This document was published under a previous government and is available for archival and research purposes.

Introduction

Ontario continues to make progress to ensure the fairness and effectiveness of Ontario’s tax system, including proposed measures to cut the small business Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate, transform the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit (ATTC), enhance the property tax and assessment system, and address the underground economy.

Cutting the Small Business Corporate Income Tax Rate

The government remains committed to Ontario’s small business deduction that reduces the Ontario general CIT rate for small Canadian-controlled private corporations on their first $500,000 of active business income.

To provide increased support for small businesses and help them become more competitive, the government proposes to cut the small business CIT rate by 22 per cent, from 4.5 per cent to 3.5 per cent, effective January 1, 2018. The tax rate reduction would be prorated for taxation years straddling January 1, 2018.

Correspondingly, Ontario’s non-eligible dividend tax credit rate would be decreased by one percentage point to 3.2863 per cent as of January 1, 2018.

The federal government has also proposed to cut its small business CIT rate from the current 10.5 per cent to 10.0 per cent, effective January 1, 2018, and then to 9.0 per cent, effective January 1, 2019.

With the proposed federal changes, the combined federal–Ontario CIT rate for small business would be reduced from the current 15.0 per cent to 12.5 per cent as of January 1, 2019.

The combined effect of the Provincial and federal tax cuts is a considerable corporate tax advantage for Ontario’s small businesses.

Internationally, the combined federal–Ontario CIT rate for small business would be the lowest among G7 member countries. The preferential tax rate for small businesses allows them to retain more earnings that can be reinvested to support growth and job creation.

Chart 5.1 Corporate Income Tax Rates for Small Business —
Ontario and G7 Member Countries

Chart 5.1  Corporate Income Tax Rates for Small Business — Ontario and G7 Member Countries
Larger version of image
Accessible description of Chart 5.1

Further details on Ontario’s support for small businesses are provided in Chapter II: Creating Opportunities for Everyone.

Modernizing Employer Support for Apprenticeship Training

The ATTC is a refundable tax credit available to businesses that hire and train eligible apprentices in designated construction, industrial, motive power and certain service trades. The ATTC provides up to $5,000 per qualified apprentice per year for the first 36 months of an apprenticeship program.

With the announcement of the new Graduated Apprenticeship Grant for Employers (GAGE), as described in Chapter II: Creating Opportunities for Everyone, the government is proposing to eliminate the ATTC for employers with apprentices who register in an apprenticeship program after November 14, 2017. Employers with apprentices already registered in an eligible apprenticeship program on or before November 14, 2017 would continue to be eligible to receive the ATTC for up to 36 months.

Land Transfer Tax on Unregistered Dispositions

This summer, stakeholders provided feedback on a variety of Land Transfer Tax issues regarding unregistered dispositions of a beneficial interest in land, including reporting and payment schedules that better meet business needs.

An amendment to the Land Transfer Tax Act is proposed to authorize regulations prescribing rules with greater flexibility than the current requirement to pay tax within 30 days of the date of an unregistered disposition of land. For example, qualifying taxpayers could be allowed to file returns quarterly without incurring liability for interest. Further details will be provided at a later date.

Other issues raised in the consultation this past summer are under review.

Summary of Measures

TABLE 5.1 2017 Tax Measures
($ Millions)

Business Measures 2017–18 2018–19 2019–20
Cutting the Small Business CIT Rate1
(Reduced Government Revenue)
(30) (90) (150)
Winding Down the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit (ATTC)2
(Reduced Government Spending)
15 60 95

Table 5.1 Footnotes:

[1]  Net of Personal Income Tax impact based on dividend tax credit and rate changes.

[2]  The ATTC wind-down is part of the move to the new GAGE. Please see Chapter II: Creating Opportunities for Everyone for more information.

Note: Numbers are rounded to the nearest $5 million.

Chart Descriptions

Chart 5.1: Corporate Income Tax Rates for Small Business — Ontario and G7 Member Countries

This bar chart shows that in 2019, the proposed combined federal–Ontario Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate of 12.5 per cent for small businesses would be below the current 2017 small business CIT rates of G7 member countries: France—15.0 per cent, United Kingdom—19.0 per cent, United States—19.8 per cent, Japan—21.4 per cent, Italy—27.8 per cent, and Germany—30.2 per cent. The United Kingdom, Italy and Germany do not have a separate, preferential CIT rate for small businesses.

Return to Chart 5.1

Introduction

L’Ontario continue de faire des progrès pour assurer l’équité et l’efficacité de son régime fiscal, notamment en proposant des mesures pour réduire le taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés (IRS) applicable aux petites entreprises, transformer le crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage (CIFA), améliorer le régime d’évaluation et d’imposition foncières, et s’attaquer à l’économie souterraine.

Réduction du taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises

Le gouvernement demeure déterminé à maintenir la déduction de l’Ontario accordée aux petites entreprises, qui réduit le taux général de l’IRS de l’Ontario pour les petites sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien pour la première tranche de 500 000 $ du revenu provenant d’une entreprise exploitée activement.

Pour accroître le soutien aux petites entreprises et les aider à devenir plus compétitives, le gouvernement propose de réduire le taux de l’IRS applicable aux petites entreprises de 22 % pour le faire passer de 4,5 % à 3,5 % à compter du 1er janvier 2018. La réduction du taux de l’impôt serait établie au prorata pour les années d’imposition chevauchant le 1er janvier 2018.

Parallèlement à cette mesure, le taux du crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés de l’Ontario serait réduit de un point de pourcentage et passerait à 3,2863 % à compter du 1er janvier 2018.

Le gouvernement fédéral a également proposé de réduire son taux de l’IRS applicable aux petites entreprises pour le faire passer de 10,5 % actuellement à 10,0 % à compter du 1er janvier 2018, puis à 9,0 % à compter du 1er janvier 2019.

Une fois ajouté aux modifications fédérales proposées, le taux de l’IRS combiné applicable aux petites entreprises passerait de 15,0 % actuellement à 12,5 % à compter du 1er janvier 2019.

L’effet combiné des réductions provinciales et fédérales représente un avantage fiscal considérable pour les petites entreprises de l’Ontario.

À l’échelle internationale, le taux combiné fédéral-ontarien de l’IRS applicable aux petites entreprises serait le plus faible parmi les pays membres du G7. Le taux d’imposition préférentiel dont jouissent les petites entreprises leur permet de conserver une plus grande part de leurs gains, qu’elles peuvent réinvestir pour stimuler la croissance et la création d’emplois.

Graphique 5.1 Taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises – Ontario et pays membres du G7

Graphique 5.1 Taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises – Ontario et pays membres du G7
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible du graphique 5.1

De plus amples renseignements concernant le soutien de l’Ontario aux petites entreprises se trouvent au chapitre II, Créer des débouchés pour tous.

Moderniser le soutien offert aux employeurs pour la formation en apprentissage

Le CIFA est un crédit d’impôt remboursable offert aux entreprises qui engagent et forment des apprentis admissibles dans des métiers désignés des secteurs suivants : construction, industrie, force motrice et services. Le CIFA est de 5 000 $ au maximum par apprenti qualifié par année et est applicable pendant les 36 premiers mois d’un programme d’apprentissage.

Avec l’annonce de la nouvelle Subvention progressive aux employeurs pour l’apprentissage (SPEA), qui est décrite au chapitre II, Créer des débouchés pour tous, le gouvernement propose d’éliminer le CIFA dans le cas des employeurs ayant des apprentis qui seront inscrits à un programme d’apprentissage après le 14 novembre 2017. Les employeurs ayant des apprentis déjà inscrits à un programme d’apprentissage admissible le 14 novembre 2017 ou avant cette date continueraient d’avoir droit au CIFA pour une période pouvant atteindre 36 mois.

Droits de cession immobilière dans le cas des aliénations non enregistrées

Cet été, les parties prenantes ont donné leur avis sur une variété de sujets liés aux droits de cession immobilière dans le cas des aliénations non enregistrées d’un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds, notamment en ce qui concerne des échéanciers de paiement et de déclaration mieux adaptés aux besoins des entreprises.

On propose une modification à la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière afin d’autoriser la prise de règlements prévoyant une plus grande souplesse quant au délai de paiement des droits de cession immobilière, qui est actuellement de 30 jours suivant la date de l’aliénation non enregistrée d’un bien-fonds. Par exemple, les contribuables admissibles pourraient être autorisés à déposer une déclaration trimestrielle sans devoir payer d’intérêts. De plus amples détails seront donnés à une date ultérieure.

D’autres questions soulevées lors de la consultation de l’été dernier sont à l’étude.

Sommaire des mesures

TABLEAU 5.1 Mesures fiscales de 2017
(En millions de dollars)

Mesures destinées aux entreprises 2017–2018 2018–2019 2019–2020
Réduction du taux de l’IRS applicable aux petites entreprises1
(baisse des revenus du gouvernement)
(30) (90) (150)
Élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage (CIFA)2
(baisse des dépenses du gouvernement)
15 60 95

Notes du table 5.1:

[1] Compte non tenu de l’incidence de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers selon le crédit d’impôt pour dividendes et les variations des taux.

[2]  L’élimination graduelle du CIFA s’inscrit dans la démarche visant à créer la nouvelle SPEA. Pour un complément d’information, voir le chapitre II, Créer des débouchés pour tous.

Nota : Les nombres sont arrondis à 5 millions de dollars près.

Description du graphique

Graphique 5.1 Taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises – Ontario et pays membres du G7

Ce graphique à barres montre qu’en 2019, le taux combiné fédéral-ontarien de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés (IRS) proposé de 12,5 % pour les petites entreprises serait plus faible que les taux de l’IRS applicables aux petites entreprises des pays membres du G7 en 2017 : France – 15,0 %, Royaume-Uni – 19,0 %, États-Unis – 19,8 %, Japon – 21,4 %, Italie – 27,8 % et Allemagne – 30,2 %. Le Royaume-Uni, l’Italie et l’Allemagne n’ont pas de taux préférentiel distinct d’IRS pour les petites entreprises.

Retourner au graphique 5.1