: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council Letter

Ministry of Finance

Office of the Minister
7th Floor
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca             

Ministry of
Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Minister
17th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

November 13, 2014

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to announce the release of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) program allocations for 2015.

In 2015, the province will provide a total of $515 million in unconditional funding through the OMPF to 388 municipalities across the province. This funding, combined with the municipal benefit resulting from the provincial uploads, will total over $ 2.2 billion in 2015. This is more than three and a half times the level of funding provided in 2004.

As you know, the review of the OMPF and the phase-down of the program to $500 million by 2016 was announced in 2012, and was also part of our 2008 upload agreement with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and other municipalities.

The OMPF was redesigned in 2014 following consultations with municipalities from across the province. The redesigned program supports municipalities with limited property assessment, and recognizes the unique challenges of northern and rural municipalities.  In addition, the program has been transformed to better target funding to northern and rural municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances.

Over the past year, the Province has continued to consult with AMO and other municipal representatives on how best to support municipalities through the program.

The 2015 OMPF builds on the redesigned program that was announced last Fall, and responds to municipal input that the program should further target funding to municipalities with the greatest fiscal challenges.

The government also recognizes the importance of ensuring a manageable transition towards a program that is more targeted to these municipalities. In response to the feedback that we have heard through the consultations, the OMPF will continue to provide a significant amount of transitional assistance to ensure that municipalities receive a guaranteed level of support based on their 2014 OMPF allocation.

Northern municipalities will receive at least 90 per cent of their 2014 OMPF allocation, while municipalities in other regions of the province will receive at least 80 per cent.  These minimum levels of support will be enhanced up to 100 per cent for municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances.

The 2015 OMPF reflects the government's commitment to move toward a program that better targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances. We look forward to continuing to work with our municipal partners to ensure the design of the OMPF continues to reflect the long-term priorities of municipalities.

The Ministry of Finance's (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details on the 2015 OMPF.  This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2015  

We are also pleased to continue our commitment to the upload of municipal costs in accordance with the 2008 Provincial Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR) agreement.

In 2015, we will continue the phased upload of Ontario Works (OW) benefit costs and court security and prisoner transportation costs. This builds on our previous uploads of Ontario Drug Benefits (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP). 

As a result of the upload, municipalities will benefit from more than $1.7 billion in reduced costs in 2015 alone. Combined with the OMPF, this is the equivalent of 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

Despite the phase-down of the OMPF, our commitment to the provincial uploads means that overall support to municipalities will continue to increase, with the provincial uploads more than offsetting the reduction to the program.

It is important to acknowledge that in two-tier systems, the removal of these costs off the property tax base benefits all local taxpayers including those residing in lower-tier municipalities. We encourage upper and lower tier municipalities to engage in discussions to ensure that the savings resulting from the uploads benefit their shared taxpayers in the most effective way possible.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.  In 2015, municipalities will benefit from approximately $3.7 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads, and other provincial initiatives – an increase of $2.6 billion from the level provided in 2003.

Our significant investments in municipal infrastructure are supporting communities across Ontario. Most recently, our government announced the new permanent $100 million per year Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF) to support the revitalization and repair of roads, bridges and other critical infrastructure in small, rural and northern communities.

We look forward to continuing to work with our municipal partners to strengthen and support communities across the province.

Sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Charles Sousa
Minister
Ministry of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Ted McMeekin
Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - Lettre adressée aux présidentes et présidents de conseil

Ministère
des Finances

Bureau du ministre

7e étage
Edifice Frost sud
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministère des Affaires 
municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre

17e étage
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Le 13 novembre 2014

Nous vous écrivons pour vous faire part des affectations au titre du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario (FPMO) pour 2015.

En 2015, le gouvernement de l'Ontario va octroyer un financement inconditionnel totalisant 515 millions de dollars aux termes du FPMO à 388 municipalités à l'échelle de la province. Ce financement, conjugué aux avantages accordés aux municipalités du fait des reprises provinciales, totalisera plus de 2,2 milliards de dollars en 2015, soit plus de trois fois et demie le niveau de financement octroyé en 2004.

Comme vous le savez, la révision du FPMO et la diminution progressive du financement jusqu'à ce qu'il s'établisse à 500 millions de dollars d'ici 2016 ont été annoncées en 2012, et s'inscrivaient également dans notre entente de reprises de 2008 avec l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et d'autres municipalités.

Le FPMO a été redéfini en 2014 à la suite des consultations auprès des municipalités à l'échelle de la province. Le programme remanié soutient les municipalités dont l'évaluation foncière est limitée et tient compte des défis uniques auxquels font face les municipalités rurales et du Nord. En outre, le remaniement du programme cherche à mieux cibler le financement des municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est la plus précaire.

Au cours de la dernière année, le gouvernement a continué de consulter l'AMO et les autres représentants municipaux pour connaître la meilleure façon de soutenir les municipalités dans le cadre de ce programme.

Le FPMO de 2015 s'appuie sur le programme remanié qui a été annoncé l'automne dernier. Il tient compte des commentaires des municipalités selon lesquels le financement devrait être destiné plus précisément aux municipalités ayant les plus grandes difficultés budgétaires.

Le gouvernement reconnaît aussi l'importance d'assurer une transition en douceur vers un programme qui cible davantage ces municipalités. À la lumière des avis formulés lors des consultations, le FPMO continuera de fournir une aide transitoire importante pour veiller à ce que les municipalités reçoivent un niveau d'aide garantie en fonction de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2014.

Les municipalités du Nord recevront au moins 90 % de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2014, tandis que les municipalités situées dans d'autres régions de la province obtiendront au moins 80 %. Ces niveaux d'aide minimum seront bonifiés jusqu'à 100 % pour les municipalités aux prises avec une situation financière plus difficile.

Le FPMO de 2015 reflète l'engagement du gouvernement de passer à un programme qui cible davantage le financement des municipalités rurales et du Nord ayant les plus importants problèmes budgétaires. Nous sommes heureux de continuer à travailler avec nos partenaires municipaux afin d'assurer que le FPMO reflète toujours les priorités à long terme des municipalités.

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances fournira à vos trésoriers et secrétaires-trésoriers municipaux plus de détails sur le FPMO de 2015. Cette information et du matériel de soutien seront affichés en français et en anglais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2015 

Nous sommes également heureux de maintenir notre engagement envers la reprise des coûts municipaux conformément à l'Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services de 2008 (EPMFMPS).

En 2015, nous poursuivrons la reprise progressive des prestations du programme Ontario au travail (OT) et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et du transport des détenus, donnant ainsi suite à nos précédentes reprises des coûts du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO) et du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH). 

À la suite des reprises, les municipalités constateront un avantage de plus de 1,7 milliard de dollars en réduction de coûts pour 2015 seulement. Les reprises et le FPMO représentent donc 13 % des recettes tirées de l'impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

Malgré la réduction progressive du FPMO, notre engagement envers les reprises provinciales signifie que notre aide totale aux municipalités continuera d'augmenter, puisque les reprises provinciales font plus que compenser la réduction du programme.

Il est important de reconnaître que dans une structure à deux paliers, le retrait de ces coûts de l'assiette foncière est avantageux pour tous les contribuables, y compris ceux qui résident dans des municipalités du palier inférieur. Nous encourageons les municipalités des paliers supérieur et inférieur à participer aux discussions afin de s'assurer que les économies découlant des reprises profitent à leurs contribuables, de la façon la plus efficace possible.

Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps. En 2015, les municipalités recevront un soutien continu d'environ 3,7 milliards de dollars par l'entremise du FPMO, des reprises provinciales et autres initiatives provinciales — une augmentation de 2,6 milliards de dollars par rapport au niveau octroyé en 2003.

Nos investissements considérables dans l'infrastructure municipale soutiennent les communautés partout en Ontario. Dernièrement, notre gouvernement a annoncé le nouveau Fonds ontarien pour l'infrastructure communautaire permanente de 100 millions de dollars afin de soutenir la revitalisation et la réparation des routes, des ponts et autres infrastructures essentielles dans les communautés de petite taille, rurales et du Nord.

Nous espérons poursuivre notre collaboration avec nos partenaires municipaux afin de renforcer et de soutenir les communautés à l'échelle de la province.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Copie des informations
Original signé par

Charles Sousa
Ministre
Ministère des Finances

Copie des informations
Original signé par

Ted McMeekin
Ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement