuis la publication du budget de 2016, le gouvernement a fait des progrès en ce qui a trait à l’établissement d’un mode de prestation électronique des services et a mis en oeuvre des initiatives clés. Il a notamment accru la possibilité d’avoir recours au dépôt direct, permettant ainsi à davantage de personnes et d’entreprises de recevoir plus rapidement leurs remises à l’égard de l’impôt, leurs remboursements et leurs paiements. La mise en oeuvre de ces initiatives débutera en décembre et se poursuivra tout au long de l’été 2017.

Modernisation de l’information et de la technologie de l’information

Dans le budget de 2016, l’Ontario a annoncé qu’il améliorerait la productivité et l’efficience de l’information et de la technologie de l’information (TI) en vue de réaliser des économies annuelles totalisant 100 millions de dollars d’ici 2020. Le gouvernement a déjà dépassé sa cible d’économies de 2016-2017 grâce à l’amélioration de la gestion des applications et de l’infrastructure liées à la TI, à une collaboration avec le secteur parapublic et au travail fait avec les fournisseurs de logiciels pour réduire les coûts des contrats.

Des mesures initiales ont aussi été prises pour améliorer la productivité de la TI et réaliser les économies prévues en 2017-2018. On a notamment établi un seul groupe de gestion des services pour la fonction publique de l’Ontario en vue d’améliorer la prestation des services de TI internes et mis en oeuvre des initiatives visant à mieux gérer les contrats communs dans le but de réduire le coût des logiciels et des services de TI. Le gouvernement continue aussi à réduire sa dépendance aux ressources axées sur les paiements à l’acte. Des plans visant à avoir moins recours aux services de consultants externes sont en voie de se concrétiser, ce qui augmentera de 96 le nombre de postes permanents en TI au sein de la fonction publique de l’Ontario. Cela devrait représenter des économies de 4 millions de dollars par année d’ici 2018-2019.

Unité de l’application des sciences du comportement

Faisant suite à l’annonce en 2015 de la création du nouveau Centre d'excellence pour le soutien à la prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes, l’Ontario continue d’accroître sa capacité d’évaluer les résultats affichés dans le cadre des programmes, se servant de données probantes pour faire des choix et apporter des changements aux services publics cruciaux. Le gouvernement a de plus en plus recours à des données probantes pour choisir, financer et dispenser des programmes publics de façon plus stratégique. Pour réorganiser et actualiser les processus gouvernementaux, il est essentiel de définir les résultats escomptés et de surveiller le rendement.

L’Ontario avait aussi annoncé l’établissement de l’Unité de l’application des sciences du comportement chargée d’évaluer les programmes et de trouver des moyens peu coûteux de les améliorer. En appliquant les sciences du comportement aux politiques et aux programmes, on pourra établir des processus plus efficients, améliorer les résultats obtenus et fournir de meilleurs services à la population de l’Ontario.

L’Unité de l’application des sciences du comportement a établi des relations avec des partenaires clés et lancé plusieurs projets pilotes pour mettre à l’essai l’application des sciences du comportement en vue de déterminer si elle améliore les résultats pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens.

L’Unité continuera de travailler avec ses partenaires dans le cadre de projets pilotes, dont le Bureau de la Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Action Cancer Ontario et le ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, afin d’élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre des politiques et des programmes qui sont plus efficaces, plus efficients et davantage axés sur la personne.

Modernisation de l’administration des paiements de transfert

La province simplifie la gestion des paiements de transfert de façon à appuyer un gouvernement plus moderne, plus efficace et plus efficient. Les modifications apportées simplifieront les processus tant pour les bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert que pour les employés du gouvernement, réduisant le temps consacré à l’administration. Dans un premier temps, cet automne, la province met en oeuvre un système d’enregistrement commun unique qui facilitera la soumission et la mise à jour en ligne de renseignements par les bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert.

Gérer les coûts liés à la rémunération

Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement réaffirmait sa détermination à équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018, précisant que la gestion des coûts liés à la rémunération est essentielle à cette fin.

La fonction publique aide le gouvernement dans une très grande mesure à concrétiser ses engagements et ses priorités clés. De ce fait, il est nécessaire de reconnaître son rôle grâce à une approche uniforme et coordonnée en matière de rémunération qui favorise une relation positive entre la province et ses partenaires du secteur public. À cette fin, le gouvernement continuera à fournir des services publics efficaces et abordables tout en reconnaissant la nécessité d’une rémunération équitable. Un cadre de relations de travail rigoureux sera une source de stabilité, améliorera la qualité des services publics sur lesquels les Ontariennes et Ontariens comptent et soutiendra le programme de réorganisation du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à négocier avec les agents négociateurs du secteur public des conventions collectives équitables qui prennent en compte les récentes tendances macroéconomiques et du marché du travail. À l’avenir, la province s’attend à ce que les salaires demeurent modestes dans le secteur public, une tendance donnant des résultats qui cadrent avec le plan financier.

Depuis juillet 2012, les conventions négociées dans le secteur public comprennent des hausses annuelles moyennes des salaires qui sont inférieures à celles du secteur privé. Plus précisément, les hausses salariales du secteur public provincial de l’Ontario, négociées directement avec le gouvernement, ont été beaucoup moindres que dans tout autre secteur.

TABLEAU 2.1
Hausses annuelles moyennes des salaires négociées en Ontario
Secteurs Hausse en pourcentage
(De juillet 2012 à septembre 2016)
Secteur public provincial 0,6
Secteur public municipal 1,7
Secteur public fédéral 1,7
Secteur privé 1,9
Sources : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor de l’Ontario et ministère du Travail de l’Ontario.

Le budget de 2016 a mis en évidence les conventions collectives conclues avec le Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (SEFPO) qui s’appliquaient à tous les membres de la fonction publique de l’Ontario. Depuis, la province est également parvenue à une entente avec Ingénieurs Gouvernement de l’Ontario. Elle a également obtenu récemment une sentence arbitrale pour l’Association de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, qui prévoit des hausses inférieures aux normes du secteur policier.

Depuis la publication du budget de 2016, un certain nombre d’organismes gouvernementaux, dont la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (MPAC) et la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, ont également négocié des ententes conformes au cadre financier de la province.

À partir de maintenant, l’accent sera mis sur un processus de négociation collective qui soutient les priorités en matière de réorganisation et de modernisation et tient compte des besoins des employés. La gestion financièrement prudente de la rémunération et la promotion de la réorganisation des services aideront le gouvernement à concrétiser son engagement d’équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018, et à continuer de fournir des services publics de haute qualité qui sont efficients, efficaces et durables.

Responsabilisation et transparence

Le gouvernement continue de démontrer qu’il a à coeur de présenter l’information financière de façon transparente, ce qui constitue un élément clé de la comptabilisation de l’utilisation des fonds publics.

Comptabilisation des régimes de retraite

Lors de la préparation des Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2015-2016, les professionnels faisant partie du personnel comptable et le Bureau de la vérificatrice générale de la province ont eu des discussions sur l’interprétation appropriée des normes comptables pour le secteur public en ce qui concerne la comptabilisation des régimes de retraite conjoints. La province applique les normes de façon uniforme depuis leur mise en oeuvre il y a 15 ans.

Le gouvernement a adopté l’interprétation des normes comptables de la vérificatrice générale quant au traitement de l’actif net des régimes de retraite pour 2015-2016 en procédant à une modification réglementaire d’une durée limitée (le « rajustement pour les régimes de retraite »).

Cette modification a eu pour effet d’ajouter 10,7 milliards de dollars à la dette nette et au déficit accumulé, et d’augmenter de 1,5 milliard de dollars le déficit annuel pour 2015-2016.

En plus de se conformer au traitement comptable adopté pour les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2015-2016, les perspectives financières à moyen terme indiquées dans le présent document résultent aussi de l’approche prudente prise chaque année pour la prévision du rajustement pour les régimes de retraite. Grâce à cette approche prudente, l’impact de la modification pourrait être de 2,2 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017, de 2,8 milliards de dollars en 2017-2018 et de 3,7 milliards de dollars en 2018-2019.

Le gouvernement a établi le Comité consultatif d’experts en matière de comptabilisation des actifs des régimes de retraite chargé d’évaluer l’interprétation des normes comptables pour le secteur public en ce qui a trait aux régimes de retraite de l’Ontario. Les membres de ce comité fourniront aussi des conseils sur la façon d’évaluer l’actif des régimes de retraite déclaré dans les livres de la province en tenant compte de futures décisions pouvant être prises par les promoteurs des régimes. Ils aideront notamment à déterminer le montant d’actif net des régimes de retraite dont on devrait tenir compte dans les états financiers de la province si on s’entend sur le fait que l’actif devrait être comptabilisé. Il y a un actif net d’un régime de retraite lorsque les cotisations totales du gouvernement au régime, dont les intérêts créditeurs, sont supérieures aux charges du régime constatées depuis sa mise en oeuvre.

Les recommandations du Comité serviront à préparer le budget de 2017 et à déterminer le traitement comptable de l’actif net des régimes de retraite par la province à l’avenir.