2016 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
2017 Budget Talks and Pre-Budget Consultations

Budget Talks

Ontario is committed to piloting new approaches to budget consultations using modern technology to make it easier for more Ontarians to participate and better engage in meaningful discussions.

In 2015, the government first created a public online discussion with Budget Talks, a pre-budget consultation tool. The following year, Ontario introduced more ways for people to exchange and discuss their ideas, demonstrating that their comments and ideas had a direct impact on the Budget. For example, through the 2016 Budget Talks, Ontarians suggested using energy-saving LED lights on provincial highways; as a result, the government launched a pilot project along Highway 401.

This year, Ontario will explore elements of participatory budgeting as part of the 2017 Budget Talks. The government encourages individuals, organizations and community groups to submit proposals focused on helping people in their everyday lives and improving the delivery of government services. Following the submission period, ministries will review the proposals to ensure they are within the Province’s scope and appropriate to implement. The Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities will help determine a short-list of projects. Public voting will then take place, helping the government determine which projects to fund as part of the 2017 Budget. More information about the Budget Talks process can be found at Ontario.ca/BudgetTalks.

The Province has improved Budget Talks each year and will continue to expand its participatory budgeting tools based on lessons learned. Exploring other tools for participatory budgeting is another way Ontario is fulfilling its commitment to create a more open and transparent government. Additionally, Public Accounts visualizations and downloadable data sets are available online. The Province will also continue its public education efforts to give Ontarians a clearer understanding of the government’s finances.

Live Consultations

For decades, the people of Ontario have been invited to participate in live pre-budget consultations. In addition to hearings held by the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs, the Minister of Finance holds these consultations across the province, which are an essential part of a budget’s development and enable Ontarians to have their say to ensure that the Budget best represents their values and priorities.

In preparation for the 2017 Ontario Budget, the Minister of Finance and the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance will be conducting pre-budget consultations with individuals and organizations, as well as virtual town halls, to connect with a broad audience in communities throughout the province.

Written Submissions

Individuals and organizations can mail, email or fax submissions directly to the Minister of Finance.

Online

Individuals can submit ideas for the 2017 Budget by completing a form on the Ministry of Finance website.

By Mail

The Honourable Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance
c/o Budget Secretariat
Frost Building North, 3rd Floor
95 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, ONĀ  M7A 1Z1

By Email

submissions@ontario.ca

By Fax

416-325-0969

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2016
Outil de consultation Parlons budget et consultations préalables au budget de 2017

Outil de consultation Parlons budget

L’Ontario s’est engagé à mettre à l’essai de nouvelles approches axées sur les technologies modernes pour les consultations budgétaires en vue de favoriser la participation d’un plus grand nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens à des discussions utiles.

En 2015, le gouvernement a amorcé des discussions publiques en ligne en mettant en oeuvre l’outil de consultation Parlons budget. L’année suivante, l’Ontario a mis en place d’autres moyens pour permettre aux gens d’échanger et de discuter de leurs idées, démontrant que leurs commentaires ont une incidence directe sur le budget. Par exemple, par l’entremise de l’outil de consultation Parlons budget 2016, des personnes ont suggéré que des ampoules à diodes électroluminescentes (DEL) éconergétiques soient utilisées sur les routes provinciales, ce qui a amené le gouvernement à mettre en oeuvre un projet pilote sur l’autoroute 401.

Cette année, l’Ontario examinera certains éléments de la budgétisation participative dans le cadre de Parlons budget 2017. Le gouvernement incite les personnes, les organisations et les groupes communautaires à soumettre des propositions visant à aider les gens dans leur vie de tous les jours et à améliorer la prestation des services gouvernementaux. À la fin de la période de soumission, des ministères examineront les propositions pour s’assurer qu’elles correspondent au mandat de la province et qu’elles sont appropriées. Le Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse aidera à faire une présélection des projets. Il y aura ensuite un vote public, ce qui aidera le gouvernement à déterminer quels projets financer dans le cadre du budget de 2017. Des détails sur le processus se trouvent à Ontario.ca/Parlonsbudget.

Chaque année, la province améliore l’outil de consultation Parlons budget et elle continuera de développer ses outils de budgétisation participative en s’inspirant des leçons tirées. Envisager l’utilisation d’autres outils pour la budgétisation participative constitue une autre façon pour l’Ontario de remplir son engagement d’établir un gouvernement plus ouvert et plus transparent. En outre, des tableaux des Comptes publics et des ensembles de données à télécharger sont accessibles en ligne. La province poursuivra aussi ses efforts en matière d’information publique afin de permettre à la population de l’Ontario de mieux comprendre les finances du gouvernement.

Consultations en direct

La population de l’Ontario est invitée à participer à des consultations prébudgétaires en direct depuis des dizaines d’années. En plus des audiences tenues par le Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques, le ministre des Finances organise ces consultations préalables au budget aux quatre coins de la province. Elles constituent un aspect essentiel du processus d’élaboration du budget, car elles donnent la chance aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens de s’assurer que le budget tient compte de leurs valeurs et de leurs priorités.

En vue de la préparation du budget de l’Ontario de 2017, le ministre des Finances et l’adjoint parlementaire au ministre des Finances tiendront des séances de consultations préalables au budget avec des particuliers et des organisations, ainsi que des assemblées publiques virtuelles pour entrer en contact avec un large éventail de personnes dans les collectivités de toute la province.

Observations écrites

Les particuliers et les organisations peuvent faire parvenir leurs observations directement au ministre des Finances par la poste, par courriel ou par télécopieur.

En ligne

Les particuliers peuvent soumettre leurs idées en vue de l’élaboration du budget de 2017 en remplissant le formulaire qui se trouve sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Par la poste

L’honorable Charles Sousa
Ministre des Finances
a/s Secrétariat du budget
Édifice Frost Nord, 3e étage
95, rue Grosvenor
Toronto ON M7A 1Z1

Par courriel

submissions@ontario.ca

Par télécopieur

416 325-0969