This document was published under a previous government and is available for archival and research purposes.

Introduction

Ontario is delivering on its commitment to balance the budget in a fair and responsible way — a plan that was first introduced in the 2010 Budget.

Strategic investments have helped to stimulate the Ontario economy, which has continued to grow despite an uncertain global environment. Over the past three years, Ontario’s economy has grown faster than Canada’s and that of all other G7 countries. Exports are up, businesses are hiring more workers, and household incomes are rising. In fact, Ontario’s real gross domestic product (GDP) is now 21.3 per cent above its recessionary low. Ontario’s unemployment rate has also steadily declined since the recession, reaching 5.9 per cent in October 2017, and has been below the national average for 31 consecutive months.

The strengthening economy has led to revenue growth, critical to maintaining a balanced budget. At the same time, the government has managed growth in program spending, allowing Ontario to remain the province with the lowest program spending per capita. The government has also improved the efficiency and effectiveness of public services, resulting in the program expense‑to-GDP ratio returning to its pre-recession level.

A growing economy, together with a balanced budget, is creating more opportunities for individuals and businesses in Ontario to share in the benefits resulting from the province’s return to economic strength.

Ontario’s Balanced Budget

The government is continuing to project a balanced budget in 2017–18 and ongoing balance in 2018–19 and 2019–20, unchanged from the 2017 Budget forecast.

The Public Accounts of Ontario 2016–2017 reported that the 2016–17 deficit was $1.0 billion. This result is $3.3 billion lower than projected in the 2016 Budget and marks the eighth year in a row that Ontario has beaten its deficit target.

Chart 3.1 Ontario’s Return to Balance

Chart 3.1 Ontario's Return to Balance
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.1

Restoring balance adds stability to Ontario’s finances and positions the government to better respond to demographic challenges and unexpected global economic shocks the province may face in the coming years.

Historically low interest rates combined with cost-effective debt management have also helped the government overachieve on its fiscal targets year after year and supported its efforts to balance the budget. Furthermore, the government’s efforts to grow the economy, transform public services and manage spending responsibly have positioned the Province to build on the investments it is making to support health care, fairness for seniors, public education and modern infrastructure, and help small businesses succeed and grow.

Declining Net Debt-to-GDP

In 2008–09, when the negative impact of the global recession rippled across the world, the government refused to put vital public services at risk. Instead, it chose to lessen the impact of the recession on Ontario families through short-term stimulus investments that preserved and created jobs, while helping to restore economic growth. Ontario, like other jurisdictions in Canada and across the world, ran deficits. This resulted in an increase to the Province’s net debt-to-GDP ratio.

Since peaking in 2014–15 at 39.3 per cent, the net debt-to-GDP ratio has been on a declining track as a result of Ontario’s economic growth and the government’s progress towards a balanced budget in 2017–18. The net debt-to-GDP ratio is projected to be 37.3 per cent in 2017–18, lower than the 37.5 per cent forecast in the 2017 Budget.

Chart 3.2 Net Debt-to-GDP

Chart 3.2 Net Debt-to-GDP
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.2

A declining net debt-to-GDP ratio, together with low interest on debt costs as a percentage of revenues, positions the province for long-term sustainability and allows for a greater proportion of government spending to be invested in programs and services, thereby benefiting the people of Ontario.

Chart 3.3 Factors for Growth in Net Debt

Chart 3.3 Factors for Growth in Net Debt
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.3

About 62 per cent of the increase in net debt from 2008–09 to 2016–17 was due to the deficit. The remaining net debt increase was a result of investments in capital assets. Balanced budgets from 2017–18 onwards will ensure that increases in net debt will be limited to net investments in capital assets such as roads, bridges, hospitals and schools.

The government’s investments in capital assets will work to increase economic growth and help support GDP growing more quickly than debt, thereby helping the government achieve its net debt-to-GDP targets.

Ontario’s Economic Performance and Outlook

Ontario’s economy continues to grow and create jobs at a solid pace. Since 2014, Ontario’s real GDP growth has strengthened, positioning Ontario as a growth leader, not only in Canada, but among G7 countries. In fact, over the 2014–17 period, Ontario’s real GDP growth is on pace to exceed that of all G7 countries.

Chart 3.4 Ontario’s Growth Strengthened in Recent Years

Chart 3.4: Ontario's Growth Strengthened in Recent Years
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.4

The economy continues to create high-quality jobs. Since the global recession, 800,000 net new jobs have been created in Ontario. The majority of these jobs have been full-time positions in the private sector and in industries that pay above-average wages. The unemployment rate has steadily declined, reaching 5.9 per cent in October 2017, and has been below the national average for 31 consecutive months.

Chart 3.5 Ontario’s Unemployment Rate Remains below the National Average for 31 Consecutive Months

Chart 3.5 Ontario's Unemployment Rate Remains below the National Average for 31 Consecutive Months
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.5

Ontario’s economy is expected to continue to grow over the next two years. The Ministry of Finance is forecasting growth in Ontario’s real GDP of 2.8 per cent in 2017, which is higher than the 2017 Budget assumption of 2.3 per cent. For the 2017–20 period, real GDP growth is now expected to average 2.2 per cent compared to 2.0 per cent expected at the time of the 2017 Budget.

With the province’s economic growth projected to continue and balanced budgets planned over the outlook, Ontario is once again in a position of fiscal and economic strength that is essential for building a fairer and more inclusive province.

Chart Descriptions

Chart 3.1: Ontario’s Return to Balance

This bar chart shows Ontario’s actual deficits versus deficit targets from 2009–10 through 2016–17, and the fiscal outlook for 2017–18 to 2019–20.

In the 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, Ontario projected a $24.7 billion deficit for 2009–10. The actual result for 2009–10 was a deficit of $19.3 billion.

The 2010 Budget projected deficits of $19.7 billion for 2010–11, $17.3 billion for 2011–12, $15.9 billion for 2012–13, and $13.3 billion for 2013–14. The actual deficits were $14.0 billion in 2010–11, $13.0 billion in 2011–12, $9.2 billion in 2012–13, and $10.5 billion in 2013–14.

In the 2014 Budget, Ontario projected a $12.5 billion deficit for 2014–15. The actual result for 2014–15 was a deficit of $10.3 billion.

In the 2015 Budget, Ontario projected an $8.5 billion deficit for 2015–16. The actual result for 2015–16 was a deficit of $3.5 billion.

In the 2016 Budget, Ontario projected a $4.3 billion deficit for 2016–17. The actual result for 2016–17 was a deficit of $1.0 billion.

The government is projecting balanced budgets in 2017–18 through to 2019–20.

Return to Chart 3.1

Chart 3.2: Net Debt-to-GDP

This line chart shows Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP from 1990–91 to 2019–20.

The net debt-to-GDP ratio peaked at 39.3 per cent in 2014–15 and has since been on a declining track. It is projected to be 37.3 per cent in 2017–18, 37.1 per cent in 2018–19, and 37.0 per cent in 2019–20.

Return to Chart 3.2

Chart 3.3: Factors for Growth in Net Debt

About 62 per cent of the increase in net debt from 2008–09 to 2016–17 was due to the deficit, with investments in capital assets responsible for the balance. Balanced budgets from 2017–18 onwards will limit the increase in net debt to the difference between investments in capital assets and amortization which, as a non-cash expense, does not represent cash outflows.

Return to Chart 3.3

Chart 3.4: Ontario’s Growth Strengthened in Recent Years

This bar chart shows that Ontario’s real GDP growth averaged 2.0 per cent per year during the 2003–07 period, −1.6 per cent during 2008–09, 2.0 per cent during 2010–13, and 2.7 per cent during 2014–17. Calculation for 2017 uses Ontario Ministry of Finance’s planning projection.

Return to Chart 3.4

Chart 3.5: Ontario’s Unemployment Rate Remains below the National Average for 31 Consecutive Months

This line chart shows the monthly unemployment rates for Ontario and Canada for the period between January 2000 and October 2017. The unemployment rate in Canada has declined from a peak of 8.7 per cent in June 2009 to 6.3 per cent in October 2017. Ontario’s unemployment rate has declined from a high of 9.6 per cent in June 2009 to 5.9 per cent in October 2017, and has remained below the national average for 31 consecutive months.

Return to Chart 3.5

Ce document a été publié sous un gouvernement précédent et il est disponible à des fins d’archivage et de recherche seulement.

Introduction

L’Ontario respecte son engagement de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire d’une manière équitable et responsable, grâce au plan qu’il a d’abord présenté dans le budget de 2010.

Les investissements stratégiques ont aidé à stimuler l’économie de l’Ontario, qui a poursuivi sa croissance malgré une conjoncture mondiale incertaine. Ainsi, au cours des trois dernières années, le rythme de croissance de l’économie ontarienne a été plus rapide que celui du reste du Canada et de tous les autres pays du G7. Les exportations augmentent, les entreprises embauchent plus de travailleurs et les revenus des ménages progressent. De fait, le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel de l’Ontario est maintenant de 21,3 % supérieur au taux le plus bas affiché durant la récession. En outre, le taux de chômage de la province est en baisse constante depuis lors, s’établissant à 5,9 % en octobre 2017. Il se trouve au-dessous de la moyenne nationale pour le 31e mois de suite.

Le renforcement de l’économie s’est traduit par une augmentation des revenus de la province, ce qui est essentiel au maintien de l’équilibre budgétaire. Parallèlement, le gouvernement a géré la croissance des dépenses de programmes, ce qui a permis à l’Ontario de demeurer la province dont les charges par habitant sont les moins élevées. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement a accru l’efficacité et l’efficience de la prestation des services publics, ramenant le ratio des charges de programmes au PIB au niveau d’avant la récession.

Conjuguée à un budget équilibré, l’économie florissante de la province présente des possibilités accrues pour les contribuables et les entreprises de l’Ontario de tirer parti du regain économique de la province.

Budget équilibré de l’Ontario

Le gouvernement continue de prévoir un budget équilibré en 2017-2018, puis en 2018-2019 ainsi qu’en 2019-2020, ce qui correspond aux prévisions du budget de 2017.

Selon les Comptes publics de l’Ontario de 2016-2017, le déficit pour cette période se chiffrait à 1,0 milliard de dollars. Ce résultat est de 3,3 milliards de dollars inférieur au montant indiqué dans le budget de 2016 et marque la huitième année de suite où l’Ontario a dépassé ses objectifs de réduction du déficit.

Graphique 3.1 Retour de l’Ontario à l’équilibre budgétaire

Graphique 3.1 Retour de l’Ontario à l’équilibre budgétaire
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.1

Le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire stabilise les finances de l’Ontario; il permet au gouvernement de mieux relever les défis démographiques et de faire face aux chocs économiques mondiaux qui pourraient survenir dans les prochaines années.

Conjugués à la gestion de la dette efficiente, les taux d’intérêt historiquement bas ont également aidé le gouvernement à dépasser ses objectifs budgétaires, année après année, et l’ont soutenu dans les efforts qu’il a déployés pour équilibrer le budget. Par ailleurs, grâce aux mesures prises pour stimuler l’économie, réorganiser les services publics et gérer les dépenses de façon responsable, le gouvernement provincial est en mesure d’étoffer les investissements qu’il fait pour appuyer les soins de santé, l’équité pour les personnes âgées, l’éducation publique et l’infrastructure moderne, et pour aider les petites entreprises à prospérer et à prendre de l’expansion.

Ratio de la dette nette au PIB à la baisse

En 2008-2009, pendant que les conséquences de la récession mondiale se faisaient sentir partout dans le monde, le gouvernement a refusé de mettre en jeu les services publics essentiels. Il a plutôt choisi d’atténuer les incidences de la récession sur les familles ontariennes au moyen d’investissements de stimulation à court terme qui ont permis de conserver et de créer des emplois, et contribué à la croissance économique. Ce faisant, l’Ontario a affiché un déficit, comme ce fut le cas ailleurs au Canada et dans le monde. Par conséquent, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB s’est accru.

Depuis le sommet de 39,3 % atteint en 2014-2015, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB est en baisse grâce à la croissance économique de l’Ontario et aux progrès réalisés par le gouvernement pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018. On prévoit que ce ratio sera de 37,3 % pour cette période, ce qui est inférieur au pourcentage de 37,5 % prévu dans le budget de 2017.

Graphique 3.2 Ratio de la dette nette au PIB

Graphique 3.2 Ratio de la dette nette au PIB
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.2

La baisse du ratio de la dette nette au PIB et les faibles frais d’intérêt sur la dette, en pourcentage des revenus, assurent la viabilité de la province à long terme et lui permettent d’affecter une plus grande proportion de ses dépenses aux programmes et aux services, ce dont bénéficie l’ensemble de la population.

Graphique 3.3 Facteurs de croissance de la dette nette

Graphique 3.3 Facteurs de croissance de la dette nette
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.3

Environ 62 % de l’augmentation de la dette nette affichée entre 2008-2009 et 2016-2017 était attribuable au déficit. Le reste de l’accroissement s’explique par les investissements dans les immobilisations. Les budgets équilibrés à partir de 2017-2018 feront en sorte que les hausses de la dette nette découleront uniquement des investissements nets dans les immobilisations, comme les routes, les ponts, les hôpitaux et les écoles.

Les investissements du gouvernement dans les immobilisations corporelles stimuleront la croissance économique et contribueront à faire augmenter le PIB plus rapidement que la dette, ce qui l’aidera à atteindre les cibles de ratio de la dette nette au PIB qu’il s’est fixées.

Résultats et perspectives économiques de l’Ontario

L’essor de l’économie ontarienne se poursuit, et des emplois sont créés à un rythme soutenu. Depuis 2014, la progression du PIB réel de l’Ontario s’est raffermie, plaçant la province au premier rang sur le plan de la croissance tant au Canada que dans les pays du G7. En fait, pour la période allant de 2014 à 2017, la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario devrait dépasser celle de tous les pays du G7.

Graphique 3.4 Une croissance plus robuste pour l’Ontario au cours des dernières années

Graphique 3.4 Une croissance plus robuste pour l’Ontario au cours des dernières années
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.4

L’économie continue de générer des emplois de grande qualité. Depuis la récession mondiale, 800 000 nouveaux emplois nets ont été créés en Ontario, la majorité d’entre eux pour des postes à temps plein dans le secteur privé et des industries payant des salaires supérieurs à la moyenne. Le taux de chômage recule constamment. Ainsi, en octobre 2017, il était de 5,9 %; il se trouve au-dessous de la moyenne nationale pour le 31e mois de suite.

Graphique 3.5 Maintien du taux de chômage de l’Ontario sous la moyenne nationale pendant 31 mois consécutifs

Chart 3.5 Ontario's Unemployment Rate Remains below the National Average for 31 Consecutive Months
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.5

L’économie ontarienne devrait poursuivre sa croissance au cours de deux prochaines années. Le ministère des Finances prévoit que le PIB réel de l’Ontario augmentera de 2,8 % en 2017 alors que le budget de 2017 formulait l’hypothèse d’une hausse de 2,3 %. Pour la période de 2017 à 2020, on prévoit désormais que la croissance du PIB réel sera en moyenne de 2,2 % comparativement à 2,0 % prévu dans le budget de 2017.

Comme on s’attend à ce que la croissance économique de la province se poursuive et que les budgets soient équilibrés pendant la période de prévision, l’Ontario se trouve de nouveau dans une situation financière et économique solide qui lui permettra d’édifier une province plus juste et plus inclusive.

Descriptions des graphiques

Graphique 3.1 Retour de l’Ontario à l’équilibre budgétaire

Ce graphique à barres montre les déficits réels de l’Ontario entre 2009-2010 et 2016-2017 par rapport aux déficits prévus, et les perspectives financières de 2017-2018 à 2019-2020.

Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière 2009, l’Ontario prévoyait un déficit de
24,7 milliards de dollars pour 2009-2010. Dans les faits, le déficit de 2009-2010 s’est établi à 19,3 milliards de dollars.

Le budget de 2010 prévoyait des déficits de 19,7 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011, de 17,3 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012, de 15,9 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013 et de 13,3 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014. Les déficits réels étaient de 14,0 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011, de 13,0 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012, de 9,2 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013 et de 10,5 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014.

Dans le budget de 2014, on prévoyait un déficit de 12,5 milliards de dollars pour l’Ontario en 2014-2015. Le déficit réel pour 2014-2015 s’établissait à 10,3 milliards de dollars.

Dans le budget de 2015, on prévoyait un déficit de 8,5 milliards de dollars pour l’Ontario en 2015-2016. Dans les faits, le déficit de 2015-2016 s’est établi à 3,5 milliards de dollars.

Dans le budget de 2016, on prévoyait un déficit de 4,3 milliards de dollars pour l’Ontario en 2016-2017. Dans les faits, le déficit de 2016-2017 s’est établi à 1,0 milliard de dollars.

Le gouvernement projette des budgets équilibrés en 2017-2018 et jusqu’en 2019-2020.

Retourner au graphique 3.1

Graphique 3.2 Ratio de la dette nette au PIB

Ce graphique linéaire montre le rapport de la dette la nette au PIB de l’Ontario entre 1990-1991 et 2019-2020.

Depuis le sommet de 39,3 % atteint en 2014-2015, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB est en baisse. On prévoit qu’il sera de 37,3 % en 2017-2018, de 37,1 % en 2018-2019 et de 37,0 % en 2019-2020.

Retourner au graphique 3.2

Graphique 3.3 Facteurs de croissance de la dette nette

Environ 62 % de l’augmentation de la dette nette entre 2008-2009 et 2016-2017 est attribuable au déficit, le reste résultant surtout des investissements dans les immobilisations corporelles. À compter de 2017-2018, des budgets équilibrés limiteront l’augmentation de la dette nette à la différence entre les investissements de trésorerie dans les immobilisations corporelles et l’amortissement, qui en tant que frais hors trésorerie, ne représentent pas des sorties de fonds.

Retourner au graphique 3.3

Graphique 3.4 Une croissance plus robuste pour l’Ontario au cours des dernières années

Ce graphique à barres montre que la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario s’est inscrite en moyenne à 2,0 % pendant la période allant de 2003 à 2007, à -1,6 % en 2008-2009, à 2 % entre 2010 et 2013 et à 2,7 % pour la période 2014-2017. Les calculs pour 2017 sont fondés sur la projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Retourner au graphique 3.4

Graphique 3.5 Maintien du taux de chômage de l’Ontario sous la moyenne nationale pendant 31 mois consécutifs

Ce graphique linéaire illustre les taux de chômage mensuels pour l’Ontario et le Canada pendant la période de janvier 2000 à octobre 2017. Le taux de chômage au Canada est passé d’un sommet de 8,7 % en juin 2009 à 6,3 % en octobre 2017. En Ontario, le taux de chômage est passé d’un sommet de 9,6 % en juin 2009 à 5,9 % en octobre 2017 et a été inférieur à la moyenne nationale pendant 31 mois consécutifs.

Retourner au graphique 3.5