Long-Term Public Borrowing

The government is continuing to project a balanced budget in 2017–18, unchanged from the 2017 Budget forecast.

The Province’s total long-term borrowing in 2017–18 is forecast to be $25.8 billion, $0.6 billion less than the forecast for 2017–18 in the 2017 Budget, primarily because fiscal 2016–17’s deficit was $0.5 billion lower than was forecast at the time of the 2017 Budget.

TABLE 3.17 Borrowing Program and Medium-Term Outlook
($ Billions)

Item 2017–18
2017 Budget
2017–18
Current Outlook
2017–18
In-Year Change
2018–19 2019–20
Deficit/(Surplus) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
Investment in Capital Assets 13.1 13.1 15.4 17.1
Non-Cash Adjustments (6.7) (6.7) (6.9) (7.1)
Loans to Infrastructure Ontario 0.4 0.4 0.5 0.6
Other Net Loans/Investments (0.8) (0.7) 0.0 1.4 0.6
Debt Maturities 17.5 17.4 (0.1) 21.8 27.4
Debt Redemptions 0.1 0.1 0.1 0.1
Total Funding Requirement 23.7 23.6 (0.1) 32.3 38.7
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (0.9)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents 6.0 6.0
Pre-Borrowing from 2016–17 (3.2) (3.8) (0.5)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 26.4 25.8 (0.6) 32.2 37.8

Table 3.17 Footnotes:

Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The Province’s assessment is that geopolitical risks are currently elevated. Therefore, the Province will target completion of its 2017–18 borrowing by the end of the third fiscal quarter and begin pre-borrowing for 2018–19. As of October 31, 2017, $24.2 billion, or 94 per cent, of this year’s long-term public borrowing was completed.

The government increased the level of its liquid, or cash, reserves as the province came through the financial crisis of 2008–09. These reserves are currently over $30 billion as compared to an average of $7.3 billion in 2007, preceding the financial crisis. The Province is targeting a level in excess of $25 billion at the end of this fiscal year. This build-up in cash reserves will allow the Province to withstand unexpected economic events including any market disruptions. It also ensures that the Province will be well prepared to meet large single-day maturities in both 2018–19 and 2019–20. Investors and rating agencies also look favourably upon liquid reserves that are consistently high as evidence that the Province will be able to meet its financial commitments, and include this as a factor in their assessment of the Province’s credit worthiness.

Chart 3.8 2017–18 Borrowing

Chart 3.8 Chart 3.8 2017-18 Borrowing
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.8

Approximately 63 per cent of this year’s borrowing to date has been completed in Canadian dollars, primarily through syndicated issues.

About $9 billion, or 37 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in foreign currencies. The Province has adjusted its target for Canadian dollar borrowing to approximately two-thirds of total borrowing, from 75 per cent, in response to strong demand for Ontario bonds in foreign currencies. The Province will continue to assess this target and adjust it further, if needed, to reflect market conditions. The U.S. dollar and euro markets have remained important sources of funding for Ontario this year, with almost all of the Province’s foreign-denominated issuance to date being completed in U.S. dollars and euros. The remaining foreign currency borrowing has been completed in pound sterling, Swiss francs and Australian dollars.

The Province regularly accesses borrowing opportunities in currencies other than Canadian dollars to diversify its investor base. This helps reduce Ontario’s overall borrowing costs and ensures the Province will continue to have access to capital if market conditions become more challenging.

Leading Canadian Dollar Green Bond Market

On January 27, 2017, Ontario successfully launched its third Canadian dollar Green Bond of $800 million. The Province plans to issue its fourth Green Bond later this fiscal year.

Green Bonds are an important tool to help Ontario finance transit and other environmentally friendly projects across the province. Twelve eligible projects with an emphasis on clean transportation, and energy efficiency and conservation have been selected to receive funding from the third Green Bond.

To date, the total Green Bond financing amounts to $2.05 billion, with up to $1.77 billion allocated to Metrolinx for clean transportation projects. All three Green Bond issues helped fund the Eglinton Crosstown LRT project in Toronto, one of the largest public transit expansions in the history of the province.

Interest on Debt Savings and Affordability

Chart 3.9 illustrates how the interest on debt (IOD) savings have improved the interest on debt-to-revenue ratio, a key measure of affordability of debt. The 2010 Budget forecast that, by 2017–18, the Province would have to spend 11.3 cents of every revenue dollar received on interest. The current forecast is 3.1 cents lower, at a cost of 8.2 cents in interest for every dollar of revenue. This ratio is lower than it was in the 1990s and 2000s, and is forecast to remain lower throughout the outlook period to 2019–20.

Chart 3.9 Interest on Debt-to-Revenue Ratio

Chart 3.9 Interest on Debt-to-Revenue Ratio
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.9

Net Debt-to-GDP

In 2017–18, the net debt-to-GDP ratio will be 37.3 per cent, or 0.2 per cent lower than was forecast in the 2017 Budget. In the 2017 Budget, the government set an interim net debt-to-GDP ratio target of 35 per cent by 2023–24 and continues to maintain a target of reducing the net debt-to-GDP ratio to its pre-recession level of 27 per cent, currently projected to be achieved by 2029–30.

Chart 3.10 Net Debt-to-GDP and Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

Chart 3.10 Net Debt-to-GDP and Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.10

Cost of Debt

The global decline in interest rates over the last 25 years cannot continue indefinitely. To protect the province from an increase in interest rates, the government has continued to extend the term of its debt. Going back to the beginning of fiscal 2010–11, Ontario has issued $68.6 billion of bonds longer than 30 years to lock in low rates. As a result, the weighted-average term to maturity of long-term provincial debt issued has been extended significantly, from 8.6 years in 2008–09 to 13.9 years in 2016–17 and 12.8 years for 2017–18 as at October 31, 2017. As interest rates begin to rise, the Province will assess whether it remains cost-effective over the long term to continue to extend the term of its debt.

Chart 3.11 Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

Chart 3.11 Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 3.11

Reducing Ontario’s Electricity Sector Stranded Debt

The 2017 annual financial statements of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC) showed revenue over expense of $1.2 billion, reducing the OEFC’s unfunded liability (or “stranded debt”) from $4.4 billion as at March 31, 2016, to $3.2 billion as at March 31, 2017, the 13th consecutive year of stranded debt reduction.

Chart Descriptions

Chart 3.8: 2017–18 Borrowing

As at October 31, 2017, $24.2 billion of this year’s long-term public borrowing has been completed. This consisted of $13.5 billion of Canadian dollar syndicated bonds, $1.6 billion of Canadian Dollar Floating Rate Notes, $0.1 billion of Ontario Savings Bonds, $5.2 billion of U.S. dollar bonds, $2.3 billion of euro bonds, $0.5 billion of Swiss franc bonds, $0.9 billion of pound sterling bonds and $0.1 billion of Australian dollar bonds.

Return to Chart 3.8

Chart 3.9: Interest on Debt-to-Revenue Ratio

Interest on debt-to-revenue ratio is forecast to be 8.2 per cent for 2017–18. This ratio is lower than it was in the 1990s and 2000s, and is forecast to remain lower through the outlook period to 2019–20.

Return to Chart 3.9

Chart 3.10: Net Debt-to-GDP and Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP ratio is forecast at 37.3 per cent in 2017–18, 37.1 per cent in 2018–19, 37.0 per cent in 2019–20, and 36.7 per cent in 2020–21.

Return to Chart 3.10

Chart 3.11: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

As of March 31, 2017, the effective interest rate (calculated as a weighted average) was 3.5 per cent on the Province’s total debt, compared to the 3.6 per cent in 2015–16. The effective interest rate has been steadily decreasing from 10.9 per cent in 1990–91. It is 3.5 per cent as at September 30, 2017.

Return to Chart 3.11

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

Le gouvernement continue de prévoir un budget équilibré en 2017-2018, ce qui correspond aux prévisions du budget de 2017.

Les emprunts à long terme contractés par la province en 2017-2018 devraient totaliser 25,8 milliards de dollars, soit 0,6 milliard de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu pour 2017-2018 dans le budget de 2017, en raison surtout du fait que le déficit de 2016-2017 a été de 0,5 milliard de dollars inférieur aux prévisions budgétaires de 2017.

TABLEAU 3.17 Programme d’emprunt et perspectives à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)

Item

2017-2018
Budget 2017

2017-2018
Persp. actuelles
2017-2018
Variation en cours d’exerc.
2018-2019 2019-2020
Déficit/(Excédent) 0,0 0,0 0,0 0,0
Investissement dans les immobilisations corporelles 13,1 13,1 15,4 17,1
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (6,7) (6,7) (6,9) (7,1)
Prêts à Infrastructure Ontario 0,4 0,4 0,5 0,6
Autres prêts/investissements nets (0,8) (0,7) 0,0 1,4 0,6
Dette arrivant à échéance 17,5 17,4 (0,1) 21,8 27,4
Remboursement d’emprunts 0,1 0,1 0,1 0,1
Total des besoins en matière de financement 23,7 23,6 (0,1) 32,3 38,7
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (0,9)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie 6,0 6,0
Emprunts anticipés de 2016-2017 (3,2) (3,8) (0,5)
Total des emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics 26,4 25,8 (0,6) 32,2 37,8

Notes du tableau 3.17 :

Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

La province estime que les risques géopolitiques sont élevés à l’heure actuelle. Elle a donc l’intention de combler ses besoins d’emprunt pour 2017-2018 d’ici la fin du troisième trimestre et de commencer à faire des emprunts anticipés pour 2018‑2019. Au 31 octobre 2017, l’Ontario avait emprunté 24,2 milliards de dollars à long terme sur les marchés publics, comblant ainsi 94 % des besoins de cette année.

Lorsque la province est sortie de la crise financière de 2008-2009, le gouvernement a augmenté les niveaux de réserves de liquidités. Ces réserves se chiffrent actuellement à plus de 30 milliards de dollars, comparativement à la moyenne de 7,3 milliards de dollars enregistrée avant la crise en 2007. La province vise un niveau de plus de 25 milliards de dollars à la fin de l’exercice. Cette accumulation des réserves de liquidités permettra à la province de faire face aux événements imprévus sur le plan économique, y compris aux bouleversements pouvant survenir sur les marchés, et d’être en mesure de répondre à la demande qui découlera du grand nombre de titres de créance qui arriveront à échéance le même jour en 2018-2019 et en 2019-2020. Pour les investisseurs et les agences de notation, le fait que la province conserve en permanence d’importantes réserves de liquidités démontre qu’elle pourra respecter ses engagements financiers, et ce facteur est pris en compte lors de l’évaluation de la solvabilité de la province.

Graphique 3.8 Emprunts 2017-2018

Graphique 3.8 Emprunts 2017-2018
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.8

Jusqu’ici cette année, environ 63 % des emprunts ont été contractés en dollars canadiens, principalement par l’entremise d’obligations consortiales.

Environ 37 % des emprunts, soit quelque 9 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés en devises étrangères. La province a modifié sa cible d’emprunts en dollars canadiens, qui était de 75 %, pour la ramener à environ deux tiers des emprunts totaux, étant donné la forte demande d’obligations de l’Ontario en devises étrangères. La province continuera d’évaluer cette cible et la modifiera de nouveau si les conditions du marché le dictent. Les marchés du dollar américain et de l’euro sont demeurés d’importantes sources de financement pour l’Ontario cette année, la plupart des emprunts en devises de la province ayant été contractés jusqu’ici en dollars américains et en euros. Le reste des emprunts contractés en devises l’a été en livres sterling, en francs suisses et en dollars australiens.

La province tire régulièrement parti des occasions d’emprunter dans des devises autres que le dollar canadien pour continuer à diversifier son bassin d’investisseurs. Cela aide à réduire les coûts globaux d’emprunt de l’Ontario et permet à la province d’avoir accès à du capital lorsque les conditions du marché sont moins favorables.

Chef de file sur le marché des obligations vertes en dollars canadiens

Le 27 janvier 2017, l’Ontario a procédé avec succès à sa troisième émission d’obligations vertes en dollars canadiens, d’une valeur de 800 millions de dollars. La province prévoit émettre sa quatrième série d’obligations vertes plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Les obligations vertes sont un outil important qui aide l’Ontario à financer des projets de transport en commun et d’autres projets écologiques aux quatre coins de la province. Douze projets admissibles, qui mettent l’accent sur les moyens de transport propres ainsi que sur la conservation et l’efficacité énergétiques, ont été choisis pour recevoir des fonds générés par la troisième émission d’obligations vertes.

Jusqu’à présent, le financement découlant des obligations vertes totalise 2,05 milliards de dollars, jusqu’à 1,77 milliard de dollars étant attribués à Metrolinx pour des projets de transport propre. Les trois émissions d’obligations vertes ont contribué au financement du projet Eglinton Crosstown à Toronto, l’une des plus vastes expansions des transports en commun de l’histoire de la province.

Économies au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette et abordabilité

Le graphique 3.9 illustre la façon dont les économies au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette ont amélioré le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette aux revenus, une mesure clé de l’abordabilité de la dette. Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que, d’ici 2017-2018, la province allait devoir consacrer au paiement de l’intérêt 11,3 cents de chaque dollar perçu. Or, les prévisions actuelles sont inférieures de 3,1 cents, soit 8,2 cents en frais d’intérêt pour chaque dollar de revenus. Ce ratio est inférieur à ce qu’il était au cours des années 1990 et 2000, et cette tendance devrait se poursuivre durant la période de prévision jusqu’en 2019-2020.

Graphique 3.9 Ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette au revenu

Graphique 3.9 Ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette au revenu
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.9

Ratio de la dette nette au PIB

En 2017-2018, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB sera de 37,3 %, soit 0,2 % inférieur aux prévisions du budget de 2017. Dans ce budget, le gouvernement a établi une cible provisoire de 35 % pour ce ratio d’ici 2023-2024, et il est toujours désireux de le réduire pour le ramener au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession. Selon les projections actuelles, cela devrait se produire d’ici 2029‑2030.

Graphique 3.10 Ratio de la dette nette au PIB et ratio du déficit
accumulé au PIB

Graphique 3.10 Ratio de la dette nette au PIB et ratio du déficit
accumulé au PIB
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.10

Coût de la dette

La baisse générale des taux d’intérêt des 25 dernières années ne peut durer indéfiniment. Afin de protéger la province contre une hausse de ces taux, le gouvernement a continué à prolonger l’échéance de sa dette. Au début de l’exercice 2010-2011, l’Ontario a émis des obligations d’une valeur de 68,6 milliards de dollars dont l’échéance dépasse 30 ans pour tirer parti des faibles taux d’intérêt. Ainsi, la moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme contractée a été prolongée considérablement, étant passée de 8,6 ans en 2008-2009 à 13,9 ans en 2016-2017 et à 12,8 ans pour 2017-2018 au 31 octobre 2017. Comme les taux d’intérêt ont commencé à augmenter, la province évaluera s’il est toujours efficient à long terme de continuer à prolonger l’échéance de sa dette.

Graphique 3.11 Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée)
de la dette totale

Graphique 3.11 Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée)
de la dette totale
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 3.11

Réduction de la dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité de l’Ontario

Les états financiers annuels de 2017 de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SFIEO) indiquent que les revenus sont de 1,2 milliard de dollars supérieurs aux charges, ce qui réduit la dette non provisionnée de la SFIEO (ou « dette insurmontable »), pour la faire passer de 4,4 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2016 à 3,2 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2017, la 13e année de suite où la dette insurmontable a diminué.

Description des graphiques

Graphique 3.8 : Emprunts 2017-2018

Au 31 octobre 2017, l’Ontario avait emprunté 24,2 milliards de dollars à long terme sur les marchés publics. Ces emprunts consistaient en 13,5 milliards d’obligations consortiales en dollars canadiens, 1,6 milliard de dollars de billets à taux variable en dollars canadiens, 0,1 milliard de dollars d’obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario, 5,2 milliards de dollars d’obligations en dollars américains, 2,3 milliards de dollars d’obligations en euros, 0,5 milliard d’obligations en francs suisses, 0,9 milliard d’obligations en livres sterling et 0,1 milliard d’obligations en dollars australiens.

Retourner au graphique 3.8

Graphique 3.9 : Ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette au revenu

On prévoit que le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette aux revenus sera de 8,2 % en 2017-2018. Ce ratio est inférieur à ce qu’il était au cours des années 1990 et 2000, et cette tendance devrait se poursuivre durant la période de prévision jusqu’en 2019-2020.

Retourner au graphique 3.9

Graphique 3.10 : Ratio de la dette nette au PIB et ratio du déficit accumulé au PIB

Le rapport dette nette-PIB de l’Ontario s’établira à 37,3 % en 2017-2018, à 37,1 % en 2018-2019, à 37,0 % en 2019-2020 et à 36,7 % en 2020-2021.

Retourner au graphique 3.10

Graphique 3.11 : Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

Au 31 mars 2017, le taux d’intérêt effectif (calculé selon une moyenne pondérée) représentait 3,5 % de la dette totale de la province, comparativement à 3,6 % en 2015-2016. Le taux d’intérêt effectif a baissé de façon progressive depuis 1990-1991, où il se chiffrait à 10,9 %. Il s’élevait à 3,5 % au 30 septembre 2017.

Retourner au graphique 3.11