: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council letter

Ministry of Finance
Office of the Minister
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto, ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 327-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.ontario.ca
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Office of the Minister
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.ontario.ca

January 23, 2012

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to announce the release of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) allocations for 2012.

We are pleased to confirm that we remain committed to the upload of municipal costs in accordance with the timetable agreed to through the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review.

In 2012, we will continue the phased upload of Ontario Works (OW) benefit costs and begin to phase in the upload of court security and prisoner transportation costs. This builds on our previous uploads of Ontario Drug Benefits (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP). In addition, we have also uploaded over $170 million in support of municipal OW administration costs. These uploads have ensured that more property tax dollars are available for important municipal priorities, including investments in infrastructure and economic development.

In 2012, we will provide over $1.8 billion to municipalities through the combined benefit of OMPF and provincial uploads. The OMPF will total $583 million in 2012. Combined with the $1.2 billion in provincial uploads, this is almost three times the level of funding provided under the previous program.

In addition, we will also provide $15 million in transitional assistance to municipalities to ensure a guaranteed level of support for 2012.

The Ministry of Finance’s (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details on the 2012 OMPF, including the provision of transitional assistance. This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2012/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2012/

Given the current global economic uncertainty, the provincial economy faces significant challenges. We will meet these challenges through fundamental reforms to the way government works. In this context, the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services, chaired by Don Drummond, is expected to recommend that the target for spending growth should be one per cent or less.

The government will consider the Commission's recommendations along with other advice in the coming months. However, in order to address the province’s fiscal situation, it is clear that we must remain committed to achieving greater efficiency and effectiveness in the provision of public services. This commitment will also be required from all our partners, including municipalities.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities. Together with other provincial initiatives, we will provide municipalities with ongoing support of approximately $3.2 billion in 2012 — almost three times the level provided in 2003. We look forward to building on our partnership with municipalities as we move forward to address our shared challenges.

Yours sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Dwight Duncan
Minister
Ministry of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Kathleen Wynne
Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - La lettre des ministres

Ministry of Finance
Provincial-Local
Finance Division
10th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Tel (416) 327-0240
Fax (416) 325-7644

Ministère des Finances
Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances
10e étage
777 rue Bay
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Télé.   (416) 327-0240
Téléc. (416) 325-7644

Le 23 janvier 2012

Madame la Présidente du Conseil,
Monsieur le Président du Conseil,

Nous vous écrivons pour vous faire part du versement des affectations au titre du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) pour 2012.

Nous sommes ravis de confirmer que nous continuons à respecter notre engagement à l’égard de la reprise des coûts assumés par les municipalités conformément au calendrier convenu lors de l’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services.

En 2012, nous poursuivrons la reprise progressive des coûts des prestations d’Ontario au travail (OT) et nous commencerons la reprise progressive des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des prisonniers. Cela s’appuie sur nos précédentes reprises dans le cadre du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO) et du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH). Nous avons, par ailleurs, également procédé à la reprise de plus de 170 millions de dollars pour contribuer aux coûts d’administration d’OT assumés par les municipalités. Ces reprises ont garanti la disponibilité d’un montant d’impôts fonciers plus important pour les grandes priorités des municipalités, parmi lesquelles des investissements dans les infrastructures et le développement économique.

En 2012, nous accorderons plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars aux municipalités grâce à l’avantage combiné du FPMO et des reprises provinciales. Le FPMO totalisera 583 millions de dollars en 2012. Conjugué aux reprises provinciales de 1,2 milliard de dollars, cela va représenter presque trois fois le financement octroyé dans le cadre du précédent programme.

De plus, nous allons aussi accorder une aide transitoire de 15 millions de dollars aux municipalités afin d’assurer un niveau d’aide garanti en 2012.

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances (MFO) fournira à vos trésorières et trésoriers municipaux ainsi qu’à vos secrétaires-trésorières et secrétaires-trésoriers municipaux plus de détails sur le FPMO de 2012, y compris sur la prestation de l’aide transitoire. Cette information et les autres documents à l’appui seront affichés, en français et en anglais, sur le site Web du MFO :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2012/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2012/

Compte tenu des incertitudes économiques mondiales actuelles, l’économie de la province est confrontée à des défis de taille. Nous relèverons ces défis en réformant en profondeur le mode de fonctionnement du gouvernement. Dans ce contexte, la Commission de réforme des services publics de l'Ontario, présidée par Don Drummond, devrait recommander que l’objectif de croissance des dépenses ne dépasse pas un pour cent.

Le gouvernement étudiera les recommandations formulées par la Commissionainsi que d’autres conseils au cours des prochains mois. Cependant, pour pouvoir faire face à la situation financière de la province, il est clair que nous devons maintenir notre engagement d’offrir des services publics de manière plus efficace et efficiente. Tous nos partenaires, y compris les municipalités, devront aussi respecter cet engagement.

Notre gouvernement se distingue nettement par le soutien et la collaboration qu’il apporte aux municipalités. Grâce à ce soutien, conjugué aux autres initiatives provinciales, nous allons accorder aux municipalités une aide permanente de près de 3,2 milliards de dollars en 2012, soit près de trois fois le niveau octroyé en 2003. Nous nous réjouissons à la perspective de développer notre partenariat avec des municipalités à mesure que nous progressons et apportons des réponses à nos défis communs.

Veuillez accepter, Madame la Présidente du Conseil, Monsieur le Président du Conseil, nos salutations les meilleures.

Copier des informations
Original signé par

Dwight Duncan
Ministre des Finances

Copier des informations
Original signé par

Kathleen Wynne
Ministre des Affaires municipales et du Logement