: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council Letter

Ministry of Finance


Office of the Minister
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca             

Ministry of
Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Minister
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

November 15, 2012

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to provide an update with respect to the review of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) and program allocations for 2013.

As you know, in February the government announced that the OMPF would be reviewed and phased down to $500 million by 2016, as agreed to through the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR). Since this past spring, we have had several discussions with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) on the review of the OMPF and have also received advice from many municipalities.

Based on the feedback received to date, the government is announcing that 2013 will be a transition year for the OMPF, during which the Province will provide municipalities with $575 million in stable funding. This Transition-Year Stable Funding will ensure that in 2013 municipalities receive a guaranteed level of support based on their 2012 OMPF allocations.

In 2013, municipalities in the north will receive at least 95 per cent of their 2012 OMPF allocation, while municipalities in other regions of the province will receive at least 90 per cent. These minimum levels of support will be enhanced up to 100 per cent for eligible municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances.

The transition year is allowing us to announce 2013 funding allocations earlier than in the past in order to support the municipal budget planning process. This will also provide the opportunity to continue the dialogue with our municipal partners on the redesign of the program.

Following further consultation with municipalities, a redesigned OMPF will be announced for the 2014 program year. Based on what we have already heard, the government acknowledges that there continues to be a need for ongoing assistance for municipalities, particularly those with more challenging fiscal circumstances. As a result, the redesign of the program for 2014 is expected to improve the targeting of funding for northern and rural municipalities.

We understand that the details regarding the redesigned program will be an important aspect of the 2014 municipal budget planning process. With this in mind, we plan on announcing those allocations as early as possible next fall.

Furthermore, we understand that some municipalities have raised the issue of OMPF reconciliation. As you may know, reconciliation is an annual decision.

We have examined the issue of OMPF reconciliation and are confirming that the government will proceed with the reconciliation of the 2010 OMPF. However, given the Province’s fiscal challenges, and the significant level of support that has been provided to the municipal sector, this will be the final reconciliation payment under the OMPF. Additional details are expected to be communicated to municipalities in the coming weeks.

In addition to announcing the review of the OMPF, the government also confirmed that it will continue to honour its commitment to the uploads, in accordance with the timetable agreed to through the PMFSDR. The Province will continue the phased upload of Ontario Works benefits and court security and prisoner transportation costs in 2013. This builds on the previous upload of Ontario Drug Benefits and Ontario Disability Support Program. As a result of the uploads, Ontario municipalities will benefit from almost $1.4 billion in reduced costs.

These uploads, together with the $575 million in OMPF Transition-Year Stable Funding, will provide municipalities with a combined benefit of over $1.9 billion in 2013. This is more than three times the level of funding provided under the previous program in 2004. Despite the adjustments to the OMPF, the combined benefit will continue to increase, with provincial uploads more than offsetting the reduction to the program.

The following table identifies the increase in the combined benefit along with the phase-down schedule for the OMPF program, which was confirmed in the 2012 Ontario Budget.

Provincial Support Continues to Increase as OMPF is Phased Down
($ millions)
  2013 2014 2015 2016
Provincial Uploads 1,360 1,490 1,630 1,770
OMPF 575 550 525 500
Combined Support 1,935 2,040 2,155 2,270
Source: 2012 Ontario Budget, Chapter I: Transforming Public Services, page 51

The Ministry of Finance’s (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details regarding the 2013 OMPF Transition-Year Stable Funding. This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2013/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2013/

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities. Together with other provincial initiatives, we will increase our ongoing support to municipalities to approximately $3.4 billion in 2013. We look forward to continuing to strengthen our partnership with municipalities as we move forward to address our shared challenges.

Sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Dwight Duncan
Deputy Premier
Ministry of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Bob Chiarelli
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Minister of Infrastructure
Minister of Transportation

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - Lettre adressée aux présidentes et présidents de conseil

Ministère des Finances


Bureau du ministre
Edifice Frost sud
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

            
Ministère des Affaires 
municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

 

Le 15 novembre 2012

Madame la Présidente du Conseil,
Monsieur le Président du Conseil,

Nous vous écrivons pour faire le point sur l’examen du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) et des allocations au titre du programme pour 2013.

Comme vous le savez, en février, le gouvernement a annoncé que le FPMO allait faire l’objet d’un examen et que son financement allait graduellement passer à 500 millions de dollars d’ici 2016, comme convenu dans l’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services (EPMFMPS). Depuis ce printemps, nous avons eu de nombreuses discussions avec l’Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) au sujet de l’examen du FPMO et nous avons reçu des conseils de plusieurs municipalités.

C’est en nous basant sur cette rétroaction que nous annonçons que 2013 sera une année de transition pour le FPMO, pendant laquelle la province accordera aux municipalités un financement stable de 575 millions de dollars. Ce financement stable pour l’année de transition veillera à ce qu’en 2013 les municipalités reçoivent un niveau d’aide garantie en fonction de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2012.

En 2013, les municipalités du Nord recevront au moins 95 pour cent de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2012, alors que les municipalités d’autres régions de la province obtiendront au moins 90 pour cent. Ces niveaux d’aide minimale seront bonifiés jusqu’à 100 pour cent en ce qui concerne les municipalités admissibles éprouvant de plus grandes difficultés.  

L’année de transition nous permet d’annoncer les allocations de fonds pour 2013 plus tôt que par le passé afin de contribuer au processus de planification budgétaire des municipalités. Cela sera aussi l’occasion de poursuivre le dialogue sur le remaniement du programme avec nos partenaires municipaux.

À la suite d’autres consultations menées auprès des municipalités, un FPMO remanié sera annoncé pour 2014. Compte tenu de ce que les municipalités nous ont déjà indiqué, le gouvernement est conscient qu’il faut maintenir une aide continue auprès des municipalités, en particulier à celles éprouvant de plus grandes difficultés financières. Par conséquent, le remaniement du programme devrait permettre de mieux cibler le financement octroyé aux municipalités rurales et du Nord.
  
Nous comprenons que les détails relatifs au programme remanié constitueront un volet important du processus de planification budgétaire des municipalités pour 2014. C’est dans cette optique que nous prévoyons d’annoncer ces allocations le plus tôt possible l’automne prochain.

Par ailleurs, nous savons que certaines municipalités ont soulevé la question du rapprochement du FPMO. Comme vous le savez, le rapprochement est une décision annuelle.

Nous avons étudié la question du rapprochement du FPMO et nous confirmons que le gouvernement va procéder au rapprochement du FPMO de 2010. En revanche, compte tenu des enjeux financiers provinciaux, et de l’important niveau d’aide fourni au secteur municipal, il s’agira du dernier paiement au titre du rapprochement du FPMO. D’autres détails seront communiqués aux municipalités dans les semaines à venir.

En plus d’annoncer l’examen du fonctionnement du FPMO, le gouvernement a également confirmé qu’il allait continuer à respecter son engagement à l’égard des reprises selon le calendrier convenu dans l’EPMFMPS. La province poursuivra la reprise progressive des prestations d’Ontario au travail et des coûts de financement de la sécurité des tribunaux et du transport des détenus en 2013. Cela s’appuie sur la précédente reprise du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario et du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées. À la suite des reprises, les municipalités de l’Ontario constateront une diminution des coûts de près de 1,4 milliard de dollars.
                                                                                                                       
Ces reprises, conjuguées aux 575 millions de dollars du financement stable pour l’année de transition au titre du FPMO, accorderont aux municipalités un avantage combiné de plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars en 2013, soit plus de trois fois le niveau de financement octroyé dans le cadre du précédent programme en 2004. Malgré les ajustements apportés au FPMO, l’avantage combiné continuera d’augmenter, les reprises provinciales faisant plus que compenser la diminution de l’enveloppe du programme.

Le tableau ci-après indique l’augmentation de l’avantage combiné ainsi que la diminution prévue du programme du FPMO, qui avait été confirmée dans le Budget de l’Ontario de 2012.

L'aide provinciale continue d'augmenter à mesure que l'enveloppe du FPMO
diminue (en millions de dollars)
  2013 2014 2015 2016
Reprises provinciales 1,360 1,490 1,630 1,770
FPMO 575 550 525 500
Aide combinée 1,935 2,040 2,155 2,270
Source : Budget de l'Ontario de 2012, Chapitre I : Transformation des services publics, page 51.

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances (MFO) fournira à vos trésorières et trésoriers municipaux ainsi qu’à vos secrétaires-trésorières et secrétaires-trésoriers municipaux plus de détails sur le financement stable pour l’année de transition 2013 au titre du FPMO. Cette information et les autres documents à l’appui seront affichés, en français et en anglais, sur le site Web du MFO :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2013/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2013/

Notre gouvernement affiche un excellent bilan en matière de soutien et de collaboration avec les municipalités. En conjuguant cela avec d’autres initiatives provinciales, nous allons accroître d’environ 3,4 milliards de dollars l’aide permanente que nous apportons aux municipalités en 2013. Nous nous réjouissons à la perspective de continuer à renforcer notre partenariat avec les municipalités à mesure que nous progressons et apportons des réponses à nos défis communs.

Veuillez accepter, Madame la Présidente du Conseil, Monsieur le Président du Conseil, nos salutations les meilleures.

Copie des informations
Original signé par

Dwight Duncan
Vice-premier ministre
Ministre des Finances

Copie des informations
Original signé par

Bob Chiarelli
Ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement