This document was published under a previous government and is available for archival and research purposes.

For decades, the public has been invited to participate in pre-budget consultations, an essential tool in ensuring that the values and priorities of the people of Ontario are reflected in annual budgets.

Last year, 71,100 people from all walks of life helped shape the 2017 Ontario Budget’s policies and programs. Over 13 weeks, more than:

  • 480 people attended pre-budget consultations in 11 cities, including Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Mississauga, Hamilton and Windsor;
  • 70,000 participated in four telephone townhalls; and
  • 680 written submissions were sent in to the government.

To prepare the 2018 Ontario Budget, the Minister of Finance and the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance will again meet — both in person and virtually — with communities across the province, beginning in December 2017.

Budget Talks

The public is invited to offer its great ideas on how to make everyday life easier for the people of Ontario through Budget Talks, an online platform.1 Last year, they submitted and voted on more than 400 ideas. The top three are being brought to life through a total of $2.6 million in provincial funding.

For the 2018 Budget Talks, the total funding has been increased to up to $5 million. This year’s program will also feature live events where people throughout the province can discuss the ideas and help determine the shortlist for public voting.

Submissions

Individuals and organizations can submit ideas for the 2018 Budget online, or by mail, email or fax.

Online

Complete a submission form on the Ministry of Finance website at www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/consultations/prebud/

Mail

The Honourable Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance
c/o Budget Secretariat
Frost Building North, 3rd Floor
95 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, ON M7A 1Z1

Email

submissions@ontario.ca

Fax

416-325-0969

Depuis des décennies, le public est invité à participer à des consultations prébudgétaires, qui constituent un outil essentiel pour faire en sorte que le budget présenté chaque année tienne compte des valeurs et des priorités de la population de l’Ontario.

L’année dernière, 71 100 personnes de tous les horizons ont contribué à façonner les politiques et programmes qui figuraient dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2017. Durant une période de 13 semaines, plus de :

  • 480 personnes ont assisté à des séances de consultation prébudgétaires dans 11 villes de la province, dont Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Mississauga, Hamilton et Windsor;
  • 70 000 personnes ont pris part à quatre forums téléphoniques;
  • 680 soumissions ont été envoyées au gouvernement.

En vue du budget de l’Ontario de 2018, le ministre des Finances et son adjoint parlementaire rencontreront une fois de plus, en personne et virtuellement, des membres des collectivités des quatre coins de la province à compter de décembre 2017.

Parlons budget

Le public est invité à faire part de ses idées pour simplifier la vie quotidienne des Ontariennes et des Ontariens par l’entremise de la plateforme en ligne Parlons budget1. L’année dernière, le public avait proposé plus de 400 idées qui ont été soumises à un vote. Les trois idées ayant récolté le plus grand nombre de votes ont reçu un financement total de 2,6 millions de dollars pour être concrétisées.

Dans le cadre de l’édition 2018 de Parlons budget, le montant alloué pour mettre en oeuvre les idées les plus intéressantes a été augmenté jusqu’à 5 millions de dollars. On organisera aussi des séances en personne où les gens pourront débattre des idées proposées et contribuer à sélectionner celles qui seront soumises au vote du public.

Soumission des idées

Les particuliers et les organisations peuvent soumettre leurs idées pour le budget de l’Ontario de 2018 en ligne, par la poste, par courriel ou par télécopieur.

En ligne

Remplir le formulaire qui se trouve sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l’adresse www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/consultations/prebud/

Par la poste

L’honorable Charles Sousa
Ministre des Finances
a/s Secrétariat du budget
Édifice Frost Nord, 3e étage
95, rue Grosvenor
Toronto ON M7A 1Z1

Par courriel

submissions@ontario.ca

Par télécopieur

416 325-0969