2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
Chapter III: Economic and Fiscal Outlook

Section C: Borrowing and Debt Management

The Province’s total long-term borrowing is forecast to be $23.8 billion for 2016–17, a reduction of $2.6 billion from the forecast in the 2016 Budget. This is the smallest amount to be borrowed since 2008–09. A combination of historically low interest rates and cost-effective debt management has allowed Ontario to keep interest on debt (IOD) costs below Budget projections. As part of its cost-effective debt management, the Province has also extended the term of its borrowing to lock in low interest rates for longer periods, reducing refinancing risks. The Province’s IOD-to-revenue forecast is currently 8.6 cents of every revenue dollar, 0.4 cents lower than the forecast in the 2016 Budget. For 2016–17, net debt and total debt are projected to be $317.9 billion and $328.6 billion, respectively. Ontario is also committed to helping develop the Canadian Green Bond market and plans to issue its third Green Bond before the end of 2016–17.

Long-Term Public Borrowing

The Province’s deficit for 2016–17 is projected to be $4.3 billion, consistent with the 2016 Budget plan. The total funding requirement for 2016–17 is now forecast to be $28.9 billion, $1.4 billion lower than the 2016 Budget forecast.

The Province’s total long-term borrowing in 2016–17 is forecast to be $23.8 billion, $8.3 billion lower than the amount borrowed in 2015–16 and $2.6 billion less than forecast for 2016–17 in the 2016 Budget.

The Province, adopting a cautious approach, has included a projected Pension Adjustment in its expense outlook as described in Chapter II, Section B: Transforming Government and Managing Costs. The projected Pension Adjustment of $2.2 billion for 2016–17 is entirely non-cash and does not directly impact the Province’s projected borrowings or its total debt.

The overall change in non-cash adjustments, with the preborrowing from 2015–16, will allow the Province to reduce short-term and long-term borrowing by a total of $3.6 billion from the 2016 Budget plan.

The Province’s debt differs from personal debt in a number of ways. One key difference is the government’s role in making multigenerational investments in infrastructure. By issuing debt at comparatively low interest rates, the Province can borrow money to make investments in capital assets today that improve the quality of life of Ontarians and spread the costs equitably over the lifetime of the assets.

TABLE 3.19 Borrowing Program and Medium-Term Outlook
($ Billions)
  2016–17
2016 Budget
2016–17
Current Outlook
2016–17
 In-Year Change
2017–18 2018–19
Deficit/(Surplus) 4.3 4.3 0.0 0.0 0.0
Investment in Capital Assets 11.2 11.7 0.6 12.4 14.2
Non-Cash Adjustments (5.8) (7.4) (1.6) (6.1) (6.3)
Loans to Infrastructure Ontario 0.3 0.1
Other Net Loans/Investments (0.9) (0.9) (0.8) (1.2)
Debt Maturities 21.5 21.2 (0.2) 17.5 22.1
Debt Redemptions 0.1 0.1 0.1
Total Funding Requirement 30.3 28.9 (1.4) 23.3 28.8
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (0.1) (0.1)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (1.0) 1.0
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (2.7) (3.0) (0.3)
Preborrowing from 2015–16 (2.0) (2.0)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 26.4 23.8 (2.6) 23.3 28.7
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The Province plans to borrow $75.8 billion over the three-year period in the medium-term borrowing outlook, down from the forecast $85.9 billion over the three-year period contained in the 2015 Budget. This $10.1 billion decline in borrowing reflects the impact of lower deficits.

As at October 25, 2016, $16.1 billion of this year’s long-term public borrowing has been completed.

Approximately 77 per cent of this year’s borrowing to date has been completed in Canadian dollars, primarily through syndicated issues. Given the strength of demand Ontario has experienced in the Canadian-dollar market, the Province will maintain its Canadian-dollar borrowing target of at least 75 per cent in 2016–17.

About $3.6 billion, or 23 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in foreign currencies. The U.S. dollar market has remained an important source of funding for Ontario this year, with almost all of the Province’s foreign-denominated issuance to date being completed in U.S. dollars. The remaining foreign currency borrowing has been completed in Australian dollars.

The Province regularly accesses borrowing opportunities in currencies other than Canadian dollars to diversify its investor base. This helps reduce Ontario’s overall borrowing costs and ensures that the Province will continue to have access to capital if market conditions become more challenging.

Green Bond Update

As the first Canadian province to issue Green Bonds, Ontario continues to lead the way in establishing and developing a Canadian-dollar Green Bond market with global investor participation. Since Ontario’s inaugural issue in 2014, the Province’s Green Bonds have attracted investors from the United States, Europe and Asia, bringing new international buyers and, recently, international issuers to the Canadian-dollar market.

As the market continues to grow, the Province will look to issue a third Canadian-dollar Green Bond to leverage global investor demand and help fund environmentally friendly infrastructure projects across Ontario. Depending on market conditions, Ontario plans to come to market with its third issue before the end of fiscal 2016–17.

To date, total Ontario Green Bond financing amounts to $1.25 billion, with up to $1.2 billion allocated to Metrolinx for clean transportation projects. In all, eight different projects have received funding from Ontario’s Green Bonds, with the Eglinton Crosstown Light Rail Transit (LRT) receiving funds from both the inaugural and second issues:

  • Metrolinx — Eglinton Crosstown LRT;
  • Metrolinx — York vivaNext Bus Rapid Transit;
  • Metrolinx — GO Transit Regional Express Rail;
  • Sheridan College Hazel McCallion Campus Expansion — Mississauga;
  • St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton — West 5th Campus;
  • St. Joseph’s Health Care London — London and St. Thomas;
  • Waypoint Centre for Mental Health Care — Penetanguishene; and
  • Centre for Addiction and Mental Health — Queen Street Site, Phase 1B.

Interest on Debt Savings and Affordability

Interest on debt (IOD) expense is projected to be $11,375 million for 2016–17, which is $381 million lower than forecast in the 2016 Budget, reflecting lower-than-forecast interest rates, lower borrowing requirements and cost-effective debt management. Interest on debt expense is forecast to be $11,700 million in 2017–18 and $12,400 million in 2018–19 — $753 million and $707 million lower, respectively, than forecast in the 2016 Budget.

These savings continue a trend that has been in place since 2010–11, through a combination of lower-than-forecast deficits and borrowing requirements, and lower-than-forecast interest rates. Interest on debt savings over the period to balance now total $22.8 billion relative to the 2010 Budget forecast.

Chart 3.10 illustrates how the savings on IOD have lowered a key measure of the affordability of debt. The 2010 Budget forecast that, by 2016–17, the Province would have to spend 11.7 cents of every revenue dollar received on interest. The current forecast is 3.1 cents lower, at 8.6 cents of interest costs for every dollar of revenue. This ratio is lower than it was in the 1990s and 2000s and is forecast to remain lower through the outlook period to 2018–19.

Net Debt-to-GDP

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $328.6 billion for March 31, 2017 (March 31, 2016, $327.4 billion).

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. It is projected to be $317.9 billion for March 31, 2017 (March 31, 2016, $305.2 billion). The net debt projection for March 31, 2017, was forecast to be $308.3 billion in the 2016 Budget, $311.5 billion in the 2015 Budget and $317.2 billion in the 2014 Budget.

The accumulated deficit is projected to be $207.0 billion as at March 31, 2017. The projected difference of $110.9 billion between net debt and accumulated deficit is due to the Province’s consistent level of investment in infrastructure.

The Pension Adjustment for the Public Accounts of Ontario 2015–2016 resulted in the net debt-to-GDP ratio increasing to 40.0 per cent as at March 31, 2016, and is projected to be 40.3 per cent as at March 31, 2017. This ratio begins to decline from 2017–18 onwards.

The Pension Adjustment that increased net debt by $10.7 billion in 2015–16 has no impact on the Province’s total debt or current and future borrowings.

About 64 per cent of the increase in net debt from 2008–09 to 2015–16 is due to the deficit, with investments in capital assets responsible for most of the balance. Once a balanced budget is reached, the increase in net debt will be limited to the difference between cash investments in capital assets and amortization.

These investments will work to increase economic growth and will result in GDP growing more quickly than debt, thereby helping to lower the net debt-to-GDP ratio to its pre-recession level.

Cost of Debt

The interest rate that Ontario pays on its debt has been steadily declining since 1990–91, when the effective interest rate on total debt was 10.9 per cent. As at September 30, 2016, it was 3.6 per cent, unchanged from March 31, 2016, and lower than the 3.7 per cent interest rate from March 31, 2015.

The global decline in interest rates over the last 25 years cannot continue indefinitely. To protect itself from an increase in interest rates, the Province has continued to extend the term of its debt. Going back to the beginning of fiscal 2010–11, Ontario has issued $59.9 billion of bonds longer than 30 years to lock in low rates. As a result, the weighted-average term to maturity of long-term provincial debt issued has been extended significantly, from 8.6 years in 2008–09 to 14.2 years in 2015–16 and 15.1 years for 2016–17 as at October 25, 2016.

For 2016–17, the impact of a one percentage point change in interest rates on IOD is approximately $350 million for the Province.

Reducing Ontario’s Electricity Sector Stranded Debt

The 2016 annual financial statements of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC) showed revenue over expense of $3.7 billion, reducing the OEFC’s unfunded liability (or “stranded debt of the electricity sector”) from $8.1 billion as at March 31, 2015, to $4.4 billion as at March 31, 2016.

This is the 12th consecutive year of stranded debt reduction, and the largest annual reduction in unfunded liability that OEFC has ever recorded. This reduction primarily reflects the upfront impact on OEFC’s 2015–16 results from the broadening of ownership of Hydro One through an initial public offering of common shares.

Chart Descriptions:

Chart 3.9: 2016–17 Borrowing

To date, $16.1 billion of this year’s long-term public borrowing has been completed and consisted of $11.1 billion of Canadian dollar bonds, $1.2 billion of Canadian dollar floating rate notes, $0.1 billion of Ontario Savings Bonds, $3.6 billion of U.S. dollar bonds and $0.1 billion of Australian dollar bonds.

Return to Chart 3.9

Chart 3.10: Interest on Debt-to-Revenue Ratio

Interest on debt-to-revenue is forecast to be 8.6 per cent for 2016–17. This ratio is lower than it was in the 1990s and is forecast to remain lower through the outlook period to 2018–19.

Return to Chart 3.10

Chart 3.11: Net Debt-to-GDP and Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

The net debt-to-GDP ratio is forecast to peak at 40.3 per cent in 2016–17. The accumulated deficit-to-GDP is projected to be 26.2 per cent as at March 31, 2017.

Return to Chart 3.11

Chart 3.12: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

As at September 30, 2016, the effective interest rate (calculated as a weighted average) is forecast to be 3.6 per cent on the Province’s total debt, lower than the 3.7 per cent in 2014–15. The effective interest rate has been steadily decreasing from 10.9 per cent in 1990–91.

Return to Chart 3.12

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2016
Chapitre III : Perspectives économiques et financières

Section C : Emprunts et gestion de la dette

Les emprunts à long terme contractés par la province pour 2016-2017 devraient totaliser 23,8 milliards de dollars, soit 2,6 milliards de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2016. Ce montant représente l’emprunt le moins élevé depuis 2008-2009. Grâce à des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas et à une gestion efficiente de la dette, l’Ontario a pu faire en sorte que les coûts de l’intérêt sur la dette soient inférieurs aux prévisions du budget. Dans le cadre de sa gestion efficiente de la dette, la province a aussi prolongé l’échéance de ses emprunts pour tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt pour de plus longues périodes, atténuant ainsi les risques de refinancement. Le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette aux revenus prévu de la province devrait être de 8,6 cents de chaque dollar de revenus, soit 0,4 cent de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2016. Pour 2016-2017, la dette nette et la dette totale devraient se chiffrer à 317,9 milliards de dollars et à 328,6 milliards de dollars respectivement. L’Ontario s’est aussi engagé à contribuer au développement du marché canadien des obligations vertes et envisage de procéder à une troisième émission d’obligations vertes d’ici la fin de 2016-2017.

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

On prévoit que le déficit de la province pour 2016-2017 sera de 4,3 milliards de dollars, ce qui est conforme au plan budgétaire de 2016. Le total des besoins en matière de financement pour 2016-2017 devrait être de 28,9 milliards de dollars, soit 1,4 milliard de dollars de moins que les prévisions du budget de 2016.

Les emprunts à long terme contractés par la province en 2016-2017 devraient totaliser 23,8 milliards de dollars, soit 8,3 milliards de dollars de moins que le montant emprunté en 2015-2016 et 2,6 milliards de dollars de moins que les prévisions pour 2016-2017 qui ont été faites dans le budget de 2016.

Adoptant une approche prudente, la province a tenu compte du rajustement projeté pour les régimes de retraite dans ses perspectives des charges, comme cela est décrit à la section B du chapitre II, Réorganiser le gouvernement et gérer les coûts. Le rajustement projeté pour les régimes de retraite de 2,2 milliards de dollars pour 2016-2017 est entièrement hors trésorerie et n’a pas d’incidence directe sur les emprunts prévus de la province ni sur sa dette totale.

Le changement global des redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie, ainsi que les emprunts anticipés de 2015-2016 permettront à la province de réduire de 3,6 milliards de dollars, au total, les emprunts à court et à long terme par rapport aux chiffres du plan budgétaire de 2016.

La dette de la province diffère de la dette personnelle de plusieurs façons. Une différence clé est le fait que le gouvernement fait des investissements multigénérationnels dans l’infrastructure. En contractant la dette à des taux d’intérêt comparativement faibles, la province peut emprunter de l’argent pour faire aujourd’hui des investissements dans les immobilisations corporelles qui améliorent la qualité de vie de la population de l’Ontario et répartir les coûts équitablement pendant la durée de vie des biens.

TABLEAU 3.19
Programme d’emprunt et perspectives à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)
  2016–2017
Budget de 2016
2016–2017
Persp. actuelles
2016–2017
Variation en cours d’exerc.
2017–2018 2018–2019
Déficit/(Excédent) 4,3 4,3 0,0 0,0 0,0
Investissement dans les immobilisations corporelles 11,2 11,7 0,6 12,4 14,2
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (5,8) (7,4) (1,6) (6,1) (6,3)
Prêts à Infrastructure Ontario 0,3 0,1
Autres prêts/investissements nets (0,9) (0,9) (0,8) (1,2)
Dette arrivant à échéance 21,5 21,2 (0,2) 17,5 22,1
Remboursement de titres 0,1 0,1 0,1
Total des besoins en matière de financement 30,3 28,9 (1,4) 23,3 28,8
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (0,1) (0,1)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (1,0) 1,0
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents (2,7) (3,0) (0,3)
Emprunts anticipés de 2015-2016 (2,0) (2,0)
Total des emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics 26,4 23,8 (2,6) 23,3 28,7
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

La province planifie d’emprunter 75,8 milliards de dollars au cours de la période de trois ans faisant partie des perspectives du programme d’emprunt à moyen terme, ce qui est inférieur aux prévisions de 85,9 milliards de dollars du budget de 2015 pour cette période. Cette diminution des emprunts de 10,1 milliards de dollars est attribuable à l’incidence des déficits moins élevés.

Au 25 octobre 2016, l’Ontario avait emprunté 16,1 milliards de dollars à long terme sur les marchés publics pour combler les besoins de cette année.

Jusqu’ici cette année, environ 77 % des emprunts ont été contractés en dollars canadiens, principalement par l’entremise d’obligations consortiales. Étant donné la forte demande des obligations de l’Ontario sur le marché du dollar canadien, la province maintiendra sa cible d’emprunt en dollars canadiens, soit au moins 75 % en 2016-2017.

Environ 23 % des emprunts, soit 3,6 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés en devises. Le marché du dollar américain est demeuré une importante source de financement pour l’Ontario cette année, la plupart des emprunts en devises de la province ayant été contractés jusqu’ici en dollars américains. Le reste des emprunts contractés en devises l’ont été en dollars australiens.

La province tire régulièrement parti des occasions d’emprunter dans des devises autres que le dollar canadien en vue de continuer à diversifier son bassin d’investisseurs. Cela aide à réduire les coûts globaux d’emprunt de l’Ontario et permet à la province de continuer à avoir accès à du capital lorsque les conditions du marché sont moins favorables.

Mise à jour sur les obligations vertes

L’Ontario, qui est la première province canadienne à émettre des obligations vertes, continue d’ouvrir la voie à l’établissement et au développement d’un marché des obligations vertes en dollars canadiens auquel participent des investisseurs du monde entier. Depuis l’émission inaugurale d’obligations vertes de l’Ontario en 2014, celles-ci ont attiré des investisseurs des États-Unis, d’Europe et d’Asie, ce qui a amené de nouveaux acheteurs internationaux et, récemment, des émetteurs internationaux à prendre part au marché du dollar canadien.

Le marché continuant à prendre de l’expansion, la province envisagera de procéder à une troisième émission d’obligations vertes en dollars canadiens pour tirer profit de la demande des investisseurs à l’échelle mondiale et aider à financer des projets d’infrastructure écologiques partout dans la province. Selon les conditions du marché, l’Ontario projette de procéder à cette troisième émission d’ici la fin de l’exercice 2016 2017.

Jusqu’à présent, le financement découlant des obligations vertes de l’Ontario totalise 1,25 milliard de dollars, jusqu’à 1,2 milliard de dollars étant attribués à Metrolinx pour des projets de transport propres. En tout, huit projets différents ont été financés grâce à des obligations vertes de l’Ontario, le transport léger sur rail Eglinton Crosstown ayant reçu des fonds de la première et de la deuxième émission :

  • Metrolinx – la ligne de transport léger sur rail Eglinton Crosstown;
  • Metrolinx – le service d’autobus rapides vivaNext de York;
  • Metrolinx – le service ferroviaire express régional de GO Transit;
  • le Collège Sheridan – expansion du campus Hazel McCallion – Mississauga;
  • le Centre de soins de santé St-Joseph de Hamilton – campus West 5th;
  • le St. Joseph’s Health Care London – London et St. Thomas;
  • le Waypoint Centre for Mental Health Care – Penetanguishene;
  • le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale – emplacement de la rue Queen, Phase 1B.

Économies au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette et abordabilité

Les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette devraient être de 11 375 millions de dollars en 2016-2017, soit inférieures de 381 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2016, ce qui est principalement attribuable aux taux d’intérêt plus faibles que prévu, aux besoins d’emprunt moins élevés et à la gestion efficiente de la dette. Les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette devraient être de 11 700 millions de dollars en 2017-2018 et de 12 400 millions de dollars en 2018-2019, soit de 753 millions de dollars et de 707 millions de dollars inférieures respectivement aux prévisions du budget de 2016.

Ces économies s’inscrivent dans une tendance amorcée en 2010-2011 par les déficits et les besoins d’emprunt moins élevés que prévu, ainsi que les taux d’intérêt plus faibles que prévu. Les économies au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette jusqu’à ce qu’on atteigne l’équilibre totalisent maintenant 22,8 milliards de dollars comparativement aux prévisions du budget de 2010.

Le graphique 3.10 illustre de quelle façon les économies au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette ont abaissé une mesure clé de l’abordabilité de la dette. Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que, d’ici 2016-2017, la province allait devoir consacrer au paiement de l’intérêt 11,7 cents de chaque dollar perçu. Or, les prévisions actuelles sont de 8,6 cents, soit 3,1 cents de moins. Ce ratio est inférieur à ce qu’il était au cours des années 1990 et 2000, et cette tendance devrait se poursuivre durant la période de prévision jusqu’en 2018-2019.

Ratio de la dette nette au PIB

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans y inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 328,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2017, comparativement à 327,4 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016.

La dette nette de l’Ontario équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers. La dette nette devrait s’élever à 317,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2017, comparativement à 305,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016. La dette nette projetée pour le 31 mars 2017 était de 308,3 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2016, de 311,5 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2015 et de 317,2 milliards de dollars dans le budget de 2014.

On prévoit que le déficit accumulé sera de 207,0 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2017. La différence projetée de 110,9 milliards de dollars entre la dette nette et le déficit accumulé est attribuable au niveau constant d’investissements que la province fait dans l’infrastructure.

Le rajustement pour les régimes de retraite effectué dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2015-2016 a entraîné une augmentation du ratio de la dette nette au PIB, qui a atteint 40,0 % au 31 mars 2016 et qui devrait se situer à 40,3 % au 31 mars 2017. Ce ratio commencera à diminuer à partir de 2017-2018.

Le rajustement pour les régimes de retraite qui a augmenté la dette nette de 10,7 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 n’a pas d’incidence sur la dette totale ni sur les emprunts actuels et futurs de l’Ontario.

Environ 64 % de l’augmentation de la dette nette entre 2008-2009 et 2015-2016 est attribuable au déficit, le reste résultant surtout des investissements dans les immobilisations corporelles. Une fois que le budget sera équilibré, l’augmentation de la dette nette se limitera à la différence entre les investissements de trésorerie dans les immobilisations corporelles et l’amortissement.

Ces investissements stimuleront la croissance économique et feront en sorte que le PIB augmentera plus rapidement que la dette, contribuant ainsi à la réduction du ratio de la dette nette au PIB pour le ramener au niveau enregistré avant la récession.

Coût de la dette

Le taux d’intérêt que l’Ontario paie sur sa dette est à la baisse depuis 1990-1991; le taux d’intérêt effectif sur la dette totale atteignait alors de 10,9 %. Au 30 septembre 2016, il était de 3,6 %, soit le même qu’au 31 mars 2016, et inférieur au taux d’intérêt de 3,7 % affiché au 31 mars 2015.

La baisse générale des taux d’intérêt des 25 dernières années ne peut durer indéfiniment. Afin de se protéger contre une hausse de ces taux, la province a continué à prolonger l’échéance de sa dette. Au début de l’exercice 2010-2011, l’Ontario a émis des obligations d’une valeur de 59,9 milliards de dollars dont l’échéance dépasse 30 ans pour tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt. Ainsi, la moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme contractée a été prolongée considérablement, étant passée de 8,6 ans en 2008-2009 à 14,2 ans en 2015-2016 et à 15,1 ans pour 2016-2017 au 25 octobre 2016.

Pour 2016-2017, une variation de 1 point de pourcentage des taux d’intérêt ferait augmenter ou diminuer l’intérêt sur la dette de quelque 350 millions de dollars pour la province.

Réduction de la dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité de l’Ontario

Les états financiers annuels de 2016 de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SFIEO) indiquent que les revenus sont de 3,7 milliards de dollars supérieurs aux charges, ce qui réduit la dette non provisionnée de la SFIEO (ou « dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité »), pour la faire passer de 8,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2015 à 4,4 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016.

Il s’agit de la 12e année consécutive de réduction de la dette insurmontable et de la plus importante réduction annuelle du passif non capitalisé que la SFIEO n’a jamais enregistrée. Cette réduction découle principalement de l’incidence sur les résultats de la SFIEO de 2015-2016 découlant de l’élargissement de l’actionnariat dans Hydro One dans le cadre d’un premier appel public à l’épargne d’actions ordinaires.

Description des graphiques

Graphique 3.9 : Emprunts 2016-2017

À ce jour, l’Ontario avait emprunté 16,1 milliards de dollars à long terme sur les marchés publics pour combler les besoins de cette année. Ces emprunts étaient constitués de 11,1 milliards de dollars en obligations en dollars canadiens, de 1,2 milliard de dollars en obligations à taux variables en dollars canadiens, de 0,1 milliard de dollars en obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario, de 3,6 milliards de dollars en obligations en dollars américains et de 0,1 milliard de dollars en obligations en dollars australiens.

Retourner au graphique 3.9

Graphique 3.10 : Ratio de l'intérêt sur la dette aux revenus

On prévoit que le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette aux revenus sera de 8,6 % en 2016-2017. Ce ratio est inférieur à ce qu’il était au cours des années 1990, et cette tendance devrait se poursuivre durant la période de prévision jusqu’en 2018-2019.

Retourner au graphique 3.10

Graphique 3.11 : Ratio de la dette nette au PIB et ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB

Le ratio de la dette nette au PIB devrait atteindre un sommet de 40,3 % en 2016-2017. On prévoit que le ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB sera de 26,2 % au 31 mars 2017.

Retourner au graphique 3.11

Graphique 3.12 : Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

Au 30 septembre 2016, le taux d’intérêt effectif (calculé selon une moyenne pondérée) sur la dette totale de la province est estimé à 3,6 %, comparativement au taux de 3,7 % en 2014-2015. Le taux d’intérêt effectif diminue graduellement depuis 1990-1991 où un taux de 10,9 % a été affiché.

Retourner au graphique 3.12