: 2015 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Qs & As

Q1. What is the OMPF?

A.

The Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) is the Province’s main unconditional transfer payment to municipalities.

In 2012, we announced the review of the OMPF and the phase-down of the program to $500 million by 2016. The OMPF phase-down was part of the Province’s agreement with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and municipalities in 2008 to upload social assistance benefit programs as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs off the property tax base.

Consistent with this commitment, we are announcing $515 million in unconditional funding through the 2015 OMPF.

It is important to note that despite the phase-down to the OMPF, the government’s commitment to the provincial uploads means that overall support to municipalities will continue to increase, with the provincial uploads more than offsetting the reduction of the program.

Q2. How much funding will municipalities receive through the OMPF in 2015?

A.

The Province will provide over $2.2 billion to municipalities through the combined benefit of both the OMPF and provincial uploads.

  • $515 million through the OMPF, and
  • Over $1.7 billion in provincial uploads.

This combined benefit is more than three and a half times the level of funding provided in 2004, and is the equivalent of over 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

Q3. How is the 2015 OMPF different from 2014 program?

A.

The 2015 OMPF builds on the redesigned program that was announced for 2014. In the Province's discussions with municipalities, two key recommendations emerged that have informed the design of the program:

  1. Funding should be further targeted to municipalities with the greatest needs; and
  2. The design of the program should ensure a manageable pace of change.

As a result, the 2015 OMPF has been designed to balance these recommendations by increasing targeted support to those municipalities with the more challenging fiscal circumstances, while continuing to provide a significant amount of transitional assistance.

Funding provided through the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant will begin to increase in order to further target support to those municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances.  Compared to 2014, these municipalities will receive an increase of more than 30 per cent in per household funding allocated through this grant.

In addition, the significant amount of Transitional Assistance will provide municipalities with stability as they adjust to the redesigned program. This funding will ensure that northern municipalities receive at least 90 per cent of their 2014 OMPF allocation, while municipalities in other regions of the province will receive at least 80 per cent of their 2014 allocation.

Municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding maintained at 100% of the prior year’s allocation.

Q4. What is Transitional Assistance?

A.

In addition to the OMPF's four core grant components, the 2015 program continues to include a significant amount of transitional assistance in order to provide municipalities with stability as they adjust to the redesigned program.

This funding will ensure that northern municipalities receive at least 90 per cent of their 2014 OMPF allocation, while municipalities in other regions of the province will receive at least 80 per cent of their 2014 allocation. Municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding maintained at 100% of the prior year’s allocation.

Q5. What will the program look like beyond 2015?

A.

The four grant components announced in 2014 and Transitional Assistance will remain the core elements of the redesigned OMPF in future years. As you know, the Province has always been open to discussing how the program can further support the needs of municipalities.

A key recommendation that has emerged from our consultations with municipalities is that the OMPF should continue to move toward a program that further targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances. 

In 2015, we are beginning to increase targeted support to those municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances, while also recognizing the importance of ensuring a manageable pace of change for municipalities.

We will continue to work with municipal representatives to ensure the design of the OMPF reflects the long-term priorities of municipalities.

Q6. What is the government doing to help municipalities?

A.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.

In 2015 alone, municipalities will benefit from approximately $3.7 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads and other provincial initiatives – an increase of $2.6 billion from the level provided in 2003. 

The government has also made significant investments in municipal infrastructure, totalling $13 billion since 2003.

Most recently, we announced the new permanent $100 million per year Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF) to support the revitalization and repair of roads, bridges and other critical infrastructure in small, rural and northern communities.

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario de 2015
Q et R

Q1. Qu’est-ce que le FPMO?

R.

Le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) représente le principal paiement de transfert inconditionnel de la province aux municipalités.

En 2012, le gouvernement annonçait la révision du FPMO et la diminution progressive du financement jusqu’à ce qu’il s’établisse à 500 millions de dollars d’ici 2016. La réduction progressive du FPMO faisait partie de l’entente conclue en 2008 entre le gouvernement de l’Ontario, l'Association des municipalités de l'Ontario (AMO) et les municipalités concernant la reprise des coûts relatifs aux programmes de prestations d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, et la suppression de ces coûts de l’assiette foncière.

Dans la suite logique de cet engagement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario annonce un financement inconditionnel de 515 millions de dollars dans le cadre du FPMO de 2015. 

Il est important de préciser que malgré la réduction progressive du FPMO, l'engagement du gouvernement envers les reprises provinciales signifie que l'aide totale qu'il offre aux municipalités continuera d'augmenter, puisque les reprises provinciales font plus que compenser la réduction du programme.

Q2. Quel est le montant de financement que les municipalités recevront grâce au FPMO en 2015?

R.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera plus de 2,2 milliards de dollars aux municipalités grâce à l’avantage combiné des subventions du FPMO et des reprises provinciales.

  • 515 millions de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO;
  • plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars sous la forme de reprises provinciales.

L’avantage combiné sera plus de 3,5 fois supérieur au niveau de financement octroyé en 2004, et il équivaudra à plus de 13 pour cent des recettes tirées de l’impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

Q3. En quoi le programme de 2015 sera-t-il différent de celui de 2014?

R.

Le FPMO de 2015 s'appuie sur le programme remanié qui a été annoncé pour 2014. Le programme de 2015 repose sur deux recommandations clés qui ont découlé des consultations tenues par le gouvernement de l'Ontario auprès des municipalités :

  1. Le financement devrait cibler davantage les municipalités ayant les plus grands besoins;
  2. La conception du programme devrait assurer un rythme acceptable de changement.

Par conséquent, le FPMO de 2015 a été conçu pour équilibrer ces recommandations en augmentant l'aide ciblée aux municipalités qui connaissent une situation financière plus difficile, tout en continuant de fournir une aide transitoire importante.

Le financement octroyé dans le cadre de la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord augmentera afin d'aider de façon plus ciblée les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire. Par rapport à 2014, ces municipalités auront droit à une augmentation de plus de 30 pour cent du financement par ménage prévu par cette subvention.

En outre, le montant important d'aide transitoire fournira une stabilité aux municipalités à mesure qu'elles s'adapteront au programme remanié. Le financement sera accordé de manière à ce que les municipalités du Nord reçoivent au moins 90 pour cent du montant qui leur a été alloué au titre du FPMO de 2014, et à ce que les municipalités situées dans d'autres régions de la province en obtiennent au moins 80 pour cent.

Les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire continueront de recevoir 100 % du montant alloué l'année précédente.

Q4. Qu’entend-on par « aide transitoire »?

R.

En plus des quatre subventions de base du FPMO, un montant important sera une fois de plus accordé en 2015 sous la forme d’une aide transitoire afin de fournir une stabilité aux municipalités à mesure qu'elles s'adapteront au programme remanié.

Le financement sera accordé de manière à ce que les municipalités du Nord reçoivent au moins 90 pour cent du montant qui leur a été alloué au titre du FPMO de 2014, et à ce que les municipalités situées dans d'autres régions de la province en obtiennent au moins 80 pour cent. Les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire continueront de recevoir 100 % du montant alloué l'année précédente.

Q5. À quoi ressemblera le programme au-delà de 2015?

R.

Les quatre subventions et l’aide transitoire annoncées en 2014 demeureront le noyau central du programme remanié dans les années à venir. Comme vous le savez, le gouvernement de l’Ontario est toujours prêt à discuter afin d’améliorer la manière dont le programme répond aux besoins des municipalités.

Une des principales recommandations tirées des consultations que nous avons menées auprès des municipalités est que le FPMO devrait mieux cibler les municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est la plus précaire. 

En 2015, nous commencerons à appuyer davantage ces municipalités tout en reconnaissant l'importance d'assurer à l'ensemble des municipalités un rythme acceptable de changement.

Nous poursuivrons le dialogue avec les représentants municipaux pour faire en sorte que le FPMO reflète les priorités à long terme des municipalités.

Q6. Que fait le gouvernement pour aider les municipalités?

R.

Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps.

En 2015 seulement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 3,7 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO, aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,6 milliards de dollars par rapport aux montants accordés en 2003. 

Depuis 2003, le gouvernement a également financé les infrastructures municipales à hauteur de 13 milliards de dollars.

Dernièrement, le gouvernement a annoncé le nouveau Fonds ontarien pour l'infrastructure communautaire (FOIC), un fonds permanent de 100 millions de dollars par année qui soutiendra la revitalisation et la réparation des routes, des ponts et autres infrastructures essentielles dans les communautés de petite taille, rurales et du Nord.