This document was published under a previous government and is available for archival and research purposes.

Outlook for Ontario’s Economic Growth

Over the 2017–20 period, the Ministry of Finance is forecasting average annual growth of 2.2 per cent in Ontario’s real GDP. For prudent fiscal planning, these real GDP growth projections are slightly below the average of private-sector forecasts.

TABLE 3.1 Ontario’s Economic Outlook
(Per Cent)

Item 2014 2015 2016 2017p 2018p 2019p 2020p
Real GDP Growth 2.7 2.9 2.6 2.8 2.1 2.0 2.0
Nominal GDP Growth 4.4 5.0 4.3 5.3 4.1 4.1 4.2
Employment Growth 0.8 0.7 1.1 1.4 1.1 1.1 1.0
CPI Inflation 2.4 1.2 1.8 1.7 2.0 2.0 2.0

Table 3.1 Footnotes:

p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.

Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Ontario’s economy is expected to continue to grow at a solid pace. Growth is expected to be driven by an advancing global and U.S. economy, while the combination of low oil prices and a competitive Canadian dollar will continue to broaden economic growth in Ontario. By 2020, Ontario is expected to create over 300,000 net new jobs over those existing in 2016, which will help the unemployment rate remain low.

Over the forecast period, rising interest rates are expected to shift growth from interest-rate-sensitive sectors, such as household consumption and housing, which have led activity in recent years. Trade is expected to be an important contributor to growth, as Ontario’s exports are projected to rise on average by 1.8 per cent annually over the 2017–20 period. Solid demand prospects will also continue to encourage businesses to invest over the projection period, as firms adopt new technologies, produce more innovative goods and services, and expand into new trade markets.

External Economic Environment

Forecasts for key external factors are summarized in Table 3.2. These are used as the basis for the Ministry of Finance’s forecast for economic growth in the province.

TABLE 3.2 Outlook for External Factors

Item 2014 2015 2016 2017p 2018p 2019p 2020p
World Real GDP Growth
(Per Cent)
3.6 3.4 3.2 3.6 3.7 3.7 3.7
U.S. Real GDP Growth
(Per Cent)
2.6 2.9 1.5 2.2 2.4 2.1 2.1
West Texas Intermediate (WTI)
Crude Oil ($US per Barrel)
93 49 43 50 52 56 60
Canadian Dollar (Cents US) 90.5 78.2 75.4 77.5 81.0 81.1 81.1
Three-Month Treasury Bill Rate1 (Per Cent) 0.9 0.5 0.5 0.7 1.5 2.2 2.5
10-Year Government Bond Rate1 (Per Cent) 2.2 1.5 1.3 1.8 2.5 3.2 3.6

Table 3.2 Footnotes:

p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection based on external sources.

[1] Government of Canada interest rates.

Sources: IMF World Economic Outlook (October 2017), U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (October 2017), U.S. Energy Information Administration, Bank of Canada, Ontario Ministry of Finance Survey of Forecasters (October 2017) and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

External factors are expected to support Ontario’s economic growth, but less so in the medium term. Global growth, including that of the province’s key trading partner, the United States, is expected to improve. However, interest rates, the Canadian dollar and oil prices are also projected to rise.

Ontario’s Housing Market

Ontario’s resale housing market advanced rapidly over the 2015–16 period and into early 2017, supported by low borrowing rates, rising employment, income gains and growth in the number of households. However, affordability of homes in Ontario eroded over this period as price gains outstripped incomes, fuelling mortgage debt accumulation.

Ontario’s Fair Housing Plan introduced a comprehensive package of measures to help more people find affordable homes, increase supply, protect buyers and renters, and bring stability to the real estate market.

Housing market activity has cooled following the introduction of the Fair Housing Plan. Since reaching a peak in March, the number of Ontario home resales and the average resale price moved lower over the next few months before stabilizing shortly thereafter. In September, Ontario home resales and the average resale price increased 2.5 per cent and 1.0 per cent, respectively, from the previous month. Looking ahead, housing market activity is expected to remain moderate, as rising interest rates, historically high valuations and mortgage debt temper healthy demand.

Risks to Ontario’s Economic Outlook

Although the global economy is expected to improve over the projection period, there are risks that could affect growth. Key external risks to Ontario’s outlook relate to uncertainty about U.S. economic policies, notably on trade, taxation and migration. Developments in these areas represent both opportunities and risks that could have broad repercussions on the Ontario economy. Modernized trade links with the United States and enhanced clarity on immigration policy could improve the outlook. Downside risks include overly restrictive changes to U.S. trade and immigration policy, and potential U.S. tax reforms. The government will continue to pursue international trade opportunities while defending Ontario’s interests. On October 19, the Province announced the Global Trade Strategy that sets out the government’s key priority areas to increase international trade performance over the next five years (see Chapter II: Creating Opportunities for Everyone for more details).

Domestically, high levels of household debt have left Ontario households more sensitive to rising interest rates. At the same time, the Ontario housing market is rebalancing after a period of sharp price appreciation. During this transition, there is a risk that faster-than-expected interest rate increases may lead to a more significant slowing in consumer spending and housing activity.

Global equity prices remain near record highs despite heightened geopolitical risks. This situation raises the likelihood of a significant market correction should risks materialize, which would dampen growth and confidence globally.

Table 3.3 provides current estimates of the impact of sustained changes in key external factors on the growth of Ontario’s real GDP, assuming other external factors are unchanged. The relatively wide range of the estimated impacts reflects uncertainty regarding how the economy could respond to these changes in external conditions.

TABLE 3.3 Impacts of Sustained Changes in Key External Factors on Ontario’s Real GDP Growth
(Percentage Point Change)

Item First Year Second Year
Canadian Dollar Depreciates by Five Cents US +0.1 to +0.7 +0.2 to +0.8
Crude Oil Prices Decrease by $10 US per Barrel +0.1 to +0.3 +0.1 to +0.3
U.S. Real GDP Growth Increases by One Percentage Point +0.2 to +0.6 +0.3 to +0.7
Canadian Interest Rates Increase by One Percentage Point –0.1 to –0.5 –0.2 to –0.6

Table 3.3 Footnotes:

Source: Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Transforming Statistics to Support Policy Development

High-quality statistics are critical for supporting evidence-based decision-making and policy development, improving social outcomes, and fostering an innovative and dynamic business climate. Ontario is establishing an official statistics program for the Province, known as the Ontario Statistics Office. The office will publish trusted, official statistical information to government, businesses and the community, and gather relevant data that will underpin efforts to create jobs and grow the economy. As the next step, the Province proposes to modernize statistics legislation.

Details of the Ontario Economic Outlook

Table 3.4 provides details of the Ministry of Finance’s economic outlook for the 2017–20 period.

TABLE 3.4 The Ontario Economy, 2015 to 2020
(Per Cent Change)

Item Actual
2015
Actual
2016
Projection
2017
Projection
2018
Projection
2019
Projection
2020
Real Gross Domestic Product 2.9 2.6 2.8 2.1 2.0 2.0
Household Consumption 2.8 3.0 3.4 2.3 2.3 2.3
Residential Construction 7.7 7.5 8.4 (0.8) 2.4 2.5
Non-Residential Construction 7.7 (10.1) (1.3) 3.0 6.5 3.1
Machinery and Equipment 7.3 (7.8) 3.5 4.3 6.2 3.9
Exports 3.3 2.5 0.8 2.4 1.9 1.9
Imports 3.2 0.0 2.1 1.9 2.5 2.0
Nominal Gross Domestic Product 5.0 4.3 5.3 4.1 4.1 4.2
Primary Household Income 4.7 3.1 4.2 4.4 4.5 4.2
Compensation of Employees 4.6 3.4 4.3 4.7 4.8 4.4
Net Operating Surplus — Corporations 7.1 7.3 16.1 2.9 2.8 3.7
Other Economic Indicators - Retail Sales 5.5 7.1 6.2 3.8 3.6 3.5
Other Economic Indicators - Housing Starts (000s) 70.2 75.0 77.5 71.0 71.0 72.0
Other Economic Indicators - Home Resales 9.5 9.5 (8.1) 2.8 3.2 3.4
Other Economic Indicators - Home Resale Prices 7.8 15.4 7.4 5.4 5.2 5.0
Other Economic Indicators - Consumer Price Index 1.2 1.8 1.7 2.0 2.0 2.0
Other Economic Indicators - Employment 0.7 1.1 1.4 1.1 1.1 1.0
Other Economic Indicators - Job Creation (000s) 45 76 99 78 79 73
Other Economic Indicators - Unemployment Rate (Per Cent) 6.8 6.5 6.2 6.2 6.1 6.1
Key External Variables - U.S. Real Gross Domestic Product 2.9 1.5 2.2 2.4 2.1 2.1
Key External Variables - WTI Crude Oil ($ US per Barrel) 49 43 50 52 56 60
Key External Variables - Canadian Dollar (Cents US) 78.2 75.4 77.5 81.0 81.1 81.1
Key External Variables - Three-Month Treasury Bill Rate1 0.5 0.5 0.7 1.5 2.2 2.5
Key External Variables - 10-Year Government Bond Rate1 1.5 1.3 1.8 2.5 3.2 3.6

Table 3.4 Footnotes:

[1] Government of Canada interest rates (per cent).

Sources: Statistics Canada, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Canadian Real Estate Association, Bank of Canada, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (October 2017), U.S. Energy Information Administration and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Private-Sector Forecasts

The Ministry of Finance regularly consults with private-sector economists and continually tracks their forecasts to inform the government’s planning assumptions. Ahead of the 2017 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the Minister of Finance met with private-sector economists to discuss their views on the economy and ideas to encourage further growth.

Private-sector economists are projecting continued growth for Ontario over the forecast horizon. On average, they are calling for real GDP growth of 2.9 per cent in 2017, 2.2 per cent in 2018, and 2.1 per cent in 2019 and 2020. For prudent fiscal planning, the Ministry of Finance’s real GDP growth projections are slightly below the average private-sector forecasts.

TABLE 3.5 Private-Sector Forecasts for Ontario Real GDP Growth
(Per Cent)

Item 2017 2018 2019 2020
BMO Capital Markets (October) 3.0 2.3 2.0
Central 1 Credit Union (September) 3.3 2.6 2.4 2.3
Centre for Spatial Economics (October) 3.1 2.0 2.5 2.4
CIBC World Markets (September) 3.0 2.3 1.7
Conference Board of Canada (July) 2.6 2.1 1.9 1.9
Desjardins Group (October) 3.0 2.3 2.0 1.5
IHS Global Insight (July) 2.8 2.4 2.4 2.1
Laurentian Bank Securities (August) 2.8 2.2 2.0
National Bank of Canada (September) 2.8 2.6
RBC Financial Group (September) 2.9 2.2
Scotiabank Group (October) 3.1 2.2 1.7
TD Bank Financial Group (September) 3.0 1.8 1.7
University of Toronto (August) 2.5 2.1 2.3 2.3
Private-Sector Survey Average 2.9 2.2 2.1 2.1
Ontario’s Planning Assumption 2.8 2.1 2.0 2.0

Table 3.5 Footnotes:

Source: Ontario Ministry of Finance Survey of Forecasters (October 24, 2017).

Comparison to the 2017 Budget

The current private-sector average outlook for Ontario real GDP growth is 2.9 per cent in 2017, up from 2.4 per cent projected at the time of the 2017 Budget. The improved outlook reflects relatively strong economic growth recorded in Ontario over the second half of 2016 and early 2017. In addition, the outlook over the 2017–20 period has moved slightly higher compared to the projections in the 2017 Budget.

Key changes since the 2017 Budget include:

  • Higher real GDP growth in 2017, with slightly higher average growth over the outlook period;
  • Higher nominal GDP growth in 2017; and
  • Higher Canadian dollar and short-term interest rates over the outlook period.

TABLE 3.6 Changes in Ontario Ministry of Finance Key Economic Forecast Assumptions: 2017 Budget Compared with 2017 Fall Economic Statement (FES)
(Per Cent Change)

Item 2017p
2017
Budget
2017p
2017
FES
2018p
2017
Budget
2018p
2017
FES
2019p
2017
Budget
2019p
2017
FES
2020p
2017
Budget
2020p
2017
FES
Real Gross Domestic Product 2.3 2.8 2.1 2.1 2.0 2.0 1.7 2.0
Nominal Gross Domestic Product 4.3 5.3 4.1 4.1 4.2 4.1 3.9 4.2
Retail Sales 3.9 6.2 3.7 3.8 3.8 3.6 3.3 3.5
Housing Starts (000s) 72.0 77.5 68.5 71.0 71.0 71.0 72.0 72.0
Primary Household Income 3.9 4.2 4.0 4.4 4.1 4.5 3.9 4.2
Compensation of Employees 4.1 4.3 4.5 4.7 4.6 4.8 4.2 4.4
Net Operating Surplus — Corporations 6.8 16.1 7.1 2.9 5.4 2.8 4.0 3.7
Employment 1.3 1.4 1.2 1.1 1.1 1.1 0.9 1.0
Job Creation (000s) 94 99 89 78 82 79 66 73
Consumer Price Index 2.0 1.7 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0
Key External Variables - U.S. Real Gross Domestic Product 2.3 2.2 2.4 2.4 2.1 2.1 2.0 2.1
Key External Variables - WTI Crude Oil
($ US per Barrel)
54 50 59 52 62 56 64 60
Key External Variables - Canadian Dollar
(Cents US)
74.5 77.5 75.5 81.0 78.5 81.1 80.0 81.1
Key External Variables - Three-Month Treasury Bill Rate1 (Per Cent) 0.5 0.7 0.8 1.5 1.5 2.2 1.9 2.5
Key External Variables - 10-Year Government Bond Rate1 (Per Cent) 1.9 1.8 2.4 2.5 3.0 3.2 3.2 3.6

Table 3.6 Footnotes:

p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.

[1] Government of Canada interest rates.

Sources: Statistics Canada, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Bank of Canada, U.S. Energy Information Administration, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (October 2017) and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Ce document a été publié sous un gouvernement précédent et il est disponible à des fins d’archivage et de recherche seulement.

Perspectives de croissance économique en Ontario

Le ministère des Finances prévoit qu’entre 2017 et 2020, la croissance annuelle moyenne du PIB réel de l’Ontario s’établira à 2,2 %. Par souci de prudence dans la planification financière, ces projections de croissance sont quelque peu inférieures à la moyenne des prévisions du secteur privé.

TABLEAU 3.1 Perspectives économiques de l’Ontario
(en pourcentage)

Item 2014 2015 2016 2017p 2018p 2019p 2020p
Croissance du PIB réel 2,7 2,9 2,6 2,8 2,1 2,0 2,0
Croissance du PIB nominal 4,4 5,0 4,3 5,3 4,1 4,1 4,2
Croissance de l’emploi 0,8 0,7 1,1 1,4 1,1 1,1 1,0
Inflation de l’IPC 2,4 1,2 1,8 1,7 2,0 2,0 2,0

Notes du tableau 3.1 :

p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

On prévoit que l’économie ontarienne poursuivra sa croissance à un rythme soutenu. Elle devrait avoir pour moteur une économie mondiale et américaine en progression, tandis que la faiblesse des prix du pétrole et la compétitivité du dollar canadien continueront ensemble à stimuler la croissance économique en Ontario. D’ici 2020, on s’attend à ce que l’Ontario ait créé plus de 300 000 nouveaux emplois nets par rapport à ceux qui existaient en 2016, ce qui aidera le taux de chômage à demeurer faible.

Au cours de la période de prévision, la hausse des taux d’intérêt devrait avoir une incidence à la baisse sur la croissance des secteurs sensibles aux taux d’intérêt, comme la consommation des ménages et le logement, lesquels ont dominé l’activité économique ces dernières années. Le commerce devrait contribuer de façon significative à la croissance puisqu’on prévoit que les exportations de l’Ontario augmenteront en moyenne de 1,8 % par année entre 2017 et 2020. De solides projections quant à la demande continueront aussi d’encourager les entreprises à investir pendant la période de prévision, les sociétés adoptant de nouvelles technologies, produisant des biens et des services plus novateurs, et pénétrant de nouveaux marchés.

Contexte économique externe

Le tableau 3.2 résume les principaux facteurs externes. Le ministère des Finances se sert de ces facteurs pour faire ses prévisions concernant la croissance économique de la province.

TABLEAU 3.2 Prévisions liées aux facteurs externes

Item 2014 2015 2016 2017p 2018p 2019p 2020p
Croissance du PIB réel mondial
(en pourcentage)
3,6 3,4 3,2 3,6 3,7 3,7 3,7
Croissance du PIB réel des É.-U.
(en pourcentage)
2,6 2,9 1,5 2,2 2,4 2,1 2,1
Pétrole brut West Texas Intermediate (WTI) (en $ US le baril) 93 49 43 50 52 56 60
Dollar canadien (en cents américains) 90,5 78,2 75,4 77,5 81,0 81,1 81,1
Taux des bons du Trésor de trois mois1 (en pourcentage) 0,9 0,5 0,5 0,7 1,5 2,2 2,5
Taux des obligations de 10 ans du gouvernement 1 (en pourcentage) 2,2 1,5 1,3 1,8 2,5 3,2 3,6

Notes do tableau 3.2 :

p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario fondée sur des prévisions de sources externes.

[1] Taux d’intérêt du gouvernement du Canada.

Sources : Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI (octobre 2017), U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (octobre 2017), U.S. Energy Information Administration, Banque du Canada, enquête du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario auprès des prévisionnistes (octobre 2017) et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

On s’attend à ce que les facteurs externes soutiennent la croissance économique de l’Ontario, mais cela à un degré moindre à moyen terme. La croissance mondiale, notamment celle des États-Unis, principal partenaire commercial de la province, devrait s’améliorer. Cependant, il est prévu que les taux d’intérêt, le dollar canadien et les prix du pétrole augmenteront aussi.

Marché du logement de l’Ontario

Le marché des reventes de logements en Ontario a progressé rapidement en 2015 et 2016 ainsi qu’au début de 2017, favorisé par de faibles taux d’emprunt, un taux d’emploi à la hausse, l’augmentation des revenus et la croissance du nombre de ménages. Cependant, l’abordabilité des logements en Ontario a diminué au cours de cette période car les hausses de prix ont dépassé les revenus, ce qui a exacerbé l’accumulation de dettes hypothécaires.

Dans le cadre du Plan de l’Ontario pour le logement équitable, on a instauré un vaste train de mesures pour aider plus de gens à trouver des logements abordables, améliorer l’offre, protéger tant les acheteurs que les locataires et stabiliser le marché immobilier.

L’activité du marché du logement a ralenti par suite de l’instauration du Plan pour le logement équitable. Après avoir atteint un sommet en mars, les reventes de logements en Ontario et le prix moyen de revente ont diminué au cours des mois suivants, puis se sont stabilisés. En septembre, le nombre de reventes et le prix moyen de revente ont augmenté de 2,5 % et de 1,0 % respectivement, par rapport au mois précédent. On prévoit que l’activité du marché du logement restera modérée, car la hausse des taux d’intérêt ainsi que le niveau historiquement élevé des évaluations et des dettes hypothécaires freineront la demande.

Risques pesant sur les perspectives économiques de l’Ontario

Même si l’économie mondiale devrait s’améliorer au cours de la période de prévision, certains risques pourraient porter atteinte à la croissance. Les principaux risques externes pouvant affecter les perspectives économiques de l’Ontario ont trait à l’incertitude entourant la politique économique des États-Unis, notamment en ce qui concerne le commerce, l’imposition et la migration. L’évolution dans ces domaines présente à la fois des occasions et des risques qui pourraient avoir de vastes répercussions sur l’économie de l’Ontario. Des relations commerciales plus modernes avec les États-Unis et plus de clarté sur la politique d’immigration pourraient améliorer les perspectives. Les risques de détérioration comprennent notamment des modifications démesurément restrictives à la politique américaine sur le commerce et l’immigration, ainsi que la possibilité de réformes du régime fiscal des États-Unis. Le gouvernement continuera d’explorer les possibilités commerciales sur le plan international, tout en défendant les intérêts de l’Ontario. Le 19 octobre, la province a annoncé une stratégie d’expansion commerciale qui définit les secteurs prioritaires clés du gouvernement afin d’accroître la performance en matière de commerce international au cours des cinq prochaines années (pour en savoir davantage, se reporter au chapitre II, Créer des débouchés pour tous).

Au pays, le fort niveau d’endettement des ménages expose davantage les ménages ontariens à la hausse des taux d’intérêt. Par ailleurs, le marché du logement de l’Ontario se rééquilibre après une période d’appréciation marquée des prix. Pendant cette transition, on court le risque que des hausses de taux d’intérêt plus rapides que prévu n’entraînent un ralentissement plus prononcé des dépenses de consommation et de l’activité sur le marché du logement.

Le cours des actions à l’échelle mondiale demeure à un niveau quasi record malgré les risques géopolitiques plus élevés. Cela augmente la probabilité d’une correction importante du marché advenant que les risques se matérialisent, ce qui freinerait la croissance et minerait la confiance à l’échelle mondiale.

Le tableau 3.3 présente les estimations actuelles des répercussions des variations des principaux facteurs externes sur la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario, en supposant que les autres facteurs externes restent inchangés. L’écart relativement important entre les répercussions estimées est attribuable au degré d’incertitude entourant les réactions de l’économie à ces variations des conditions externes.

TABLEAU 3.3 Répercussions des variations soutenues des principaux facteurs externes sur la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario
(variation en points de pourcentage)

Item Première année Deuxième année
Dépréciation du dollar canadien de 0,05 $ US +0,1 à +0,7 +0,2 à +0,8
Baisse du prix du pétrole brut de 10 $ US le baril +0,1 à +0,3 +0,1 à +0,3
Augmentation de la croissance du PIB réel des É.-U. de 1 point de pourcentage +0,2 à +0,6 +0,3 à +0,7
Hausse des taux d’intérêt canadiens de 1 point de pourcentage –0,1 à –0,5 –0,2 à –0,6

Notes du tableau 3.3 :

Source : ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Transformation des statistiques pour soutenir l’élaboration de politiques

Des statistiques de qualité sont essentielles pour soutenir un processus de prise de décisions et d’élaboration de politiques fondé sur des données probantes, pour améliorer le résultat social et pour favoriser un climat d’affaires innovateur et dynamique. L’Ontario établit un programme officiel en matière de statistiques pour la province qui sera connu sous le nom de Bureau ontarien de la statistique. Ce bureau publiera des données statistiques officielles fiables à l’intention du gouvernement, des entreprises et de la collectivité, et recueillera des données pertinentes qui sous-tendront les efforts visant la création d’emplois et la croissance économique. En guise de prochaine étape, la province propose d’actualiser ses mesures législatives sur la statistique.

Détails des perspectives économiques de l’Ontario

Le tableau 3.4 fournit des précisions sur les perspectives économiques du ministère des Finances pour la période de 2017 à 2020.

TABLEAU 3.4 Économie de l’Ontario, de 2015 à 2020
(variation en pourcentage)

Item Chiffres réels
2015
Chiffres réels
2016
Projection
2017
Projection
2018
Projection
2019
Projection
2020
Produit intérieur brut réel 2,9 2,6 2,8 2,1 2,0 2,0
Consommation des ménages 2,8 3,0 3,4 2,3 2,3 2,3
Construction résidentielle 7,7 7,5 8,4 (0,8) 2,4 2,5
Construction non résidentielle 7,7 (10,1) (1,3) 3,0 6,5 3,1
Machines et matériel 7,3 (7,8) 3,5 4,3 6,2 3,9
Exportations 3,3 2,5 0,8 2,4 1,9 1,9
Importations 3,2 0,0 2,1 1,9 2,5 2,0
Produit intérieur brut nominal 5,0 4,3 5,3 4,1 4,1 4,2
Revenu primaire des ménages 4,7 3,1 4,2 4,4 4,5 4,2
Rémunération des employés 4,6 3,4 4,3 4,7 4,8 4,4
Excédent net d’exploitation – sociétés 7,1 7,3 16,1 2,9 2,8 3,7
Autres indicateurs économiques - Ventes au détail 5,5 7,1 6,2 3,8 3,6 3,5
Autres indicateurs économiques - Mises en chantier de logements (en milliers) 70,2 75,0 77,5 71,0 71,0 72,0
Autres indicateurs économiques - Reventes de logements 9,5 9,5 (8,1) 2,8 3,2 3,4
Autres indicateurs économiques - Prix de revente des logements 7,8 15,4 7,4 5,4 5,2 5,0
Autres indicateurs économiques - Indice des prix à la consommation 1,2 1,8 1,7 2,0 2,0 2,0
Autres indicateurs économiques - Emploi 0,7 1,1 1,4 1,1 1,1 1,0
Autres indicateurs économiques - Création d’emplois (en milliers) 45 76 99 78 79 73
Autres indicateurs économiques - Taux de chômage (en pourcentage) 6,8 6,5 6,2 6,2 6,1 6,1
Principaux facteurs externes - Produit intérieur brut réel américain 2,9 1,5 2,2 2,4 2,1 2,1
Principaux facteurs externes - Pétrole brut WTI (en $ US le baril) 49 43 50 52 56 60
Principaux facteurs externes - Dollar canadien (en cents américains) 78,2 75,4 77,5 81,0 81,1 81,1
Principaux facteurs externes - Taux des bons du Trésor de trois mois1 0,5 0,5 0,7 1,5 2,2 2,5
Principaux facteurs externes - Taux des obligations de 10 ans du gouvernement1 1,5 1,3 1,8 2,5 3,2 3,6

Notes du tableau 3.4 :

[1] Taux d’intérêt du gouvernement du Canada (en pourcentage).

Sources : Statistique Canada, Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, Association canadienne de l’immeuble, Banque du Canada, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (octobre 2017), U.S. Energy Information Administration et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Prévisions du secteur privé

Le ministère des Finances consulte régulièrement les économistes du secteur privé et suit constamment leurs prévisions afin de poser les hypothèses de planification du gouvernement. Avant la publication du document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2017, le ministre des Finances a rencontré des économistes du secteur privé pour discuter de leur point de vue sur l’économie et leur demander des suggestions pour stimuler encore davantage la croissance.

Les économistes du secteur privé envisagent une croissance continue pour l’Ontario au cours de la période de prévision. Ils s’attendent, en moyenne, à un taux de croissance du PIB réel de 2,9 % en 2017, de 2,2 % en 2018 ainsi que de 2,1 % en 2019 et en 2020. Le ministère des Finances, soucieux de faire preuve de prudence dans sa planification financière, prévoit une croissance du PIB réel légèrement inférieure à la moyenne projetée par les économistes du secteur privé.

TABLEAU 3.5 Prévisions du secteur privé concernant la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario
(en pourcentage)

Item 2017 2018 2019 2020
BMO Marchés des capitaux (octobre) 3,0 2,3 2,0
Central 1 Credit Union (septembre) 3,3 2,6 2,4 2,3
Centre for Spatial Economics (octobre) 3,1 2,0 2,5 2,4
Marchés mondiaux CIBC (septembre) 3,0 2,3 1,7
Le Conference Board du Canada (juillet) 2,6 2,1 1,9 1,9
Mouvement Desjardins (octobre) 3,0 2,3 2,0 1,5
IHS Global Insight (juillet) 2,8 2,4 2,4 2,1
Valeurs mobilières Banque Laurentienne (août) 2,8 2,2 2,0
Banque Nationale du Canada (septembre) 2,8 2,6
RBC Groupe financier (septembre) 2,9 2,2
Groupe Banque Scotia (octobre) 3,1 2,2 1,7
Groupe financier Banque TD (septembre) 3,0 1,8 1,7
Université de Toronto (août) 2,5 2,1 2,3 2,3
Moyenne selon l’enquête sur les prévisions du secteur privé 2,9 2,2 2,1 2,1
Hypothèse de planification de l’Ontario 2,8 2,1 2,0 2,0

Note du tableau 3.5 :

Source : enquête du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario auprès des prévisionnistes (24 octobre 2017).

Comparaison avec le budget de 2017

Selon les perspectives moyennes du secteur privé, la croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario se situe à 2,9 % en 2017, une hausse par rapport au taux de 2,4 % prévu lors de la publication du budget de 2017. Les perspectives améliorées découlent de la croissance économique relativement forte enregistrée en Ontario au cours de la deuxième moitié de 2016 et au début de 2017. De plus, les perspectives pour la période allant de 2017 à 2020 se sont légèrement améliorées comparativement aux projections du budget de 2017.

Voici les principaux changements survenus depuis le budget de 2017 :

  • croissance plus marquée du PIB réel en 2017, avec une croissance moyenne légèrement supérieure pour la période de prévision;
  • croissance plus marquée du PIB nominal en 2017;
  • dollar canadien plus élevé et taux d’intérêt à court terme plus élevés au cours de la période de prévision.

TABLEAU 3.6 Changements apportés aux principales hypothèses économiques du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario : Comparaison entre le budget de 2017 et l’énoncé économique d’automne (ÉÉA) de 2017
(variation en pourcentage)

Item 2017p
Budget
2017
2017p
ÉÉA
2017
2018p
Budget
2017
2018p
ÉÉA
2017
2019p
Budget
2017
2019p
ÉÉA
2017
2020p
Budget
2017
2020p
ÉÉA
2017
Produit intérieur brut réel 2,3 2,8 2,1 2,1 2,0 2,0 1,7 2,0
Produit intérieur brut nominal 4,3 5,3 4,1 4,1 4,2 4,1 3,9 4,2
Ventes au détail 3,9 6,2 3,7 3,8 3,8 3,6 3,3 3,5
Mises en chantier de logements (en milliers) 72,0 77,5 68,5 71,0 71,0 71,0 72,0 72,0
Revenu primaire des ménages 3,9 4,2 4,0 4,4 4,1 4,5 3,9 4,2
Rémunération des employés 4,1 4,3 4,5 4,7 4,6 4,8 4,2 4,4
Excédent net d’exploitation – sociétés 6,8 16,1 7,1 2,9 5,4 2,8 4,0 3,7
Emploi 1,3 1,4 1,2 1,1 1,1 1,1 0,9 1,0
Création d’emplois (en milliers) 94 99 89 78 82 79 66 73
Indice des prix à la consommation 2,0 1,7 2,0 2,0 2,0 2,0 2,0 2,0
Principaux facteurs externes - Produit intérieur brut réel américain 2,3 2,2 2,4 2,4 2,1 2,1 2,0 2,1
Principaux facteurs externes - Pétrole brut WTI (en $ US le baril) 54 50 59 52 62 56 64 60
Principaux facteurs externes - Dollar canadien (en cents américains) 74,5 77,5 75,5 81,0 78,5 81,1 80,0 81,1
Principaux facteurs externes - Taux des bons du Trésor de trois mois1 (en pourcentage) 0,5 0,7 0,8 1,5 1,5 2,2 1,9 2,5
Principaux facteurs externes- Taux des obligations de 10 ans du gouvernement 1 (en pourcentage) 1,9 1,8 2,4 2,5 3,0 3,2 3,2 3,6

Notes du tableau 3.6 :

p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

[1] Taux d’intérêt du gouvernement du Canada.

Sources : Statistique Canada, Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, Banque du Canada, U.S. Energy Information Administration, U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Blue Chip Economic Indicators (octobre 2017) et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.